The term "keling" why is it offensive....

I have never used term but have often heard people using it.
I thought it was more singapore slang or informal street language. ..

Yesterday then i know some people consider it a racial slur. 

I actually had to get AI to explain what the issue is about here is what Meta AI says about this.

For those who knew all along this is a racist or racial slur, i certainly would like to hear what you think.

Quote:Understanding "Keling"
- *Definition*: "Keling" is a term used in Southeast Asia, particularly in Malaysia and Indonesia, to refer to people of Indian descent or those with darker skin tones.
- *Connotations*: The term can be neutral or derogatory, depending on the context and tone in which it is used.

Offensiveness of "Keling"
- *Historical context*: The term "Keling" has historical roots and has been used in various ways, including as a slur against people of Indian descent.
- *Racial undertones*: In some contexts, "Keling" can be used to imply inferiority or to discriminate against individuals based on their skin tone or ethnicity.
- *Cultural sensitivity*: The term's offensiveness can vary depending on cultural and personal perspectives, with some individuals finding it derogatory or hurtful.

Usage and Impact
- *Colloquial usage*: In everyday conversation, "Keling" might be used casually without intending offense, but its impact can still be hurtful or alienating for those targeted.
- *Social and cultural implications*: The use of terms like "Keling" can reflect and perpetuate racial or ethnic stereotypes and biases.

Conclusion
The term "Keling" can be complex, with its meaning and offensiveness depending on context, tone, and cultural background. Understanding the nuances of such terms is crucial for respectful communication and fostering inclusivity.

It's been used in proverb for thousands of yrs: 解铃还需系铃人

But I heard some ppl call them 黑豹战士lah

Do you know ese is also a degratory term?
Like Chinese or Vietnamese?

Do you see Ang moh call themselves Americanese?

Nothing offensive in calling Indian as Ke leng kia
Keling is Indian and kia is child. = Indian child. 

Same for Malay and Chinese.

Huan Na Kia = Malay child

Thng Nan kia = Chinese child 

I

The offensive part is she talking of her comrade being poor.. and can't afford to lose the deposit something to that effect.

I find it very wrong by saying help her comrade not to lost deposit but not on the K Word

The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound.

It is rude to call them that, I found out the hard way cause I didn't know and I offended a JC friend.

In contrast, ahneh is the right term because that means bro.
[+] 1 user Likes Ineedhelp's post

Even when one have good intention, one should be sensitive that what she said would not unwittingly hurt the feelings of the person referred to. The words or phrased used may sound derogatory.

Ahneh can also referred to as 'uncle'.

It comes from "Kalinga", an ancient Indian kingdom.

Indonesians and Malaysians refer to them as Keling. Cambodians refer to them as Kleng.
[+] 2 users Like theold's post

need some advice if keling ish offensive then ish anti vaxxer offensive if usual suspects FEAR and still SCARED of the latest mRNA jabs lololololol... Tongue

worst of all, people gotch injured and died from it....

then need some advice where ish the deserved OUTRAGE lololololol... Tongue

[+] 1 user Likes Geneco's post

It's a hokkien word for indian that's all.
[+] 1 user Likes A2Z's post

(27-04-2025, 10:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I have never used term but have often heard people using it.

I actually had to get AI to explain what the issue is about here is what Meta AI says about this.

For those who knew all along this is a racist or racial slur, i certainly would like to hear what you think.

Kek Leng Kia means Indians lah! Big Grin Huan Kia means Malays and Tng Lang means Chinese lah!

AI is also superficial, not reliable

Keling is originally a neutral word

"Keling" has historical significance—it originates from the ancient Indian kingdom of Kalinga and was historically used in parts of Southeast Asia to refer to people of Indian origin.

Just like we last time call any Singh as "Babu"

Just like any nigga was called "Joe" in America

And Malays the Hokkien call them "Kiau Torh" or "dig soil" as most of the earlier Malays are employed to dig the soil during construction and road building

Dun use the word ke leng
Use cake leng instead

It is a Hokkien word? Is Hokkien offensive?

(28-04-2025, 07:21 AM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  It is a Hokkien word? Is Hokkien offensive?

The hokkien describe it using the sounds of prison chain

How about angmo kui and kiau tor then? Lagi worse?

(28-04-2025, 12:40 AM)A2Z Wrote:  It's a hokkien word for indian that's all.

maybe is to younger population as they seldom hear it.

(27-04-2025, 10:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  I have never used term but have often heard people using it.

That’s why I don’t call them Kekleng.

I call them kekleng kia  Cool

I tot keling got another meaning, how come not in AI response? Rotfl

This is why I also seldom use it becos of this meaning. You dont find the explanation from AI sound weird, why derogatory?

(27-04-2025, 11:39 PM)Cmpunk Wrote:  I find it very wrong by saying help her comrade not to lost deposit but not on the K Word

She had already deemed her comrade no chance or losing in the ward. While the campaign is going on just only a few days.

PRC = Chow ah tiong

Referring Indian wearing those bangles and sound like wearing ring

Candidate is Dr hor.

(27-04-2025, 11:56 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound.

It is rude to call them that, I found out the hard way cause I didn't know and I offended a JC friend.

Yes, my older relatives told me the same thing too when I was young. Keling is the sound made by the chains.

got one wise reservist guy told me..............

Ke Ling = Fake Dragon (in Hokkien).........so is actually a snake or worm................LOL

(27-04-2025, 11:56 PM)Ineedhelp Wrote:  The term came about because indians under British rule were locked up in chains and came here to be hard labour. As they walk through the streets, the chains dragged on the ground making the sound.

Wrong. You don’t know don’t anyhow blare out.

Keling come from the ringing of the bell. “Keling, keling”

The indians were mostly rubber tappers and they, esp the indian women likes to wear small bells around their ankles. When they go rubber tapping in the early morning in the plantation, the bells will keling, keling and other tappers will know they are coming. So they will say, keling is coming

(28-04-2025, 11:03 AM)Stoki Wrote:  Wrong. You don’t know don’t anyhow blare out.

Keling come from the ringing of the bell. “Keling, keling”

The indians were mostly rubber tappers and they, esp the indian women likes to wear small bells around their ankles. When they go rubber tapping in the early morning in the plantation, the bells will keling, keling and other tappers will know they are coming. So they will say, keling is coming

My Indian friend told me the story.

What about Ah Neh?