Full Version: Low Thia Kiang and Pitram urge elderly to get vaccinated.
Good that they step up to counter vaccine hesitation among population. Theoughout history, vaccination has save so many lives but always encounter hesitationduring rollout.But for covid19 it is very bad because of Internet fears spread more rapidly

https://mothership.sg/2021/07/low-thia-k...ccination/
(01-08-2021, 08:27 AM)BigBossX Wrote: [ -> ]Good that they step up to counter vaccine hesitation among population. Theoughout history, vaccination has save so many lives but always encounter hesitationduring rollout.But for covid19 it is very bad because of Internet fears spread more rapidly

https://mothership.sg/2021/07/low-thia-k...ccination/

It is not vaccine hesitation, it is mRNA vacc hesitation.... get the facts right and approve non-mRNA vacc, then persuade the elderly.

Thumbs down for the Leader of the Opp - Pap lite  Angry
(01-08-2021, 09:01 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]It is not vaccine hesitation, it is mRNA vacc hesitation.... get the facts right and approve non-mRNA vacc, then persuade the elderly.

It is not mRNA vacc hesitation, it is Pfizer and Moderna vaccines. Get your facts right. There is not such thing as vacc.
Think how to contribute in this difficulty situation is much appreicate.
(01-08-2021, 09:01 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]It is not vaccine hesitation, it is mRNA vacc hesitation.... get the facts right and approve non-mRNA vacc, then persuade the elderly.

mRNA technology has been used for various treatment prior to vaccine. It is well understood.  I did not think twice when I went for my vaccination. My whole block.wiyh many elderly have all gone...and all are well. Why? Because they don't read the Internet and get misled.
(01-08-2021, 09:13 AM)Stoki Wrote: [ -> ]It is not mRNA vacc hesitation, it is Pfizer and Moderna vaccines. Get your facts right. There is not such thing as vacc.

Huh???? You ok? Vacc is vaccine lah... alamak
(01-08-2021, 10:39 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]mRNA technology has been used for various treatment prior to vaccine. It is well understood.  I did not think twice when I went for my vaccination. My whole block.wiyh many elderly have all gone...and all are well. Why? Because they don't read the Internet and get misled.

Ok. It is up to you. 

Surprised at your ignorance and spreading of misinformation. Jialat
(01-08-2021, 10:45 AM)RichDad Wrote: [ -> ]Ok. It is up to you. 

Surprised at your ignorance and spreading of misinformation. Jialat

You mean govt worldwide and even our own opposition are misinformed but you are informed to go against vaccination?
(01-08-2021, 10:47 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]You mean govt worldwide and even our own opposition are misinformed but you are informed to go against vaccination?

[Image: 327-3279942-F...k-you-hd-png-download.png]
(01-08-2021, 10:39 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]mRNA technology has been used for various treatment prior to vaccine. It is well understood.  I did not think twice when I went for my vaccination. My whole block.wiyh many elderly have all gone...and all are well. Why? Because they don't read the Internet and get misled.

Hate to correct you, but you might want to read up on the link below.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nco.../mrna.html
Read and heard many stories about side effect...
(01-08-2021, 10:47 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]You mean govt worldwide and even our own opposition are misinformed but you are informed to go against vaccination?

Don't know why we are still having the same debate after so many months..

1) Is taking vaccine necessary? Yes, because
  i. You don't take is 0% protection. You take, is x% protection depending on which vaccine you take
 ii. Those vaccinated has a lower risk of getting very sick from COVID, regardless of which vaccine you are taking

2) Is MRNA a new technology with limited commercial application prior to using it in COVID vaccine? Answer is Yes.

3) Are we fully aware of the side effects from MRNA technology? Answer is No, because long term side effect can surface as late as 10-15 years and commercial products with MRNA technology is not out long enough to provide such data

I just hope Novavax will reached Singapore soon and put an end to these senseless/useless debates on MRNA, since it is clear that govt will not be recognizing vaccine with inactivated virus technology.

I mean your misinformation on mrna technology being used for treatment. Treat what sial? Yes, the technology has been around for 20 years but it never got approval for anything until Covid came and gave them a chance.

Yes, it has tremendous potential, I am not denying it. I am just concerned that it has not been properly tested yet as a vaccine. It is experimental and on emergency use only. It is too early to say it is totally safe. Already so many side effects reported and only short term now...  5, 10 years?

I am just urging caution. Wait for approval for some non-mRNA vacc then push to elderlies, let them choose. Anything wrong with this??

Hope this clarifies.
(01-08-2021, 11:15 AM)ArielCasper Wrote: [ -> ]Don't know why we are still having the same debate after so many months..

1) Is taking vaccine necessary? Yes, because
  i. You don't take is 0% protection. You take, is x% protection depending on which vaccine you take
 ii. Those vaccinated has a lower risk of getting very sick from COVID, regardless of which vaccine you are taking

2) Is MRNA a new technology with limited commercial application prior to using it in COVID vaccine? Answer is Yes.

3) Are we fully aware of the side effects from MRNA technology? Answer is No, because long term side effect can surface as late as 10-15 years and commercial products with MRNA technology is not out long enough to provide such data

I just hope Novavax will reached Singapore soon and put an end to these senseless/useless debates on MRNA, since it is clear that govt will not be recognizing vaccine with inactivated virus technology.

Thanks for your post.

Hope this will help inform this SGbutt

mRNA treatment is still in trial stages prior to vaccine lah. mRNA is a treatment tailored to individual for cancer. It's not one size fits all and also the result is not very good for cancer treatment.