China tries to censor data showing 1 billion people live in poverty

The data is published by Beijing Normal University.
Censorship stepped in when netizens started to discuss the data.

[Image: hnbBMRP.jpg]

Internet censors worked round the clock this week to suppress online discussions about poverty in the country after an economist revealed nearly 1 billion people were living off less than $300 a month.

A hashtag on Weibo, China's X-like microblogging app, pointed to the ongoing income inequality by stating that "964 million people" were surviving on monthly incomings of 2,000 Chinese yuan, or about $280.

On Tuesday, the hashtag about China's economic woes briefly reached the No. 1 spot on Weibo's trending page before it was taken down. A day earlier, Li Xunlei, chief economist at Zhongtai Securities, had published an article that highlighted the data.

Despite signs of stress appearing across various sectors, Beijing has not come up with a stimulus package as part of its post-pandemic economic recovery. The country's major property giants, Evergrande and Country Garden, defaulted on their debt this year as help from the government failed to materialize.

Chinese leader Xi Jinping has instead made calls for improving income distribution through a campaign of "common prosperity," with the censorship once again revealing just how sensitive Beijing is to any debate about China's economic performance—a metric tied directly to Xi's legitimacy and right to govern

On Weibo, searches for the now disabled hashtag returned a notice reading: "In accordance with relevant laws, regulations and policies, the content of this topic cannot be displayed."

It is a common censorship tactic that stops popular topics from gaining traction among the website's 600 million monthly active users, who have recently been sent automated messages advising them not to badmouth the economy, a message that has been driven home by China's spy agency, the Ministry of State Security.

In his article for the business outlet Yicai, Li cited data from a 2021 research paper by the China Institute of Income Distribution at Beijing Normal University, which placed the number of people living on less than 2,000 yuan a month at 964 million, or nearly 70 percent of the population.
Li assessed the state of the Chinese economy and discussed pressing challenges as well as the potential for growth.

His article, which was later taken down, said China was at an "inflection point" because of its population structure, which was once declining and aging. Li nonetheless concluded that competent government leadership could enable further economic growth, possibly doubling China's GDP by 2035.

In June 2020, Wang Haiyuan and Meng Fanqiang, the authors behind the income study cited by Li this week, published an article in China's leading financial news magazine Caixin, in which they quoted late Premier Li Keqiang's comments about the estimated 600 million Chinese people who were living on less than 1,000 yuan, or $140, a month.

"Although 40 years of reform and opening up have greatly improved the country's comprehensive strength and level of national income, as of today, the fact that we have a large population, few resources and very uneven development is still obvious, and a considerable number of residents are still close to the poverty line," Wang and Meng wrote.

Their old article was also deleted from Caixin's website in the aftermath of efforts to suppress Li's more recent analysis.

At the end of 2020, China's President Xi declared a "complete victory" over absolute poverty in the country, which Beijing defines as living off 2,300 yuan a year. He said the last remaining 99 million people were lifted out of the category, but the message arrived to little fanfare at the time.

https://www.newsweek.com/china-article-c...population.

Hahaha ahbutt the ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s your daddies media again you don't know meh China on holiday hor

https://youtu.be/MjEOFyODY3s?si=8z7CPVtB7zNEeRTZ

Ahbutt envy very jealous hor

https://media.tenor.com/NNJwfiHsR0YAAAAM/spit-take.gif https://media.tenor.com/AQz3_zaiD14AAAAM...ughter.gif https://media.tenor.com/1Nv9azJcL5AAAAAM...ughing.gif https://media.tenor.com/xQSjCRzUVrIAAAAM...i-lmao.gif https://media.tenor.com/3bJVGMslI9gAAAAM...ughing.gif
[+] 1 user Likes Omnipresent88's post

Ahbutt pukimak fare much better than 1b ahtiongs? No wonder so yaya lah

https://www.helsinkitimes.fi/china-news/...ganda.html
[+] 2 users Like Alice Alicia's post

What rubbish. China grow at 5%
US only 2.4%

China should give sgbutt a medal for being so concerned with its state of affairs.

He got mama taking gd care of him ma Laughing

世上只嘛嘛好,有嘛的孩子像个宝

(30-12-2023, 10:26 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  China should give sgbutt a medal for being so concerned with its state of affairs.

He is a Chinese so of course he ought to be concerned.

How about you? Are you a Chinese?

(30-12-2023, 10:44 PM)Oyk Wrote:  He is a Chinese so of course he ought to be concerned.

How about you? Are you a Chinese?

and you?

A Han CECA motherfucker?

Thinking Oyk:Tempt peepur at their Archilles Point: GREED
[+] 1 user Likes starbugstk's post

Ah butt as usual like to believe Western media blindly, without undestanding how the figure is calculated.

https://youtu.be/SvsnI9AYtkw?si=QrYdEE0Hnn6agC5c

(30-12-2023, 09:57 PM)Migrant Wrote:  What rubbish. China grow at 5%
US only 2.4%

you believe ah ?

if so, why despite aging population..............they allow so many young people to leave the country ?

last time always 8% yearly............possible so accurate always 8% ?

so compound at 8% for so many years............recently compound at 5%.................GDP should be several times bigger liao compared to 20 years ago.........

(30-12-2023, 09:57 PM)Migrant Wrote:  What rubbish. China grow at 5%
US only 2.4%

China collapsed long time ago mah!  Rotfl

Being poor, Ahbutt pukimak's dream is to collapse china.

(31-12-2023, 09:42 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Being poor, Ahbutt pukimak's dream is to collapse china.

Actually I held up alot of hope for China but very disappointed last few years it is poorly managed.

Data coming out seems to show things getting worse. I can understand China fans are die hard supporters and will deny all bad news. However, as China affects the region and Singapore we have to be wary and aware of what is really going on.

I used to sell along of goods from China through my online business now these suppliers are not reachable when I tried to wish them Happy New Year this morning. Why because the Communist  govt block WhatsApp. In the past, they would use VPN but now they arrest people and jail for use of VPN.  I was very impressed by these suppliers as I would pay them thousands ahead for goods and they always delivered. Very honest people.

China has regressed and will continue to regress under this current leadership

If 1b are living in poverty then who are living in those cities? Even their 3rd tier city is more modern than sinkljiapoor

(31-12-2023, 09:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Actually I held up alot of hope for China but very disappointed last few years it is poorly managed.

Data coming out seems to show things getting worse. I can understand China fans are die hard supporters and will deny all bad news. However, as China affects the region and Singapore we have to be wary and aware of what is really going on.

I used to sell along of goods from China through my online business now these suppliers are not reachable when I tried to wish them Happy New Year this morning. Why because the Communist  govt block WhatsApp. In the past, they would use VPN but now they arrest people and jail for use of VPN.  I was very impressed by these suppliers as I would pay them thousands ahead for goods and they always delivered. Very honest people.

My neighbour's girl has been buying goods from them to sell online. Now she's looking around for her 3rd condo units despite the ridiculous absd

Cannot hide inside yr house to do business. Must visit the suppliers and negotiate the deals. Each yr she has to visit the cities several times, and brings back lots of samples

(31-12-2023, 09:06 AM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  you believe ah ?

if so, why despite aging population..............they allow so many young people to leave the country ?

last time always 8% yearly............possible so accurate always 8% ?

so compound at 8% for so many years............recently compound at 5%.................GDP should be several times bigger liao compared to 20 years ago.........

One cannot compare today 5% growth of today. to 8% growth of decade ago.
Important is able to produce more value product and services, income can grow.
With increase education world wide, competitions become tougher. 
That is why Cn govt eager to build their own stuff to sustain growth. 

Like the rest of the world, its goods and service are subject to dollar valuation
consider they are face Fed hike, fund restrictions, trade and technology sanctions. 
such growth is consider very good.

The only other major country that can survive such pressure is Ru.

(31-12-2023, 09:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Actually I held up alot of hope for China but very disappointed last few years it is poorly managed.

You want to communicate with them then you'd jolly well use wechat.

In general, China is well-managed. The reason why its economy looks like regressing is because of US's inteference, as a result of their own incompetence. US has been psycho-ing its allies not to invest in China. Why dun you blame US instead? If you look at today's world's trouble, US has a hand in every one of them.

(31-12-2023, 09:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I used to sell along of goods from China through my online business now these suppliers are not reachable when I tried to wish them Happy New Year this morning. Why because the Communist  govt block WhatsApp. In the past, they would use VPN but now they arrest people and jail for use of VPN.  I was very impressed by these suppliers as I would pay them thousands ahead for goods and they always delivered. Very honest people.

They hv big regular customers and no time to entertain small kujinkuraj buyers. Very nice already if they dun tell you dun kajiao them

(04-02-2024, 03:00 PM)Purikura Wrote:  Ah tiongs are extremely poor and living in poverty because china is a third world shithole LOL!

Now the ah tiongs have to scam and beg for money. Extremely pathetic. Truly the sick man of asia.

Most of the ah tiongs are also living in slums and villages after their property crisis destroyed all their tofu buildings there.

OMG!!!

CECA is so so sour!  Rotfl

https://youtu.be/L8H_I-JvJgQ?si=3xCsj1OnAS5DWBn5

Pukimak the amdk arse lickers stooge’s your brothers hor

A lot of companies here will be in financial trouble.

China is a big country on the other hand they have lots of rich ppl leh

Or else why our SG so desperately want china tourists because they spend a lot

China very rich,,,but their brain n mind very poor....so its a big unmatched....

https://youtu.be/K_57-OOjoP8?si=D-zWGFxR24JsVjnF

Ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s see this jin tulan hor LMAO

[Image: Screenshot-20240202-130947.jpg]

So ahbutt pukimak are doing better than 1b poor ahtiongs, even without doing anything at all. 太性福了

Ah tiongs are very poor and living in poverty because china is a third world shithole. You can easily find many articles of them pang sai everywhere.

Now the ah tiongs have to scam and beg for money. Very pathetic.

Truly the sick man of asia. Wumao sure triggered! Tongue Tongue Tongue

[Image: IMG-20240630-193711.jpg]

1b ppl's houses worse than yours?