Anyone found the stupidity of GST?

Raise GST in 2023 to cause inflation.

Then  all business and services will also raise the cost of living.

Healthcare, education . . .cost will increase. 

Then more citizens are affected.

So how? Raise some more GST again.

$6 Billion Assurance Package must also be a moving Goal Post like CPF.

By 2027, PAP must set aside $10 Billion Assurance Package for the next 5 years?? 

$6 billion Assurance Package to delay impact of GST increase - Bing video

[+] 2 users Like Ola's post

If they are really sincere, then should raise more progressive taxes and refrain from raising regressive taxes. Then the people's life will be better.
[+] 2 users Like Instinct's post

The govt has been creating problem for the people thru regressive taxes and then throw chicken wing to win votes. It's a vicious cycle that spiral into more hardship for the people while the rich are enjoying life and not paying their fair share of taxes. WTF!!

And truthfully, GST affects citizens much more than foreigners.

When economy was bad, those Non- Citizens just escape and went back to Malaysia, India . . . with a wonderful converted currency to use

Bu we have to continue to suffer in SG

Anyone thinks that PAP will lower the GST to 3 or 5% during Recession?

(19-02-2022, 11:22 AM)Ola Wrote:  Raise GST in 2023 to cause inflation.

By 2027, PAP must set aside $10 Billion Assurance Package for the next 5 years?? 

I fear the hyperinflation.

Raising costs across... businesses may want to consider trim headcounts or workers face wages stagnation  Sad

(19-02-2022, 11:31 AM)Instinct Wrote:  The govt has been creating problem for the people thru regressive taxes and then throw chicken wing to win votes. It's a vicious cycle that spiral into more hardship for the people while the rich are enjoying life and not paying their fair share of taxes. WTF!!

This will lead to high inflation that retirees will suffer the most. Then the chicken wing to them is to win votes and the dafts become grateful. That's the strategy.
[+] 1 user Likes Instinct's post

https://youtu.be/dupDyv_OskI

For you to think about it is it logical

Only when they loses more GRCs, then they will start to do the right thing. So we need more oppo in parliament to solve the root cause of the problem.
[+] 2 users Like Instinct's post

(19-02-2022, 11:22 AM)Ola Wrote:  Raise GST in 2023 to cause inflation.

To be honest the Rich don't mind to pay taxes, to them is like " out of good will treat it like Donation in return good karma back " this is why rich become more richer lol BUT the PROBLEM IS HOW GOV USING THESE MASSIVE TAXES been collected , look at the current PAP just WASTE really think Money drop from Sky! EPIC is " legal FREELY Take from the rich make them more richer " can come out what Mayor post, not just one somemore and does it helps? We still have 4 Mp/Minister in a GRC

DON'T FORGET WE GOT TWO Casinos. I remember got one MP ask Josp last time on these taxes been collected from TWO Casino how Gov allocate and use , this Josp as usual beat around the bushes say like never say like that.

vote them out to show discontent, no point arguing, we need a prudent gov, not any how up here there, spent money like no restriction. say U help us , in the end, FT here working where yr all citizen suffering with no job and cost keep increasing. this is simply unacceptable. Where got country love, now all treat sg.like a sickening place, we local no.choice. sigh..

(19-02-2022, 12:35 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  To be honest the Rich don't mind to pay taxes, to them is like " out of good will treat it like Donation in return good karma back " this is why rich become more richer lol BUT the PROBLEM IS HOW GOV USING THESE MASSIVE TAXES been collected , look at the current PAP just WASTE really think Money drop from Sky! EPIC is " legal FREELY Take from the rich make them more richer " can come out what Mayor post, not just one somemore and does it helps? We still have 4 Mp/Minister in a GRC

DON'T FORGET WE GOT TWO Casinos. I remember got one MP ask Josp last time on these taxes been collected from TWO Casino how Gov allocate and use , this Josp as usual beat around the bushes say like never say like that.

You are right to point out that mayors are redundant when we have GRCs. We will save alot of taxpayers money when the 5 mayors are removed.

(19-02-2022, 12:47 PM)Instinct Wrote:  You are right to point out that mayors are redundant when we have GRCs. We will save alot of taxpayers money when the 5 mayors are removed.

EPIC they start this DURING Current Covi19 period

Crazy

(19-02-2022, 12:44 PM)jus4lucky Wrote:  vote them out to show discontent, no point arguing, we need a prudent gov, not any how up here there, spent money like no restriction. say U help us , in the end, FT here working where yr all citizen suffering with no job and cost keep increasing. this is simply unacceptable. Where got country love, now all treat sg.like a sickening place, we local no.choice. sigh..

STOPGAG Measure.

Again, it is just another Bollywood Tree Dance that goes round and round that looks nice but will create more problems for us.

So why PAP Lost control of this issue, too?

My guess is that- GST will increase GDP.

This will increase their salary/ bonus.

So are they working for our long-term interest?

PAP will lose more seats in the next election.

(19-02-2022, 11:39 AM)dynamite Wrote:  I fear the hyperinflation.

They would rather hyperinflation than deflation.

(19-02-2022, 11:38 AM)Ola Wrote:  And truthfully, GST affects citizens much more than foreigners.

When economy was bad, those Non- Citizens just escape and went back to Malaysia, India . . .  with a wonderful converted currency to use

Bu we have to continue to suffer in SG

Anyone thinks that PAP will lower the GST to 3 or 5% during Recession?

Price will only go up. They will maintain inflation at all cost to avoid deflation.

CPF more stupid. Medisave limits your spending to I think $200 per year. wtf?
[+] 1 user Likes Dan's post

(19-02-2022, 01:41 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  PAP will lose more seats in the next election.

Depend on whether the dafts will wiseup. Whereas PLP will always be PLP and can't count on them as they have their benefits and motives.

(19-02-2022, 02:03 PM)Dan Wrote:  CPF more stupid. Medisave limits your spending to I think $200 per year. wtf?

More than $200 per year lah. If only $200 per year, your whole life also cannot finish.  Laughing

https://www.cpf.gov.sg/member/faq/health...ital-bills-

Do Foreigners= Non- Citizens really contribute much to GST for IRAS?

The big ticket item is rent and goes to the landlord. My ex- colleagues NEVER shop in Singapore even though they are Degree & MBA Holders earning alot.

They buy their special tin lunch box from India. Buy their water bottle from India. Buy their clothes all from India! Go back to India for medical surgery.

So what GST do they contribute??

cdc 100v is to help hawkers cheat us

now 5 is like portion of 3 if use cdc v
[+] 2 users Like Talent's post

(19-02-2022, 02:28 PM)Talent Wrote:  cdc 100v is to help hawkers cheat us

now 5 is like portion of 3 if use cdc v
Those that accept CDC voucher will mark up their price or give less for the same price. So this raising GST exercise by govt is causing more inflation and hardship to the people.

https://youtu.be/dupDyv_OskI

with two casino in sg and yet not enough to made sg cheaper rather than more high cost of living, something not right. LKY is right, better closed casino down since the effects is not efficient. we still need to work and paid more taxes. the revenue collected is not enough really spell out the reasons.
[+] 2 users Like jus4lucky's post

(19-02-2022, 03:53 PM)jus4lucky Wrote:  with two casino in sg and yet not enough to made sg cheaper rather than more high cost of living, something not right. LKY is right, better closed casino down since the effects is not efficient. we still need to work and paid more taxes. the revenue collected is not enough really spell out the reasons.

Genting Casino made $452 MILLION Revenue in 2017.

2 Casinos likely $900 Million.

Wonder where the money went to?

This is a lousy idea.. I said before, you raised GST by 2%, business can't increase price by 2%.. They will round it to 5% or 10% so that the selling price either end with $0.5 or $1..

Now you raised 1% in 2023, business raised price by 5% to align price.. 1% in 2024, business raised price again by another 5% to align price.

So sinkie are skinned twice..

[+] 1 user Likes ArielCasper's post

(16-09-2023, 07:03 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  It's regressive.

[Image: report-charts-box-proportion.jpg]

As in it is stupid to rise from 0 to 9%?

30 years has shown it is opposite of stupid by the collectors