Fewer Singaporeans able to spend beyond basic and more are short on

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/compani...vings-ocbc
[+] 2 users Like Bigiron's post

[Image: nudie.gif]
[+] 1 user Likes bobby's post

more lazy people.....especially them.
[+] 1 user Likes Sharexchange's post

(08-11-2023, 09:48 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  more lazy people.....especially them.

Who?

Pple fail to notice the this report's real agenda... What's wrong by living within your means ?

Banks are only interested in you doing the opposite ...and get into DEBT...

You think OCBC is some NGO telling you to not spend on things "beyond basics" ?  Big Grin

[+] 3 users Like Manthink's post

(08-11-2023, 09:37 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Fewer Singaporeans able to spend beyond basic and more are short on

crying

What's wrong by living within your means ? Rolleyes

[+] 2 users Like Manthink's post

(12-11-2023, 07:14 PM)Manthink Wrote:  What's wrong by living within your means ? Rolleyes

correct from primary school we learnt cut yr dress from from cloth
[+] 1 user Likes talky's post

Order a plate of rice and bring along your soy sauce

2X a day
[+] 2 users Like Scythian's post

(08-11-2023, 09:37 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Fewer Singaporeans able to spend beyond basic and more are short on

Why live until so miserable?

God created human beings to enjoy

(12-11-2023, 07:47 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Why live until so miserable?

It is a sad fact that most S'poreans are living pay cheque to pay cheque.  The 5Cs are no longer a realistic goal, and not because Sinkies no longer yearn for them.  The condo and car are beyond the reach of up to 80% of residents here.
[+] 3 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

(12-11-2023, 07:41 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Order a plate of rice and bring along your soy sauce 2X a day

That is cutting one's coat according to the amount of cloth he can afford for many Sinkies.

(12-11-2023, 07:17 PM)talky Wrote:  correct from primary school we learnt cut yr dress from from cloth

There is a Big difference between living within one's mean and living in destitution.

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

The quality of life is severely lacking for most S'poreans in spite of holding a PME job in a developed country.  Most will never get to escape from the HDB heartlands or ever own a car from the time they are born to the day they depart this earth, regardless of their education and working past the official retirement age. 
[+] 2 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

(12-11-2023, 07:47 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Why live until so miserable?

yeah - especially for those who learn to profit from the miserable Faith-fools human-beings...

[Image: 0*bkHs8zri7vv7VRyx.jpg]

(12-11-2023, 08:56 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The quality of life is severely lacking for most S'poreans in spite of holding a PME job in a developed country.  Most will never get to escape from the HDB heartlands or ever own a car from the time they are born to the day they depart this earth, regardless of their education and working past the official retirement age. 

Isn't it fun to read those who continue to measure material well-being as a "quality of life"...

That is exactly what the OCBC's Report about "Spending beyond Basic" is TRYING to sell...and get you in DEBT.

Whereas ????
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-88-of-units-at...-at-launch

it claim 99 percent are LOCALS and PRs buying the condo , it even claim those buyers most age below 50 yrs old somemore....

(12-11-2023, 11:19 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Whereas ????

it claim 99 percent are LOCALS and PRs buying the condo , it even claim those buyers most age below 50 yrs old somemore....

Bro, i think most are wealthy foreigners converted to sinkies. Minority are rich locals.

Today, WTO still classified Singapore as a 3rd world developing country.

What has gone wrong for a 3rd world developing country, Singapore becomes world's most expensive city?

Lower incomes and Poor Singaporeans should try living @ Govt and public facilities..

Community centres/coffee shops free water and toilets 
Children playground for tuitions and homework
Library and Changi airport free facilities.
Shopping malls free aircon etc.

Can you think of anything else

we are beri close to starvation

Australian ports out of action

So happy my S$1 is now AUD 1.16.
No wonder people there got green eyes.
[+] 1 user Likes Migrant's post

(12-11-2023, 08:50 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  It is a sad fact that most S'poreans are living pay cheque to pay cheque.  The 5Cs are no longer a realistic goal, and not because Sinkies no longer yearn for them.  The condo and car are beyond the reach of up to 80% of residents here.

I thought report say one third of household got vehicle including pick up truck or van.
3/4 got credit card, and of which many have more than 1 credit card.

Of course to have condo and car together will be more difficult.

(12-11-2023, 08:59 PM)Manthink Wrote:  yeah - especially for those who learn to profit from the miserable Faith-fools human-beings...

[Image: 0*bkHs8zri7vv7VRyx.jpg]

great businessman who know how to 积少成多 Big Grin
[+] 1 user Likes watchfirst9's post

(13-11-2023, 09:24 AM)Migrant Wrote:  So happy my S$1 is now AUD 1.16.
No wonder people there got green eyes.

Quite true..AU inflation stubbornly high at 5.4% latest. 
Work trip to Melbourne last month, found prices were high , after conversion , despite the AUD plunge.

(12-11-2023, 11:19 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:  Whereas ????

1. How many are local born ( what percentage (
  2. How many are FT/PR ? What is the percentage?
  3. How many are those bought by the agent's representatives for clients overseas?

By international standard, we are considered one of the riches country. That fellow down under cannot tahan to hear that.
You got 50 cents, then spend 50 cents.
Got 500 then spend 500. So we spend within our means.
[+] 2 users Like Migrant's post

(13-11-2023, 09:42 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  I thought report say one third of household got vehicle including pick up truck or van.
3/4 got credit card, and of which many have more than 1 credit card.
Of course to have condo and car together will be more difficult.

There are 532,000 personal cars in S'pore for a population of 5.9 million so only 11% of people own one.  If the average household has 3 persons, then about 30% of residents have access to a private passenger car.  Since 80% of the people live in HDB flats, only 20% stay in private property.  So 2 of the big ticket items out of the 5Cs are attainable only for a small % of residents here.  

(13-11-2023, 09:44 AM)watchfirst9 Wrote:  great businessman who know how to 积少成多 Big Grin

You use the wrong proverb lah. - Should be 贪财无厌...which is more application for Faith-Fools who were convinced to spend "beyond their basic needs"...

In fact we often hear such pple emptying their life savings to achieve that promised "holy" destiny..Big Grin