Full Version: My 10 HK stock portforlio created 13 Jul- 2020 big losses and big gains.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
Continued from the old sgtalk forum.
The portfolio largely consist of China Tech stocks went through a tumultuous plunge and is the most volatile set of stocks I have purchased  The allocation is such that I will be able to manage the volatility given  I own other stocks outside of these that do not have the same "excitement".

The portforlio is now about 1 yr. Some stocks have tripled some have lost 50%.

1. Sino Biopharma@10.25 13 Jul 2020 (price adjusted for stock bonus)
2. CSPC@16.32 14 Jul 2020->$10.2 (adjust for bonus ex on 16 Oct 2020)
3.Beigene@151.8. 21 Jul 2020
4.Xiaomi@16.80 21 Jul 2020
5. Archosaur Games @21.30 24 Jul 2020.
6. JD.com @274.20 19 Aug 2020
7. Li Ning @33.45 3 Sep 2020
8. NetEase@145.8 15 Sep 2020
9.BYD Company@107.50 17 Sep 2020
10. Techtronics@99.40 21 Sep 2020.
11. BYD Company@118.90 7 Oct 2020 (ADDED}
12 Xiaomi@22.35 20 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
13 BYD@145.3 22 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
14. BYD@148.6 28 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
15. BYD@$170.1 2 Nov 2020 (ADDED)
16. Xiaomi@25.00 6 Nov 2020(ADDED)
17. Li Ning @41.45 11 Nov 2020 (ADDED)
18. JD.com @305.6 11 Nov 2020(ADDED)
19. BYD@190.70 23 Nov 2020 (ADDED}
20. Xiaomi@25.85 25 Nov 2020(ADDED)
21 BYD@185.6 27 Nov 2020(ADDED)
22 Xiaomi@30.00 21 Dec 2020 (ADDED)
23 Xiaomi@34.10 4 Jan 2021(ADDED}
24. BYD@230.00 5 Jan 2021(ADDED)
25. Xiaomi@31.9 6 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
26 BYD@263.60 11 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
27. Xiaomi@29.40 15 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
28.. JD.com@387.2 25 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
29. BYD@272.20 25 Jan 2021(ADDED)
30. Netease@178.00 28 Jan 2021(ADDED)
31. Netease@205.00 10 Feb 2021(ADDED)
32. BYD sold 60%@ 176 March 2021 (SOLD)
33. Netease@152 8  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
34. Baidu@159 2  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
35 Alibaba@156.1 30 Aug 2021(ADDED)
36. Alibaba@165.5 9 Sep 2021(Added)
37. Alibaba@157.7 13 Sep 2021(Added)
38. Lenovo@7.47 11 Ocr 2021 (Added)
39. Razer@2.72 17 Nov 3021( Added)
40. Alibaba@110.0 6 Dec 2021 (Added)
41. JD.@271.20 27 Jan 2022 (Added)
42. Tencent@459.00  27 Jan 2022 (Added)
43. BYD@223.00 28 Jan 2022(Added)
44   Alibaba@114.2 30 March 2022 (Added)
45.  BYD@217 30 March 2022 (Added)
46. IShares HS Tech ETF 3067@9.66 06 April 2022( Added)
47  Alibaba @88.15 29 April 2022 (Added)
Purchases on 30 Jul

[Image: gznOmit.jpg]
After peaking in Feb 2021 the Hang Seng Twch index sank to new lows.

[Image: Ziew9q3.jpg]
(04-08-2021, 12:57 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Continued from the old sgtalk forum.
The portfolio largely consist of China Tech stocks went through a tumultuous plunge and is the most volatile set of stocks I have purchased  The allocation is such that I will be able to manage the volatility given  I own other stocks outside of these that do not have the same "excitement".

Wow super long list. What’s yr estimate loss in this portfolio now?
(04-08-2021, 01:07 PM)Zannn Wrote: [ -> ]Wow super long list. What’s yr estimate loss in this portfolio now?
Because some tripled some drop by 50%...I estimate its like back to square one. Maybe this week end I will calculated but I would think losses or gains is not big.

The big move I regret is selling off a large chunk of BYD when the stock collapsed rapidly.....that single move had biggest impact on the overall performance.
(04-08-2021, 01:12 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Because some tripled some drop by 50%...I estimate its like back to square one. Maybe this week end I will calculated but I would think losses or gains is not big.

The big move I regret is selling off a large chunk of BYD when the stock collapsed rapidly.....that single move had biggest impact on the overall performance.

U still hold large on XM don’t worry. It looks like going back $30 this round up move.
after so many yrs you still dun hv a systematic and proftable way to trade/invest? or those methods you used are not gd enough?

properties better lah. in one yr values already up by 15 to 20%, plus rental yields and no need to monitor daily, free to do other things
(04-08-2021, 01:37 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]after so many yrs you still dun hv a systematic and proftable way to trade/invest? or those methods you used are not gd enough?

properties better lah. in one yr values already up by 20%, plus rental yields and no need to monitor daily, free to do other things

After 4 or 5months from starting  this portfolio was up 30%....so I wouldn't say its without potential or risk 

Of course I  have more established stock investment methods and techniques. I think you missed the backstory of why this HK stock portforlio was created. I had already done quite alright in Singapore stocks so I wanted to expand beyond what I am familiar with.

No doubt doing so will add to risk but the HK market had unique opportunities of listing Chika tech firms whose potential is enormous.

Recent months it has correction and selloffs due to China govt and unexpected events but its too early to conclude its a bad investment.

Property is always a leveraged investment for most they borrow 80% of the money to buy...and are stuck for for 10 or 20yrs. Its a different class of investment with its own issues.

Whether I make or lose money here.....I hope to offer lessons other investors can learn from from this type of less certain growth stocks which are more complicated than value investing picks I do regularly.
based on what u described, it's like hit and run and try yr luck type of approach, sometimes you made sometimes you lost. without a systematic approach, there's really nothing to learn from.
Dr Wealth discusses the recent China Tech stocks crash with other investors. All 3 have invested in China tech stocks last year which put them in the same shoes as myself

https://youtu.be/rhApd-5I46U
(04-08-2021, 02:05 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]based on what u described, it's like hit and run and try yr luck type of approach,  sometimes you made sometimes you lost. without a systematic approach, there's really nothing to learn from.

YOU missed my posting on how the portforlio was designed and how risk is managed. Risk.is inherent in these stocks due to their domain and one cannot avoid volatility. The strategy is designed to distribute risks in a basket of stocks and advising to the stronger ones over time and underweighing those who become weaker. Also  I also use special situations to buy.

Over time I expect a few big winners.
(04-08-2021, 02:05 PM)WhatDoYouThink? Wrote: [ -> ]based on what u described, it's like hit and run and try yr luck type of approach,  sometimes you made sometimes you lost. without a systematic approach, there's really nothing to learn from.

most investments are not risk free, sometimes you make sometimes you lose. 
i do scalping trade on indices too, hit and run type. so far earnings have been consistent every month, in fact is growing. but i won't say it's wholly base on luck as i have 2 programs assist me in my trading strategy while i manage my risk.
(04-08-2021, 01:05 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]After peaking in Feb 2021 the Hang Seng Twch index sank to new lows.

[Image: Ziew9q3.jpg]

Bro Buffett game over for NTSE 

https://www.reuters.com/world/china/chin...021-08-30/
(30-08-2021, 09:59 PM)Zannn Wrote: [ -> ]Bro Buffett game over for NTSE 

https://www.reuters.com/world/china/chin...021-08-30/

that is crazy regulation....is it even enforceable?
(30-08-2021, 10:10 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]that is crazy regulation....is it even enforceable?

Enforceable or not is a side issue. If govt want to wind down yr core business, even if u can bypass and earn good profit from this group, u dare to announce in yr results? So your earning results is set to go down. Price have to factor in that now. You need to trim a substantial value from yr initial expectations
If I like ah butt got gold mountain behind or sugar mama supork I quite trading enjoy life why soooo Ma fun to monitor the markets tio bo?!!!
so nett gain
ADDED to list my purchase of alibaba on 30 Aug 2021 ...Monday this week.
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-Purchased-AliBABA-HK156-1
I stop buying for a few months as prices fell and govt regulation come down hard on HK Tech stocks

Now that prices are much lower I am again keen to look for opportunities.

Recently 3 stocks...Baidu Netease and Alibaba were purchased...I'm late Jul- end Aug 2021

I see more opportunities coming as stocks have been beaten down
1. Sino Biopharma@10.25 13 Jul 2020 (price adjusted for stock bonus)
2. CSPC@16.32 14 Jul 2020->$10.2 (adjust for bonus ex on 16 Oct 2020)
3.Beigene@151.8. 21 Jul 2020
4.Xiaomi@16.80 21 Jul 2020
8. NetEase@145.8 15 Sep 2020
9.BYD Company@107.50 17 Sep 2020
10. Techtronics@99.40 21 Sep 2020.
11. BYD Company@118.90 7 Oct 2020 (ADDED}
12 Xiaomi@22.35 20 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
13 BYD@145.3 22 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
14. BYD@148.6 28 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
15. BYD@$170.1 2 Nov 2020 (ADDED)
16. Xiaomi@25.00 6 Nov 2020(ADDED)
19. BYD@190.70 23 Nov 2020 (ADDED}
20. Xiaomi@25.85 25 Nov 2020(ADDED)
21 BYD@185.6 27 Nov 2020(ADDED)
22 Xiaomi@30.00 21 Dec 2020 (ADDED)
23 Xiaomi@34.10 4 Jan 2021(ADDED}
24. BYD@230.00 5 Jan 2021(ADDED)
25. Xiaomi@31.9 6 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
26 BYD@263.60 11 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
27. Xiaomi@29.40 15 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
28.. JD.com@387.2 25 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
29. BYD@272.20 25 Jan 2021(ADDED)
30. Netease@178.00 28 Jan 2021(ADDED)
33. Netease@152 8  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
34. Baidu@159 2  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
35 Alibaba@156.1 30 Aug 2021(ADDED

There are 35 trades 34 buy and 1 sell.

Returns are as follows based on 3 Sep 2021 closing:

1. -33%
2. -1%
3.  +33%
4.  +51%
5.  -57%
6 +13.8%
7. +195%
8.  +1%
9.  +137%
10. +75%
11 . +115%
12. +14%
13. +75%
14.  +72%
15. +48%
16. +1%
17.  +138%
18. +2%
19. +34%
20.-2%
21. +37%
22  -15%
23. -26%
24. -10%
25.  -21%
26.  -3.5%
27.  -14%
28.  -19%
29. -6.5%
30. -18%
31. -29%
32. 6x(-34%)
33. -4%
34. -1%
35. +5%

Average gain is 16.6%.

The benchmark Hang Seng Tech Index from 13 Jul 2020 to 3 Sep return -9% after it fell from 7300 to 6600.
(05-09-2021, 01:38 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]1. Sino Biopharma@10.25 13 Jul 2020 (price adjusted for stock bonus)
2. CSPC@16.32 14 Jul 2020->$10.2 (adjust for bonus ex on 16 Oct 2020)
3.Beigene@151.8. 21 Jul 2020
4.Xiaomi@16.80 21 Jul 2020
8. NetEase@145.8 15 Sep 2020
9.BYD Company@107.50 17 Sep 2020
10. Techtronics@99.40 21 Sep 2020.
11. BYD Company@118.90 7 Oct 2020 (ADDED}
12 Xiaomi@22.35 20 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
13 BYD@145.3 22 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
14. BYD@148.6 28 Oct 2020 (ADDED)
15. BYD@$170.1 2 Nov 2020 (ADDED)
16. Xiaomi@25.00 6 Nov 2020(ADDED)
19. BYD@190.70 23 Nov 2020 (ADDED}
20. Xiaomi@25.85 25 Nov 2020(ADDED)
21 BYD@185.6 27 Nov 2020(ADDED)
22 Xiaomi@30.00 21 Dec 2020 (ADDED)
23 Xiaomi@34.10 4 Jan 2021(ADDED}
24. BYD@230.00 5 Jan 2021(ADDED)
25. Xiaomi@31.9 6 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
26 BYD@263.60 11 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
27. Xiaomi@29.40 15 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
28.. JD.com@387.2 25 Jan 2021 (ADDED)
29. BYD@272.20 25 Jan 2021(ADDED)
30. Netease@178.00 28 Jan 2021(ADDED)
33. Netease@152 8  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
34. Baidu@159 2  30 Jul 2021(ADDED)
35 Alibaba@156.1 30 Aug 2021(ADDED

There are 35 trades 34 buy and 1 sell.

Returns are as follows based on 3 Sep 2021 closing:

1. -33%
2. -1%
3.  +33%
4.  +51%
5.  -57%
6 +13.8%
7. +195%
8.  +1%
9.  +137%
10. +75%
11 . +115%
12. +14%
13. +75%
14.  +72%
15. +48%
16. +1%
17.  +138%
18. +2%
19. +34%
20.-2%
21. +37%
22  -15%
23. -26%
24. -10%
25.  -21%
26.  -3.5%
27.  -14%
28.  -19%
29. -6.5%
30. -18%
31. -29%
32. 6x(-34%)
33. -4%
34. -1%
35. +5%

Average gain is 16.6%.

The benchmark Hang Seng Tech Index from 13 Jul 2020 to 3 Sep return -9% after it fell from 7300 to 6600.

Still in gain very good. Tot yr portfolio lose quite badly.
(05-09-2021, 09:02 PM)Zannn Wrote: [ -> ]Still in gain very good. Tot yr portfolio lose quite badly.

It is designed so that winners will make up for losers.iThe portfolio never had a day of loss even when the hang seng tech index fell to all time low.

The initial design bought me time to understand the China HK market well and better find the opportunities. The similarities of the big tech with the US without the hefty valuation together with fear of govt regulation has helped create opportunities.
Dongyue 0189

today is a buying opportunity…dont say i never give tip
(06-09-2021, 07:19 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]It is designed so that winners will make up for losers.iThe portfolio never had a day of loss even when the hang seng tech index fell to all time low.

The initial design bought me time to understand the China HK market well and better find the opportunities. The similarities of the big tech with the US without the hefty valuation together with fear of govt regulation has helped create opportunities.

What about US tech companies like Apple and Google? The valuations are still reasonable at 30 P/E.
(06-09-2021, 12:31 PM)debster Wrote: [ -> ]What about US tech companies like Apple and Google? The valuations are still reasonable at 30 P/E.

The valuations are richer but can still be justified by the growth but those are already mature. You are not going to get spectacular gains.

The China tech you will get some PE expansion as well as growth so it is much better for long term holding but be mindful of risks.

But these are just for me to start and get deeper understanding of Chinese companies. What I want to do is get into smaller high growth companies that will be the Alibaba of tomorrow.

The area that interest me most now is semiconductor as China needs to grow its own chip makers to be less dependent on US so there will be companies here that will grow 50 to 100 times.

The other thing that interest is the technical action and anomalies surrounding the movements of China stocks...alot of the short term price action I pure speculation that is back and forth even high % of speculative trades than in HK. There are many opportunities here.
(30-08-2021, 10:10 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]that is crazy regulation....is it even enforceable?

Gaming to be non focus on profit? Netease jialat bro buff be careful.
https://www.scmp.com/tech/big-tech/artic...g-beijings

@sgbuffett need to dump your Netease
(04-08-2021, 12:57 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: [ -> ]Continued from the old sgtalk forum.

35 Alibaba@156.1 30 Aug 2021(ADDED)

You bought quite alot of Xiaomi.. Any thought where is company is heading?
(14-09-2021, 06:18 AM)abc123 Wrote: [ -> ]You bought quite alot of Xiaomi.. Any thought where is company is heading?

Short term it is bad as China regulators go after tech companies. It will be better after this phase for the same reason why apple has succeeded..

Like all stocks it has risks and one of them is India as the relationship between China and India is not good and this can lead to sanctions as both countries like to use trade as a political tool against the other side.
TS go and revive your Endowus trades thread too Big Grin
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5