Full Version: Anyone of you not yet think of death? Still in denial mode is it?
Death is inevitable but even knowing that, many still don't like to think about it

But this can pose a big problem if one just kenna stroke and cannot live and cannot die, or wat abt cancer?

Doctor says 6 months to live but can be 6 weeks to 6 years and this is the torturing bit, as it will surprise many
(08-05-2022, 10:32 PM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]Death is inevitable but even knowing that, many still don't like to think about it

But this can pose a big problem if one just kenna stroke and cannot live and cannot die, or wat abt cancer?

Doctor says 6 months to live but can be 6 weeks to 6 years and this is the torturing bit, as it will surprise many

DUn stress …. you getting your cert soon 
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ca-2671516
(08-05-2022, 10:36 PM)Tangsen Wrote: [ -> ]DUn stress …. you getting your cert soon 
https://www.channelnewsasia.com/singapor...ca-2671516

Why you so stupig har?

Death cert is NOT for the person who dies, you dumbass....Die oredi, he no need to be issued anything, as oredi dead, geddit?
(08-05-2022, 10:39 PM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]Why you so stupig har?

Death cert is NOT for the person who dies, you dumbass....Die oredi, he no need to be issued anything, as oredi dead, geddit?

You go find out and let us know lah ….. you cheese pie
(08-05-2022, 10:44 PM)Tangsen Wrote: [ -> ]You go find out and let us know lah ….. you cheese pie

We don't need a death cert to certify we dead, dead liao we no need anything, geddit? Still unclear, try using your big head instead of your small head to think, can or not?
(08-05-2022, 10:32 PM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]Death is inevitable but even knowing that, many still don't like to think about it

You already know that you will die one day.

If thinking about death can stop death, I would urge people to think more and hard about it.  But if thinking about it is not going to stop you from dying (which is actually not a bad thing), then why think?

Why would you want to think of death which would make you miserable/fearful/depressed/yadda yadda, and not live each day, one day a time and be as happy as you can?

It's really commons sense, which does not need a whole shitload of wisdom to make a wise choice.  But apparently common senses is not something you have....
(08-05-2022, 10:55 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]You already know that you will die one day.

If thinking about death can stop death, I would urge people to think more and hard about it.  But if thinking about it is not going to stop you from dying (which is actually not a bad thing), then why think?

Why would you want to think of death which would make you miserable/fearful/depressed/yadda yadda, and not live each day, one day a time and be as happy as you can?

It's really commons sense, which does not need a whole shitload of wisdom to make a wise choice.  But apparently common senses is not something you have....

It's so true, I do have a fair bit of uncommon sense, which is different from you, so full of nonsense

Since inevitable think for what? Think how u want to die? Or what to pass on to your descendents? Or what?
(08-05-2022, 10:55 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]You already know that you will die one day.

The purpose of thinking about death is not to stop death. It is to make you more conscious of your own mortality and thus change the way you look at things and handle them. Nothing seems so big an issue when you look at death and tell yourself that you're going to die soon, or that your loved ones are going to die soon. Ultimately, this will also change the way you treat your family members.

I constantly think about death but it has not made me more depressed. Instead, it tells me that there's no need to scheme against others because your life may be easily cut short.
Dementia
Getting dementia is like being dead without knowing it. It is a living death. Your family members who are responsible to take care of you, or pay a nursing home to take care of you, are the ones suffering. Of course, you also suffer if you hurt yourself physically, just that it is not your former self suffering.

Stroke
Getting a stroke is also a bad form of suffering in which you are aware of your suffering. It can be one side of your body paralysed (one arm and one leg) or the lower half of your body paralysed (both legs). But that is not all that a stroke would damage. Stroke patients may also lose their ability to swallow and eventually would be tube-fed which is helluva uncomfortable. And you no longer can enjoy the joy of eating food, chewing on it, and swallowing it - the whole experience that is enjoyable. Others may lose their ability to speak like before; they struggle to form a coherent sentence.

So what now, Sentinel?
Depending on what you want to believe, there are many schools of thought. Some people say, watch what you eat, watch your cholesterol. And watch your salt intake because poorly controlled salt intake can aggravate your high blood pressure, and that can lead to a nasty stroke.

Others who bring in a religious dimension would say "karma". You lose you health and suffer because you did bad things in a previous lifetime, or even earlier on in this life.
(08-05-2022, 11:10 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]The purpose of thinking about death is not to stop death. It is to make you more conscious of your own mortality and thus change the way you look at things and handle them. Nothing seems so big an issue when you look at death and tell yourself that you're going to die soon, or that your loved ones are going to die soon. Ultimately, this will also change the way you treat your family members.

I constantly think about death but it has not made me more depressed. Instead, it tells me that there's no need to scheme against others because your life may be easily cut short.

I am so happy to read your post.  You have changed to a new leaf indeed.

There is nothing which we can hold on to in this life.  All things are transient be it the things we have, the people we call "My wife.  My mother.  My son."   Nor the moments and events of life.  Remove the word "My", and the truth is that you own nothing in this life, or ever.

A blind woman once asked me, "Why are you so good to me?  You don't get paid for it.  Will your wife be jealous if you are nice to me?"  I replied, "My wife is happy that I am doing good.  She is supportive.  But more than my wife, God who is in heaven....suppose I can show Him that I am capable of earning lots of $$$, or I can show Him I would do something good for people, which of the two would please Him?" (This is not a csb....you should know what is csb since you are a lifelong member of edmw)
(08-05-2022, 11:01 PM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]It's so true, I do have a fair bit of uncommon sense, which is different from you, so full of nonsense

If instead of getting married, you go home to masturbate each time you see a handsome man outside, that kind of uncommon sense belongs only to Ah Kuahs.
(08-05-2022, 11:34 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]If instead of getting married, you go home to masturbate each time you see a handsome man outside, that kind of uncommon sense belongs only to Ah Kuahs.

This is só rude

How dare you
(08-05-2022, 10:48 PM)Sentinel Wrote: [ -> ]We don't need a death cert to certify we dead, dead liao we no need anything, geddit? Still unclear, try using your big head instead of your small head to think, can or not?

You will be confirming for us soon  Laughing
“Most men die at twenty or thirty; thereafter they are only reflections of themselves: for the rest of their lives they are aping themselves, repeating from day to day more and more mechanically and affectedly what they said and did and thought and loved when they were alive.” Romaine Rolland

The doctor said 6 months to live for my late grandad. It turned out to be slightly more than 6 days and then he was gone.
i think about death everyday like u before i became a Christian. Now I think about my new birth everyday from Jesus.
This is for you, I hope u will become like me after watching it:

https://youtu.be/Zy7ZToMi3JE
I treat everyday as my last day on earth.
I expect this thread to run into at least 30 pages but instead Talents wine thread turns up to have more interest than this topic

Is it because it is free so many start to gian png?
Now that Talent's thread is deleted, lai lai, come in and talk about death, guys!
(08-05-2022, 11:10 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]The purpose of thinking about death is not to stop death. It is to make you more conscious of your own mortality and thus change the way you look at things and handle them. Nothing seems so big an issue when you look at death and tell yourself that you're going to die soon, or that your loved ones are going to die soon. Ultimately, this will also change the way you treat your family members.

We have read of some non-believers' views about death, which admittedly are quite enlightening and uplifting. Now let's read what Apostle Paul said about the Grim Reaper: "Death has been swallowed up in victory." As he faced persecution and the real possibility of death, Paul wrote: "To live is Christ and to die is gain."  

There's a sense in which he was "looking forward to death," not in eager anticipation, but rather in the realistic expectation that death would bring him into the presence of Christ himself.

Christians believe death is a conquered enemy and shouldn't be resisted at every turn. As Nigel Cameron put it: "Because Christians can face death with a steady eye, we are not like those without hope. We can see beyond the grave, though the grave can have a place in our horizon."