![]() |
The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Printable Version +- SG Talk (https://sgtalk.net) +-- Forum: SG Talk (https://sgtalk.net/Forum-SG-Talk) +--- Forum: Market Talk (https://sgtalk.net/Forum-Market-Talk) +--- Thread: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... (/Thread-The-term-keling-why-is-it-offensive) Pages:
|
The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - sgbuffett - 27-04-2025 I have never used term but have often heard people using it. I thought it was more singapore slang or informal street language. .. Yesterday then i know some people consider it a racial slur. I actually had to get AI to explain what the issue is about here is what Meta AI says about this. For those who knew all along this is a racist or racial slur, i certainly would like to hear what you think. Quote:Understanding "Keling" RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - WhatDoYouThink! - 27-04-2025 It's been used in proverb for thousands of yrs: 解铃还需系铃人 RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - RiseofAsia - 27-04-2025 But I heard some ppl call them 黑豹战士lah Do you know ese is also a degratory term? Like Chinese or Vietnamese? Do you see Ang moh call themselves Americanese? RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Goldmine - 27-04-2025 Nothing offensive in calling Indian as Ke leng kia Keling is Indian and kia is child. = Indian child. Same for Malay and Chinese. Huan Na Kia = Malay child Thng Nan kia = Chinese child I The offensive part is she talking of her comrade being poor.. and can't afford to lose the deposit something to that effect. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Cmpunk - 27-04-2025 I find it very wrong by saying help her comrade not to lost deposit but not on the K Word RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Ineedhelp - 27-04-2025 The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound. It is rude to call them that, I found out the hard way cause I didn't know and I offended a JC friend. In contrast, ahneh is the right term because that means bro. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Goldmine - 28-04-2025 Even when one have good intention, one should be sensitive that what she said would not unwittingly hurt the feelings of the person referred to. The words or phrased used may sound derogatory. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Goldmine - 28-04-2025 Ahneh can also referred to as 'uncle'. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - theold - 28-04-2025 It comes from "Kalinga", an ancient Indian kingdom. Indonesians and Malaysians refer to them as Keling. Cambodians refer to them as Kleng. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Geneco - 28-04-2025 need some advice if keling ish offensive then ish anti vaxxer offensive if usual suspects FEAR and still SCARED of the latest mRNA jabs lololololol... ![]() worst of all, people gotch injured and died from it.... then need some advice where ish the deserved OUTRAGE lololololol... ![]() RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - A2Z - 28-04-2025 It's a hokkien word for indian that's all. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - cheekopekman - 28-04-2025 (27-04-2025, 10:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: I have never used term but have often heard people using it. Kek Leng Kia means Indians lah! ![]() RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Sentinel - 28-04-2025 AI is also superficial, not reliable Keling is originally a neutral word "Keling" has historical significance—it originates from the ancient Indian kingdom of Kalinga and was historically used in parts of Southeast Asia to refer to people of Indian origin. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Sentinel - 28-04-2025 Just like we last time call any Singh as "Babu" Just like any nigga was called "Joe" in America And Malays the Hokkien call them "Kiau Torh" or "dig soil" as most of the earlier Malays are employed to dig the soil during construction and road building RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - TopSage - 28-04-2025 Dun use the word ke leng Use cake leng instead RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Wy:Nox - 28-04-2025 It is a Hokkien word? Is Hokkien offensive? RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - TopSage - 28-04-2025 (28-04-2025, 07:21 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote: It is a Hokkien word? Is Hokkien offensive? The hokkien describe it using the sounds of prison chain RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Raphael05 - 28-04-2025 How about angmo kui and kiau tor then? Lagi worse? RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - watchfirst9 - 28-04-2025 (28-04-2025, 12:40 AM)A2Z Wrote: It's a hokkien word for indian that's all. maybe is to younger population as they seldom hear it. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - p1acebo - 28-04-2025 (27-04-2025, 10:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: I have never used term but have often heard people using it. That’s why I don’t call them Kekleng. I call them kekleng kia ![]() RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - RiseofAsia - 28-04-2025 I tot keling got another meaning, how come not in AI response? ![]() This is why I also seldom use it becos of this meaning. You dont find the explanation from AI sound weird, why derogatory? RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Sline - 28-04-2025 (27-04-2025, 11:39 PM)Cmpunk Wrote: I find it very wrong by saying help her comrade not to lost deposit but not on the K Word She had already deemed her comrade no chance or losing in the ward. While the campaign is going on just only a few days. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Sharexchange - 28-04-2025 PRC = Chow ah tiong RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Cmpunk - 28-04-2025 Referring Indian wearing those bangles and sound like wearing ring RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - p1acebo - 28-04-2025 Candidate is Dr hor. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Levin - 28-04-2025 (27-04-2025, 11:56 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote: The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound. Yes, my older relatives told me the same thing too when I was young. Keling is the sound made by the chains. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Napoleon Porlumpar - 28-04-2025 got one wise reservist guy told me.............. Ke Ling = Fake Dragon (in Hokkien).........so is actually a snake or worm................LOL RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Stoki - 28-04-2025 (27-04-2025, 11:56 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote: The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound. Wrong. You don’t know don’t anyhow blare out. Keling come from the ringing of the bell. “Keling, keling” The indians were mostly rubber tappers and they, esp the indian women likes to wear small bells around their ankles. When they go rubber tapping in the early morning in the plantation, the bells will keling, keling and other tappers will know they are coming. So they will say, keling is coming RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Ineedhelp - 28-04-2025 (28-04-2025, 11:03 AM)Stoki Wrote: Wrong. You don’t know don’t anyhow blare out. My Indian friend told me the story. RE: The term "keling" why is it offensive.... - Tangsen - 28-04-2025 What about Ah Neh? |