A Singaporean’s struggle in home country: Job insecurity and foreign

(19-04-2024, 10:30 PM)forum456 Wrote:  it is not common in many countries.

in this world, only singapore will replace older citizens with young foreigners for jobs.

Midlife Crisis

Miserable middle age is a global phenomenon, according to an analysis of depression and happiness among 2m people in 80 countries. People everywhere follow a U-shaped curve of psychological well-being, with a nadir in their mid 40s.

Two economics professors, Andrew Oswald of Warwick University and David Blanchflower of Dartmouth College in the US, carried out the study, to be published shortly in the journal Social Science & Medicine.

Prof Oswald said the findings contrasted with many previous studies and with applied psychology textbooks – suggesting that, on average, our mood stays relatively consistent as we age.

The researchers analysed information from several different social surveys, including the Eurobarometer Surveys, the US General Social Surveys, the World Values Survey and more specialised surveys of mental health.

The findings were similar in rich and poor countries, with the probability of unhappiness reaching a peak in middle age – slightly earlier in women than in men.

As for 50 years old worker losing job to the young.
In other countries it is the same issue. 
Many Bosses prefer the young and agile. Especially those familiar with advance computer skills. 

They have enough young citizens to replace the older workers. With cheaper cost.
Singapore's small population need foreign labour reinforcement, even after we extend retirement age to 67.

(20-04-2024, 07:48 AM)moonrab Wrote:  They have enough young citizens to replace the older workers. With cheaper cost.
Singapore's small population need foreign labour reinforcement, even after we extend retirement age to 67.

Your explanation is against the reality.

In changi business park, 90% of the IT banking office workers are foreigners.
This is too extreme.
Every year, the govt IT job programme for IT in banking has
4000 applicants for 400 vacancies.
It means good jobs always have oversupply of applicants.

Employers say they cannot find applicants because they want to employ cheap foreigners.
Whenever the govt organised a job program for the employers, you can see that there are at least 10 applicants for every job.

(20-04-2024, 09:07 AM)forum456 Wrote:  Your explanation is against the reality.

In changi business park, 90% of the IT banking office workers are foreigners.
This is too extreme.
Every year, the govt IT job programme for IT in banking has
4000 applicants for 400 vacancies.
It means good jobs always have oversupply of applicants.

Employers say they cannot find applicants because they want to employ cheap foreigners.
Whenever the govt organised a job program for the employers, you can see that there are at least 10 applicants for every job.

Thought we are talking about 50s above? Midlife crisis. 

CECA is about IT jobs for the younger generation. Which is acknowledged not a big issue for Singaporean jobless.

Our local IT and AI skill workers are not enough for the industry demands. Many younger Singaporean chose other professions besides IT. 
Many MNC have to bring in their own skill workers for investment viability. 

I agree our Govt and linked entities must put top priority in hiring Singaporean IT and AI skill workers. 
Provide training and hands on experience opportunities. Grow a solid pool of such local talents for sustainability in crisis time. 
PR in this critical field should not be included under local talent building programme. 

As for private entities, raising the salary for SP skill worker can help in tackling low wages competition.

(20-04-2024, 10:27 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Thought we are talking about 50s above? Midlife crisis. 

our midlife job crisis is more than 2 times serious as compared to other countries.
because employers can get foreigners easily to replace citizens.
50% of our population are foreigners.

(20-04-2024, 10:27 AM)moonrab Wrote:  CECA is about IT jobs for the younger generation. Which is acknowledged not a big issue for Singaporean jobless.

90% of IT jobs in changi business park are CECA.
how can this be not a big issue ?

employers can retrench above 50 yrs old employees and replace them with CECA.
CECA means employers can replace you once you are old and expensive.

(20-04-2024, 10:27 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Our local IT and AI skill workers are not enough for the industry demands. Many younger Singaporean chose other professions besides IT. 
Many MNC have to bring in their own skill workers for investment viability. 

this is 100% false.
there are yearly 4000 applicants for 400 vacancies in govt job program for IT and AI jobs.

Our clueless politicians were outfoxed by their Indian counterparts and signed away tens of thousands of PME jobs that should have gone to true blue S'poreans. Vote them out!

[Image: Lightning.jpg]

Pap and cronies living in ivory towers will never understand the financial crises faced by the ordinary folks.

(20-04-2024, 11:01 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  Pap and cronies living in ivory towers will never understand the financial crises faced by the ordinary folks.

When our Ministers earn between $1 - $2.5 million per annum, live in GCBs and drive luxurious cars, the high cost of living in SG does not affect them.  They will never understand what the masses go through living from pay cheque to pay cheque. 

(19-04-2024, 10:12 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Mid life crisis...
Common in many countries. 
At the least, our young has opportunity in life..

Why should Mid- life and old must be discriminated?

If PAP cannot take care of Born- Citizens, Then they should be sacked.

(20-04-2024, 12:27 PM)Ola Wrote:  Why should Mid- life and old must be discriminated? If PAP cannot take care of Born- Citizens, Then they should be sacked.

The Pappies treat citizens as cogs in the wheel to keep the economy going at full steam. We are dispensable and if foreigners are more productive or cheaper to get the same job done, to hell with true blue locals. That is the govt that 60% of us voted for. They are only motivated by greed.  

(20-04-2024, 10:52 AM)forum456 Wrote:  90% of IT jobs in changi business park are CECA.

employers can retrench above 50 yrs old employees and replace them with CECA.
CECA means employers can replace you once you are old and expensive.

Old and expensive replacement phenomenon happens in most countries and companies. Cost factor for P&L.

CECA or any other races foreigners is similar in Singapore. They are in demand by the MNC investors. 

The MNC investors will not come to Singapore, if they cannot fulfill theirs human resources planning. 
Singaporean cannot find good paying jobs too.

Most of our youngs with good salary job are from MNC.

(20-04-2024, 12:43 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Old and expensive replacement phenomenon happens in most countries and companies. Cost factor for P&L.

CECA or any other races foreigners is similar in Singapore. They are in demand by the MNC investors. 

The MNC investors will not come to Singapore, if they cannot fulfill theirs human resources planning. 
Singaporean cannot find good paying jobs too.

Most of our youngs with good salary job are from MNC.

you are 100% wrong.
I suspect you are not citizen.
you are either PR or foreigner.

Most countries will retrench the old citizens and replace with young citizens.

Only Singapore will retrench the old citizens and replace with young foreigners/PR.

Only Singapore will replace citizens with foreigners/PR.
Most countries do not replace citizens with foreigners/PR.

(20-04-2024, 10:55 AM)forum456 Wrote:  this is 100% false.
there are yearly 4000 applicants for 400 vacancies in govt job program for IT and AI jobs.

I already said, govt IT and AI job must be priorities for Singaporean. Not even for the PR.
This is what oppies can fight on.

(20-04-2024, 01:03 PM)moonrab Wrote:  I already said, govt IT and AI job must be priorities for Singaporean. Not even for the PR.
This is what oppies can fight on.

Since I am in IT from graduation to now 26 years coming let me input some.

IT is a very wide field just like other profession. One particular role called software development is hard to get ppl to stay long. The nature of this job require constant upgrading and is very taxing on brain cells. This particular role find little attraction in local. Most just want to get past and move on to say IT QA Security Project Management role instead.

But software development role cannot be avoided as it is part of the whole IT system. So if no takers how? Import lor. This is why in the beginning many foreigner fill the locals don't want do software development. But as times go by these foreigners become smart liao why be workers here? I want to move up also and hence those IT roles locals enjoyed are at competition.

Me as local still stick to software development so safe and just got pay rise this year. Me a solo contributor role. Con is very few years need learn new programming language unlike project management and QA which are more generic in nature learn one skill can tahan more years.

(20-04-2024, 01:00 PM)forum456 Wrote:  you are 100% wrong.
I suspect you are not citizen.
you are either PR or foreigner.

Most countries will retrench the old citizens and replace with young citizens.

Only Singapore will retrench the old citizens and replace with young foreigners/PR.

Only Singapore will replace citizens with foreigners/PR.
Most countries do not replace citizens with foreigners/PR.

Salah la..
I am 100% local born Singaporean. Working through my whole life.

For the MNC, every governments are fighting hard for their investments. Some offering $billion rebate to close the deal. I am sure everyone here know about it.

In Singapore, the good salary offers in the market are mostly from MNC. 
Our SME are no way near their standard, in salary and retrenchment packages. 

You think Singapore government can dictate the MNC in hiring Singaporean first policy? 🤔...

Even when you managed to vote in a Singapore Coalition government comprising of WP, SDP and PSP. With Pritam as PM.
You think he can dictate all MNC COE to implement Singaporean first policy? Really?

I will be happy too if Pritam can do it realistically. 😆

The only way for Singaporean first policy is in our government linked companies. That is more realistic. Imo

(20-04-2024, 01:12 PM)sgh Wrote:  Since I am in IT from graduation to now 26 years coming let me input some.

IT is a very wide field just like other profession. One particular role called software development is hard to get ppl to stay long. The nature of this job require constant upgrading and is very taxing on brain cells. This particular role find little attraction in local. Most just want to get past and move on to say IT QA Security Project Management role instead.

But software development role cannot be avoided as it is part of the whole IT system. So if no takers how? Import lor. This is why in the beginning many foreigner fill the locals don't want do software development. But as times go by these foreigners become smart liao why be workers here? I want to move up also and hence those IT roles locals enjoyed are at competition.

Me as local still stick to software development so safe and just got pay rise this year. Me a solo contributor role. Con is very few years need learn new programming language unlike project management and QA which are more generic in nature learn one skill can tahan more years.

Agree with your assessment. Foreigners who come in will not be satisfied with doing just software development. It's hard work doing technical work.

(20-04-2024, 01:24 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Agree with your assessment. Foreigners who come in will not be satisfied with doing just software development. It's hard work doing technical work.

Due to recent policy changes software developer are now and can be paid on par to a project manager. During my era I never imagined software developer can be paid 8k and above those are project manager pay range. How times have changed a pity I born too early and pay depressed for so long until recent years.

(20-04-2024, 01:12 PM)sgh Wrote:  Since I am in IT from graduation to now 26 years coming let me input some.

"IT is a very wide field just like other profession. One particular role called software development is hard to get ppl to stay long. The nature of this job require constant upgrading and is very taxing on brain cells. This particular role find little attraction in local. Most just want to get past and move on to say IT QA Security Project Management role instead."

I know Singaporean friends and relatives in this field. Most find it difficult to sustain for long periods. 
Unlike other professions, the longer we worked, the better is our skill.

IT is a trade that evolves very fast, within a year or even months. 
Need to have a large population with many hungry upcoming youngs to pursue the skill and knowledge of new technologies. Very competitive. 
And it is a very expensive trade to  venture into. 

The MNC willing to invest $millions or $billion into a tiny Singapore with very low population. 3 million citizens. 
Definitely our human resource availability is not the top attractions for their ventures.
We are lucky when they are willing to adhere to our MOM citizen/pr ratio with foreign workers policy.

(20-04-2024, 01:29 PM)sgh Wrote:  Due to recent policy changes software developer are now and can be paid on par to a project manager. During my era I never imagined software developer can be paid 8k and above those are project manager pay range. How times have changed a pity I born too early and pay depressed for so long until recent years.

Let's not kid ourselves, project managers will always have better pay than developers. At most we can say that developers now have pay that is much better than before.

Unless one has real passion in technical work, it's better not to do it. 

BTW, what language you used to do your development?

(20-04-2024, 01:33 PM)moonrab Wrote:  "IT is a very wide field just like other profession. One particular role called software development is hard to get ppl to stay long. The nature of this job require constant upgrading and is very taxing on brain cells. This particular role find little attraction in local. Most just want to get past and move on to say IT QA Security Project Management role instead."

I know Singaporean friends and relatives in this field. Most find it difficult to sustain for long periods. 
Unlike other professions, the longer we worked, the better is our skill.

IT is a trade that evolves very fast, within a year or even months. 
Need to have a large population with many hungry upcoming youngs to pursue the skill and knowledge of new technologies. Very competitive. 
And it is a very expensive trade to  venture into. 

The MNC willing to invest $millions or $billion into a tiny Singapore with very low population. 3 million citizens. 
Definitely our human resource availability is not the top attractions for their ventures.
We are lucky when they are willing to adhere to our MOM citizen/pr ratio with foreign workers policy.

You write so long but you do know what we are lacking. IT software developer we need alot of them. As long as this role is shunned Spore govt no choice will keep import and now the foreigner say must also import their project manager etc too as a total package a la ransom if you think another way.

(20-04-2024, 01:15 PM)moonrab Wrote:  You think Singapore government can dictate the MNC in hiring Singaporean first policy? 🤔...

Even when you managed to vote in a Singapore Coalition government comprising of WP, SDP and PSP. With Pritam as PM.
You think he can dictate all MNC COE to implement Singaporean first policy? Really?

I will be happy too if Pritam can do it realistically. 😆

The only way for Singaporean first policy is in our government linked companies. That is more realistic. Imo

In this world, all countries can have citizen first policy except Singapore.

Why all countries can have citizen first policy but Singapore cannot have citizen first policy ?

can you name another country that a company can have 90% foreigners ?

(20-04-2024, 01:36 PM)sgh Wrote:  You write so long but you do know what we are lacking. IT software developer we need alot of them. As long as this role is shunned Spore govt no choice will keep import and now the foreigner say must also import their project manager etc too as a total package a la ransom if you think another way.

If you want their investment, what can you do?

Like I say, what can a Coalition Government with Pritam PM do? Reject their $Millions investment? 

Who to employ our Singaporean IT project manager? 🤔 

How many of you here are not working in MNC drawing 7k to 20k?
Be honest please..🤣

(20-04-2024, 01:39 PM)forum456 Wrote:  In this world, all countries can have citizen first policy except Singapore.

Why all countries can have citizen first policy but Singapore cannot have citizen first policy ?

can you name another country that a company can have 90% foreigners ?

Because we are a tiny island nation with 3 millions citizens. 700 sq km.
And expecting a SGD $5 to $10k and above monthly salary. Flexi working. 😆

(20-04-2024, 01:36 PM)sgh Wrote:  You write so long but you do know what we are lacking. IT software developer we need alot of them. As long as this role is shunned Spore govt no choice will keep import and now the foreigner say must also import their project manager etc too as a total package a la ransom if you think another way.

there is no need to import software developers.
our govt just need to train local talents.

I talked to WSG before.
WSG personnel told me that all govt sponsored IT programs with employers have oversupply of applicants.
He told me that some applicants need to apply 2 to 4 times to be successful.

(20-04-2024, 01:46 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Because we are a tiny island nation with 3 millions citizens. 700 sq km.
And expecting a SGD $5 to $10k and above monthly salary. Flexi working. 😆

citizen first policy is the correct policy.

foreigner first policy is the wrong and anti-citizen policy

Aiya  Singaporeans should just accept their fate. This is what they wanted and voted for it. 

Amitaba.       Confused

(20-04-2024, 01:49 PM)forum456 Wrote:  citizen first policy is the correct policy.

foreigner first policy is the wrong and anti-citizen policy

Ok last reply.
MNC don't want to invest in Singapore. 

With Citizen first policy, Singaporean also cannot get a IT software, Project Management job.

Simple hard truth. 👌

(20-04-2024, 01:55 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Ok last reply.
MNC don't want to invest in Singapore. 

With Citizen first policy, Singaporean also cannot get a IT software, Project Management job.

Simple hard truth. 👌

why MNC want to invest in other countries when they can have citizen first policy ?

are you saying MNC is biased towards Singapore and PAP is willing to kowtow to MNC ?

(20-04-2024, 02:08 PM)forum456 Wrote:  why MNC want to invest in other countries when they can have citizen first policy ?

are you saying MNC is biased towards Singapore and PAP is willing to kowtow to MNC ?

Because they have 30 to 100 millions population. 
Willing to work for SGD$3k and above. 
Simple hard truth. 👌