Young professionals in Singapore taking long breaks from work to recharge: Experts

Overwhelmed with stress, a 35-year-old media professional struggled to sleep, lost his appetite and frequently had nightmares about work. He was sometimes so overcome with anxiety that he was unable to even enjoy the company of family and friends. The cause was clear: His work environment was becoming increasingly hostile, and he was having a hard time getting along with his employers.

“Younger workers have higher levels of anxiety [compared with older workers], and feel more isolated due to a lack of connection and acceptance at work,” said MacLennan.

Younger people may have less savings than older colleagues and may feel financial pressures more acutely, he added.

One way to make the transition back to the workforce easier is to take up a contract role after a sabbatical, added Tan.

https://www.thejakartapost.com/culture/2...perts.html

Good to take a break.

When you take on contract or part time role. You dont feel secure financially.

(12-12-2023, 12:21 PM)Blin Wrote:  Good to take a break.

It is extremely difficult to take a break from work when you live in the most expensive city in the entire world.  

(12-12-2023, 12:55 PM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  When you take on contract or part time role. You dont feel  secure financially.

If you every month no need feed house feed car feed parents feed children only feed yourself and not live in condo with high maintenance fees for e.g, contract or part time role actually much better especially if you are close to retirement age 55 like me soon.

(12-12-2023, 08:18 AM)theold Wrote:  Younger people may have less savings than older colleagues and may feel financial pressures more acutely, he added.
One way to make the transition back to the workforce easier is to take up a contract role after a sabbatical, added Tan.

Older workers are likely to have more financial commitments i.e. family, elderly parents, mortgage on their home and car etc.  That is why many senior staff remain in toxic work environments in spite of the pressure, bullying and utter unpleasantness.  I have seen such older workers just bite the bullet and stay on so that their families won't be on the streets.

(12-12-2023, 01:52 PM)sgh Wrote:  If you every month no need feed house feed car feed parents feed children only feed yourself and not live in condo with high maintenance fees for e.g, contract or part time role actually much better especially if you are close to retirement age 55 like me soon.

I have considered early retirement many times even in my early 50s because I have set aside enough to do so, but I am hesitant to give up on my current salary, human interaction at the office as well as fear boredom and cognitive decline from inactivity.   

(12-12-2023, 01:56 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have considered early retirement many times even in my early 50s because I have set aside enough to do so, but I am hesitant to give up on my current salary, human interaction at the office as well as fear boredom and cognitive decline from inactivity.   

Becuz you lack creativity to find things to do in you retirement life hence cognitive decline from inactivity. I already plan for my own retirement life and I shall go for daily swim instead of weekly swim. Buy ActiveSG swim pass $10 per month unlimited visits. That is only swimming still got my cycling etc. So you are limited by your own creativity how to keep yourself enriched in your elderly years. So yes then you better keep working and keep feeding until you lie dead and your offspring take your monies to shiok and happy.

(12-12-2023, 02:06 PM)sgh Wrote:  Becuz you lack creativity to find things to do in you retirement life hence cognitive decline from inactivity. I already plan for my own retirement life and I shall go for daily swim instead of weekly swim. Buy ActiveSG swim pass $10 per month unlimited visits. That is only swimming still got my cycling etc. So you are limited by your own creativity how to keep yourself enriched in your elderly years. So yes then you better keep working and keep feeding until you lie dead and your offspring take your monies to shiok and happy.
You planned to spend your retirement swimming and cycling away your time ah?     Big Grin

Wow nice title taking a break or job discrimination from employer not to hirer sinkies?

(12-12-2023, 02:21 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  You planned to spend your retirement swimming and cycling away your time ah?     Big Grin

That is only 2 activities. I still got lot's more lined up. E.g I intend to visit all Spore nature park. I think Bukit Batok Park got hantu that lady kena raped killer not found so maybe go there try luck to prove hantu exist in this world or not.

(12-12-2023, 02:56 PM)sgh Wrote:  That is only 2 activities. I still got lot's more lined up. E.g I intend to visit all Spore nature park. I think Bukit Batok Park got hantu that lady kena raped killer not found so maybe go there try luck to prove hantu exist in this world or not.

For ghosts catching better bring some kakis along for safety.     Big Grin

(12-12-2023, 03:01 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  For ghosts catching better bring some kakis along for safety.     Big Grin

I play with my toy soldiers and mini-tanks, ships, planes and dinosaurs so they will protect me. How I know is some day I wake up I find sweet wrappers so not sure it is upstairs hdb tenants eat and throw out of window wind blow and come into my room. When my spouse nag at me about my toys some household items fall to the ground. She is witness and I sumpah I not lying.

(12-12-2023, 03:10 PM)sgh Wrote:  I play with my toy soldiers and mini-tanks, ships, planes and dinosaurs so they will protect me. How I know is some day I wake up I find sweet wrappers so not sure it is upstairs hdb tenants eat and throw out of window wind blow and come into my room. When my spouse nag at me about my toys some household items fall to the ground. She is witness and I sumpah I not lying.
May be someone in your block is feeding baby ghost.   Big Grin

(12-12-2023, 03:15 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  May be someone in your block is feeding baby ghost.   Big Grin

Read baby ghost power no lose to adult say pontianak. Those casino tables also feed baby ghost and help the operator earn big monies so I think baby ghost power quite powerful.

(12-12-2023, 03:22 PM)sgh Wrote:  Read baby ghost power no lose to adult say pontianak. Those casino tables also feed baby ghost and help the operator earn big monies so I think baby ghost power quite powerful.

Never heard of people feeding adult ghost but I know some feed baby ghosts to help them in their gambling and other shady type of businesses.     Big Grin

(12-12-2023, 03:28 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Never heard of people feeding adult ghost but I know some feed baby ghosts to help them in their gambling and other shady type of businesses.     Big Grin

Baby ghost like human baby need lots of sleep so if you can know the timing they go sleep you can win big at casino tables since casino operate 24 hours the baby ghost cannot be working 24 hours non-stop. Unless the casino operators feed different batch so can roster duties among them.

(12-12-2023, 01:56 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have considered early retirement many times even in my early 50s because I have set aside enough to do so, but I am hesitant to give up on my current salary, human interaction at the office as well as fear boredom and cognitive decline from inactivity.   

If your salary is good, it's natural to want to continue to earn it.

If your place of work is still hokay, the human interaction may be a psychological income for you. 

However there are peepur who are stuck in a toxic work environment but hang on because they need the salary and cannot find another job that pays them the same due to their age... it may not look good to write a resume with "15 years in ABC company as a so and so" which may be perceived by the recruiter as someone who is too entrenched in some old ways of doing things, stubborn and not easy to.. yes, handle.

If you are worried about cognitive decline, you can always keep your mind (and body) working by doing volunteer work.

(12-12-2023, 02:29 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Wow nice title taking a break or job discrimination from employer not to hirer sinkies?

No need to politcise everything especially when the two are not connected.  Rolleyes

(12-12-2023, 03:47 PM)Oyk Wrote:  No need to politcise everything especially when the two are not connected.  Rolleyes

In your view not connected. In some other readers they are connected. And since this is a forum anyone is free to express their view. If you feel offended you can use the Ignore function in this forum so it will not spoil your day reading views of others that is different from yours.

(12-12-2023, 03:50 PM)sgh Wrote:  In your view not connected. In some other readers they are connected. And since this is a forum anyone is free to express their view. If you feel offended you can use the Ignore function in this forum so it will not spoil your day reading views of others that is different from yours.

Tell me, how is someone taking a break related to sinkies being discriminated?

To you these are related? You are arguing for the sake of arguing. Only an edmw mod will believe you and infract me. Ccb.  Rolleyes

(12-12-2023, 03:34 PM)Oyk Wrote:  If your salary is good, it's natural to want to continue to earn it.
If your place of work is still hokay, the human interaction may be a psychological income for you. 
If you are worried about cognitive decline, you can always keep your mind (and body) working by doing volunteer work.

My current salary is fine, the co-workers aren't too bad, but my boss is an insecure SOB who believes in suppressing talents to maintain his position. The environment is turning toxic owing to cronyism though.  I do some volunteering in church on weekends, but can't see this taking up 8 hours of my time on a weekday.

(12-12-2023, 02:06 PM)sgh Wrote:  Becuz you lack creativity to find things to do in you retirement life hence cognitive decline from inactivity. I already plan for my own retirement life and I shall go for daily swim instead of weekly swim. Buy ActiveSG swim pass $10 per month unlimited visits. That is only swimming still got my cycling etc. So you are limited by your own creativity how to keep yourself enriched in your elderly years. So yes then you better keep working and keep feeding until you lie dead and your offspring take your monies to shiok and happy.

I am actively engaged with lots of activities outside of office hours.  I am just unsure if there are enough activities to keep me fully occupied without the typical 9 hours that I spend in the office per day. You seem to have a lot of angst and other issues after retiring. Perhaps you should have kept on working to vent about the bosses to your co-workers to release all that energy. BTW, I swim and workout at the gym daily since I stay in a condo; the facilities are just downstairs. 

(12-12-2023, 02:21 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  You planned to spend your retirement swimming and cycling away your time ah?   

[Image: shebby_singh_cremation3_14012022.jpg]
Retired Malaysian footballer Serbegeth Singh had a heart attack while cycling. He was a fitness freak.

I see.  So your retirement plan is to swim daily. 0h wait a minute! You still have your cycling!  Rotfl

(12-12-2023, 09:27 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Is fûcking my mother considered an exercise besides swimming & cycling?  Rotfl

[Image: mwBUTap.jpg]

Laughing Laughing

(12-12-2023, 07:21 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My current salary is fine, the co-workers aren't too bad, but my boss is an insecure SOB who believes in suppressing talents to maintain his position. The environment is turning toxic owing to cronyism though.  I do some volunteering in church on weekends, but can't see this taking up 8 hours of my time on a weekday.

I use the word boss differently from how a lot of peepur use it. They refer to their supervisor or manager as boss who is just another wage earner wor. I only call the person who owns the company the BOSS who cannot be sacked, and also cannot be promoted because he is already, well, the boss.

But if you are working in the civil service or a big MNC it's not possible to specifically identify that person. So you call the person you report to "Boss"? I wouldn't.

So this wage earner-boss is insecure and if you are talented, he will feel threatened? 

Well, if you had seen through him very early on, and didn't let him know you knew some things he didn't, then it'd be wise to keep it that way lor.

But if you had already shown your talents/skills/knowledge/capabilities to him and his face changed colour, it'd be wise to turn the clock back, which you can only do by finding another place to work..

(12-12-2023, 10:16 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Modi text me

[Image: n0BLyNm.jpg]

Laughing Laughing

(12-12-2023, 07:31 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I am actively engaged with lots of activities outside of office hours including fûcking church goer's wife.  I am just unsure if there are enough women to keep me fully occupied without having to depend on Oyk   Rotfl Rotfl

Laughing Laughing

i respect OYK. Tip Top service man.