Full Version: Does the COE System actually work?
It it a failure (in terms of implementation)?
Failure (in terms of controlling car usage/population)
Success (in terms of controlling car usage/population)
Success (in terms of generating revenue)

The entire system needs to be overhauled. This is an excellent take on the current flawed system and changes needs to be done - 
a neccesity item being distributed by money alone is not acceptable.
it should be distributed by citizen rights.
all citizen can buy 1 time free. bid 1 time. used up buy form other citizen.

to pay 10k tax a year for coe is over taxing.
(30-06-2023, 07:22 PM)kennethgoh Wrote: [ -> ]It it a failure (in terms of implementation)?
Failure (in terms of controlling car usage/population)
Success (in terms of controlling car usage/population)
Success (in terms of generating revenue)

The entire system needs to be overhauled. This is an excellent take on the current flawed system and changes needs to be done - 

COE is perfect what....................PAP is making a MASSIVE killing...............imagine if car prices are like in the US................Ferrari and Lamborghini will not be able to keep up with demand from S'pore alone...............all those AngMohs will have to work overtime..........
As far a SG gov is concern...the policy  works perfectly and exceed expectation in terms of increasing income revenue and almost ZERO $ on printing each CEO vehicles "10 Years paper certificate"... with the added benefit that the ERP system's existence is justified since the COE only "entitles" pple to own, not use their car...Big Grin
Nowadays like no more weekend cars
(02-07-2023, 12:12 PM)Manthink Wrote: [ -> ]As far a SG gov is concern...the policy  works perfectly and exceed expectation in terms of increasing income revenue and almost ZERO $ on printing each CEO vehicles "10 Years paper certificate"... with the added benefit that the ERP system's  existence is justified since the COE only "entitles" pple to own, not use their car...Big Grin

these are real issue that opposition can ride on. not tell small story that does not make sense.
or even create problem.

opposition can work on car distributions,  no enough bto, high water price.
high electricity price  don't get fool by their high energy cost claim. it is due to indirect cost like network cost.
look at the huge amount of road work pub is doing to lay cables for electricar. work or not later the cost will have to be paid in electricity bill via network cost.  think about it. is it correct or stupid. the amount of tree trimming on the road almost daily.  money wasted to churn the economy.
no real benefits to citizen . only the contractor that win the contract and all the fw doing the jobs. by putting in all those road blocks etc in the name of safety they increased the cost a lot when no real safety improvement. but it blocks out small contractor and limit the chances to a few already established contractors.  are these related people? is main con a non singaporean from some old school team? go explore it.
EPIC is I noticed Local Rich afford more super car despite COE keep rising.
Make big money.

Give to Putin?
(02-07-2023, 03:35 PM)sclim Wrote: [ -> ]these are real issue that opposition can ride on. not tell small story that does not make sense.
or even create problem.

opposition can work on car distributions,  no enough bto, high water price.
high electricity price  don't get fool by their high energy cost claim. it is due to indirect cost like network cost.
look at the huge amount of road work pub is doing to lay cables for electricar. work or not later the cost will have to be paid in electricity bill via network cost.  think about it. is it correct or stupid. the amount of tree trimming on the road almost daily.  money wasted to churn the economy.
no real benefits to citizen . only the contractor that win the contract and all the fw doing the jobs. by putting in all those road blocks etc in the name of safety they increased the cost a lot when no real safety improvement. but it blocks out small contractor and limit the chances to a few already established contractors.  are these related people? is main con a non singaporean from some old school team? go explore it.

The problem is not with the oppositions they won't be able to rectify all those you described.
In parliament majority wins, the problem is with the 39% voters and many fence sitters who are still looking for quality candidates.
As long as PAP still hold more than two third majority nothing will change for the better.
As a matter of fact many oppo candidates are as good as some commentators here if not better.
PAP want you to choose candidates as good as theirs and that's where the trap is.

Decide now, you want PAP as a dominant government who implement policies at their whims and fancies or have a coalition government involved in making decisions after vigorous debates.
(02-07-2023, 03:35 PM)sclim Wrote: [ -> ]these are real issue that opposition can ride on. not tell small story that does not make sense.
or even create problem. opposition can work on car distributions,  no enough bto, high water price.

Me thinks Oppositions don't agree COE or its high-price is a bread & butter issue.

SG is Gov trying to push for a social compact that regard private car ownership is not an entitlement nor economically viable option.... Big Grin
(02-07-2023, 04:33 PM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]The problem is not with the oppositions they won't be able to rectify all those you described.
In parliament majority wins, the problem is with the 39% voters and many fence sitters who are still looking for quality candidates.
As long as PAP still hold more than two third majority nothing will change for the better.
As a matter of fact many oppo candidates are as good as some commentators here if not better.
PAP want you to choose candidates as good as theirs and that's where the trap is.

Decide now, you want PAP as a dominant government who implement policies at their whims and fancies or have a coalition government involved in making decisions after vigorous debates.

not saying that problem is with the opposition. saying this is an area that opposition can work on.
know the area that really concerns the public and work on it then opposition become credible. not on small nonsense.
making fun of mp etc.
by the way i vote pap all the time because there is no credible opposition. if it remains that way i may be unhappy with happening but i will still vote pap. because i can only vote the better one.
higher transport cost vibrates thru the economy and results in higher cost for everything .
be it capital cost for transport equipment, labour or energy. so a high coe will eventually appear as inflation
on the goods that we used daily.
just look at milk. nzd exchange rate is low in history but nz milk is a lot more expensive then it is, especially those branded one. why does milk maid condense milk has to be so much more then 10 years ago?
Well you get what you voted for
(02-07-2023, 06:54 PM)sclim Wrote: [ -> ]not saying that problem is with the opposition. saying this is an area that opposition can work on.
know the area that really concerns the public and work on it then opposition become credible. not on small nonsense.
making fun of mp etc.
by the way i vote pap all the time because there is no credible opposition. if it remains that way i may be unhappy with happening but i will still vote pap. because i can only vote the better one.

Is the "no credible opposition" worse than this credible incumbent?  [Image: rrsiswaran1207_15.jpg?VersionId=RcKmnInW...k=zDLgU4Iu]
COE as a quota system works, because it seeks to put a cap on the number of cars on the road. But COE as a form of distribution of available resources failed because it allows only people who are rich to own a car. Many of the rich have two and more cars and the usage is very low. This results in car quota being used but low utilisation rate.
(13-07-2023, 05:12 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]COE as a quota system works, because it seeks to put a cap on the number of cars on the road. But COE as a form of distribution of available resources failed because it allows only people who are rich to own a car. Many of the rich have two and more cars and the usage is very low. This results in car quota being used but low utilisation rate.

Based on your kind of logic, you might as well whine that it's unfair that only the rich can live in Districts 9, 10 and 11. Rolleyes

And only the rich can afford to eat at fine dining restaurants.

To cut to the chase, what you are advocating is that everbody should be entitled to everything

It's quite obvious that you are a comminist.  Rolleyes
COE is a day light robbery system. Rotfl
Now only the rich can buy the car, not the peasants any more.
(02-07-2023, 04:33 PM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]*Snipped*

pap does not implement policies on a whim as you deluded yourself to think.

It's well known that the Cabinet brainstorm before they settle on the optimal decision.

You can accuse pap of implementing some unpopular policies but to say that they make policies based on their whims and famcies shows a lack of integrity on your part.  Rolleyes
PAP's famous FTs #1 POLICY, mah

Give them jobs, make them rich so that they can buy condos and cars

They are using this system to divide the rich and the poor

And yet a few times, PAP talked about social compact which divides

[Image: CCS-Social-Compact.gif]

where to post images
(13-07-2023, 05:39 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]COE is a day light robbery system. Rotfl
Now only the rich can buy the car, not the peasants any more.

Go and tell Lky that if you are not happy.  Rolleyes
(13-07-2023, 05:32 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]Based on your kind of logic, you might as well whine that it's unfair that only the rich can live in Districts 9, 10 and 11. Rolleyes

To cut to the chase, what you are advocating is that everbody should be entitled to everything

Where is the Swiss standard of living? Rotfl
Now CPF can’t even retire happily.
Your HDB will become zero value when the lease is over. Song Boh!
More LKKs will sleep on the street in the near future.
Song Boh!

If you haven’t heard, Singapore’s retirement and re-employment ages will be progressively raised to 65 and 70 by 2030.
(13-07-2023, 05:32 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]Based on your kind of logic, you might as well whine that it's unfair that only the rich can live in Districts 9, 10 and 11. Rolleyes

That is what happened to HK when the rich decide that the peasants dun have to live in a large space.

I'm not a communist but a socialist. I believe in a more equitable distribution of resources.

In truth, I'm of the opionion that many capitalists dun deserve all the wealth and resources and they're out there to exploit workers to gain the most for themselves while leaving the people who work the hardest earn the least.
(13-07-2023, 05:48 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]https://content.mycareersfuture.gov.sg/s...retirement.

Dead Dragon sure has Perm Head Damage.  The 4 jobs for retiree-

1. Software Developer
 India students start at 14 years old
 while useless PAP make us start at 70 years old?

2. F&B 
 as cooks 

3. Into education 
But need how many O or A level passes?

4. Healthcare
 To help in polyclinics and nursing homes
(13-07-2023, 06:12 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: [ -> ]That is what happened to HK when the rich decide that the peasants dun have to live in a large space.

I'm not a communist but a socialist. I believe in a more equitable distribution of resources.

In truth, I'm of the opionion that many capitalists dun deserve all the wealth and resources and they're out there to exploit workers to gain the most for themselves while leaving the people who work the hardest earn the least.

For every success story like Hotel 81 and Sheng Siong, there are 10,000 startups which came to grief.

Business acumen is not something which everyone has. For this reason, the vast majority of people study and hope to enter a university but those who are not academically inclined may learn a skill. Both work for peepur.

Working for peepur and getting a salary is a choice. Nobody forced you to work for others. Your can go into business and work for yourself right. But most peepur will say no, it's better to work for peepur because doing business is too risky. 

He who takes the risk takes the rewards. So I wonder what you are on about ranting about inequality.  Rolleyes
(13-07-2023, 05:40 PM)Oyk Wrote: [ -> ]pap does not implement policies on a whim as you deluded yourself to think.

It's well known that the Cabinet brainstorm before they settle on the optimal decision.

You can accuse pap of implementing some unpopular policies but to say that they make policies based on their whims and famcies shows a lack of integrity on your part.  Rolleyes

You went for the brainstorming or brain washing?
(13-07-2023, 05:43 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote: [ -> ]Where is the Swiss standard of living? Rotfl
Now CPF can’t even retire happily.
Your HDB will become zero value when the lease is over. Song Boh!
More LKKs will sleep on the street in the near future.

An HDB lease is 99 years. Where do all those LKK come from who are still alive when the HDB lease expires
(13-07-2023, 10:02 PM)Dan Wrote: [ -> ]You went for the brainstorming or brain washing?

You don't prove to be smart with that flippant question. If you cannot talk reasonably and want to play with words, then Oyk tells you to fugg off.  Rolleyes