Young people say anxieties of modern life dissuade them from

Baby Steps: Young people say anxieties of modern life dissuade them from having kids. Can Singapore fix this?

“With the constant turmoil going on globally, and uncertainty about how habitable the earth will be in their possible lifetime, I don’t feel a desire to bring any additional lives into existence to witness such a grim future,” said one 33-year-old dental surgeon.

👶 https://tdy.sg/4byxdeU 

@todayonlinesg

Give monies every year until child reach 21. One time off bonus not good enough due to inflation.

(12-02-2024, 02:13 PM)sgh Wrote:  Give monies every year until child reach 21. One time off bonus not good enough due to inflation.

especially this island give nothing to their children but a life of comparing money with others

other  country offer their children wider variety of life

some migrate not because of themselves but their offsprings

I think it is because they are not able to teach their children well so they should and must give up. I went to NTUC and saw a bad mother allowing her 19/ 20 year- old  daughter to throw her bubble tea on the floor.
[+] 1 user Likes Wy:Nox's post

(12-02-2024, 02:13 PM)sgh Wrote:  Give monies every year until child reach 21. One time off bonus not good enough due to inflation.

New citizens children included if give monies every year till child reach 21?

(12-02-2024, 02:19 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  especially this island give nothing to their children but a life of comparing money with others other  country offer their children wider variety of life some migrate not because of themselves but their offsprings

To be honest, my wife and I are happy with a middle class lifestyle like our counterparts in developed countries.  However, to enjoy living in a private residence and owing a car in S'pore, we have to be millionaires. Is it any wonder why Sinkies have become so materialistic? 

(12-02-2024, 03:37 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  To be honest, my wife and I are happy with a middle class lifestyle like our counterparts in developed countries.  However, to enjoy living in a private residence and owing a car in S'pore, we have to be millionaires. Is it any wonder why Sinkies have become so materialistic? 

that why the book say this place will become MORE SINFUL generation after generation 

and the book is right from the start

(12-02-2024, 03:27 PM)winbig Wrote:  New citizens children included if give monies every year till child reach 21?

Depend on policy lor. If new citizen, sons must serve army just like everyone else cannot siam. If worry then pray give birth daughters lor.

(12-02-2024, 07:04 PM)sgh Wrote:  Depend on policy lor. If new citizen, sons must serve army just like everyone else cannot siam. If worry then pray give birth daughters lor.

If new citizens included then people will kpkb. How?

(12-02-2024, 07:05 PM)winbig Wrote:  If new citizens included then people will kpkb. How?

If new citizens pay tax, new citizen sons serve NS just like local Singaporean I don't see why they wanna complain. New citizen is different from PR where they can run back anytime.

first thing is that PAP must guarantee that Singaporeans always come first.

if not, there is no point to have more Singaporeans.

(12-02-2024, 07:22 PM)forum456 Wrote:  first thing is that PAP must guarantee that Singaporeans always come first.

if not, there is no point to have more Singaporeans.

They did that. NS is reserved and come first and is a privilege others cannot enjoy.

(12-02-2024, 07:32 PM)sgh Wrote:  They did that. NS is reserved and come first and is a privilege others cannot enjoy.

your brain is severely damaged.

when foreigners and singaporeans compete for the same thing, singaporeans will get it first.
this is called Singaporeans come first.

do foreigners and Singaporeans compete to do NS ?
No one wants to do NS but Singaporeans are forced to do NS and foreigners are excused.

(12-02-2024, 07:40 PM)forum456 Wrote:  your brain is severely damaged.

when foreigners and singaporeans compete for the same thing, singaporeans will get it first.
this is called Singaporeans come first.

do foreigners and Singaporeans compete to do NS ?
No one wants to do NS but Singaporeans are forced to do NS and foreigners are excused.

I am being sarcastic lar maybe you don't get it

(12-02-2024, 07:41 PM)sgh Wrote:  I am being sarcastic lar maybe you don't get it

actually it is very simple to boost birth rate.
funny thing is that PAP keeps providing the incentives that nobody wants.
how to boost birth rate ?

PAP just need to let people apply for incentives that they want and PAP can accept.
once they can give birth, PAP should provide the incentives in the contract signed.
so simple and yet PAP cannot solve it for more than 50 years.

(12-02-2024, 07:51 PM)forum456 Wrote:  actually it is very simple to boost birth rate.
funny thing is that PAP keeps providing the incentives that nobody wants.
how to boost birth rate ?

PAP just need to let people apply for incentives that they want and PAP can accept.
once they can give birth, PAP should provide the incentives in the contract signed.
so simple and yet PAP cannot solve it for more than 50 years.

Besides monies what other incentive can you suggest?

(12-02-2024, 08:04 PM)sgh Wrote:  Besides monies what other incentive can you suggest?

different people have different needs.
poor people and rich people need different incentives.
you cannot have the same incentives for everyone.

since LKY until LHL, they keep annoucing the same incentives for everyone is wrong.
having children is a personal thing, the incentives cannot be the same for everyone.
just PAP be wrong all the way until another party takes over the govt.

(12-02-2024, 08:11 PM)forum456 Wrote:  different people have different needs.
poor people and rich people need different incentives.
you cannot have the same incentives for everyone.

since LKY until LHL, they keep annoucing the same incentives for everyone is wrong.
having children is a personal thing, the incentives cannot be the same for everyone.
just PAP be wrong all the way until another party takes over the govt.

You have not offered the other incentive besides monies? More paid leave from employer for e.g etc etc

(12-02-2024, 08:20 PM)sgh Wrote:  You have not offered the other incentive besides monies? More paid leave from employer for e.g etc etc

different people have different needs.

person A may want a place in a nearby pri school for his child.
person B may want a guaranteed job if he is retrenched.
person C may want a healthcare fund if his child is sick or has cancer.

(12-02-2024, 08:28 PM)forum456 Wrote:  different people have different needs.

person A may want a place in a nearby pri school for his child.
person B may want a guaranteed job if he is retrenched.
person C may want a healthcare fund if his child is sick or has cancer.

Actually your A B C is basically monies isn't it? It is just in different forms. Nearby school got monies buy house nearby. Guaranteed job means got monies as salary every month. Healthcare fund got monies to tap on. Combine them and give out as monies is same.

(12-02-2024, 08:31 PM)sgh Wrote:  Actually your A B C is basically monies isn't it? It is just in different forms. Nearby school got monies buy house nearby. Guaranteed job means got monies as salary every month. Healthcare fund got monies to tap on. Combine them and give out as monies is same.

it is not money because the govt cannot provide money to everyone
it is about future insurance.
if there are 1000 families apply for a nearby school with only 500 places, money cannot buy a place because there are 1000 applicants for 500 vacancies.
only if you are retrenched and your child is still schooling, the govt will provide a job so that you do not need to be jobless.
only if your child has cancer, the govt will foot the medical bill so that you do not need to borrow money or beg online for money.
if you are not retrenched and your child has no cancer, the govt will provide nothing to you.

(12-02-2024, 08:38 PM)forum456 Wrote:  it is not money.
it is about future insurance.
if there are 1000 families apply for a nearby school with only 500 places, money cannot buy a place because there are 1000 applicants for 500 vacancies.
only if you are retrenched and your child is still schooling, the govt will provide a job so that you do not need to be jobless.
only if your child has cancer, the govt will foot the medical bill so that you do not need to borrow money or take loan.
if you are not retrenched and your child has no cancer, the govt will provide nothing to you.

Ok get what you mean. Means when need then govt step in to help in giving monies. Not a bad idea becuz govt will not need to expend a fixed dollars expense unless every family retrench and all children kena cancer.

(12-02-2024, 08:43 PM)sgh Wrote:  Ok get what you mean. Means when need then govt step in to help in giving monies. Not a bad idea becuz govt will not need to expend a fixed dollars expense unless every family retrench and all children kena cancer.

yes, without govt insurance, most poor people will remain single or childless or limited to 2 children.
all the extra baby bonuses or parent leave are useless if you cannot save the children or provide for your children

(12-02-2024, 08:43 PM)sgh Wrote:  Ok get what you mean. Means when need then govt step in to help in giving monies. Not a bad idea becuz govt will not need to expend a fixed dollars expense unless every family retrench and all children kena cancer.

it is the same principle.
if the job is very risky, no one will take up the job if there is no insurance to take care of your family if you die.

same thing for having more children

Only if Pinky agree to be sugar daddy to all the kids.

i have seen many times that the parents have to beg money online when their children have cancer.
you will be surprised that the govt cannot help them because the cancer drug is not on the govt list.

(12-02-2024, 08:51 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  Only if Pinky agree to be sugar daddy to all the kids.

he can "trick"once but not twice.
things will not work if he keeps using the same trick.
PAP is getting complacent and lazy.

(12-02-2024, 04:30 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  that why the book say this place will become MORE SINFUL generation after generation and the book is right from the start

"No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money" (Matthew 6:24).

(12-02-2024, 08:59 PM)forum456 Wrote:  he can "trick"once but not twice. things will not work if he keeps using the same trick. PAP is getting complacent and lazy.

Malay politicians from across the Causeway can hoodwink their people by playing the "race card" year after year because they are dealing with simpletons.