Buyers of HDB units are merely tenants

It is clear that Housing Board lease agreements contain an assortment of rights that fall short of full ownership. This legal void leaves residents of HDB units with a great deal of limitations over their rights. The fundamental differences between a condo and HDB flat are neither academic nor insignificant. Since buyers of HDB units have only purchased a 99-year lease, they have no share of the land where their blocks stand on and no strata title. That means they are mere tenants of the landlord which is the Housing Board. Do you agree?
[+] 3 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

If HDB, you only maximum stay for 99 years.  

Even freehold bungalow, you can't be an independent kingdom in your land. Under property law, gov can take over any time if they want it for further development under Land Acquisition Act.  

How to agree with you? You want to establish a kingdom?  

(19-02-2024, 02:19 PM)webinarian Wrote:  If HDB, you only maximum stay for 99 years.  Even freehold bungalow, you can't be an independent kingdom in your land. Under property law, gov can take over any time if they want it for further development under Land Acquisition Act.  

Since buyers of HDB units have only purchased a 99-year lease, they have no share of the land where their blocks stand on and no strata title. All private condo units - whether they are on 99 or 999-year leases - possess a strata title, which stipulates the size of each apt, including its undivided share of the land - including the swimming pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, carpark etc. - which the development occupies. Owners of condos may form their own committee to initiate a collective sale to a new developer whenever they wish to. If an agreement for an en bloc sale goes through, the buyer indemnifies the SLA to return the lease to its original 99-year tenure.

Even you have free hold land, gov also can take your land and cut a road right in front of your front door of your bungalow and your land gone.  

You don't know meh?  

Whether you're the owner or tenant, you'd agreed to all the terms and conditions when you signed on the dots. Why now then realize that? Maybe what you need is a just a new term to call yourself

Everyone is tenant rah. even Chew Gek Khim
IF u don't know her,
https://www.forbes.com/profile/chew-gek-...llionaires&sh=1b1ee8036e72

I remember saw a program on CH 8, talk about successful CEO , one of them is her.

She got mention the current place she stay actually the land is quite big owned by her parents. Later Govt want to use part of the land they have to surrender to Govt. Is not free obviously , Govt buy from her base on " market current rate that time. "

(19-02-2024, 02:24 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Since buyers of HDB units have only purchased a 99-year lease, they have no share of the land where their blocks stand on and no strata title. All private condo units - whether they are on 99 or 999-year leases - possess a strata title, which stipulates the size of each apt, including its undivided share of the land - including the swimming pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, carpark etc. - which the development occupies. Owners of condos may form their own committee to initiate a collective sale to a new developer whenever they wish to. If an agreement for an en bloc sale goes through, the buyer indemnifies the SLA to return the lease to its original 99-year tenure.

HDB also has enbloc and they compensate you for the acquisition.  

HDB acquisition may not be as good as private property but don't forget it is subsidized property.   

Even so, some HDB also sold more than $ 1 mil.   

哎呀无所谓啦。 上天给了我什么,我就拿什么,享受什么。不要怨天尤人了

(19-02-2024, 02:27 PM)webinarian Wrote:  Even you have free hold land, gov also can take your land and cut a road right in front of your front door of your bungalow and your land gone. You don't know meh?  

Unlike owners of leasehold condos, HDB dwellers are not permitted to use even their fully paid-up flats as collateral to banks, to raise credit facilities for private loans. HDB also refers to flat owners as tenants, and those who rent from the owners as sub-tenants. 

(19-02-2024, 02:33 PM)webinarian Wrote:  HDB also has enbloc and they compensate you for the acquisition.  HDB acquisition may not be as good as private property but don't forget it is subsidized property.   Even so, some HDB also sold more than $ 1 mil.   

Approximately only 4% of HDB flats have been identified for the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme since it was launched in 1995. The steady and precipitous depreciation of such homes will destroy what many count on as retirement assets.

(19-02-2024, 02:27 PM)webinarian Wrote:  Even you have free hold land, gov also can take your land and cut a road right in front of your front door of your bungalow and your land gone.  

You don't know meh?  

very obvious TS just wanted to stirrrrrrrrr shitttttttt.

(19-02-2024, 02:45 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  very obvious TS just wanted to stirrrrrrrrr shitttttttt.

actually is true, Land is Belong to Govt. Even you own that land for your landed house totally so call you own it. End of the day IF one day Govt want to use that land , you have to surrender sell to Govt base on " market rate . "

(19-02-2024, 02:45 PM)K88 shu shu Wrote:  very obvious TS just wanted to stirrrrrrrrr shitttttttt.

TS is a gentleman who seeks only to educate his fellow countrymen. 

So the conclusion is buy condo better?

(19-02-2024, 03:07 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  So the conclusion is buy condo better?

Only if the buyer can afford to. It all boils down to affordability. It is wise to cut your coat according to how much cloth you can afford.

(19-02-2024, 03:10 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Only if the buyer can afford to. It all boils down to affordability. It is wise to cut your coat according to how much cloth you can afford.

If you can't afford, just accept whatever you hv and be happy with them. Afterall there's nothing you could do. Zzyy kpkb aso no use

(19-02-2024, 03:12 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  If you can't afford, just accept whatever you hv and be happy with them. Afterall there's nothing you could do. Zzyy kpkb aso no use

Only 20% of residents in SG are staying in private property. The hoi polloi occupy the 80% of flats in the heartlands.

(19-02-2024, 02:07 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  It is clear that Housing Board lease agreements contain an assortment of rights that fall short of full ownership. This legal void leaves residents of HDB units with a great deal of limitations over their rights. The fundamental differences between a condo and HDB flat are neither academic nor insignificant. Since buyers of HDB units have only purchased a 99-year lease, they have no share of the land where their blocks stand on and no strata title. That means they are mere tenants of the landlord which is the Housing Board. Do you agree?

If one is just a tenant, how come can sell the HDB for a profit?  Thinking

if one is not a tenant, then why did HDB uses terms like lessee and lessor? A lessee is a person who rents land or property from a lessor. The lessee is also known as the “tenant” and must uphold specific obligations as defined in the lease agreement and by law. The lease is a legally binding document, and if the lessee violates its terms they could be evicted. In a lease agreement, the lessor is the person or party that issues the lease (allows the property to be rented), and the lessee is the person that the lease is granted to (the person paying rent to use the property). Let's be clear about it and stop being an ostrich!

[[ForeverAlone]] dateline='[url=tel:1708325248' Wrote:  1708325248[/url]']

actually is true, Land is Belong to Govt. Even you own that land for your landed house totally so call you own it. End of the day IF one day Govt want to use that land , you have to surrender sell to Govt base on " market rate . "

Land belongs to state,Not to a government.

(19-02-2024, 04:42 PM)Jinwului Wrote:  if one is not a tenant, then why did HDB uses terms like lessee and lessor? A lessee is a person who rents land or property from a lessor. The lessee is also known as the “tenant” and must uphold specific obligations as defined in the lease agreement and by law. The lease is a legally binding document, and if the lessee violates its terms they could be evicted. In a lease agreement, the lessor is the person or party that issues the lease (allows the property to be rented), and the lessee is the person that the lease is granted to (the person paying rent to use the property). Let's be clear about it and stop being an ostrich!

New citizens may not b aware of this.

(19-02-2024, 04:33 PM)winbig Wrote:  If one is just a tenant, how come can sell the HDB for a profit?  Thinking

It will only become very clear when the land is due for enbloc development like MRT or industrial, etc.

The thing is SG develops very fast, just look at the development 20 years ago and now...and if the ruling party remains.

U never know.

To play safe, always upgrade to private and secure your legal rights for generational wealth transfer as soon as u are able.

In a private enbloc, all strata holders will meet to decide on the outcome and payout each person gets. This will not apply in a leasee enbloc. The outcome is not decided by you but by the lessor. Herein lies the legal rights.
[+] 1 user Likes *天哥*'s post

When u pay a million for a HDB, b very sure u understand what u r paying for and when u sell, you can get back what u paid for.

The buyers of million dollars HDB are very sure and confident they can sell it in due time.BUT If they cannot, touch wood then, they had paid a million into the HDB when they retires. A private property is different, u can take collatoral on it, meaning it has loan value.

Dun forget too, the lessor can change the rules anytime.

(19-02-2024, 02:42 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Approximately only 4% of HDB flats have been identified for the Selective En bloc Redevelopment Scheme since it was launched in 1995. The steady and precipitous depreciation of such homes will destroy what many count on as retirement assets.

Even private property, you are only hope for luck that you have enbloc. I haven't got any also though I have dreamt for it over so many years.