World Chess Championship.:Anyone going to RWS to watch?

(12-12-2024, 07:58 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Michael Siong Beng Huat.  He was gay and preyed on young skool boys in his younger days.  He was also SCF President at one point in time.  Passed away in 2019/2020. RIP.

Wow bro, I got eyes no recognize tarzan! You're a chess maestro! I until now still dunno how animal chess works, let alone ang mo chess.
You oso beri happening, know all the infamous who's who in Sinpwn-- from pilots to realty agency bosses to chess pros. 
Last time Stuka Daddy oso beri happening. Really miss his posts and all dis insider social gossip. Luckily still got you.  Thumbs_up

St Paul's school?  Alien Izit in Bolehland?
[+] 1 user Likes luncheonmeat's post

(12-12-2024, 10:39 AM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  Wow bro, I got eyes no recognize tarzan! You're a chess maestro! I until now still dunno how animal chess works, let alone ang mo chess.
You oso beri happening, know all the infamous who's who in Sinpwn-- from pilots to realty agency bosses to chess pros. 
Last time Stuka Daddy oso beri happening. Really miss his posts and all dis insider social gossip. Luckily still got you.  Thumbs_up

St Paul's school?  Alien Izit in Bolehland?

Hi Bro, I am just a placebo 🤗

Sgbuffet meant St Pat's in sg  Laughing

(11-12-2024, 02:37 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  The match starts at 5pm

Price abit steep. 

I thought if can approach one of the contenders to autograph my portable chess set will be worth the trip

[Image: glS7aaL.jpeg]

why should i pay good money to put myself to sleep ?

(12-12-2024, 07:58 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Michael Siong Beng Huat.  He was gay and preyed on young skool boys in his younger days.  He was also SCF President at one point in time.  Passed away in 2019/2020. RIP.

I forgot to ask you. He was quite bad shape when i saw him in 2017.  He was 57 and already have problem walking.

He just died of poor health or some disease?

(12-12-2024, 11:14 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  why should i pay good money to put myself to sleep ?

Okay its like watching teknis. One is not able to play at the skill and strategy level of the 2 top players. But know enough to appreciated the beauty and skill in the game.

For chess it is very exciting once you have some kmowlege of the game like the opening has various pptions so its interesting to watch which theg choose to play.

(12-12-2024, 11:29 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I forgot to ask you. He was quite bad shape when i saw him in 2017.  He was 57 and already have problem walking.

He just died of poor health or some disease?

I last saw him in mid 2019 at one of the chess tourneys. By then he was already blind and played chess from memory.  And yes he was in a wheelchair too.

I dont know cause of his death.  But it could be linked to his ahem orientation  Thinking

(12-12-2024, 11:35 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Okay its like watching teknis. One is not able to play at the skill and strategy level of the 2 top players. But know enough to appreciated the beauty and skill in the game.

For chess it is very exciting once you have some kmowlege of the game like the opening has various pptions so its interesting to watch which theg choose to play.

When 2 persons play Chinese chess in the public...you will see many curious onlookers usually ah peks standing around them....

This is boring stuff! Big Grin

(12-12-2024, 11:48 AM)pinkpanther Wrote:  When 2 persons play Chinese chess in the public...you will see many curious onlookers usually ah peks standing around them....

This is boring stuff! Big Grin

Tiagong in chinese chess the onlookers bet money on who will win  Big Grin

(12-12-2024, 11:46 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  I last saw him in mid 2019 at one of the chess tourneys. By then he was already blind and played chess from memory.  And yes he was in a wheelchair too.

I dont know cause of his death.  But it could be linked to his ahem orientation  Thinking

He was overweight blindness could be due to diabetes  could be just deteriorate .until death....he wojld be only jn 60s when he died.

Heard many stories abt him. Besides those scandalous ones involving school boys. He gambled alot at casinos.

Goes to show if dont take care of health the outcome van be very bad and sad.

(12-12-2024, 07:43 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  My mum used to drive me around to participate in those CC tournaments.  I won cash prices and trophies to her satisfaction.  She was essentially a tiger mum too.  Made us all learn the piano in case we did not excel academically. My dad more chill and borchup. My sis went all the way to get obtain a LRSM and later a Masters in Business at NUS but it was all a waste much to the chagrin of my parents.  She became a stay at home mum to educate her children.  Another tiger mum! 

I am where I am today thanks to my Tiger Mom. My Mrs is also one, and my children who are now successful young adults, owe her a debt of gratitude for micromanaging them through school. 

(12-12-2024, 11:51 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Tiagong in chinese chess the onlookers bet money on who will win  Big Grin

When money is involved, it will bring out the best of every individuals... Big Grin