How to handle an envious relative?

(11 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My aunt told my uncle (her brother) that my mom (their sister) is stingy because she only gives her $800 per month, and my mom is tardy because she doesn't always remember to transfer the money by the 1st or 2nd of the month. Since my aunt's own adult children do not give her any money, it is untrue and unreasonable to label the person giving her $800 per month as "stingy". So that is untrue. Her children also echo her sentiments and make envious comments about where we live and the model of cars we drive etc. When we get into conversations about where we live, work and holiday, they later commented that we are very "materialistic" etc. I won't go into specifics.  

think you are oversensitive.
stingy is different for different people, it is not untrue or unreasonable.
it depends on giver and taker.
if your mom has no issue, you should not overact.
it is not talking bad.

just like someone labels someone as kiasi or kiasu, it is not talking bad.
it is just a personal or negative comments.

similarly, i think PAP govt is stingy with CDC vouchers of 500.
i am not talking bad of the govt.

(6 hours ago)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Family problem, i think is quite abit substantial amount, and they are still not happy...gappy.

It is my aunt's perception since my mom lives in a landed property. It was purchased in the 1970s when prices were reasonable. Even though my parents are retirees, my aunt and her children believe that she can afford to give much more than $800 monthly. It is perception at odds with reality. 

(5 hours ago)forum456 Wrote:  think you are oversensitive.
stingy is different for different people, it is not untrue or unreasonable.
it depends on giver and taker.
if your mom has no issue, you should not overact.
it is not talking bad.
just like someone labels someone as kiasi or kiasu, it is not talking bad.
it is just a personal or negative comments.
similarly, i think PAP govt is stingy with CDC vouchers of 500.
i am not talking bad of the govt.

We can agree to disagree.

(9 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My sentiments exactly! When the Govt gives CDC vouchers which are taken from the tax we pay them, S'poreans are so thankful to the govt. My mom has never gotten any $ from my aunt, but hands her $800 every month when my cousins give their mother nothing. How can that aunt call her elder sister "stingy"? Does she expect $2,000 every month from her long retired sister?   

Hope rest on oneself to see the real you. 
[Image: IMG-20241015-WA0003.jpg]

you are slandering 

Psalm 50:20

“You sit and speak against your brother;
You slander your own mother’s son

Leviticus 19:16

You shall not go about as a slanderer among your people, and you are not to act against the life of your neighbor; I am the Lord.

Ephesians 4:31-32: "Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with every kind of malice" 

(5 hours ago)forum456 Wrote:  stingy is different for different people, it is not untrue or unreasonable. it depends on giver and taker. if your mom has no issue, you should not overact. it is not talking bad. just like someone labels someone as kiasi or kiasu, it is not talking bad. it is just a personal or negative comments.
similarly, i think PAP govt is stingy with CDC vouchers of 500. i am not talking bad of the govt.

If your poor relative knows you live in a bungalow, drive a BMW and earn a substantial pay as a professional, but goes around telling others that you are a scammer, corrupt and dishonest, isn't that talking bad about you? 

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  you are slandering Psalm 50:20 “You sit and speak against your brother; You slander your own mother’s son Leviticus 19:16  You shall not go about as a slanderer among your people, and you are not to act against the life of your neighbor; I am the Lord. Ephesians 4:31-32: "Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with every kind of malice" 

Do not misquote scriptures to malign a person you consider an "infidel".

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  you are slandering 

Psalm 50:20

“You sit and speak against your brother;
You slander your own mother’s son

Leviticus 19:16

You shall not go about as a slanderer among your people, and you are not to act against the life of your neighbor; I am the Lord.

Ephesians 4:31-32: "Let all bitterness and wrath and anger and clamor and slander be put away from you, along with every kind of malice" 

Hope...why are you referring to the Bible?
Quran doesn't have the verses?  Big Grin

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  We can agree to disagree.

agree.

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Do not misquote scriptures to malign your fellow believer.

Hope is a Moslem!  Big Grin
He is a fast learner....he already knows how to use the Biblical verses already Big Grin
You can return him back with Quranic verses.. Big Grin

(5 hours ago)pinkpanther Wrote:  Hope...why are you referring to the Bible? Quran doesn't have the verses?  

Hope is hopeless?

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Do not misquote scriptures to malign your fellow believer.

Those verses are about slandering.
You’re slandering here.

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  If your poor relative knows you live in a bungalow, drive a BMW and earn a substantial pay as a professional, but goes around telling others that you are a scammer, corrupt and dishonest, isn't that talking bad about you? 

in this case, this is talking bad and you can sue the person for defamation because there is no such thing

if the person says you are stingy or materialistic, it is not talking bad, just negative comments or personal opinion

another example is someone says you are ugly, this is not talking bad. it is a personal opinion.

(5 hours ago)pinkpanther Wrote:  Hope is a Moslem! He is a fast learner....he already knows how to use the Biblical verses already You can return him back with Quranic verses.

It is a fact that even satan knows the Scriptures. Psalm 91:11–12 was quoted by satan when he tempted Jesus in the desert (Matthew 4:6). Of course, he misapplied it for his own evil purposes. In no way do these verses mean that believers should put themselves in unnecessary danger.

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Hope is hopeless?

Hope is as Sahih as your nemesis Ali Imran Big Grin

(Yesterday, 12:55 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Apart from FD and some insurance retirement plans, my mom relies on an allowance from my siblings and me. So the irony is that my aunt is NOT receiving an allowance from her own children, but getting a cut from my mom's allowance from my siblings and me. She evens complains that $800 per month from my mom who is long retired, is not enough.

Glossary of Buddhism.
The Eightfold Path consists of eight practices:
1) right view...😌 First.
2) right resolve,
3) right speech
4) right conduct,
5) right livelihood,
6) right effort,
7) right mindfulness & 
8) right samadhi
Starting with best way to practice the Eightfold. Starting with Path in your every day life is to keep it simple & ✓path begins with (1) Right View, or call it Appropriate or Accurate View

(5 hours ago)forum456 Wrote:  in this case, this is talking bad and you can sue the person for defamation because there is no such thing if the person says you are stingy or materialistic, it is not talking bad, just negative comments or personal opinion

If someone falsely accuses you of being stingy or materialistic, they are talking badly about you. These are negative labels that can damage your reputation and hurt your feelings when told to others. Which part do you not understand?

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Do not misquote scriptures to malign a person you consider an "infidel".

(5 hours ago)pinkpanther Wrote:  Hope...why are you referring to the Bible?

Misinterpretation of the Bible is very dangerous lah! Big Grin Satan misquoted the Scripture also and Jesus rebuked him lah! By the way, why start the Bible and Quran debates again leh? Thinking

(5 hours ago)pinkpanther Wrote:  Hope...why are you referring to the Bible?

Let him learn from his Bible. He shouldn’t talk about his aunt here.

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  Those verses are about slandering.
You’re slandering here.

Surah Al-Hujurat (49:12):

"O you who have believed, avoid much [negative] assumption. Indeed, some assumption is sin. And do not spy or backbite each other. Would one of you like to eat the flesh of his brother while he is dead? You would detest it. And fear Allah; indeed, Allah is Accepting of Repentance and Merciful."

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  Those verses are about slandering. You’re slandering here.

Be careful not to be the devil's accomplice by being a wolf in sheep's clothing.

[Image: images?q=tbn:ANd9GcS0QOqoxvaDHPCIJBvptgJ...9MJO8Prw&s]

Stinginess is just an opinion about a person, not slandering nor defamatory lah. She could hv used better words like frugal, thrifty and so on

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  Let him learn from his Bible. He shouldn’t talk about his aunt here.

Wah..Hope in full attack mode.. Big Grin

(5 hours ago)Hope Wrote:  Let him learn from his Bible. He shouldn’t talk about his aunt here.

You don't know who I am so you don't know who my aunt is. You should not be a servant of satan to stir up religious hatred.

[Image: 81VBXOdHWhL._AC_UF1000,1000_QL80_.jpg]

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  You don't know who I am so you don't know who my aunt is. You should not be a servant of satan to stir up religious hatred.

Put out the small fire  Fire before it gets bigger lah! Big Grin

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  If someone falsely accuses you of being stingy or materialistic, they are talking badly about you. These are negative labels that can damage your reputation and hurt your feelings when told to others. Which part do you not understand?

stingy or materialistic or ugly are personal comments.
different people have different standards.
it is not falsely accused.
it is true for some and false for some.

if you care about anyone who says you are stingy or materialistic ,you either do not have confidence in yourself or people who know you or
you have too much time to care for these comments.

(6 hours ago)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Good deed, good karma   Wink

Yes, giving create good Karma. But after you give, you badmouth the recipient, all good Karma evaporates.

(5 hours ago)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  If someone falsely accuses you of being stingy or materialistic, they are talking badly about you. These are negative labels that can damage your reputation and hurt your feelings when told to others. Which part do you not understand?

Agree with you lah! Big Grin False accusations can hurt many people lah! I didn't do it but you said that I did it so that's false accusation lah!

(5 hours ago)Tee tiong huat Wrote:  Glossary of Buddhism.
The Eightfold Path consists of eight practices:
1) right view...😌 First.
2) right resolve,
3) right speech
4) right conduct,
5) right livelihood,
6) right effort,
7) right mindfulness & 
8) right samadhi
Starting with best way to practice the Eightfold. Starting with Path in your every day life is to keep it simple & ✓path begins with (1) Right View, or call it Appropriate or Accurate View

FOR THOSE WHO ARE to retiring or 60 yrs OLD and ABOVE PLEASE READ THIS.

This is for you to read info

I really like what is said here & am going to try my best to follow. Thank to the person who wrote this. May God bless us all as we strive to be blessing to others at this age, especially to our children. LW
🚩Between 60 & death. It's time to use the money saved up. Use it & enjoy it. Don't just keep it for those who may have no notion of the sacrifices made to get it. Remember there is nothing more dangerous than a son or daughter-in-law with big ideas for your hard-earned capital.
🚩Warning: This is also a bad time for investments, even if it seems wonderful or fool-proof. They only bring problems and worries. This is a time for you to enjoy some peace and quiet.
🚩Stop worrying about the financial situation of your children & grandchildren, & don't feel bad spending your money on yourself. You've taken care of them for many years, you've taught them what you could. You gave them an education, food, shelter, and support. The responsibility is now theirs to earn their own money.
🚩Keep a healthy life, without great physical effort. Do moderate exercise (like walking every day), eat well, & get your sleep. It's easy to become sick, & it gets harder to remain healthy. That is why you need to keep yourself in good shape & be aware of your medical physical needs. Keep in touch with your doctor, do tests even when you're feeling well. Stay informed.
🚩Always buy something you like or best, most beautiful items for your significant other. The key goal is to enjoy your money with your partner. One day one of you will miss the other, & money will not provide any comfort then, enjoy it together.
🚩Don't stress over the little things. You've already overcome so much in your life. You have good memories & bad ones, but important thing is the present. Don't let past drag you down & don't let the future frighten you. Feel good in the now. Small issues will soon be forgotten.
🚩Regardless of age, always keep love alive. Love your partner, love life, love your family, love your neighbor and remember: "A man is not old as long as he has intelligence and affection."
🚩Be proud, both inside and out. Don't stop going to your hair salon or barber, do your nails, go to the dermatologist & the dentist, keep your perfumes and creams well stocked. When you are well-maintained on the outside, it seeps in, making you feel proud and strong.
🚩Don’t lose sight of fashion trends for your age, keep your own sense of style. You’ve developed your own sense of what looks good on you – keep it & be proud of it. It’s part of who you are.
🚩ALWAYS stay up-to-date. Read news or papers, watch a video news. Go online and read what people are saying. Make sure you have an active email account and try to use some of those social networks. You'll be surprised at what old friends you'll meet.
🚩Respect younger generation their opinions. They may not have the same ideas as you, but they are the future, will take the world in their direction. Give advice, not criticism, try to remind them that yesterday's wisdom still applies today. Never use phrase: “In my time.” Your time is now. As long as you’re alive, you are part of this time.
🚩Some people embrace their golden years,
others become bitter and surly. Life is too short to waste your days on the latter. Spend your time with positive, cheerful people, it'll rub off on you & your days will seem that much better. Spending your time with bitter people will make you feel older and harder to be around.
🚩Do not surrender to the temptation of living with your children or grandchildren (if you have a financial choice, that is). Sure, being surrounded by family sounds great, but we all need our privacy. They need theirs. You need yours. Even then, do so only if you feel you really need the help or do not want to live by yourself
🚩Don't abandon your hobbies. If you don't have any, make new ones. You can travel, hike, cook, read, dance. You can adopt a cat or a dog, grow a kitchen garden, play cards, checkers, chess, dominoes, golf or even a new car..
🚩Try to go. Get out of the house, meet people you haven't seen in a while, experience something new (or something old). The important thing is to leave the house from time to time. Go to museums, go walk through a park. Get out there.
🚩Speak in courteous tones and try not to complain or criticize too much unless you really need to. Try to accept situations as they are.
🚩Pains and discomfort go hand in hand with getting older. Try not to dwell on them but accept them as a part of life.
🚩If you've been offended by someone – forgive them. If you've offended someone-apologize. Don't drag around resentment with you. It only serves to make you sad and bitter. It doesn't matter who was right. Someone once said: "Holding a grudge is like taking poison and expecting other person to die." Don't take that poison. Forgive, forget, & move on with life.
🚩Laugh. Laugh away your worries Remember, you are one of the lucky ones, managed to have a life, a long one. Many never get to this age, never get to experience a full life. My valued friends, enjoy peaceful life at this point in your life ...
Don't worry... be happy. 🥰
Credit. M Sanchez Jr.