realized a large no of in their 30s

push into self employed freelancers after 2018

a lot of retrenchment then and after covid in 2021

most only worked average 10 to 15yrs
so not much cpf

You are a 30 year old chio meimei right? Big Grin

me like the freedom working as grab, what is your problem ?

My friend's sister, lor

Also around that age

Lost her job and became a tuition for many years now

Want to get back to the workforce

but no company wants her

Smile who say ,

those in civil servants still happy working take bonus

recently just announce as usual got bonus take July later year end as usual despite economics not so good.

(20-06-2023, 07:01 PM)Talent Wrote:  push into self employed freelancers after 2018

so not much cpf

How many people have you contacted to come to this conclusion?

You wrote "large number". How large?

Is your so-called large number made up of rekatives and their friends who were born into an affluent family and waiting to inherit their old man's money and so are not motivated to work?

(20-06-2023, 07:01 PM)Talent Wrote:  push into self employed freelancers after 2018

so not much cpf

every year , 50,000 to 100,000 foreigners/ceca can get jobs in singapore.

why they cannot get jobs when more and more foreigners/ceca can get jobs ?
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

(20-06-2023, 07:50 PM)forum456 Wrote:  every year , 50,000 to 100,000 foreigners/ceca can get jobs in singapore.

govt policy open leg wide wide give them jobs later become citizens to vote 
a v obvious plot,cant u see ?

their jobs give to ceca
otherwise singapore where got so many jobs

Many if these in 30s freelancers will be SG future poor.
All want quick $$$ so dun care about future

(20-06-2023, 07:43 PM)Oyk Wrote:  How many people have you contacted to come to this conclusion?

You wrote "large number". How large?

Is your so-called large number made up of rekatives and their friends who were born into an affluent family and waiting to inherit their old man's money and so are not motivated to work?

u dont forget I am a good estimator

and I am good in survey too

what I said May not have actual no to back up

but it is accurate observation

(20-06-2023, 10:15 PM)Talent Wrote:  u dont forget I am a good estimator

and I am good in survey too

what I said May not have actual no to back up

but it is accurate observation

Have you not heard of the saying - A gasp does not an orgasm make, nor does an eew?

What this means is that when you arh! ooo! eew! it doesn't necessarily mean you have org (asm).

Doing surveys from porn sites and estimating from the swooshing sounds that precede the piak is not respecting the tools of the statisticians.

(20-06-2023, 07:50 PM)forum456 Wrote:  every year , 50,000 to 100,000 foreigners/ceca can get jobs in singapore.

These FWs are certainly getting jobs (which yoomers and zoomers shun)

Do you seriously expect someone who is in his 30s to have spurs stuck in his backside to want to work when at that age his mother is about to kick the bucket, and he's going to take over the apartment and her life savings - and being an only child, it's all his. 

The only work he'd do is to transfer all her money to an offline bank account to make sure scammers don't steal his long awaited inheritance.

Today's 30 something year olds are a world different from the pioneer generation who would do construction work as samsui women. So there's work and there's work for FWs who are arriving in the numbers you listed.

PAP ministers no such problem, golden rice bowl, buy home also easy through SLA.

(20-06-2023, 09:00 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Many if these in 30s freelancers will be SG future poor.
All want quick $$$ so dun care about future

Freelance or the word that's now fashionable "gig work"

It's "If I am happy and feel like it, I do some short term work, maybe food packing or sales promoting but if I feel lazy, I just quit and lepak"

No need to see boss' face, to hell with playing workplace politics with colleagues, happy work, not happy quit. Plenty of gig work around because Singapore's economy is booming, unlike neighbouring countries, and even doing gig work, they still earn more than a FW.

And of course the HDB flat and savings of their boomer parents.... once they get their hands on those, they can FIRE.

Sure, some will be the future poor. The same as those today who 50 to 60 years ago squandered their youth, got into fights, did housebreaking... all with no CPF savings.

(21-06-2023, 08:55 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Freelance or the word that's now fashionable "gig work"

It's "If I am happy and feel like it, I do some short term work, maybe food packing or sales promoting but if I feel lazy, I just quit and lepak"

No need to see boss' face, to hell with playing workplace politics with colleagues, happy work, not happy quit. Plenty of gig work around because Singapore's economy is booming, unlike neighbouring countries, and even doing gig work, they still earn more than a FW.

And of course the HDB flat and savings of their boomer parents.... once they get their hands on those, they can FIRE.

Sure, some will be the future poor. The same as those today who 50 to 60 years ago squandered their youth, got into fights, did housebreaking... all with no CPF savings.

Freelance, gig work, lobo, CBL .... all the same.

Unless they plan to start a biz if not, they gonna suffer when they are in their late 30s or early 40s with no transferable skills or experience to find a stable job. At the sametime they did not build a career while mucking around freelancing, and will likely end up with some low-paying job with bleak futures. 

These are the fuggs that will be whining and bitching about the Gov letting too many foreign traxhes but in reality they threw away the opportunity to gain skills and experience when they were young.

(21-06-2023, 11:16 AM)Tangsen Wrote:  Freelance, gig work, lobo, CBL .... all the same.

Unless they plan to start a biz if not, they gonna suffer when they are in their late 30s or early 40s with no transferable skills or experience to find a stable job. At the sametime they did not build a career while mucking around freelancing, and will likely end up with some low-paying job with bleak futures. 

These are the fuggs that will be whining and bitching about the Gov letting too many foreign traxhes but in reality they threw away the opportunity to gain skills and experience when they were young.

Whether you have a government which ruled with an iron fist like Lky or an American cowboy government, we will always have these people.

Whether it was the PG or the generations which come after Gen Z every country will have such people.

But as far as the 39% are concerned, it's PM Lee's fault, if not him, then Eggmi or Small Space. The solution for these peepur who are poor and have to do carboardercise is to vote PAP out.  Rotfl

(21-06-2023, 12:55 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Whether it was the PG or the generations which come after Gen Z every country will have such people.

But as far as the 39% are concerned, it's PM Lee's fault, if not him, then Eggmi or Small Space. The solution for these peepur who are poor and have to do carboardercise is to vote PAP out.  Rotfl

I am just curious why people do not wish to take personal responsibility instead of blaming others. If they are not capable, its their own fault, nothing to do with others.

(21-06-2023, 01:01 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  I am just curious why people do not wish to take personal responsibility instead of blaming others. If they are not capable, its their own fault, nothing to do with others.

There may be some who do blame themselves for mixing with the wrong company. The more their mother caned them the more defiant they'd be till they reached adulthood when their mother would not be caning them but visiting them in jail.

There would be some who blame their parents rightly or wrongly, or perhaps for being born in the wrong family. 

But this blaming of the government is less likely to be done by the poor but more of the the 39%  politicising it to get pap voted out. They'd twist and turn until it becomes PM Lee's fault as if 60 years ago when PM Lee was 11 years old he should have told another kid to study hard, not to take drugs or get into fights... if he had done that, there would be no poor old people today. Rotfl

(21-06-2023, 08:39 AM)Oyk Wrote:  These FWs are certainly getting jobs (which yoomers and zoomers shun)

not true.

90% of IT professionals in local financial/banking companies are foreigners/ceca.
locals do not shun such jobs.

in fact, in one govt job program, 4000 local applicants applied for 700 banking vacancies.

why locals cannot get IT jobs in financial/banking companies but foreigners/ceca can get 90% of the jobs ?

(21-06-2023, 02:14 PM)forum456 Wrote:  not true.

90% of IT professionals in local financial/banking companies are foreigners/ceca.
locals do not shun such jobs.

in fact, in one govt job program, 4000 local applicants applied for 700 banking vacancies.

why locals cannot get IT jobs in financial/banking companies but foreigners/ceca can get 90% of the jobs ?

The entry requirements for IT are second to none, rivalling law and medicine. Let's be honest, we don't have that many locals who make the grade to get in.

You can have 40k, 200k, 500k locals applying... from Kaplan? Or some Australian university? 

We don't want to end up like Mahathir's Multi Super Corridor when he drove Malaysia talents away to Singapore because of his pro bumi policies.  You can be pro- Singaporean but must not lower the standard.

We have no choice but to import from the world out there and not die die must give the job to a local because he is local. We can hire Ang Mo for IT jobs which sinkies worship but they will cost you a lot or we can hire from a poor country which cost less. But because they come from a poor country, you look down on them... you cannot accept that they could be more intelligent than you just that their country is in a mess because of a long story. 

Reply for you: Diam lah CCB CECA!

(21-06-2023, 02:32 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The entry requirements for IT are second to none, rivalling law and medicine. Let's be honest, we don't have that many locals who make the grade to get in.

You can have 40k, 200k, 500k locals applying... from Kaplan? Or some Australian university? 

we cannot accept a govt where 90% IT professionals in good banking jobs are foreigners/ceca .

these are well paid jobs, it is responsibility of the govt to train enough locals to take up the good jobs.
there is no lack of applicants for training, the govt needs to train more locals for the good jobs.

why can't PAP train more locals for the IT banking jobs since there is no shortage of trainees ?

Like you rah ,

I have seem quite a lot 30s one go into property agent, insurance agent " to try their Luck so call who knows " I might be Top agent earn millions sold number of properties best is landed houses.

(21-06-2023, 02:47 PM)forum456 Wrote:  we cannot accept a govt where 90% IT professionals in good banking jobs are foreigners/ceca .

these are well paid jobs, it is responsibility of the govt to train enough locals to take up the good jobs.
there is no lack of applicants for training, the govt needs to train more locals for the good jobs.

why can't PAP train more locals for the IT banking jobs since there is no shortage of trainees ?
You think that increasing the supply of local IT professionals is like waving a magic wand huh? So if you need 5000 IT professionals, very simpur. Just admit 5000 JC students into IT faculty (if you ever have 5000 JC students to begin with)

Never mind if the student scored C D E E for his GCE A level. Just admit and lower the university marking standard and let him graduate right.

This is what Mahathir did with his ketuanan melayu policy. And I repeat here, this drove Malaysian talents to Singapore. A huge number of Chinese Malaysians are working here... I am not referring to the jhk who's cooking cai png or the jhb selling watched in City Chain. I am talking about Chinese Malaysian PROFESSIONALS who work as doctors, accountants, IT specialists.... just that you don't realize they are Malaysians because their race is Han and they look like most of us..and you think they are Singaporeans.

Now if Changi Business Park is full of Ang Mo and littered with pubs around with Ang Mo drinking and talking and plenty of SPG hugging them, I dare bet that you will take photos for your Instagram to PROUDLY show the world "See! How cosmopolitan Singapore is! So many Ang Mo here!"

But if it's a group of peepur from a poor country, you'd feel so resentful because you had become rich because of pap yet someone from a third world country is more intelligent than you, and he's not Ang Mo.

Work for yourself got a chance to prosper 
Work for others die die kena controlled,profits go to company.

(21-06-2023, 03:08 PM)Oyk Wrote:  You think that increasing the supply of local IT professionals is like waving a magic wand huh? So if you need 5000 IT professionals, very simpur. Just admit 5000 JC students into IT faculty (if you ever have 5000 JC students to begin with)

Never mind if the student scored C D E E for his GCE A level. Just admit and lower the university marking standard and let him graduate right.

Now if Changi Business Park is full of Ang Mo and littered with pubs around with Ang Mo drinking and talking and plenty of SPG hugging them, I dare bet that you will take photos for your Instagram to PROUDLY show the world "See! How cosmopolitan Singapore is! So many Ang Mo here!"

But if it's a group of peepur from a poor country, you'd feel so resentful because you had become rich because of pap yet someone from a third world country is more intelligent than you, and he's not Ang Mo.

whether is ang mo or ceca, 90% professionals are foreigners/ceca in banking company is wrong.

it should be 90% are singaporeans and not 90% are foreigners/ceca.

4000 local applicants for 700 vacancies is 1 vacancy to 6 applicants.

why can't PAP train 6 applicants to fill 1 vacancy ?

(21-06-2023, 03:18 PM)forum456 Wrote:  whether is ang mo or ceca, 90% professionals are foreigners/ceca in banking company is wrong.

it should be 90% are singaporeans and not 90% are foreigners/ceca.

4000 local applicants for 700 vacancies is 1 vacancy to 6 applicants.

why can't PAP train 6 applicants to fill 1 vacancy ?

Despite all my WOTs explaining simpur things to you, you are just repeating the same post like a cut and paste job.

I have said all that I need to say. If you are still not happy, you can go vote for RK if she stands as an independent next time round.  Rolleyes

(21-06-2023, 03:23 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Despite all my WOTs explaining simpur things to you, you are just repeating the same post like a cut and paste job.

I have said all that I need to say. If you are still not happy, you can go vote for RK if she stands as an independent next time round.  Rolleyes

your explanation is rubbish and makes no sense.

if every new company set up in singapore has 90% employees  are foreigners/ceca, what is the point when they can only provide 10% jobs to locals ?

companies in singapore are not to provide 90% jobs to foreigners/ceca.
they are to provide majority of the jobs to locals.
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

(21-06-2023, 03:29 PM)forum456 Wrote:  your explanation is rubbish and makes no sense.

if every new company set up in singapore has 90% employees  are foreigners/ceca, what is the point when they can only provide 10% jobs to locals ?

companies in singapore are not to provide 90% jobs to foreigners/ceca.
they are to provide majority of the jobs to locals.

A cut and paste, yet again.

If you produce 1000 local IT professionals, and have 500 companies needing to hire 2 IT professionals each, we are matching the supply and demand nicely.  All locals have a job, there is no single FT around at the workplace.

But if Singapore becomes an investment magnet, and it's not 500 companies but 50K companies requiring 2 IT professionals each, our 1,000 IT professionals are hardly enough to go around.  You need 100K IT professionals, where to find so many?

There are 2 ways to get around this:

1.  Increase the number of IT university students which you suggested, never mind if their A level results are half past six, just admit them into NUS or NTU or SMU, and pass the out.

2.  Maintain the highest standards - don't follow what Mahathir did with his Multi Supercorridor - and if you don't have enough qualified locals, you have no choice but to bring in FTs.  Now you see a lot of FTs around who are needed because Singapore's economy is that big and our TFR is that small.

Singapore chose the second one.

(21-06-2023, 04:04 PM)Oyk Wrote:  There are 2 ways to get around this:

1.  Increase the number of IT university students which you suggested, never mind if their A level results are half past six, just admit them into NUS or NTU or SMU, and pass the out.

2.  Maintain the highest standards - don't follow what Mahathir did with his Multi Supercorridor - and if you don't have enough qualified locals, you have no choice but to bring in FTs.  Now you see a lot of FTs around who are needed because Singapore's economy is that big and our TFR is that small.

Singapore chose the second one.

PAP choose the 2nd one is totally wrong because foreigners/ceca are fully employed and many singaporeans are unemployed.