The Impossible S'pore Dream
15-01-2024, 03:35 PM
15-01-2024, 03:42 PM
A lot has been said about the strength of the S'pore Dollar, but that only applies if S'poreans spend it overseas. In our own country, the SGD has little spending power. S$1 million will buy us a pigeon hole in the sky that doesn't actually belong to the dweller, but to the Housing Board i.e. Govt. S$200,000 will not be enough to buy most cars which are also leased from the Govt for 10 years.
15-01-2024, 03:44 PM
By reading the title, I thought it was about football. But when I came in, it was about car ownership. If one is willing to work hard surely he can afford a car.
15-01-2024, 03:59 PM
(15-01-2024, 03:44 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote: By reading the title, I thought it was about football. But when I came in, it was about car ownership. If one is willing to work hard surely he can afford a car.
Our politicians don't work hard, but have a starting salary of $1 million per annum taken from taxpayers' money.
15-01-2024, 03:59 PM
15-01-2024, 04:02 PM
(15-01-2024, 03:35 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: https://sg.yahoo.com/style/grew-always-w...01898.html
The Govt doesn't owe S'poreans the right to own a car. In fact, only a mere 11% enjoy that privilege. That is why it has become the impossible dream of 89% of residents in SG. Those who do have a car are envied and even hated by many of the 89%. The sad fact is that when you are poor, others will despise you; when you are rich, others will envy or even hate you.
15-01-2024, 04:05 PM
(15-01-2024, 03:59 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote: They studied hard.
S'pore is ranked by Forbes, IMF and the Economist as 4th in the world for crony capitalism - the % of billionaires with family or personal ties to the Govt. Our politicians got into office not by how much they know, but who they know with influence.
15-01-2024, 05:04 PM
(15-01-2024, 04:05 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: S'pore is ranked by Forbes, IMF and the Economist as 4th in the world for crony capitalism - the % of billionaires with family or personal ties to the Govt. Our politicians got into office not by how much they know, but who they know with influence.You must first study hard then can enter the same uni as their sons or daughters then can marry them. Then only can use relationship to enter mah.
15-01-2024, 05:08 PM
(15-01-2024, 05:04 PM)Buffybuffy Wrote: You must first study hard then can enter the same uni as their sons or daughters then can marry them. Then only can use relationship to enter mah.
Crony capitalism doesn't refer to just family ties. Friends are included, so think along the lines of former school mates, colleagues and grassroots leaders etc.
15-01-2024, 05:11 PM
Instead of complaining, work harder, take on 2 or 3 jobs!
15-01-2024, 05:16 PM
15-01-2024, 07:36 PM
(15-01-2024, 05:16 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: I earn enough to own a car, but my latest purchase (after the drop in COE premiums) has eaten a significant chunk of my savings, so I may have to forego an early retirement.I changed my 4 year old car when market opened after Covid. Today I’m thinking of selling and change a smaller car or just take grab. But the latter 70-80% got attitude problem so that’s holding me back.
15-01-2024, 07:40 PM
It depends on who is in charge of the govt.
15-01-2024, 07:57 PM
(15-01-2024, 04:02 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: The Govt doesn't owe S'poreans the right to own a car. In fact, only a mere 11% enjoy that privilege. That is why it has become the impossible dream of 89% of residents in SG. Those who do have a car are envied and even hated by many of the 89%. The sad fact is that when you are poor, others will despise you; when you are rich, others will envy or even hate you.
15-01-2024, 09:02 PM
Ok lah, owned a car, enjoyed it for 15 years and sold it off when Coe hit 150k region.
Materials are immaterial. Don't be so obsessed with ownership of anything...
15-01-2024, 09:32 PM
(15-01-2024, 05:11 PM)mikotan Wrote: Instead of complaining, work harder, take on 2 or 3 jobs!
Good idea. Going to look for coffeeshop helper job now!
16-01-2024, 04:42 AM
Why ppl think car is a convenient?? I dont think so, I own car, and sometimes u just got to wait to get into the carpark if it is full.
one in and one out basic. last week i was at westgate... knn. waited 30min to get into the carpark.. u call that shiok to won a car????
u go IMM, u go vivocity, and Raffles city,, most of the time vy hard to find a parking lot.
I find grab easier. just pay and drop off , dont need to worry about find a parking lot, dont need to pump petrol.. dont need to worry
abt anything relate to car.
dont need to pay road tax, dont need to wash car... paying road tax and washing car is not my hobby. neither do i enjoy doing them..
I find the transport system quite ok too.. MRT,, bus are always mostly on time, save some time MRT break down,
but so is our vechicle,,
one in and one out basic. last week i was at westgate... knn. waited 30min to get into the carpark.. u call that shiok to won a car????
u go IMM, u go vivocity, and Raffles city,, most of the time vy hard to find a parking lot.
I find grab easier. just pay and drop off , dont need to worry about find a parking lot, dont need to pump petrol.. dont need to worry
abt anything relate to car.
dont need to pay road tax, dont need to wash car... paying road tax and washing car is not my hobby. neither do i enjoy doing them..
I find the transport system quite ok too.. MRT,, bus are always mostly on time, save some time MRT break down,
but so is our vechicle,,
16-01-2024, 04:44 AM
(15-01-2024, 05:16 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: I earn enough to own a car, but my latest purchase (after the drop in COE premiums) has eaten a significant chunk of my savings, so I may have to forego an early retirement.
really foolish to forgo early retirement just to own a car..
i think u enjoy washing car and pay road tax.
instead of paying coe,, u use them to buy goog amzn meta msft, u will be reward when u retire.
16-01-2024, 06:55 AM
Driving car is unnecessary for most people they should change their mindset.
16-01-2024, 07:29 AM
Credit card more important. Else cannot buy a lot of online stuff.
16-01-2024, 09:01 AM
16-01-2024, 09:02 AM
16-01-2024, 09:04 AM
16-01-2024, 09:10 AM
(15-01-2024, 09:02 PM)Sticw Wrote: Ok lah, owned a car, enjoyed it for 15 years and sold it off when Coe hit 150k region. Materials are immaterial. Don't be so obsessed with ownership of anything...
Well said! In S'pore, 80% of the population actually only think they own their HDB flat, when they are mere lessees (tenants) and the HDB is their lessor (landlord). The same goes for the car we paid over $200K for which we only lease from the Govt for 10 years.
16-01-2024, 09:39 AM
You don't even own your body.
Times up, you've to go.
Nothing in this world last forever.
Not your property, not your car.
Times up, you've to go.
Nothing in this world last forever.
Not your property, not your car.
16-01-2024, 10:34 AM
16-01-2024, 12:04 PM
16-01-2024, 12:43 PM
(16-01-2024, 12:04 PM)hansamu Wrote: Agree fully. Can't bring along.
It is because we cannot bring any of our material possessions with us after death that we must be the best version of ourselves that we can be in this life. That means giving our all to achieve the highest academic qualification that we can attain, secure a job that pays us enough to afford the necessities with some luxuries for our loved ones. That includes a home and car. So I cannot see anything wrong with striving for some of these possessions even though life is relatively short.
16-01-2024, 12:57 PM
(15-01-2024, 05:16 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote: I earn enough to own a car, but my latest purchase (after the drop in COE premiums) has eaten a significant chunk of my savings, so I may have to forego an early retirementLamenting that you may have to continue working....
An oxymoron....Lol
Of course individuals differ entirely....do what you are most comfortable and happy with.
To each his own.
16-01-2024, 01:15 PM
(16-01-2024, 12:57 PM)hansamu Wrote: Lamenting that you may have to continue working....An oxymoron....Lol Of course individuals differ entirely....do what you are most comfortable and happy with. To each his own.
Not exactly lamenting that I have to continue working longer. I am well below the official retirement age, but entertained thoughts of early retirement before I made this latest purchase (yes, I was drawn by the sudden drop in COE premiums) even though my existing vehicle has 2 years to its expiry. Since I will be picking up my new car soon, I am wondering where I will drive to if I don't need to travel to work daily. That is why I mentioned that I may have to carry on working for awhile. LOL!