Full Version: Now my income tax is 10% of my take home pay...
Sad right? crying
Ìn some countries, the rates are 40 to 50%
(18-05-2023, 09:39 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Ìn some countries, the rates are 40 to 50%

But their cars and property is cheap.
(18-05-2023, 10:11 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]But their cars and property is cheap.

Free medical and hospitalisation, education
10% is very little
(18-05-2023, 10:21 AM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]10% is very little

2 years ago is only 2~3%.
(18-05-2023, 10:21 AM)dynamite Wrote: [ -> ]10% is very little

Boastful retiree
U don’t have income tax
If income tax up, then healthcare care cost should come down
(18-05-2023, 10:11 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]But their cars and property is cheap.
Hello World...Not cheap for Singaporean ... Rotfl Very Very Horrible Shooking... Sick
(18-05-2023, 10:26 AM)Ola Wrote: [ -> ]If income tax up, then healthcare care cost should come down
Got good and got bad... Laughing
[Image: happy-dance.gif]
(18-05-2023, 09:37 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Sad right? crying

Wah you income tax increased from 2-3% to 10%. That means how many folds has you income increases? ..... Thinking
haolian in disguise thread.
(18-05-2023, 11:18 AM)Huliwang Wrote: [ -> ]Wah you income tax increased from 2-3% to 10%. That means how many folds has you income increases? ..... Thinking

Not much...
there are > 6 ways for u to reduce paying  income legally
(18-05-2023, 10:24 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]2 years ago is only 2~3%.

Congratulations. That means your income has gone up quite a bit in % terms based on individual income tax rate.  From around $60,000 to around $150,000?

https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual...-tax-rates
(18-05-2023, 12:54 PM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Congratulations. That means your income has gone up quite a bit in % terms based on individual income tax rate.  From around $60,000 to around $150,000?

https://www.iras.gov.sg/taxes/individual...-tax-rates

No leh....annual pay increased $5K nia...
(18-05-2023, 01:07 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]No leh....annual pay increased $5K nia...

Then how come your tax is 10% of take home instead of 2-3%? To move from 2-3% of take home pay to 10% of take home pay needs quite a big increase in individual income.

I thought you were trying to share your happiness so I congratulate you earlier.
(18-05-2023, 01:11 PM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]Then how come your tax is 10% of take home instead of 2-3%? To move from 2-3% of take home pay to 10% of take home pay needs quite a big increase in individual income.

I thought you were trying to share your happiness so I congratulate you earlier.
That's the weird and sus part so I started this thread...I remember last time my first job, $1400 per month only....paying only zero income tax, subsequently as pay increased to $2.1K....income tax still zero.
Maybe this yr you hv less deductibles, so yr chargeable incomes jump from below 40k to over 80k?
(18-05-2023, 09:37 AM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Sad right? crying

Thank you for your generosity! Rotfl
(18-05-2023, 01:22 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Maybe this yr you hv less deductibles, so yr chargeable incomes jump from below 40k to over 80k?

I think becos of bonuses...last time my bonus sibeh pathetic like 0.5 mth but suddenly got 1.5 mth.
(18-05-2023, 01:25 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Thank you for your generosity! Rotfl

Thank you for yr contribution towards nation building
(18-05-2023, 01:28 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: [ -> ]Thank you for yr contribution towards nation building

So PAP gov should return all my CPF at age 55...
(18-05-2023, 01:28 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]So PAP gov should return all my CPF at age 55...

Long long long time ago it is. Then chut pattern now got what Retirement Account, Full Retirement Sum etc all kind of BS to lock it further more! Did you vote for lightning strike last time?
(18-05-2023, 01:13 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]That's the weird and sus part so I started this thread...I remember last time my first job, $1400 per month only....paying only zero income tax, subsequently as pay increased to $2.1K....income tax still zero.

Eh? First 20K not taxable. Then include 1K earned income relief (assuming below 55 else earned income relief is 5k. If 60 and above is 8k.). And add 1.5K of NSMan Self Relief. So basically one can earn 22.5k and will not be taxed for a guy that completed NS. Then there's parent relief if one has parents depending on him.

Maybe call IRAS to check with them.
(18-05-2023, 01:30 PM)sgh Wrote: [ -> ]Long long long time ago it is. Then chut pattern now got what Retirement Account, Full Retirement Sum etc all kind of BS to lock it further more! Did you vote for lightning strike last time?

Never voted for PAP, similar to never use iPhone before in my life.
(18-05-2023, 01:26 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]I think becos of bonuses...last time my bonus sibeh pathetic like 0.5 mth but suddenly got 1.5 mth.

1.5 month also does not jump so much in tax rate mah.
(18-05-2023, 01:31 PM)Levin Wrote: [ -> ]1.5 month also does not jump so much in tax rate mah.

Yalor....that's why I'm confused....I never buy shares and I got insurance policies as well...
(18-05-2023, 01:38 PM)ODA TETSURO Wrote: [ -> ]Yalor....that's why I'm confused....I never buy shares and I got insurance policies as well...

Best just to call them. If over the phone still cannot understand how this increase came about, just go IRAS in person.
Non owner occupied property tax lagi jialat. Last yr 20%, this yr 27%, next yr 36%