03-04-2024, 04:29 PM
03-04-2024, 05:36 PM
Better change the Title hor , is misleading I thought wow our MRT ???
04-04-2024, 12:03 PM
Attack on Iran...🥹
https://www.youtube.com/live/h2aNAw1JYVk...lyNK0IZU1G
04-04-2024, 12:22 PM
I had experienced an earthquake in Taiwan before but it was in Kaohsiung.
Trees fell, and motorbikes were blown several metres away from where they were parked. The umbrella I used to block the wind broke...expectedly but it was all I had.
It was not as bad this.
Trees fell, and motorbikes were blown several metres away from where they were parked. The umbrella I used to block the wind broke...expectedly but it was all I had.
It was not as bad this.
04-04-2024, 12:56 PM
04-04-2024, 01:04 PM
(04-04-2024, 12:56 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]Taiwan's fault lor!
No lah, Taiwan is a place that is full of natural disasters every few years from Typhoon to earthquake to flooding
04-04-2024, 01:21 PM
Every time, if there is a earthquake, here in Singapore, some folks can feel it, then building here shake and folks will run into open air space and wait...
😂🥹

04-04-2024, 01:22 PM
(04-04-2024, 01:04 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]No lah, Taiwan is a place that is full of natural disasters every few years from Typhoon to earthquake to flooding
![[Image: Screenshot-2024-04-04-13-00-57-87-40deb4...480b12.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/483fGD4/Screenshot-2024-04-04-13-00-57-87-40deb401b9ffe8e1df2f1cc5ba480b12.jpg)
04-04-2024, 01:25 PM
The #railway line between Yilan and #Hualien counties, which was closed in the wake of a major #earthquake on Wednesday, has now reopened to rail traffic, #Taiwan Railway Corporation (TRC) said Thursday. #TaiwanEarthquake
https://twitter.com/Focus_Taiwan/status/...gr%5Etweet
04-04-2024, 01:28 PM
Never buy condominium in Taiwan.
After earthquake, many will be damaged even if it never topple.
With all of the shaking, the foundation, columns, load bearing structures safety factors maybe discounted. Better demolish it and rebuild.
Very costly affairs
With all of the shaking, the foundation, columns, load bearing structures safety factors maybe discounted. Better demolish it and rebuild.
Very costly affairs
04-04-2024, 01:38 PM
(04-04-2024, 01:22 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]
highway, between Su'ao and Hualien, blocking road traffic near Chongde Railway Station.
According to TRC, platforms 1 and 2 at the Chongde station were damaged by the quake, and the station has been closed until further notice, which means trains are not stopping there.
Meanwhile, Legislator Fu Kun-chi (傅崐萁) of Hualien inspected some areas of the eastern county on Wednesday and said that it was uncertain when the highway would be cleared, repaired and reopened, as the work might take months.
The Hualien Earthquake was the strongest to hit Taiwan since 1999, when a magnitude 7.3 quake struck central Taiwan on Sept. 21.
As of 10:10 a.m. Thursday, nine deaths and (many) and 1,050 as injuries...

04-04-2024, 01:41 PM
Saw on TV some touching moments
Mothers rushing to grab their children
How nurses helped to protect newborns.
A maid used her body to shield a bed ridden employer. 🙏🙏🙏
Mothers rushing to grab their children
How nurses helped to protect newborns.
A maid used her body to shield a bed ridden employer. 🙏🙏🙏
04-04-2024, 02:11 PM
(04-04-2024, 01:28 PM)moonrab Wrote: [ -> ]Never buy condominium in Taiwan.
Very costly affairs
The same applies to Japan.
04-04-2024, 02:16 PM
(04-04-2024, 02:11 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]The same applies to Japan.
Most Japs living in landed property...
Unless in Tokyo
04-04-2024, 03:08 PM
(04-04-2024, 01:22 PM)Tee tiong huat Wrote: [ -> ]
Many years ago I was on business trip in Taipei and earth quake took place on a Saturday afternoon…in my service apartment, the whole bed shook like a small boat in a storm in the ocean, the 4 walls of the bedroom shook violently in 1 metre range as if they were going to fall down…TV fell on the floor in the living room, all the champagne glasses were broken on the floor, I thought I was going to die. After a minute when the shaking stopped, I quickly ran out with my wallet and passport and took a lift down to the lobby, to my surprise not even a single person down there, looked like nobody cared. I saw a concrete slab fall on the ground from top of the building, I was on the 17th floor, it was 6.3 magnitude earthquake. Luckily I didn’t die…What a shocking experience!
04-04-2024, 03:14 PM
(04-04-2024, 02:16 PM)moonrab Wrote: [ -> ]Most Japs living in landed property...
Unless in Tokyo
Their landed properties are mostly double storey
04-04-2024, 03:17 PM
(03-04-2024, 04:29 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]
Last month took this line to 101. Fortunately no eq then
04-04-2024, 03:23 PM
(04-04-2024, 01:04 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]No lah, Taiwan is a place that is full of natural disasters every few years from Typhoon to earthquake to flooding
I was at Terror Gorg about 10 years ago lah!

04-04-2024, 04:02 PM
(04-04-2024, 03:17 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Last month took this line to 101. Fortunately no eq then
Not to worry, big earth quakes only happen every 3 years, small ones are bearable. When I was at an office of an American company in Silicon Valley I felt the floor was shaking but not an earthquake.
04-04-2024, 04:03 PM
(04-04-2024, 03:23 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]I was at Terror Gorg about 10 years ago lah!
Dunt go there, very dangerous as rocks are falling down frequently even if there is no earthquake, must wear a helmet
04-04-2024, 04:15 PM
(04-04-2024, 04:03 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: [ -> ]Dunt go there, very dangerous as rocks are falling down frequently even if there is no earthquake, must wear a helmet
When I was there I saw a huge rock somewhere down the valley and the tour guide said we missed it by 1 week ago lah!

04-04-2024, 04:21 PM
Thankfully, there are no earthquakes in S'pore or the passengers on this train would be struck by that woman's 2 volcanoes!
![[Image: Crowded-Train.jpg]](https://i.ibb.co/6Xpcm5c/Crowded-Train.jpg)
04-04-2024, 04:48 PM
(04-04-2024, 04:15 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: [ -> ]When I was there I saw a huge rock somewhere down the valley and the tour guide said we missed it by 1 week ago lah!
Many big rocks down the river there are marbles
04-04-2024, 06:30 PM
Surprising. Shake until like that, people just go on with their business afterward. No one left the scene.
https://twitter.com/ShahMrjan72891/statu...7198379101
04-04-2024, 10:22 PM