27-year-old S’porean buys JB apartment for S$200K as she can’t purchase

(20-03-2024, 10:34 PM)Migrant Wrote:  Are u sure Singaporean an buy cheap properties there?

Sarawak is the cheapest at minimum MYR 500k for foreigners.

The rest of the states are at least MYR 1M.

https://www.iproperty.com.my/guides/fore...uide-12332

(21-03-2024, 10:13 AM)theold Wrote:  For $10,000, you can buy a property in the Phillipines.

Any time if want to stay 
[Image: Screenshot-20240321-171207-Photos.jpg]

(20-03-2024, 09:09 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  27-year-old S’porean buys JB apartment for S$200K as she can’t purchase an HDB flat 🏠

Living in the 3-bedroom and 3-bathroom apartment has allowed her to gain independence.

👉 https://tsl.to/jbapartment

@mustsharenews

While it's good that this Singaporean has found a solution that works for her, there are some unique factors at play here that may not apply to most Singaporeans:

1) Your job needs to be a virtual one i.e. you don't need to go to office in Singapore
2) In the event that circumstances change and you can no longer work virtually, one must bear in mind Malaysian properties tend to be depreciating so it is likely losses will be incurred when switching the Malaysian condo to buy/rent in Singapore
3) You don't have kids who are schooling in Singapore
4) You don't have a spouse that needs to work in Singapore

Maybe govt needs to change policy to allow young singles to buy old resale HDBs (with conditions e.g. 3-room flats or smaller and older than 30 years). Quite illogical that young single sinkies are forced to go JB to buy a home, but young married Msian PRs are allowed buy HDB in Singapore.

think foreigner need can only buy property above rm1m for malaysia property. what is the special case?
work is not a problem as many now work from home. 2 days out of 5 days. so only need to cross immigration 3 x a week and no need to reach office at or before 9. reach 10am leave 7pm la. skip all jam.
break in got rape. any where can possible to happen. check your neighbourhood and secure apartment or not.
how one protect oneself.

200k cash can have littel cpf as many independent jobs mostly no contribution just pay medisave.
or maybe got plenty cpf but no enough to buy private.