Why are people so triggered by a T-shirt?
24-11-2024, 10:39 AM
A tourist wearing the Japanese Rising Sun flag travelling in north China’s Shanxi province was confronted by angry locals. Why are people so triggered by a T-shirt?
24-11-2024, 10:42 AM
During my last trip to Israel 5 years ago, my son bought an Israel national team football jersey in Jerusalem. He wore it out last weekend, and was confronted by a group of aggressive Muslim men at a hawker centre. Why are some people so triggered by what someone wears? It does not mean that the person supports Israel or is from the country.
24-11-2024, 10:46 AM
![[Image: IMG-0822.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/ZMBwpgb/IMG-0822.jpg)
It’s not the t shirt but what had happened
Is this ok with you?
24-11-2024, 11:00 AM
(24-11-2024, 10:46 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: It’s not the t shirt but what had happened. Is this ok with you?
Wearing a T-shirt with the image of the Japanese soldier piercing a Chinese infant with a bayonet is definitely NOT ok with me. Wearing this Japan national team football jersey in China or S'pore means nothing to me.
![[Image: Japan_x_Y-3_24_Home_Jersey_Kids_Blue_IS5...aydown.jpg]](https://assets.adidas.com/images/h_840,f_auto,q_auto,fl_lossy,c_fill,g_auto/d3db3e15772d458093eb60c51445e074_9366/Japan_x_Y-3_24_Home_Jersey_Kids_Blue_IS5612_01_laydown.jpg)
24-11-2024, 11:06 AM
(24-11-2024, 11:00 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: Wearing a T-shirt with the image of the Japanese soldier piercing a Chinese infant with a bayonet is definitely NOT ok with me. Wearing this Japan national team football jersey in China or S'pore means nothing to me.
You answered the question yourself. Wearing the Japanese football team jersey is ok. But wearing the Hinomaru flag which is the Japanese WW2 flag is definitely not ok.
24-11-2024, 11:11 AM
(24-11-2024, 11:00 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: Wearing a T-shirt with the image of the Japanese soldier piercing a Chinese infant with a bayonet is definitely NOT ok with me. Wearing this Japan national team football jersey in China or S'pore means nothing to me.
No wonder you often need god’s guidance. Had you consulted him on this matter and he said ok?
24-11-2024, 11:25 AM
(24-11-2024, 10:42 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: During my last trip to Israel 5 years ago, my son bought an Israel national team football jersey in Jerusalem. He wore it out last weekend, and was confronted by a group of aggressive Muslim men at a hawker centre. Why are some people so triggered by what someone wears? It does not mean that the person supports Israel or is from the country.
He should remove the Israel jersey to reveal another shirt underneath and observe the reaction of the Muslims.
![[Image: cover9416.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/HKp2X2m/cover9416.jpg)
24-11-2024, 01:08 PM
24-11-2024, 01:28 PM
(24-11-2024, 10:39 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: A tourist wearing the Japanese Rising Sun flag travelling in north China’s Shanxi province was confronted by angry locals. Why are people so triggered by a T-shirt?
Stupid AngMoh, looking for trouble.
没文化,真可怕!
24-11-2024, 01:43 PM
The amgmo is either ignorant or trying to be provocative . Would he dare to wear a t-shirt with a nazi swatiska in Europe? Or a t-shirt with a Russia flag in Ukraine? Or a six point star in any Arabic country? Or a conferate flag in US?
24-11-2024, 01:46 PM
24-11-2024, 01:51 PM
24-11-2024, 02:03 PM
(24-11-2024, 11:11 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: No wonder you often need god’s guidance. Had you consulted him on this matter and he said ok?

24-11-2024, 02:20 PM
When I visited the Auschwitz concentration camps in Birkenau, Poland, there were jewish students and tourists with the emblem of the Star of David draped over their shoulders. Guess that was ok was they were the victims and not the aggressors.
Of course, wearing a nazi armband there will be preposterous as such.
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine

24-11-2024, 02:28 PM
15yrs ago Japanese were welcomef as investors and toruists in China but all this changed in recent yrs.
Recent yrs due to wave of nationalism Chjnee citizens aee taught to hate people from other countries
Nationalism is a tool used by govts to control citizens. For example Trump will tell Americans that China steal their jobs and stole money from America causing hatred.
Educating your people to hate is a propaganda tool and sometimes used by certain leaders to consolidate their own power. Trimp is an example of a hate mongerer.
https://www.cnn.com/2024/09/25/china/chi...index.html
Recent yrs due to wave of nationalism Chjnee citizens aee taught to hate people from other countries
Nationalism is a tool used by govts to control citizens. For example Trump will tell Americans that China steal their jobs and stole money from America causing hatred.
Educating your people to hate is a propaganda tool and sometimes used by certain leaders to consolidate their own power. Trimp is an example of a hate mongerer.
24-11-2024, 02:58 PM
(24-11-2024, 11:11 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: No wonder you often need god’s guidance. Had you consulted him on this matter and he said ok?
You are an extremely devious person who attempts to bait others. I spotted your type of psychological/emotional manipulation on many threads. You try to trigger my emotions by saying something designed to upset me. If I lose my cool and respond out of anger, you fool yourself into believing that you have gained the upper hand. However, it just shows you to be a 小人物.
24-11-2024, 03:00 PM
(24-11-2024, 02:28 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: 15yrs ago Japanese were welcomef as investors and toruists in China but all this changed in recent yrs.
The Hinomaru flag symbol has always been a no no in China (or Singapore) for decades.
24-11-2024, 03:05 PM
(24-11-2024, 02:28 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: 15yrs ago Japanese were welcomef as investors and toruists in China but all this changed in recent yrs.
![[Image: IMG-0822.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/ZMBwpgb/IMG-0822.jpg)
No compensation no apology, still went there to yaya papaya? Pls spare some thought for the locals who are the victims of the atrocities
24-11-2024, 03:08 PM
(24-11-2024, 02:58 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: You are an extremely devious person who attempts to bait others. I spotted your type of psychological/emotional manipulation on many threads. You try to trigger my emotions by saying something designed to upset me. If I lose my cool and respond out of anger, you fool yourself into believing that you have gained the upper hand. However, it just shows you to be a 小人物.
Pls keep yr cool. Just some casual remarks and passing comments of an opinion only

24-11-2024, 03:14 PM
24-11-2024, 03:16 PM
cnn words can be believed fully meh.
go and see other side of
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0FSt04R4Tvs
24-11-2024, 03:22 PM
(24-11-2024, 03:05 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:
No compensation no apology, still went there to yaya papaya? Pls spare some thought for the locals who are the victims of the atrocities
History has already hapoened eveeyone invokved is dead.
It is the choice of present day politicians how they want to play it up.
2 atomic bombs were dropped war criminals.exexuted already.
24-11-2024, 03:28 PM
(24-11-2024, 03:22 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: History has already hapoened eveeyone invokved is dead.
It is the choice of present day politicians how they want to play it up.
2 atomic bombs were dropped war criminals.exexuted already.
Did they compensate? Apologise? Charged in court?
If someone slaps in yr face and walks away you would probably say never mind lah, what happened had happened, it’s over
24-11-2024, 03:53 PM
(24-11-2024, 10:39 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: A tourist wearing the Japanese Rising Sun flag travelling in north China’s Shanxi province was confronted by angry locals. Why are people so triggered by a T-shirt?
Sook Ching[d] was a mass killing that occurred from 18 February to 4 March 1942 in Singapore after it fell to the Japanese. It was a systematic purge and massacre of 'anti-Japanese' elements in Singapore, with the Singaporean Chinese particularly targeted by the Japanese military during the occupation. However, Japanese soldiers engaged in indiscriminate killing, and did not try to identify who was 'anti-Japanese.'
Singapore was a crucial strategic point in World War II. From 8 February to 15 February, the Japanese fought for control of the city. The combined British and Commonwealth forces surrendered in a stunning defeat to the outnumbered Japanese on 15 February which led to its fall. The loss of Singapore was and still is Britain's largest surrender in history.[4]
Three days later after the fall on 18 February, the occupying Japanese military began mass killings of a wide range of "undesirables", who were mostly ethnic Chinese, influenced by the events of the Second Sino-Japanese War that was raging simultaneously as far back as 1937. The operation was overseen by the Imperial Japanese Army's Kempeitai, its secret police. Along with Singapore, the Sook Ching was subsequently also extended to include the Chinese population in Malaya, which was also under occupation by the Japanese. Concurrently, non-Chinese individuals were also not completely spared in other parts of Asia under Japanese occupation; the Japanese had also killed at least 150,000 Tamil Indians as well as an additional 90,000 civilians in Burma and Thailand, many of which were also forced to work on the Siam–Burma Railway, infamously known as the Death Railway.
The aim for such a purge was to intimidate the Chinese community, which was considered by the Japanese to be potentially the main centre of resistance to Japanese aims of territorial expansion throughout the Asia-Pacific. The Japanese had also thought of it as a "revenge" for their perceived anti-Japanese activity in the Sinophone regions, such as procuring financial aid for China after the Japanese invasion of Manchuria and during the Second Sino-Japanese War. As a consequence, Sook Ching was aimed primarily at Chinese political and social activists, volunteers fighting on the side of the Allies,[e] as well as representatives of Chinese triads. In practice, however, the arrests and executions were carried out by the Japanese in a completely arbitrary manner, with many civilians randomly killed in summary executions even if they took no part in any organised resistance.[1]
After the war, the Japanese authorities acknowledged that the massacre took place, but disagreed about the number of deaths that Japan had caused. Japan alleged that no more "than 6,000 deaths" had occurred, while Singapore's first prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, who was himself almost a victim to Sook Ching, stated that verifiable numbers would put it at "about 70,000", including the figures in Malaya.[5] When mass graves were discovered in 1962, Singaporeans heavily lobbied for their government to demand compensation as well as an official apology from the Japanese government.[6] On 25 October 1966, the Japanese government ultimately agreed to reimburse S$50 million in reparations, half of which constituting as a grant and the rest as a loan.[6] However, the wording used for this reimbursement was classified as a "gesture of atonement", with words such as "damages" or "reparations" being avoided by the Japanese. Furthermore, the Japanese government continued to refuse to accept legal responsibility for the massacre, which would include carrying out an official investigation or inquiry of the deaths.[7] No official apology was made.[7] Remains of Sook Ching victims would subsequently continue to be unearthed by Singaporeans for decades after the massacre. In 1963, the Civilian War Memorial was constructed in memory of the civilians killed during the occupation, including Sook Ching. Remains belonging to some of the victims were also placed in a tomb under the memorial. In 1992, the various Sook Ching massacre sites around the country such as Changi Beach, Katong, Punggol Point, Tanah Merah and Sentosa were designated with historic plaque markers as heritage sites by the Singaporean government's National Heritage Board, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the occupation.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sook_Ching
24-11-2024, 04:04 PM
(24-11-2024, 03:53 PM)CHAOS Wrote: Sook Ching[d] was a mass killing that occurred from 18 February to 4 March 1942 in Singapore after it fell to the Japanese. It was a systematic purge and massacre of 'anti-Japanese' elements in Singapore, with the Singaporean Chinese particularly targeted by the Japanese military during the occupation. However, Japanese soldiers engaged in indiscriminate killing, and did not try to identify who was 'anti-Japanese.'
Singapore was a crucial strategic point in World War II. From 8 February to 15 February, the Japanese fought for control of the city. The combined British and Commonwealth forces surrendered in a stunning defeat to the outnumbered Japanese on 15 February which led to its fall. The loss of Singapore was and still is Britain's largest surrender in history.[4]
Three days later after the fall on 18 February, the occupying Japanese military began mass killings of a wide range of "undesirables", who were mostly ethnic Chinese, influenced by the events of the Second Sino-Japanese War that was raging simultaneously as far back as 1937. The operation was overseen by the Imperial Japanese Army's Kempeitai, its secret police. Along with Singapore, the Sook Ching was subsequently also extended to include the Chinese population in Malaya, which was also under occupation by the Japanese. Concurrently, non-Chinese individuals were also not completely spared in other parts of Asia under Japanese occupation; the Japanese had also killed at least 150,000 Tamil Indians as well as an additional 90,000 civilians in Burma and Thailand, many of which were also forced to work on the Siam–Burma Railway, infamously known as the Death Railway.
The aim for such a purge was to intimidate the Chinese community, which was considered by the Japanese to be potentially the main centre of resistance to Japanese aims of territorial expansion throughout the Asia-Pacific. The Japanese had also thought of it as a "revenge" for their perceived anti-Japanese activity in the Sinophone regions, such as procuring financial aid for China after the Japanese invasion of Manchuria and during the Second Sino-Japanese War. As a consequence, Sook Ching was aimed primarily at Chinese political and social activists, volunteers fighting on the side of the Allies,[e] as well as representatives of Chinese triads. In practice, however, the arrests and executions were carried out by the Japanese in a completely arbitrary manner, with many civilians randomly killed in summary executions even if they took no part in any organised resistance.[1]
After the war, the Japanese authorities acknowledged that the massacre took place, but disagreed about the number of deaths that Japan had caused. Japan alleged that no more "than 6,000 deaths" had occurred, while Singapore's first prime minister Lee Kuan Yew, who was himself almost a victim to Sook Ching, stated that verifiable numbers would put it at "about 70,000", including the figures in Malaya.[5] When mass graves were discovered in 1962, Singaporeans heavily lobbied for their government to demand compensation as well as an official apology from the Japanese government.[6] On 25 October 1966, the Japanese government ultimately agreed to reimburse S$50 million in reparations, half of which constituting as a grant and the rest as a loan.[6] However, the wording used for this reimbursement was classified as a "gesture of atonement", with words such as "damages" or "reparations" being avoided by the Japanese. Furthermore, the Japanese government continued to refuse to accept legal responsibility for the massacre, which would include carrying out an official investigation or inquiry of the deaths.[7] No official apology was made.[7] Remains of Sook Ching victims would subsequently continue to be unearthed by Singaporeans for decades after the massacre. In 1963, the Civilian War Memorial was constructed in memory of the civilians killed during the occupation, including Sook Ching. Remains belonging to some of the victims were also placed in a tomb under the memorial. In 1992, the various Sook Ching massacre sites around the country such as Changi Beach, Katong, Punggol Point, Tanah Merah and Sentosa were designated with historic plaque markers as heritage sites by the Singaporean government's National Heritage Board, to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the occupation.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sook_Ching
Good reminder of Singapore's history lah!

24-11-2024, 04:36 PM
That is the Japanese Imperial army flag which signifies Japanese aggression and war crime to those affected countries.

24-11-2024, 05:08 PM
Why some ppl are so forgiving ha? Or is it because of their ignorance?
24-11-2024, 05:13 PM
24-11-2024, 06:06 PM
Japan needs to apologise for their atrocities and make compensation.
So difficult to understand why the Chinese are hurt meh?
From Tang dynasty onwards, China has been very generous with Japan, contributing much to japan's cultural, language and scientific enhancements but japan is like one ungrateful child, once it thinks that it's strong enough it will try to eat it's benefactor.
So difficult to understand why the Chinese are hurt meh?
From Tang dynasty onwards, China has been very generous with Japan, contributing much to japan's cultural, language and scientific enhancements but japan is like one ungrateful child, once it thinks that it's strong enough it will try to eat it's benefactor.