CNA : S'pore Living and Dying Alone is now.common
06-07-2024, 08:41 AM
06-07-2024, 08:48 AM
Very good documentary.
06-07-2024, 08:52 AM
U must ask the singles why like that? They chose the carefree live without responsibility now they want to blame the govt?
06-07-2024, 08:55 AM
(06-07-2024, 08:52 AM)winbig Wrote: U must ask the singles why like that? They chose the carefree live without responsibility now they want to blame the govt?
You mean it is very easy now to get married buy a home to raise family. But people chose not to?
Things have changed.
06-07-2024, 09:00 AM
(06-07-2024, 08:55 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: You mean it is very easy now to get married buy a home to raise family. But people chose not to?
Things have changed.
It's NOT easy to get married buy a home and raise a family. BUT it is EASY to choose not to. People chose the easy path then now want to complain?
06-07-2024, 09:15 AM
Change is inevitable.
We have to tailor to suit circumstances.
Best get those living alone to stay at a certain block where there is help 24 hrs.
Be prepared to pay more for such services. Like an old folks home, but the privacy of own home.
We have to tailor to suit circumstances.
Best get those living alone to stay at a certain block where there is help 24 hrs.
Be prepared to pay more for such services. Like an old folks home, but the privacy of own home.
06-07-2024, 09:20 AM
Dying alone in Singapore should be very common in the future as more men either stay single or turned gays like FA and Ah Butt. This is an undeniable fact using Ah Butt's favourite phrase on China.
06-07-2024, 09:58 AM
Die jiu die MYBFD
06-07-2024, 10:01 AM
(06-07-2024, 09:00 AM)winbig Wrote: It's NOT easy to get married buy a home and raise a family. BUT it is EASY to choose not to. People chose the easy path then now want to complain?
Can you show the complain? Who complain?
The documentary merely describe changes and happenings in our society.
Don't view these as complains but descriptions of events and happenings around us for awareness and the causes.
06-07-2024, 10:21 AM
(06-07-2024, 08:41 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: That's me in future
Yes, it's either you die alone in the flat you'll inherit from your mother or you die in a nursing home.
Oh well, there's a third possibility: you die in a horsepeter.
Nursing home and horsepeter - are a better place because there's someone to inform the authorities before your body begins to smell....not that it really matters unless you believe in Chinese folk religion that dying alone and rotting away in your flat is bad for your rebirth, you need someone to send you off, you need a monk to pray for your safe journey, you need hell money, you don't want to become a Hungry Ghost, blah blah blah.
And you want to vote PAP out and vote Pritma Singh in, whom you think will make Singapore a better place for the chewren and granchewren of new citizens and other Sinkies....but these chewren and grandchewren of other peepur shant give shit to your dead body anyway....
Singapore can become a better place or fall under the Oppo, but you shant be around to see the future. So, it's hypocrisy to pretend that you care and you are going to vote wisely.
It's more truthful to admit that you will vote for whoever promises to raid the reserves, and let you spend and live a life of opulence, and change your signature to "I being poor have my dreams, and the Oppo fulfilled them by raiding the reserves! Singapore becomes bankrupt after that, and future generations will suffer - they can go and get fuckked for all I care man!" ,
Observer = KILLjoy = starbugstk = Dan = lvlrsSTI = OWNER.
Trying so hard to find my Archilles Point wor. Hehe
06-07-2024, 10:26 AM
(06-07-2024, 09:20 AM)Huliwang Wrote: Dying alone in Singapore should be very common in the future as more men either stay single or turned gays like FA and Ah Butt. This is an undeniable fact using Ah Butt's favourite phrase on China.
Dying alone is common in modern cities.
Because old folk has a house, too comfortable to moves into old folks home.
It happens in Japan and Korea commonly too..
You are correct; the trend of singles and gays uplifted the numbers..
This problem is a personal choice of lifestyle issue. And not easy for government's intervention.
06-07-2024, 10:26 AM
06-07-2024, 10:29 AM
(06-07-2024, 08:55 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: You mean it is very easy now to get married buy a home to raise family. But people chose not to?
Things have changed.
U just want to lead a carefree life
It’s your choice
06-07-2024, 10:34 AM
(06-07-2024, 09:20 AM)Huliwang Wrote: Dying alone in Singapore should be very common in the future as more men either stay single or turned gays like FA and Ah Butt. This is an undeniable fact using Ah Butt's favourite phrase on China.
Not only men, unless by writing men, you mean it to include both genders. Many women are also going to die alone.
A lot of them have done very well in careers, bought their own condo and drive a car. They have money, but no chewren. Some keep a dog for companionship, and that's all they have.
As to gays and lesbians, yes, they cannot reproduce, so while they have each other for companionship if they've married each other like LKY's grandson and his doctor husband, one day, one of them will die (not alone) but their partner will die alone. The same goes for childless couples of different sexes.
In summary:
1. Bachelors
2. Spinsters
3. Gays
4. Lesbians
5. Childless couples
06-07-2024, 10:43 AM
Dun worry too much lah. Soon there'll be domestic robots which would alert your neighbors when they couldn't detect any of your vital signs and shout 来人啊,救命啊!. Not difficult to build right?
06-07-2024, 11:01 AM
06-07-2024, 01:16 PM
(06-07-2024, 11:01 AM)Migrant Wrote: I like that idea.
If got, I sure buy it.
I believe that in 5 years, anybody below the age of 75.. they are below 70 nao...should know how to do this once every morning that they wake up and once every night when they go to bed ---->click on an App on their smartphone to report "Hey! I am still alive!"
If the tobesetup government agency does not receive this for 2 consecutive times, an Exception Report will print out the person's name.
不用大喊大叫来人de.
Those who are unable to do that wouldn't be able to "age in place" which is the phrase for dying at home. They'd be in a nursing home and their death would be known pretty soon because the staff there take their vital signs twice daily, change diapers for them every 4 hours...
06-07-2024, 02:03 PM
Forgetful old funckles like joe buydung would cause many false alarms when they forget to send in the messages. First responders would busy running around to check on them. A simple self charging robot is better, and price can be as low as $50
06-07-2024, 02:03 PM
(06-07-2024, 08:41 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: S'pore Living and Dying Alone is now.common
it is common in Singapore only because PAP assumes people should have children to care for them when they are old and dying so that the govt has no responsibility for such social problem.
PAP does not acknowledge the problem of elderly dying alone and does not provide elderly homes for elderly.
In the western country, the govt does not assume the children should care for elderly people because the children will leave home when they are independent.
The western govt acknowledges the problem of elderly dying alone and will provide elderly homes for elderly.
06-07-2024, 02:39 PM
(06-07-2024, 08:41 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: S'pore Living and Dying Alone is now.common
PAP is the only govt in the world who has created the Maintenance of Parents Act .
PAP legally wants children to take care of dying elderly.
but PAP ignores or forgets about elderly singles or elderly without children.
thus PAP does not provide solution for such dying elderly.
In the western country, the govt provides solutions for elderly singles or elderly without children because
they do not legalise children to take care of dying parents.
thus the western govt has no such big social problem.
06-07-2024, 02:42 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d499mlwXWfk
EPIC, inside got one lady research on this claim she got shock by 60+ most are so call retire and RIP like that.
Actually I feel she indirectly telling we singaporean is quite pity in the sense haven't enjoy retire already rip.
EPIC, inside got one lady research on this claim she got shock by 60+ most are so call retire and RIP like that.
Actually I feel she indirectly telling we singaporean is quite pity in the sense haven't enjoy retire already rip.
06-07-2024, 02:47 PM
(06-07-2024, 02:42 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: How PAP going to handle this social problem
solution is found in the below thread.
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-CNA-S-pore-Liv...now-common
06-07-2024, 02:49 PM
700k LKks above 65 years old .
Let say 100k still working.
It is a big issue.
At 2012 still only half the figure.
Let say 100k still working.
It is a big issue.
At 2012 still only half the figure.
06-07-2024, 02:53 PM
(06-07-2024, 02:03 PM)forum456 Wrote: it is common in Singapore only because PAP assumes people should have children to care for them when they are old and dying so that the govt has no responsibility for such social problem.
PAP does not acknowledge the problem of elderly dying alone and does not provide elderly homes for elderly.
In the western country, the govt does not assume the children should care for elderly people because the children will leave home when they are independent.
The western govt acknowledges the problem of elderly dying alone and will provide elderly homes for elderly.
I always tell people , be it single or married, MOST will RIP ALONE . Unless " freak accident family all RIP like car accident , hubby , wife , kids all rip , even some still survive will be mental torture at least for years "
I watch the part 1, that Malay elderly RIP actually married. The person who come clear the place can feel that this elderly must be every day see his later Hubby photo , and her present son.
The last time I guess should be her Son accompany with his wife. Usually those married ones is quite standard when they get married will get a BTO flat , with their wife and set up their own family thus move out from their parents. " How much time they got communicate with their parents is individual story " Quite standard most will go back visit parents when come weekend . once per week like " update " some ONLY visit when come CNY . or when going to pray for ancestors etc.
Another expert inside the video also claim , now a days quite alot young people RIP suddenly maybe due to our lifestyle , diet etc.
What he mean indirectly is , even those married ones got kids, maybe one day is their kids RIP first . Thus this is why no people take care their elderly parents well begin.
06-07-2024, 02:57 PM
Before a solution is found, for the time being, just open up your window a bit, so your smell could permeate to your neighbors faster for them to react
06-07-2024, 03:00 PM
(06-07-2024, 02:57 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Before a solution is found, for the time being, just open up your window a bit, so your smell could permeate to your neighbors faster for them to react
LOL, Town Council will say is from rubbish truck rah. You never watch the video ? The neighbour call Town Council , town council straight tell her , I ya from Rubbish trucks , rubbish collection point there rah.
Is later this neighbour cannot endure call up again than Town council wake up later Police come check.
06-07-2024, 03:01 PM
(06-07-2024, 02:53 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: I always tell people , be it single or married, MOST will RIP ALONE . Unless " freak accident family all RIP like car accident , hubby , wife , kids all rip , even some still survive will be mental torture at least for years "
I watch the part 1, that Malay elderly RIP actually married. The person who come clear the place can feel that this elderly must be every day see his later Hubby photo , and her present son.
The last time I guess should be her Son accompany with his wife. Usually those married ones is quite standard when they get married will get a BTO flat , with their wife and set up their own family thus move out from their parents. " How much time they got communicate with their parents is individual story " Quite standard most will go back visit parents when come weekend . once per week like " update " some ONLY visit when come CNY . or when going to pray for ancestors etc.
Another expert inside the video also claim , now a days quite alot young people RIP suddenly maybe due to our lifestyle , diet etc.
What he mean indirectly is , even those married ones got kids, maybe one day is their kids RIP first . Thus this is why no people take care their elderly parents well begin.
as long as elderly has children, there is no social problem because the govt will just call the children to take care of the dead body.
it becomes a social problem when there is no family member to call because the govt needs to handle the dead body.
06-07-2024, 03:01 PM
(06-07-2024, 03:00 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: LOL, Town Council will say is from rubbish truck rah. You never watch the video ? The neighbour call Town Council , town council straight tell her , I ya from Rubbish trucks , rubbish collection point there rah.
Is later this neighbour cannot endure call up again than Town council wake up later Police come check.
That's because you didn't open up yr window wide enough so yr body smell couldn't get out.
06-07-2024, 03:05 PM
(06-07-2024, 03:01 PM)forum456 Wrote: as long as elderly has children, there is no social problem because the govt will just call the children to take care of the dead body.
it becomes a social problem when there is no family member to call because the govt needs to handle the dead body.
But have to see , another researcher inside the video also highlight now a days young people RIP quite often. Who knows their child already RIP , is back to square one. Unless that family have more than one child. The WORST is the chidren don't even bother .