Do Malaysians envy S'pore for our prosperity?

Even though Malaysians usually express admiration for the way S'pore is so efficiently run by our Govt, most of them prefer the slower pace of life, open spaces and their own culture. Malaysians appreciate the prosperity and orderliness of the Lion City, but often find Malaysia's warmth and community spirit more appealing. In their eyes, S'pore is more formal and structured, with less room for spontaneity. While this may be seen as a positive, it can also be perceived as cold or impersonal. At the end of the day, both countries have their own distinct charms, and the preference for one over the other often depends on the person's values and lifestyle preferences. While there may be a sense of admiration or envy between the neighbours, it is unlikely that anyone would truly regret living in either place. My cousin and his wife returned to Ipoh after working in S'pore for 3 decades. They truly have the best of both worlds: earning their salaries in Sing dollars and now owing a large house and 2 cars back in their hometown following retirement.

(23-09-2024, 12:09 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Even though Malaysians usually express admiration for the way S'pore is so efficiently run by our Govt, most of them prefer the slower pace of life, open spaces and their own culture. Malaysians appreciate the prosperity and orderliness of the Lion City, but often find Malaysia's warmth and community spirit more appealing. In their eyes, S'pore is more formal and structured, with less room for spontaneity. While this may be seen as a positive, it can also be perceived as cold or impersonal. At the end of the day, both countries have their own distinct charms, and the preference for one over the other often depends on the person's values and lifestyle preferences. While there may be a sense of admiration or envy between the neighbours, it is unlikely that anyone would truly regret living in either place. My cousin and his wife returned to Ipoh after working in S'pore for 3 decades. They truly have the best of both worlds: earning their salaries in Sing dollars and now owing a large house and 2 cars back in their hometown following retirement.

U can do the same?

of course

if not why they are so happy to implement VEP on OCT 1

WHAT WRONG WITH COLLECTING MORE MONEY FROM CHAO SINGKIE FROM THE SOUTH

I went Penang and not a bad place for retirement or stay short term

(23-09-2024, 12:16 PM)winbig Wrote:  U can do the same?

Even though my parents came to study and then work in S'pore in the 1960s, I was born here, so I was never a Malaysian. 

(23-09-2024, 12:19 PM)Niubee Wrote:  I went Penang and not a bad place for retirement or stay short term

As a frequent visitor to Penang, Ipoh, KL, Melaka and JB, I would say that food and shopping is only cheaper for Sinkies owing to the strength of the Sing Dollar. My relatives up north find the cost of living extremely high since they earn their living in Ringgit. 

(23-09-2024, 12:23 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  As a frequent visitor to Penang, Ipoh, KL, Melaka and JB, I would say that food and shopping is only cheaper for Sinkies owing to the strength of the Sing Dollar. My relatives up north find the cost of living extremely high since they earn their living in Ringgit. 

Do international biz and stay Msia is a good choice.

YES. Otherwise, why thousands of them come every year

as Durain seller, barber, 2nd hand phone seller, coffee shop zi-char . . . . .

(23-09-2024, 12:16 PM)winbig Wrote:  U can do the same?

Yep, sure can..😊

(23-09-2024, 12:27 PM)Ola Wrote:  YES. Otherwise, why thousands of them come every year

as Durain seller, barber, 2nd hand phone seller, coffee shop zi-char . . . . .

One of my Malaysian hdb hair stylist told me he will be happy to earn $3000 monthly. 

I was surprised because for Singaporean, that will be dismay with hysterical kpkb..🤣

Singapore need their's service la..

The economic success of S'pore will always stand as a painful reminder of Malaysia's potential, highlighting the detrimental effects of policies that promote racial discrimination and elitism. The mindset of the majority race that is rooted in jealousy and self-entitlement, have created a toxic environment that threatens to undermine Malaysia's unity and progress. These destructive ideologies have led to a narrow-minded focus on race and religion, hindering the nation's ability to address pressing issues and achieve its full potential. Unfortunately, many Malaysians remain preoccupied with these divisive sentiments, oblivious to the consequences of their inaction. Corruption and institutionalised racial discrimination ensures that Malaysia will never be able to compete with S'pore economically. The brain drain of talented minorities to greener pastures also results in the 3rd or 4th tier of talent running the country. 

When Malaysian royalty such as Johor's Crown Prince Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim declare his admiration for S'pore's politicians, it is embarrassing to the corrupt, incompetent and racist Malaysian Govt. The Prince is impressed with the SG leaders for their knowledge and professionalism, and even added that relations between Johor and SG will continue to be very close. 

(23-09-2024, 01:20 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The economic success of S'pore will always stand as a painful reminder of Malaysia's potential, highlighting the detrimental effects of policies that promote racial discrimination and elitism. The mindset of the majority race that is rooted in jealousy and self-entitlement, have created a toxic environment that threatens to undermine Malaysia's unity and progress. These destructive ideologies have led to a narrow-minded focus on race and religion, hindering the nation's ability to address pressing issues and achieve its full potential. Unfortunately, many Malaysians remain preoccupied with these divisive sentiments, oblivious to the consequences of their inaction. Corruption and institutionalised racial discrimination ensures that Malaysia will never be able to compete with S'pore economically. The brain drain of talented minorities to greener pastures also results in the 3rd or 4th tier of talent running the country. 

"The economic success of S'pore will always stand as a painful reminder of Malaysia's potential, highlighting the detrimental effects of policies that promote racial discrimination and elitism"

That's the reason Singapore and Singaporean will always be an ugly sight in their eyes. Forever becomes a comparison target in their life. Unavoidable in our fate.

The best thing for Singapore and Singaporean to do now is to be professional in our ties with them.

We should provide assistance when possible, and maintain diplomatic relations when we cannot.
It is important to not over-promise, or to be over ambitious in our faith.
We should strive to promote win-win cooperation whenever possible, and if not, just focus on maintaining peaceful relationships with our neighbor.

Whoever Singaporean wanted to live or run a business over there, must not forget our "Unavoidable Fate"...🤣

(23-09-2024, 01:53 PM)moonrab Wrote:  That's the reason Singapore and Singaporean will always be an ugly sight in their eyes. Forever becomes a comparison target in their life. Unavoidable in our fate.

My Dad who took up S'pore citizenship after giving up his Malaysian IC in the late 1960s, said that when the leaders up north look across at their neighbour who has more money, he becomes envious and accuses him (SG) of getting rich through ill-gotten gains or dishonest practices. It is no different from the low SES declaring that high SES S'poreans are money launderers, scammers or simply corrupt. 

(23-09-2024, 12:09 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Even though Malaysians usually express admiration for the way S'pore is so efficiently run by our Govt, most of them prefer the slower pace of life, open spaces and their own culture. Malaysians appreciate the prosperity and orderliness of the Lion City, but often find Malaysia's warmth and community spirit more appealing. In their eyes, S'pore is more formal and structured, with less room for spontaneity. While this may be seen as a positive, it can also be perceived as cold or impersonal. At the end of the day, both countries have their own distinct charms, and the preference for one over the other often depends on the person's values and lifestyle preferences. While there may be a sense of admiration or envy between the neighbours, it is unlikely that anyone would truly regret living in either place. My cousin and his wife returned to Ipoh after working in S'pore for 3 decades. They truly have the best of both worlds: earning their salaries in Sing dollars and now owing a large house and 2 cars back in their hometown following retirement.

Most of them actually hate us lah! Big Grin Because we jack up their prices there their people cannot afford lah! We buy S$10 here they also sell RM10 there lah!

During my colleague's maternity leave, her parents came over to SG to help take care of their granddaughter. Within 3 months, they went back to their landed home in Melaka because they could no longer stand the claustrophobic confines of my colleague's pigeon hole 4-room HDB flat. Why do S'poreans think that our quality of life is so much better than that of Malaysians? 

(23-09-2024, 02:10 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  My Dad who took up S'pore citizenship after giving up his Malaysian IC in the late 1960s, said that when the leaders up north look across at their neighbour who has more money, he becomes envious and accuses him (SG) of getting rich through ill-gotten gains or dishonest practices. It is no different from the low SES declaring that high SES S'poreans are money launderers, scammers or simply corrupt. 

True, there's always a element in the Balance of Hearts. 

My mother sides Malaysian relatives are close with us. However they still think Singapore's wealth is from Malaysia's generosity. 
Especially among the older generation and political activists. What can we say?..😅

Once I was drinking kopi in JB alone, a Malaysian lady sitting beside chatted with me.
She was polite but strangely pointed out Singapore will be doom soon. 

The potential return of Dr. M to the position of Prime Minister could have a significant impact on the Malaysian economy. 
Many Malaysians who have studied and worked in Singapore for decades will choose to return to Malaysia permanently, which could lead to a reduction in the number of Malaysians coming to Singapore. 
This could have implications for businesses in Singapore that rely on Malaysian workers. Singapore CPF will bankrupt soon.

Although her message sounded abit harsh, but she spoken with raw honesty. And I thanked her for the kind information...🤣

I was not offended or angry because I understand their angles in such having perceptions. 
If I was a Malaysian living over there for good, I may harbour such thoughts too.

How can we living in a much bigger country with abundance of natural resources, population and similar education level, having a lower or same GDP with tiny neighbour Singapore? 
A flat island with nothing at all..🤣

I know of a couple in Penang - husband is an engineer and wife is a school teacher - who live in a landed home and own 2 cars. A couple with a similar background in S'pore would be staying in a HDB flat and relying on public transport. So whose quality of life is better?  

(23-09-2024, 02:37 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I know of a couple in Penang - husband is an engineer and wife is a school teacher - who live in a landed home and own 2 cars. A couple with a similar background in S'pore would be staying in a HDB flat and relying on public transport. So whose quality of life is better?  

Your point is that their quality of life is better? That’s rather subjective and meaningless to debate/discuss about because there’s no conclusion

(23-09-2024, 01:43 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  When Malaysian royalty such as Johor's Crown Prince Tunku Ismail Sultan Ibrahim declare his admiration for S'pore's politicians, it is embarrassing to the corrupt, incompetent and racist Malaysian Govt. The Prince is impressed with the SG leaders for their knowledge and professionalism, and even added that relations between Johor and SG will continue to be very close. 

Crown Prince wanted JB to become a bigger Singapore.
With or without Federation blessing..

The King already invited Xi with open doors....🤣

Prosperity in Singapore? Once a upon a time perhaps but with the current administration wrecking things, a definite no.

(23-09-2024, 02:24 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Most of them actually hate us lah! Big Grin Because we jack up their prices there their people cannot afford lah! We buy S$10 here they also sell RM10 there lah!

JB will become as expensive as Singapore hor..
Akan datang  ..🤣

(23-09-2024, 04:20 PM)moonrab Wrote:  JB will become as expensive as Singapore hor..
Akan datang  ..🤣

They must keep with us lah! Big Grin So their people not happy lah!

(23-09-2024, 05:46 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  They must keep with us lah! Big Grin So their people not happy lah!

They can la, once Xi send over 5 to 6 millions Chinese to reside into JB...
Boomtown lo...😊
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

(23-09-2024, 04:11 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Your point is that their quality of life is better? That’s rather subjective and meaningless to debate/discuss about because there’s no conclusion

I understand that quality of life is subjective. What specific aspects of your lifestyle in SG do you believe contribute to a higher quality of life than in Malaysia? The more we discuss, the more we learn and get closer to the truth or at least the answer to what exactly constitutes a "better quality of life".

(23-09-2024, 04:17 PM)aiptasia Wrote:  Prosperity in Singapore?  Once a upon a time perhaps but with the current administration wrecking things, a definite no.

Prosperity in SG means a Swiss standard of living for our politicians/elites and only a Swiss cost of living for the masses.

(23-09-2024, 06:14 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:   I understand that quality of life is subjective. What specific aspects of your lifestyle in SG do you believe contribute to a higher quality of life than in Malaysia? The more we discuss, the more we learn and get closer to the truth or at least the answer to what exactly constitutes a "better quality of life".

Some likes compact city-state lifestyle. 
Go for top efficiency and convenience. 

Some likes big town countryside lifestyle. 
Go for cheaper land and services.

The choice is yours.

I'm sure there'll be a proportion of Malaysians who envy us, but there'll also be many who dun. So what's the point of asking this question?

In reality, we are just very fortunate to have our pioneer batch of leaders who sacrificed for us and got us to where we are. Many of us dun really deserve it.

(23-09-2024, 12:09 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Even though Malaysians usually express admiration for the way S'pore is so efficiently run by our Govt, most of them prefer the slower pace of life, open spaces and their own culture. Malaysians appreciate the prosperity and orderliness of the Lion City, but often find Malaysia's warmth and community spirit more appealing. In their eyes, S'pore is more formal and structured, with less room for spontaneity. While this may be seen as a positive, it can also be perceived as cold or impersonal. At the end of the day, both countries have their own distinct charms, and the preference for one over the other often depends on the person's values and lifestyle preferences. While there may be a sense of admiration or envy between the neighbours, it is unlikely that anyone would truly regret living in either place. My cousin and his wife returned to Ipoh after working in S'pore for 3 decades. They truly have the best of both worlds: earning their salaries in Sing dollars and now owing a large house and 2 cars back in their hometown following retirement
Malaysia and Australia have large land and mineral resources. If managed well, the citizens prob can relag...SG obviously land constraint so have no choice but work hard and live within constraints...arguably already achieved a lot since people want compare SG vs MY or AUS such large countries.....