Gone in 2 hours: Retiree loses $70k in life savings

Gone in 2 hours: Retiree loses $70k in life savings after installing fake Google Play app on phone, 

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/gone-2...-app-phone

Waulauo so scary.then I better get another phone just to surf porn site

Think old folks should stick with hardware tokens for internet banking rather than using the apps from the banks.
Doing so will minimise the risk of malware getting hold of the phone to steal data for unauthorised banking transactions.

(13-04-2023, 07:42 PM)limpeh394 Wrote:  Waulauo so scary.then I better get another phone just to surf porn site

I also think using 2 SIM cards on 2 separate phones will be safer.

The one receiving sms pin numbers from the banks should be kept at home with no additional apps installed other than PayLah.

The second phone will be used as the normal phone with apps installed.
For the PayLah on this phone, it should be top up using the PayLah from the 1st phone.
Doing so will avoid exposing the banking pin numbers should there be any malware running on this (2nd) phone.
[+] 2 users Like sgxin's post

Dis wan garbagmen is directly to be blamed. Now cannot even pay by axn. , most garbagmen transaction must use digital app to transfer funds. Beri easy to hack accounts from overseas and siphon hundred surnames money. It could have happened to anybody, not just senior citizens.

(13-04-2023, 07:53 PM)sgxin Wrote:  I also think using 2 SIM cards on 2 separate phones will be safer.

The one receiving sms pin numbers from the banks should be kept at home with no additional apps installed other than PayLah.

The second phone will be used as the normal phone with apps installed.
For the PayLah on this phone, it should be top up using the PayLah from the 1st phone.
Doing so will avoid exposing the banking pin numbers should there be any malware running on this (2nd) phone.

My thots too but not everybody can afford two hps  yah. Blame garbagemen and their blind drive to go digital without realising the dangers

Likely scammer.exploited security flaws at DBS side otherwise how can the linkup be done?

(13-04-2023, 07:45 PM)sgxin Wrote:  Think old folks should stick with hardware tokens for internet banking rather than using the apps from the banks.
Doing so will minimise the risk of malware getting hold of the phone to steal data for unauthorised banking transactions.
My hardware token spoilt. Asked DBS for repacement and they told me phase out. I only do banking transactions using my computer.

(13-04-2023, 08:01 PM)luncheonmeat Wrote:  My thots too but not everybody can afford two hps  yah. Blame garbagemen and their blind drive to go digital without realising the dangers

Our garment's relentless desire to go digital but is giving headaches to seniors, and many apps are around to scam the elders............. Big Grin

Must be a victim of the newly widely push for elderly to download apps and hiring digital ambassadors to encourage elderly to use epayment this and that

(13-04-2023, 08:21 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  Must be a victim of the newly widely push for elderly to download apps and hiring digital ambassadors to encourage elderly to use epayment this and that

That is a wrong move, and many will regret when they get scammed................... Big Grin

Heng Arh! Old Opposition supporters do not listen to

Shoot blank Queen with her stupid digital programs

* Her deep eyelid surgery sibei ugly

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/watch/jo...me-2985236

Old folks should not hold any smart phones!

Do you realize all these problems started with banks getting rid of physical tokens?

Now virtual tokens and sms can be hacked.

Victims become victims because banks wanted to save money.

(13-04-2023, 07:45 PM)sgxin Wrote:  Think old folks should stick with hardware tokens for internet banking rather than using the apps from the banks.

the question is............how the fake app appear at the Google Playstore ??

must be inside job.............could be CECAs working there...........

(13-04-2023, 08:13 PM)Clyde Wrote:  My hardware token spoilt. Asked DBS for repacement and they told me phase out. I only do banking transactions using my computer.
I suggest it is better for you to move huge funds out of DBS to UOB. I felt DBS is not safe. You need not close DBS acct, but, do not put too much funds there.

i deleted all payment methods linked to my google play.

Our senior citizens very slow to learn new things.

(13-04-2023, 09:51 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  the question is............how the fake app appear at the Google Playstore ??

Likely he bought the phone second hand, already installed with that Playstore

The police if really on the ball, would and should have investigated this angle and catch the scammer at the 2nd hand phone shop

BUT as usual, dun expect them to do such meticulous work

(13-04-2023, 10:38 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Likely he bought the phone second hand, already installed with that Playstore

The police if really on the ball, would and should have investigated this angle and catch the scammer at the 2nd hand phone shop

BUT as usual, dun expect them to do such meticulous work

This is very likely as it is extremely unlikely that the uncle will search for the Playstore app in the Playstore itself.

But for seniors folks, some with failing mental capacity, I still think the best solution will be for banks to continue to issue the physical token, even if chargeable at $10-$20 a piece.
In the meantime, the old folks should only use one bank for their mobile banking and the savings in this bank should be kept minimal - i.e. sufficient for his/her monthly or quarterly expenses. Periodic top up can be made physically using cashier's order from another bank that doesn't have i-banking activated.

And just notice the CSA recommendation in the above news.
I think it is pure talk cock as even our talented Talent doesn't know how to setup the DVB on her TV and CSA expects the old folks to know how to "adequately protect" their mobile phones.

Quote:On Tuesday (April 11), the Singapore Police Force and the Cyber Security Agency of Singapore released a joint statement warning the public about the "dangers of downloading applications from third party or dubious sites".

They also advised the public on the steps to follow to ensure that all information communications technology (ICT) devices, including computers and mobile phones, are adequately protected.

(13-04-2023, 09:51 PM)Napoleon Porlumpar Wrote:  the question is............how the fake app appear at the Google Playstore ??

I am still using the DBS physical token and it is needed when adding a new recipient in their i-banking website for fund transfer.
So not sure how the app-based token works for such a case.
If all notifications are via the same phone, then it probably don't need an insider to carry out the stealing once the hacker can do remote viewing and control of the phone.

Ntuc kopitiam so proudly professed than more than 400000 people have converted to payment via their app.

They have just agents doing the downloading and conversion for seniors on the spot. Many still blur blur and let the "helpers" do what they like with their phones. 

Can expect more scams to come.

Heng ahhh lucky I still keep my money in milo tin.

sg still first world country should not be happening here. pap better buck up.

I find this story hard to believe
Normally when you do ibanking, you are alerted a number of times
When you login in, you need authentication
When you make transfer to third party you got an sms message
Another thing, if you never set a transfer limit, the default limit is $3,000 per day I think
This could be a fake story

Tampines & West Coast GRCs are there for the taking 

Fake story

Fearmongering by the police

can u explain how is it possible

There's no cure for stupidity, 😞 unfortunately.