China declined a US request for Secretary of Defence to meet his counterpart in SG

The US had proposed in May that the two defence officials meet at the Shangri-La Dialogue that is set to take place in Singapore.

China demanded that the US lift sanctions that were imposed on Li in 2018 over the role he played overseeing an arms purchase from Russia.

China had argued that Li would not be on equal footing with Austin if the sanctions stayed in place, Bloomberg News reported earlier.

https://www.scmp.com/news/world/united-s...hero_story&pgtype=homepage
[+] 1 user Likes theold's post

They want to lecture the Chinese.
What is the point of meeting?

If both quarrel during the meet, the side that Singapore take will definitely win and we know which side.

Individual sanctions still can talk to each other.

(30-05-2023, 09:00 AM)Clyde Wrote:  If both quarrel during the meet, the side that Singapore take will definitely win and we know which side.

We can always just keep quiet.  This has always been our stand, to not take sides, so your comments are moot. Rolleyes

Actually if I am China , I should welcome the conflict and sort this taiwan thing once and for all

bec this has been going too long

Like a parent like a child. You slap, sanctions, on that child and you still want the child to listen to you.

(30-05-2023, 09:13 AM)Oyk Wrote:  We can always just keep quiet.  This has always been our stand, to not take sides, so your comments are moot. Rolleyes
Who is we?

Chao ceca like you is certainly not part of Singapore. You are a piece of turd that needs to be flushed away
[+] 1 user Likes aiptasia's post

(30-05-2023, 09:19 AM)aiptasia Wrote:  Who is we?

Chao ceca like you is certainly not part of Singapore. You are a piece of turd that needs to be flushed away

Referring to yourself? Rotfl

(30-05-2023, 09:21 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Referring to yourself? Rotfl

Chao ceca go diam

那副鬼样,ahtiongs see aso scared

(30-05-2023, 09:13 AM)Oyk Wrote:  We can always just keep quiet.  This has always been our stand, to not take sides, so your comments are moot. Rolleyes
Yes, we can always keep quiet, but Singapore always choose to take side in the past many events.

(30-05-2023, 08:36 AM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  They want to lecture the Chinese.
What is the point of meeting?

China's defence minister is sanctioned by USA.

If they want to meet, they should lift the sanction first!  Big Grin

(30-05-2023, 09:15 AM)keys Wrote:  Actually if I am China , I should welcome the conflict and sort this taiwan thing once and for all

Taiwan  is a province of China. Nothing to do with USA!

They should make Shangri la dialogue every 2-3yr

Don't waste time show off and anchoring and talk all rubbish with no results.

Begging for money again ... while waiting for debt ceiling green light

(30-05-2023, 07:31 AM)theold Wrote:  The US had proposed in May that the two defence officials meet at the Shangri-La Dialogue that is set to take place in Singapore.

China demanded that the US lift sanctions that were imposed on Li in 2018 over the role he played overseeing an arms purchase from Russia.

China had argued that Li would not be on equal footing with Austin if the sanctions stayed in place, Bloomberg News reported earlier.

The nature of the Shangri-La-la dialogue has changed significantly in recent years. When it was first inaugurated, the forum was led by US with terrorism as the hot topic. China then was not militarily on par with US and often only sent middle level delegates as observers.

At that time it served more as a western oriented platform to discuss military “cultural” exchanges and perhaps also as an informal trade show for US and some European countries to pitch their products to potential customers.

Nowadays it has turned into yet another opportunity for China and US to slug it out for support amongst attendees. I doubt there is much value now as all we’re going to see is China and US officials trading barbs while the rest of the attendees all act blur and refuse to commit to either side.

If China and US don’t end up meeting each other privately, then the whole forum is meaningless.

(30-05-2023, 10:40 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  Taiwan  is a province of China. Nothing to do with USA!

SUCK MY DICK and look at this

TAIWAN INDEPENDENCE PASSPORT

[Image: k6Rbx2U.jpg]

(30-05-2023, 11:12 AM)grotesqueness Wrote:  SUCK MY DICK and look at this

TAIWAN INDEPENDENCE PASSPORT

[Image: k6Rbx2U.jpg]

Toys for your grandchildren ah?  Thinking Rotfl
[+] 2 users Like cityhantam's post

China should not reject the chance for dialogue. If both sides don't talk, the issues will never get resolved.

(30-05-2023, 11:20 AM)starbugs Wrote:  China should not reject the chance for dialogue. If both sides don't talk, the issues will never get resolved.

Lift the sanction first mah!

How can you sanction him and expect him to talk to you?

Expect him to beg you to lift sanction meh!?  Cool

(30-05-2023, 09:38 AM)Clyde Wrote:  Yes, we can always keep quiet, but Singapore always choose to take side in the past many events.

We only take sides with the law.  It would appear that we are siding one country against another, but it only "appears so" and is not the case.

Eg: Russia.  By attacking Ukraine, Putin broke international law.  We are not siding Ukraine.

(30-05-2023, 11:23 AM)cityhantam Wrote:  Lift the sanction first mah!

How can you sanction him and expect him to talk to you?

Expect him to beg you to lift sanction meh!?  Cool

The human bear didn't take the bans lying down. He retaliated right.

It is only when both sides sit down and talk, can the bans be lifted at both sides.

It is clear that the human bear is not being cooperative.  Rolleyes

(30-05-2023, 09:15 AM)keys Wrote:  Actually if I am China , I should welcome the conflict and sort this taiwan thing once and for all

If the conflict escalates to an actual war where the PRC army destroys Kaohsiung, and the ROC army destroys Fuzhou, it is only Chinese cities destroyed and Chinese blood shed while the US loses maybe some aircraft, and most of the Americans are just reading New Your Times or Washington Post while munching on Big Macs.

I don't think the human bear is smart if he starts a war.  It would like Malaysia provoking the rest of Singapore to fight with the peepur of Hougang, each killing the other.  Sinkies are dying but no jhk died? Stupid isn't it?   Oh wait!  at the workplace, this is actually happening...the office politics where you get the sinkies to backstab each other while the jhks watch, and act innocent.  Rotfl

(30-05-2023, 12:49 PM)Oyk Wrote:  The human bear didn't take the bans lying down. He retaliated right.

It is only when both sides sit down and talk, can the bans be lifted at both sides.

It is clear that the human bear is not being cooperative.  Rolleyes

Your beloved Assmerican daddy has slapped one thousand sanctions on China. 

China has only returned with a few. 

Now that China’s defence minister is under Assmerican sanction. You expect him to beg your Assmerican daddy to lift sanction on him at the negotiation table?

Simple good will also don't know?

like russia

USA and NATO should send nuclear weapon to taiwan

(30-05-2023, 01:42 PM)cityhantam Wrote:  Your beloved Assmerican daddy has slapped one thousand sanctions on China. 

China has only returned with a few. 

Now that China’s defence minister is under Assmerican sanction. You expect him to beg your Assmerican daddy to lift sanction on him at the negotiation table?

Simple good will also don't know?

What are the one thousand sanctions?   Rolleyes

(30-05-2023, 01:45 PM)grotesqueness Wrote:  like russia

USA and NATO should send nuclear weapon to taiwan

You want Taiwanese to perish?

How come you you are so evil?  Opasnie-1

(30-05-2023, 01:46 PM)Oyk Wrote:  What are the one thousand sanctions?   Rolleyes

You ask your beloved Assmerican daddy lor!

(30-05-2023, 07:31 AM)theold Wrote:  The US had proposed in May that the two defence officials meet at the Shangri-La Dialogue that is set to take place in Singapore.

Don't quarrel here lah! Big Grin I'm not interested lah!