02-09-2024, 08:08 AM
02-09-2024, 08:19 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:08 AM)BigNLong Wrote: [ -> ]If the COE stubbornly remains in the 90k level, still have 3 more years in my old car...after that Bus Mrt LRT.
Good la more walking for me
Why you have to give up the basic essentials, it's necessity and the convenience of driving your children to schools and family for short trips..?
Mind you, it's your basic rights living in any country let alone in the world's richest country.
02-09-2024, 08:23 AM
Take bus good, can sleep on the way with chauffeur driving you to work.
02-09-2024, 08:44 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:23 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Take bus good, can sleep on the way with chauffeur driving you to work.
In life, it's pitiful just to console yourself
Not good feeling for your heart ❤️
02-09-2024, 09:04 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:23 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Take bus good, can sleep on the way with chauffeur driving you to work.
No wonder so many Singaporeans are saying it's stupid to learn how to drive?
It's a waste of money
02-09-2024, 09:14 AM
inflation that leades to higher income is the reason for the higher price.
coffee use to be 90cents at coffeeshop now150cents . 150/90 = 66% increased
so is many other daily consumuptions. but inflation index did not increased that much. maybe it did not account for cooked food . for most people eating outside of home is norm.
come back to car. around 40-60k range before the raised. similar rasie by 66% about 66-100k range. so price how to drop much. hope it drop to 70k and stay there.
coffee use to be 90cents at coffeeshop now150cents . 150/90 = 66% increased
so is many other daily consumuptions. but inflation index did not increased that much. maybe it did not account for cooked food . for most people eating outside of home is norm.
come back to car. around 40-60k range before the raised. similar rasie by 66% about 66-100k range. so price how to drop much. hope it drop to 70k and stay there.
02-09-2024, 09:43 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:08 AM)BigNLong Wrote: [ -> ]If the COE stubbornly remains in the 90k level, still have 3 more years in my old car...after that Bus Mrt LRT. Good la more walking for me
Patient: "I am here for my medical review. I just retired after working for 40 years."
Doctor: "You need to sell your car and take public transport. In fact, try to walk more. Please eat less meat and more vegetables. It is also better to eat less at hawker centres and restaurants. Have more meals at home. Try not to go out too often."
Patient: "My medical test results must be really bad. What exactly is wrong with me."
Doctor: "You no longer have an income."
02-09-2024, 09:48 AM
(02-09-2024, 09:04 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]No wonder so many Singaporeans are saying it's stupid to learn how to drive? It's a waste of money.
I hear from many frustrated S'poreans who spent an arm and a leg to obtain their driving licence, but have either never driven a car thereafter, or only occasionally through car sharing. Is it any wonder why there are so many traffic accidents involving rental cars? The hirers are inexperienced, rusty and unfamiliar with driving conditions in SG.
02-09-2024, 09:50 AM
I counted it out..Assume I get a family sedan...that 170k and the cost to maintain is around 4.5k per year.
Over 10 yr ...that works about 22k per year.
W 22k, each year I can bring my family to multiple overseas trip
02-09-2024, 09:54 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:44 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]In life, it's pitiful just to console yourself Not good feeling for your heart ❤️
In the initial years after entering the workforce, I used to overhear commuters at the bus stop muttering about how fortunate car owners are, whenever an expensive car dropped a passenger off. The envy and sour grapes were plain for all to witness. The widening gap between the haves and have nots in SG is just getting worse which is a really unhealthy situation.
02-09-2024, 09:55 AM
(02-09-2024, 09:50 AM)BigNLong Wrote: [ -> ]I counted it out..Assume I get a family sedan...that 170k and the cost to maintain is around 4.5k per year.
Will you buy a new car if it only costs S$15,000 drive away?
If yes then, it's system fault
02-09-2024, 09:58 AM
(02-09-2024, 09:54 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]In the initial years after entering the workforce, I used to overhear commuters at the bus stop muttering about how fortunate car owners are, whenever an expensive car dropped a passenger off. The envy and sour grapes were plain for all to witness. The widening gap between the haves and have nots in SG is just getting worse which is a really unhealthy situation.
I spent on COE S$100,000 X 2 and that's enough
I m out
02-09-2024, 10:02 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:19 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ].
Why you have to give up the basic essentials, it's necessity and the convenience of driving your children to schools and family for short trips..?
Mind you, it's your basic rights living in any country let alone in the world's richest country.
Mai Kei Po la..
We are more than happy to BMW in Singapore le..🤣
Grab cab so cheap hor..🤣
02-09-2024, 10:11 AM
(02-09-2024, 10:02 AM)moonrab Wrote: [ -> ]Mai Kei Po la..
We are more than happy to BMW in Singapore le..🤣
Grab cab so cheap hor..🤣
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CDGq0wWrqRg
02-09-2024, 10:14 AM
(02-09-2024, 09:58 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]I spent on COE S$100,000 X 2 and that's enough I m out
The number of marginal car owners in SG keeps increasing with every COE hike. More and more Sinkies will either find car ownership too draining on their wealth, or simply not worth spending on even though they have enough money.
02-09-2024, 10:24 AM
(02-09-2024, 08:19 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]Why you have to give up the basic essentials, it's necessity and the convenience of driving your children to schools and family for short trips..? Mind you, it's your basic rights living in any country let alone in the world's richest country.
It is difficult to put a price on comfort and convenience. I recall how having a car brought my family through those morning thunderstorms when I had to ferry the children to their grandparents' home, kindergarten, school, visits to the doctor etc. My car enabled me to attend many meetings with clients and brought me safely to the office and back home for almost 30 years. It is heart wrenching for a person to be forced out of vehicle ownership prematurely when he is still young enough to drive.
02-09-2024, 10:39 AM
well car is a depreciating Asset, might as well put it on a appreciating asset like property ...suffer a bit of incoviniences
I dont think my pay will increase in that % , given my age and health.
02-09-2024, 11:05 AM
as long as PAP provide jobs to foreigners to increase population, prices of HDB flats and cars will rise.
more singaporeans will be unemployed because jobs created are much less than before but foreigners keep increasing.
from previous 5 millions to current 6 millions of population, you are seeing the effect on cars and housing.
by 2030, it will be from 6 millions to 7 millions of population, prices of housing and cars will be higher than now.
the final target should be 10 millions.
more singaporeans will be unemployed because jobs created are much less than before but foreigners keep increasing.
from previous 5 millions to current 6 millions of population, you are seeing the effect on cars and housing.
by 2030, it will be from 6 millions to 7 millions of population, prices of housing and cars will be higher than now.
the final target should be 10 millions.
02-09-2024, 03:09 PM
Have to compare urban to urban.
Look at Tokyo, Seoul, NYC, London and compare.
Singapore cannot afford to have Tokyo kind of urban build up and yet have 1 car per household. We will become third world city like Rio de Janeiro, Bangkok, Jakarta and KL.
Look at Tokyo, Seoul, NYC, London and compare.
Singapore cannot afford to have Tokyo kind of urban build up and yet have 1 car per household. We will become third world city like Rio de Janeiro, Bangkok, Jakarta and KL.
02-09-2024, 03:15 PM
(02-09-2024, 10:14 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]The number of marginal car owners in SG keeps increasing with every COE hike. More and more Sinkies will either find car ownership too draining on their wealth, or simply not worth spending on even though they have enough money.
With increasing COE prices, the Govt is making car owners looking like idiots..
When it reaches a point of becoming illogical and senseless
02-09-2024, 03:24 PM
(02-09-2024, 10:14 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]The number of marginal car owners in SG keeps increasing with every COE hike. More and more Sinkies will either find car ownership too draining on their wealth, or simply not worth spending on even though they have enough money.
Reported Singapore is famous for its low income tax but paying COE S$100,000 X 2 for repurchasing a new car is also tax.
If COE is not tax (draining your disposable income) then, what is it?
02-09-2024, 03:25 PM
(02-09-2024, 08:08 AM)BigNLong Wrote: [ -> ]If the COE stubbornly remains in the 90k level, still have 3 more years in my old car...after that Bus Mrt LRT
Maybe you will be the next just like " some car owners last time. That it become PHV rent the car but not actually doing full time as PHV. As long earn back the rental payment , the extra earnings just like bonus.
02-09-2024, 03:39 PM
(02-09-2024, 08:08 AM)BigNLong Wrote: [ -> ]If the COE stubbornly remains in the 90k level, still have 3 more years in my old car...after that Bus Mrt LRT
if i were u take this opp to go jb every wk end to explore the whole of johore malacca n selangor
mind u 3 yrs is not v far
if no take my adv n no do later u regrett
for these 3 yrs just concentrate on yr holidays to malaysia forget about taking o=verseas holidays by plane
as mry will be stronger n stronger when malaysia is growing
02-09-2024, 03:40 PM
(02-09-2024, 08:44 AM)Scythian Wrote: [ -> ]In life, it's pitiful just to console yourself
Not good feeling for your heart ❤️
chinese says:
even dropped on the floor will find an excuse to say that i hv not fallen but deliberately picked up some fine sands
02-09-2024, 03:43 PM
(02-09-2024, 09:48 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]I hear from many frustrated S'poreans who spent an arm and a leg to obtain their driving licence, but have either never driven a car thereafter, or only occasionally through car sharing. Is it any wonder why there are so many traffic accidents involving rental cars? The hirers are inexperienced, rusty and unfamiliar with driving conditions in SG.
yes u are right
more accidents are involing due to green horn drivers who do not own a vr=ehicle to practice after passing.
spore roads are now more dangerous than last 10yrs ago becos of many car sharing
02-09-2024, 03:44 PM
(02-09-2024, 09:43 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: [ -> ]Patient: "I am here for my medical review. I just retired after working for 40 years."Not having a car is also a blessing in disguise. Becos it wil make one walk more which is healthy exercise. Having to walk 5k steps a day is very healthy and meaningful.
Doctor: "You need to sell your car and take public transport. In fact, try to walk more. Please eat less meat and more vegetables. It is also better to eat less at hawker centres and restaurants. Have more meals at home. Try not to go out too often."
Patient: "My medical test results must be really bad. What exactly is wrong with me."
Doctor: "You no longer have an income."