Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Printable Version

+--- Thread: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? (/Thread-Blinken-and-Yellen-looking-for-China-help-in-buying-US-bond-should-China-help)

Pages: 1 2 3

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 20-04-2023

環時諷布林肯不是說來就來 陸要拜登撤李尚福制裁再說 新聞大白話@tvbstalk 20230420

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 20-04-2023

【頭條開講】美中史無前例制裁來了!葉倫放話要針對中國電動車與晶片!戴琪卻反常大談"與中脫勾不可能"!20230420@HeadlinesTalk

https://www.cnbc.com/2023/04/20/janet-yellen-speaks-on-china-economic-relations-with-us.html

Janet Yellen says U.S. economic competition with China must be ‘fair to both sides’

Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen called Thursday for fair economic competition and growth with China.

Yellen said the U.S. will pursue an economic relationship with China while defending its vital interests.

Her remarks come as Washington, and the GOP-held House in particular, increases its pressure on Beijing.

WASHINGTON — The U.S. seeks healthy economic competition with China even as the country pursues intellectual property to gain an economic edge, Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen said Thursday.

Yellen stressed the importance of fairness between the U.S. and China, while outlining a three-tiered approach to economic relations between the nations during remarks at the Johns Hopkins University’s School of Advanced International Studies on Thursday. Her comments come as Washington, and the Republican-held House in particular, increase pressure on Beijing as part of a sustained U.S. backlash against China’s economic tactics.

Yellen said the world’s two largest economies can only compete through impartial rulemaking.

“There is a world in which, as companies in the U.S. and China challenge each other, our economies can grow, standards of living can rise, and new innovations can bear fruit,” Yellen said, according to pre-released remarks. “But this type of healthy competition is only sustainable if it is fair to both sides.”

The Treasury chief also contended China has pursued market share for its domestic firms through illegal means Rotfl and at the expense of foreign competitors. Rotfl

“It has done so in traditional industrial sectors as well as emerging technologies,” Yellen said of the Chinese government’s efforts. “This strategy has been coupled with aggressive efforts to acquire new technological know-how and intellectual property – including through IP theft and other illicit means. Rotfl

The Biden administration’s three-pronged proposal to develop economic rapport with China emphasizes national security and human rights protections.

“We will clearly communicate to [China] our concerns about its behavior. And we will not hesitate to defend our vital interests,” Yellen said. “Even as our targeted actions may have economic impacts, they are motivated solely by our concerns about our security and values. Our goal is not to use these tools to gain competitive economic advantage.”

Safeguarding certain technologies from China’s military and security networks is “of vital national interest,” Yellen said.

“We will not compromise on these concerns, even when they force trade-offs with our economic interests,” she said.

Yellen vowed to partner with U.S. allies in countering China’s “unfair economic practices” Rotfl while advancing “our vision for an open, fair, and rules-based global economic order.” She also called on Chinese President Xi Jinping to follow through on his promise to cooperate on global issues like climate change and debt distress.

“We call on China to follow through on its promise to work with us on these issues – not as a favor to us, but out of our joint duty and obligation to the world Rotfl Rotfl Rotfl ,” she said. “Tackling these issues together will also advance the national interests of both of our countries.”

China's fault!  Rotfl

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 22-04-2023

https://www.zaobao.com.sg/realtime/china/story20230422-1386007

崔天凯:中美交流须做到相互尊重言而有信

中国前驻美大使崔天凯说,中美之间的交流要不受影响,必须做到相互尊重和言而有信。

崔天凯星期五(4月21日)在蓝厅论坛会场接受中国央视旗下微信公众号《玉渊谭天》专访谈及中美关系时,作出以上表述。

他说,中美作为世界前两大经济体,也都是联合国安理会常任理事国,在世界上有各自的重要性。这两个国家之间按理说应该有更多的交往,包括政府之间和高层的交往;这种交往应该相当频繁和经常,但现在很难做到。

崔天凯认为,这当中涉及两个问题,即能否真正做到相互尊重和言而有信。

他说,两个国家之间交往跟两个人之间交往一样,如果不是平等相待,相互尊重,如何继续交往。但美国有些人的习惯思维就是要强势对付你,言下之意他是强势,要把对方打成弱势。用他们的话说要从实力地位出发来和你交往,老是这种心态,不能平等相待,不能尊重对方,怎么交往。

崔天凯引用中国一句古话“智者不惑,仁者不忧,勇者不惧”,即智者、仁者和勇者无需每天把实力挂在嘴上,这么说可能正是心里没底的表现。“我觉得这是影响中美交往,包括高层交往一个很重要的原因。”

此外,崔天凯指出,能否做到言而有信也会影响中美交流。他说,现在经常看到的现象是,中美之间正式交往,甚至是相当高层级的交往,美国表态讲了几个不,几个无意,回过头马上提升跟台湾的官方关系,继续卖武器给台湾,甚至帮台湾搞国际空间,然后抹黑中国,与中国脱钩断链,制裁中国企业等。

崔天凯说:“你说的一套做的一套,何以取信于人?如果官方的高层沟通会晤,你说的话不能取信于人,这些交往还有什么意义?我觉得这两个问题如果不解决,会继续影响中美之间的交流。”

对于美方近期释放希望对话信号,中美高层对话是否有必要,能解决什么问题,崔天凯说,不对话肯定解决不了问题。对话如果没有诚意,不能平等相待,也不见得能解决问题。

至于美国财长耶伦星期四的中美经济关系演讲中谈及国家安全问题,美国为何要将国安问题摆在中美贸易关系前的重要位置,崔天凯说,美国现在实际上把国家安全的概念泛化了,什么都扣上国家安全。但国家安全应该是个有明确定义的概念,如果什么都是国家安全,真正的国家安全上哪里去了?这种泛化是很有害的,也维护不了美国真正的国家安全。

崔天凯认为,美国现在有这个政治需要,他要打压中国,要跟中国脱钩断链,要拿什么东西来证明他需要做这些,就拿国家安全,一个大帽子一扣,说你这违反市场规律,违反世贸组织的规定,但科技发展应该要大家合作。

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 22-04-2023

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 25-04-2023

司马南:一会儿猫脸,一会儿狗脸,耶伦当得了拜登的家?

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 27-04-2023

美國正式與中國攤牌! 美財長耶倫:中國想崛起,必須按美國標準「無害繁榮」,接受美國領導! 中國必須接受世界現狀劃分,美國不許中國統一

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 28-04-2023

https://www.politico.com/news/magazine/2023/04/27/joe-biden-needs-china-fixer-00094064

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - sgbuffett - 28-04-2023

You guys are right US and China are enemies so it is no surprise US has to sanction and impose measures on China

What goes around comes around

.People forget Deng visit to US in 1976 where US investments and knowhow was brought to China resulting in 4 decades of economic growth.

Now that China considers US an enemy. It will be treated accordingly.

(28-04-2023, 07:27 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Now that China considers US an enemy. It will be treated accordingly.

You don't seem to   be able to see  things in the correct perspective!  nudie

Treasury Secretary Yellen delivers remarks on the U.S.-China economic relationship — 4/20/23

Comments :

When she says China needs to play by international rules what she’s really saying is China needs to play by OUR rules.
The Chinese foreign minister is right, they thought too highly of Americans.  BTW, don’t forget it was Washington who went to Beijing in 2008 and ask the Chinese to buy your debt.
We are not going to contain China, but we have Quad;
We are not going to cut China off technology chain, but we will sanction anyone who sells high tech chips to China;
We are not going to decoupling with China, but we are sanctioning Chinese companies who are ahead.

Yet why China haven’t invited me Bruh?
I used to respect Janet Yellen a lot because she’s a great economist. However, she’s controlled by politics now. We want to prosperity and jobs in USA. We can’t perceive every single economic issue through national security perspective. It’s fundamentally wrong! Politician love our business world say bad things about China, but it’s not the truth.
In one sentence:

We want hit you in all aspects, but it's wrong if you hit back.
I can understand why the Chinese government don't want to talk to the us anymore.
我不知道作为一个经济学家,原美联储主席,现任的美国财政部长。。耶伦女士是在陈述自己的想法,还是从别人那里拿到的这份讲稿照本宣科。我真的很感谢美国这两届的政府和官员,国会议员!是你们的实际行动,让很多出生在中国却不知不觉中在过去30-40年来接受美国及其附庸(包括一些国家,NGO,中国或长着中国脸的华人公知etc.)洗脑的中国人彻底清醒。。。谢谢你们,现在我们决定走自己的路去了。。Goodbye America
Similar speech to Native American in the old centuries: 1) We did want to de-couple the two culture, we lived together to help each other,  2) in the reserve lands we cooperated, 3) Outside reserve lands, we executed security action to protect ourself.
Her logic is we will continue to sanction your companies and block your companies invest in US, but you have to buy US debt and use dollars to trade. Very funny logic 😂😂😂
Feed the people in the USA. Food insecurity and gun violence in the USA is not because China is successful. America needs to review the human rights deficiencies in the USA and be an example. It is so disappointing to be an American and see how far America has declined. Where is the middle class in the USA? Sounds like she is making a case for a second Plaza Accord!
If you justify every hostile action to China by national security concern of US, there is no need for China to talk to you.

Considering how hostile US is to China and the fact that US can simply confiscate others' property, I think it IS really a national security concern for China to hold any US financial assets.

天天硬事3226期——01 美国沙利文表示不能与中国脱钩,只是设置小院子、高围栏,中美关系正常化唯有靠输入正确通关密码才行 02 美国首季GDP增速放缓至1.1%企业投资乏力,增长不好有利于和中国媾和

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Niubee - 28-04-2023

(28-04-2023, 07:27 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  You guys are right US and China are enemies so it is no surprise US has to sanction and impose measures on China

What goes around comes around

.People forget Deng visit to US in 1976 where US investments and knowhow was brought to China resulting in 4 decades of economic growth.

Now that China considers US an enemy. It will be treated accordingly.

u freaking lapdog

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 03-05-2023

沙利文反對脫鉤,耶倫卻對華发出終級經濟威脅,中國幾乎沒有選擇【傅前哨】

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 03-07-2023

野猫论政 761:财长耶伦来华访问,美国寻求与中国和平共存

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - pervertosan - 03-07-2023

why help?…dun help lah Rotfl

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - lvlrsSTI - 03-07-2023

China should continue selling U.S. bonds than topping up more.

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - WhatDoYouThink! - 03-07-2023

Pokkai liao still so kuailan? Pdf like syonan lao gay? Laughing

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 04-07-2023

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - RiseofAsia - 04-07-2023

Tension already increased.
Yellen visits at wrong timing.
Thank to Blinken lah. Rotfl

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Manthink - 04-07-2023

(19-01-2023, 09:02 PM)Harry Lee Wrote:  Help an Enemy who throw daggers at you everyday?

This may look stupidly contrarian to many - When your enemy seeking your help by visiting your house ...you know you pretty much win the war already,  without starting one... Big Grin

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Manthink - 04-07-2023

(04-07-2023, 08:02 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Tension already increased.
Yellen visits at wrong timing.
Thank to Blinken lah. Rotfl

Yellen and Blinken are like oil and water... Both may be in the same jar, but they hardly mix.   Big Grin

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 05-07-2023

司马南:耶伦财长,你不能隔着锅台上坑

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 05-07-2023

【#琴謙天下事】大陸反擊正開始!美韓怕大陸限稀土找蒙古合作!賴岳謙:不容易! 葉倫訪京後中美關係?賴岳謙:各自準備對著幹!  Rotfl @CtiNews

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 06-07-2023

US-China relations: Yellen heads to Beijing in bid to stabilise ties • FRANCE 24 English

Yellen Arrives in Beijing to Rekindle U.S.-China Ties

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Omnipresent88 - 06-07-2023

https://media.tenor.com/DgdiLkQcPFEAAAAM/hillary-clinton-bill-clinton.gif

She sucking Mighty China liao lah
https://media.tenor.com/KmO0ZsSmxsEAAAAM/celebration-dance.gif

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - Alice Alicia - 06-07-2023

Tomorrow, Biden will call Xi dictator or monster.

Don't trust Yankees. They are the new Nazis.

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 07-07-2023

野猫论政 777:美财长耶伦来华武装要饭,中国镓锗出口管制后立刻变绵羊

RE: Blinken and Yellen looking for China help in buying US bond, should China help? - cityhantam - 07-07-2023

【盧秀芳辣晚報】葉倫7/6起訪華! 陸官宣"經雙方商定" 非北京主動邀請 @CtiNews 精華版