'A 33-year-old system has to be tweaked': Analysts on why the COE system needs a review
With COE prices climbing, online commenters have questioned if Singapore's system of controlling the car population is broken. CNA asks experts if the system is still working as intended.
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ts-3852336
Outdated system.
Shd remove private hirers out of the system.
The garment can impose a fix rate on it
Tweak? revenue so good. paper more ex than car.
if the 'tweak' solution guarantee more revenue, sure will tweak lah.
I feel due to Grab , PHV , rental car companies rah.
you see on the road. So many PHV as years gone by.
how many PHV literally is using their own car? The percentage obviously JUST a bit.
Major PHV are Renting it.
Next , some on surface apply as PHV main agenda is wanna Drive a car.
A lot just drive as " Part time " as PHV.
Knn
Vote papaya out.
Blood boiling.
Cb system. Anyway can't solve car population problem.
Tweak to auto cancel zero at the end of the amount?
Why tweak? No money, take public transport!
LTA got no excuses la, last time, comfort taxi bid COE so high until they removed taxi from bidding COE.
they should have expected PHV will behave like comfort and bid high high for COE
LTA have all the data, they just refused to use their brain
(19-10-2023, 11:32 AM)TopSage Wrote: [ -> ]LTA got no excuses la, last time, comfort taxi bid COE so high until they removed taxi from bidding COE.
they should have expected PHV will behave like comfort and bid high high for COE
LTA have all the data, they just refused to use their brain
If you LTA aka govt you will reject to earn more monies? Brain burn spoilt har? Every month need to feed Parliament ppl a lot leh monies must come from somewhere? Not to mention they also got bonus, allowance etc.
(19-10-2023, 11:45 AM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]If you LTA aka govt you will reject to earn more monies? Brain burn spoilt har? Every month need to feed Parliament ppl a lot leh monies must come from somewhere? Not to mention they also got bonus, allowance etc.
our current income without COE can already pay 1000 times current govt salaries
The review will take months if not years and then a recession will justify that the system still works and we monitor it another cycle. By then LHL and gang would have retired and left the problem to the next administration.
The title of this thread is out of order!
foreigners came here to hike up our property prices up to the moon. no choice hdb flats have to follow now to over $1m, now we are seeing high end cars with every increasing coe. easy money for the govt no reason they want to remove the coe bidding. who are the ones that bid so high? the family of 4 no longer can have any decent living in spore. 4G leaders just run out of ideas. it is that marbok(drunk) tan that started it. make a statue next to merlion for us to throw rotten eggs at him! Here it is a giant bubble in everything. Govt must be sacked!
What's wrong with collecting more money?
(19-10-2023, 02:30 PM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]What's wrong with collecting more money?
It is like money launderers. Getting easy money just to enrich oneself.
getting HOT
prices up Road empty
(19-10-2023, 10:27 AM)wulala Wrote: [ -> ]Tweak? revenue so good. paper more ex than car.
if the 'tweak' solution guarantee more revenue, sure will tweak lah.
I am fine, if they tweak so that the rich with less than 3 household pays 10% more for COE.
(19-10-2023, 04:12 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote: [ -> ]I am fine, if they tweak so that the rich with less than 3 household pays 10% more for COE.
actually some suggest is " Car owners who going to own 2nd car or 3rd so on , have to pay additional taxes. "
(19-10-2023, 11:45 AM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]If you LTA aka govt you will reject to earn more monies? Brain burn spoilt har? Every month need to feed Parliament ppl a lot leh monies must come from somewhere? Not to mention they also got bonus, allowance etc.
That's why I really cannot afford this government
(19-10-2023, 05:25 PM)Rainforest Wrote: [ -> ]That's why I really cannot afford this government
When you cast your vote in every election you choose properly?
(19-10-2023, 05:32 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]When you cast your vote in every election you choose properly?
Of so many elements. I suppose thunder and lightning is scary and dangerous to me..
Old scam not working anymore.
Trust pap will come up with new scam to fleece more of our money.