Why the Oxley Road House should be demolished....

Besides LKY expressing his wish repeated to see it demolished after his death. There are probably deeper reasons why it is important to do so.

Oxley is a physical  monument that can cement PAP historic roots in the minds of the next generation of Singaporeans.

Imagine school tours and the retelling of the PAP story. How the meetings at the basement of Oxley steered the fate.of this nation.

LKY probably knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and wanted the house demolishe to prevent this.

Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may just fade away  and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no  guarantee of success.

LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want .monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished.

He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious  past.

The katong memorial park not enough?

Know your roots.
You think we get here from nowhere?
We have to acknowledge the 38 Oxley Road has immense historical importance.
The next generations must reflect on our past and what our forefathers had done for our country.
[+] 1 user Likes Migrant's post

(13-10-2024, 09:42 AM)Migrant Wrote:  Know your roots.
The next generations must reflect on our past and what our forefathers had done for our country.

Know your facts, lah.

38 Oxley has little importance to us

More important is the PAP Ministers spend weekly sessions in Parliament.

(13-10-2024, 08:37 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Besides LKY expressing his wish repeated to see it demolished after his death. There are probably deeper reasons why it is important to do so.

Oxley is a physical  monument that can cement PAP historic roots in the minds of the next generation of Singaporeans.

Imagine school tours and the retelling of the PAP story. How the meetings at the basement of Oxley steered the fate.of this nation.

LKY probably knew future leaders wanted to lean on the past and wanted the house demolishe to prevent this.

Why? If you look at he development of human societies there is nothing permanently successful and nations don't thrive forever. Neither do ideologies, or systems. The remarkable 50yr run of Singapore is guaranteed to be consigned to the footnote of history. The only question for future leaders is how do we reinvent ourselves. We may or may not be able to do it. We may just fade away  and other centers of success emerge elsewhere. But for us to even have a chance we have to be prepared to leave the past and abandon efforts to preserve it. You cannot store success. You can only pursue it and there is no  guarantee of success.

LKY did not want roads and buildings name after him. He did not want .monuments. He absolutely wanted Oxley to be demolished.

He wanted leaders to keep their vision fixed on the future and not cling to the glorious  past.

Let LHL decide what to do about it lah! Big Grin Why kaypoh leh? Thinking He might want to live inside there leh!

The Gov keep thankful the late "Great Leader" and using him to gain point during election yet never respect his wish. So hypocritical!
[+] 1 user Likes Ernesto's post

公气私用,就是阿公的遗气也拿来用

(13-10-2024, 09:42 AM)Migrant Wrote:  Know your roots.
Make PAPAya propaganda part of the school curriculum if they scared youner generation no know LKY. Yes 38 Oxley has historical significance to Sinpwn  but we can preserve its memory  in 1000 ways without going against the owners' wishes. They oredy say they dun want their private sanctum exposed to gawking visitors why can't PAPaya kakias respect that. More dan a few pple have suggested take 3D imaging and build a replica of 38 Oxley elsewhere which I think iz a good idea. Now got hologram tech etc mght as well make use of dat. The original residence leave it to the Lees to decide what they like lah.

(13-10-2024, 02:01 PM)Ola Wrote:  Know your facts, lah.

Know your facts, lah.

They dont waste time meeting weekly in Parliament

You are wrong on the last time....

there are what LKY scholar , LKY researcher department all under using his name.

About his house. He DO mention want to demolish it when he not around.

One thing I always remember while he do his last few interviews ,

He Do mention he Not surprise one day PAP will not be ruling party, Provided Opposition party getting more and more good candidates.

So far perhaps he is not say correct on Opposition party getting good candidate. Till now Opposition lacking is getting good new candidates next lack of getting those ' elites support backend "

PAP wise ever since LHL Take over , he DO also cannot find good candidates for PAP itself. Look at Chan , OYK , Josp ....etc zzzzz

And that Ng C M , lost go back NTUC as head again EPIC also cannot make it in NTUC.

I feel people now mindset change. People is cannot endure Greedy PAP Greed is become no limit itself. SO Much money end up doing crap stuffs not productive in the end for the people. Yet keep grinding take more from the people.

LKY days take money from people at least ok Justify he do make SG progress and we do sense that at least during his days price hike etc not say unreasonable

Unlike now ever since LHL take over. I see LHL and his wife HC is more greedy than LKY himself but EPIC NEVER Make SG profits ...Don't have enough funds , just increase this and that GST hike

than put blame and reason what Due to Global economics , situation now war , this and that inflation and recession

EPIC They themselves as civil servants yearly mid and year end bonus , yearly increment always there.

(13-10-2024, 02:01 PM)Ola Wrote:  Know your facts, lah.

All those past is past and shd not leave behind any trace of significance of reminder to the future. So, 38 Oxley hv no importance at all and let it all be forgotten. Nobody wish to be reminded of so much tragedies in a family break-up becos of one dishonourable son.

(13-10-2024, 03:23 PM)klat Wrote:  Know your facts, lah.

They dont waste time meeting weekly in Parliament

Know your facts, lah

They are only lazy Part- Time Ministers 

Their own full-time job is more important than this Country

[Image: LW-PT-Ministers-is-a-Pragmatic-arrangeme...y-2024.jpg]

Don demolish lah...turn it into a museum, collect $100 per entry from tourists! At the end of the year, use the proceeds to give bonus to all sinkies! Swee boh!