Full Version: Can i use a 15w LED tube light if my current one is 10w ??
my current LED tube light for the bathroom is ............10w + double-ended + 6500K..........i can't find the exact replacement .............

i found this one (see the Shopee link).........no brand leh...........but 15w + double-ended + 5500-6500K.............for over $8

can i just replace my current tube light with a higher wattage one or it won't work ? 

https://shopee.sg/NEA-Approved-T8-LED-Li...5926863422
Must check the range of the adapter. Some 8 to 12w, some 10 to 15 w, some 12 to 20w …..
Should be no problem
Should be ok.
(11-11-2024, 06:26 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Must check the range of the adapter. Some 8 to 12w, some 10 to 15 w, some 12 to 20w …..

ADAPTER ?............you mean the housing for the tube ?..........how to check ?
[Image: IMG-0842.jpg]

Something like this. Each has a proper operating range of wattages

If a bulb or tube has a higher wattage it’ll still work. But the excessive heat will shorten the life of the adapter or even cause fire
(11-11-2024, 07:26 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ][Image: IMG-0842.jpg]

Something like this. Each has a proper operating range of wattages

If a bulb or tube has a higher wattage it’ll still work. But the excessive heat will shorten the life of the adapter or even cause fire

many thanks, bro...............so i better not buy so high.............can't find 10w leh.........8w or 9w will be dimmer........... Confused
This kind of LED driver is quite easy to spoilt.
I dont use LED driver.

Better trip your breaker before changing the light. You dont know how the electrician run your house wiring. Better make sure you have grounding on your LED light
(11-11-2024, 08:01 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]This kind of LED driver is quite easy to spoilt.
I dont use LED driver.

Better trip your breaker before changing the light. You dont know how the electrician run your house wiring. Better make sure you have grounding on your LED light

Not true lah. Mine used for 5 years still going strong.
(11-11-2024, 08:01 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]This kind of LED driver is quite easy to spoilt.
I dont use LED driver.

mine also 
got 45 of them in my bungalow
replace 20 of them liao

cheap lah
ownself replace ownself $4 each
(11-11-2024, 09:47 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: [ -> ]mine also 
replace 20 of them liao

cheap lah

paper bungalow ah?
(11-11-2024, 10:13 PM)Niubee Wrote: [ -> ]paper bungalow ah?

you can just farking shutup
if you don't have one
my bungalow is at clementi
(11-11-2024, 09:47 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: [ -> ]mine also 
replace 20 of them liao

cheap lah

those $4 ones also okay meh ?..............Philips or Osram all more expensive right ?

mine is for toilet so 60cm long
(11-11-2024, 09:24 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]Not true lah. Mine used for 5 years still going strong.

branded ones like Osram or Philips ?.......... or those no brand ones ?
(14-11-2024, 12:46 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]branded ones like Osram or Philips ?.......... or those no brand ones ?

No brand one. Bought from China at low price. If driver spoiled then just buy a new driver. Very cheap only. Led itself not so easy to spoil.
I dont use LED driver.

but the LED tube like fluorescent light leh..........hands never touch any metal contacts............just twist the tube to take out and then put in................why must trip the breaker leh ?
(11-11-2024, 07:41 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]https://s.lazada.sg/s.1rb6M

bro..........you using these tubes ?............can last long ?..............or must buy those Osram or Philips type ?
(14-11-2024, 01:01 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]bro..........you using these tubes ?............can last long ?..............or must buy those Osram or Philips type ?

No, I use bulbs and downlights which are easily available, cheaper and easier to replace
(14-11-2024, 12:45 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]those $4 ones also okay meh ?..............Philips or Osram all more expensive right ?

mine is for toilet so 60cm long

[Image: ABG_NPNT.gif]

dont know how to post picture HUH!
(14-11-2024, 01:04 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]No, I use bulbs and downlights which are easily available, cheaper and easier to replace

if i knew LED lights so difficult to find and replace - i would never have switched to it............. Confused
[Image: IMG-0854.jpg]

It’s very easy to remove the current tube fixture and replace it with this bulb socket. If the bulb spolt just get a new one, so easy
T8 is a generic type name used in fluorescent fittings and tubes. The bi-pin is also a unique feature of fluorescent lamps. The T8 LED with a bi-pin that you have shown is a specially designed LED lamp that can be used to replace the fluorescent lamp. These LED lamps have an in-built LED driver. There are two designs: one allows the old fluorescent ballast to be in place, and the other requires removing the old ballast.  As these T8 lamps have built-in LED drivers,  it does not matter what lamp wattage you use for the lamp as long as the lamp can fit into the existing lighting fitting. The design of the T8 LED lamp should have taken care of the heating problem.

https://assets.db.aurora.co/FamilyData/3...114676.pdf
(14-11-2024, 05:47 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ][Image: IMG-0854.jpg]

It’s very easy to remove the current tube fixture and replace it with this bulb socket. If the bulb spolt just get a new one, so easy

yeah............the round one is very easy to buy and replace..............but the light coverage as good as the long tube ?
15w led bulb quite bright already
(14-11-2024, 01:00 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote: [ -> ]but the LED tube like fluorescent light leh..........hands never touch any metal contacts............just twist the tube to take out and then put in................why must trip the breaker leh ?

It is for your own safety. 
Safety first lah.
(11-11-2024, 09:24 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]Not true lah. Mine used for 5 years still going strong.

Only fool will believe lah.
Even current Phillips LED light also spoilt easily compare to their predecessor, dont say those normal LED light.
It is best to have the schematic diagram of led driver.
Blindly changing capacitors becos of bulging capacitor issue may not always work.

https://youtu.be/cVuJGU-IUY8?si=LnS-gVFTzQVpPmdf
https://shopee.sg/product/361505688/8232...2IrQVd2dTE&gad_source=1&gclid=CjwKCAiA3Na5BhAZEiwAzrfagEQCjhEtrxabYgoJtjTly5H1c5MZcdfTsR7q6vzS27i47qYXcXpEDxoCSjAQAvD_BwE
(14-11-2024, 09:37 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Only fool will believe lah.
Even current Phillips LED light also spoilt easily compare to their predecessor, dont say those normal LED light.

Believe it or not, this is the truth lor. Other people can have different experience from me, but I can only tell it from my own.