For many in China, the economy feels like it is in recession

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/business...on-4055866

crying crying crying

Many people don't understand this why 5.2% is actually bad in china. And  is actually recessionary. So they keep saying 5.2% is good. This is a misunderstanding of economics.

Last year china total debt expanded by 20% to produce this 5.2% growth.....this is extremely unhealthy.

Quote:Zhu Tian, economics professor at China Europe International Business School in Shanghai, says the textbook definition of a recession - two consecutive quarters of economic contraction - should not apply to a developing country investing roughly 40 per cent of its output annually, twice the level of the United States.
"We're in a recession," Zhu said. "If you talk to 10 people, seven will say we've had a bad year."

"I don't think the government can afford that. This cannot go on forever," he said, urging more stimulus measures to break out what could be a "vicious cycle" of low confidence that will affect young people entering the job market in particular.

(18-01-2024, 10:40 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Many people don't understand this why 5.2% is actually bad in china. And  is actually recessionary. So they keep saying 5.2% is good. This is a misunderstanding of economics.

Last year china total debt expanded by 20% to produce this 5.2% growth.....this is extremely unhealthy.

I wonder why you seem to be cheering incessantly for China's downfall when you actually do business with its people to put food on your table

The big mistake China is making now is "bit by bit" stimulus.

This is a classic error in economic yo try to just stabilise and patch in the end you will have loss of confidence and the economy is harder to recover.
When confidence is going down hill you need to take drastic action to reverse it.

Deflation can then into incurable disease for China.

Its a long series of mistakes like zero covid with no proper exit plan.

Trade war with US instead of trade deal.

Scaring away investors...and own people also run to Singapore.

(18-01-2024, 10:46 AM)Simplemen Wrote:  I wonder why you seem to be cheering incessantly for China's downfall when you actually do business with its people to put food on your table

It is not cheering but pointing out the reality and implications.

Singapore will be impacted for sure and we cannot be unprepared.

If there is trouble in US like economic slowdown and crisis we also will be discussing that.

China's bad economy has affected yr china stocks and online sales. Why you so unlucky, touch what sway what?

Ya, heard many Chinese jumped Bedok Reservoir liao.      Big Grin

This is to be expected. Though the Chinese authorities recognized the ill effects of the real estate bubble since the 2010s, there was little they could do due to the large vested interest of the local authorities and their often-colluding property companies.

Many local governments depend on property development for land sales revenue and GDP growth which at that time was the be all and end all of performance management. At that time, China's new high tech and high value add industries were also mostly in incubation mode and could not take over as primary growth drivers.

This has resulted in the festering of a known problem for many years and made clearing up now much more difficult than it needs to be.

The Chinese government is now engineering a major economic restructuring akin to a large MNC undergoing right sizing and future proofing. In the process, there will be lots of change management challenges which manifests itself in various ways:

1) Debt reduction taking a backseat as a key government revenue driver from land sales dries up.

2) Structural unemployment as new dominating industries though generating high economic value, are not as labour intensive and cannot do a 1 : 1 job replacement for jobs lost from obsolete industries.

3) Shaken consumer confidence due to uncertainty in job security and property capital appreciation which in turns drives cautious spending.

4) These symptoms are also exacerbated by a lethargic global environment beset with trade friction, geopolitical tension and widespread inflation.

The western media will harp on the negative symptoms while their Chinese counterparts will emphasize on the positive green shoots and potential from a successful restructuring. It is also normal different people to have different opinion on whether the restructuring will be successful.

However regardless of the eventual outcome, what is indisputable is China is one of the rare countries in the world that is at least trying to implement painful reforms. The rest of the world especially developed countries like US / EU / JP / KR have basically all given up. Heck even India has given up - Modi had great plans to upskill India's economy, perform deep agricultural reforms, build a Made in India industrial story, but all that has taken a back seat. It's all Hindu nationalism now and together with it the rise of major social conflicts all over the country.

The government and citizenry in these developed countries are all aware of the host of problems plaguing their economy and society at large, but nobody is seriously doing anything about it. All the actions so far are classic kick the can down the road tactics, i.e. borrow lots of money and pass the benefits to consumers for vote buying, keep the corporate welfare train going to ensure the elite class stays pacified, pump up the real estate and stock markets with excessive liquidity, initiate external conflicts all over the world to divert attention.

We can see all the long-term ill effects piling up in these countries - rise of extremist right-wing parties (Trump and all his EU clones), shrinking middle class, rising poverty, economic stagnation, open hatred between different SES classes, xenophobia, ridiculously low levels of approval from the population on their government and institutions, slug out to the end between political parties with no compromise etc.

To me what impresses me about the Chinese government and its people is you may disagree with their policies, you may think all this is futile and bound to fail, you may dislike their "arrogant" attitude, but at least they are trying. They have a story, a hope, of seriously imagining a better world for their own people and hopefully in the process better the lives of the rest of the developing countries. 4E + 27EU + JP/KR have nothing to offer to its citizens and the rest of the world other than an insistence that all is well and "freedom" and "free markets" were, are and will always be the solution to everything.

(18-01-2024, 10:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It is not cheering but pointing out the reality and implications.

If there is trouble in US like economic slowdown and crisis we also will be discussing that.

If u are so good, you should be working

(18-01-2024, 10:48 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  It is not cheering but pointing out the reality and implications.

sgbuffett 's favorite bedtime story book......and neither he was cherring for China.
[Image: biggrin.png]

[Image: main-qimg-d270c58b057f8392d428c329cefaefaf]

(18-01-2024, 12:08 PM)Manthink Wrote:  sgbuffett 's favorite bedtime story book......and neither he was cherring for China.

Pundek Pukimak ahbutt the ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies collapse liao lah Pitiful hor LMAO

https://media.tenor.com/ChfsSkalIBMAAAAM...s-hell.gif https://media.tenor.com/eWTxq7C0RzIAAAAM...ughter.gif https://media.tenor.com/_KPrM33wfI0AAAAM...risate.gif https://media.tenor.com/pYSwXjste08AAAAM...ughing.gif https://media.tenor.com/25eKj3o1xHYAAAAM...-laugh.gif

(18-01-2024, 12:08 PM)Manthink Wrote:  sgbuffett 's favorite bedtime story book......and neither he was cherring for China.

Pundek Pukimak ahbutt the amdk arse lickers stooge’s you don't know meh your daddies bankrupt liao lah LMAO 
https://media.tenor.com/1B57a5a-X_sAAAAM...nkrupt.gif https://media.tenor.com/xo0mV_2PHuUAAAAM...nkrupt.gif https://media.tenor.com/OON4ZwAtYx0AAAAM...d-duck.gif https://media.tenor.com/eWTxq7C0RzIAAAAM...ughter.gif https://media.tenor.com/uCzyI6GAs2oAAAAM/loi-n.gif https://media.tenor.com/k3lnFoS7_2QAAAAM...-laugh.gif

A  6 months story by ah-way ...vs Today's Real news...

Why is TS always so silent in every topic he started in SGTalk?

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/china-...ast-a-pall

By cna ceca

Beer promoter went back china also got car to drive. Life not that bad lah

Don't say China, I think Singapore is not much better. Many graduates still remain jobless. Property agent told me rental market has never been so slow before. My friend's condo unit still cannot find tenant.

(10-06-2024, 11:30 AM)Clyde Wrote:  Don't say China, I think Singapore is not much better. Many graduates still remain jobless. Property agent told me rental market has never been so slow before. My friend's condo unit still cannot find tenant.

Singapore’s property rental prices had risen up to extremely high level. Our regional market has not rise much after the pandemic. Maybe JB-Malaysia rise is related to Singapore. The rise is still continuing. Inflation also picks up. They have to even off. The Phillipines has dropped and have not pick up. Profit drops by 45%.  China’s 2nd tier market seems to maintain there. The drop is likely 1st tier. The profit is maintained before and after the pandemic, no change.

Our government has introduced the 60% tax on foreign buyers to quickly cool down the market. The money is now moving to Japan due to the low costs and exchange rate.

I can only contribute my side of the story.

(10-06-2024, 12:01 PM)theold Wrote:  Singapore’s property rental prices had risen up to extremely high level. Our regional market has not rise much after the pandemic. Maybe JB-Malaysia rise is related to Singapore. The rise is still continuing. Inflation also picks up. They have to even off. The Phillipines has dropped and have not pick up. Profit drops. China’s 2nd tier market seems to maintain there. The drop is likely 1st tier. The profit is still there.  

Our government has introduced the 60% tax on foreign buyers to quickly cool down the market. The money is now moving to Japan due to the low costs and exchange rate.

I can only contribute my side of the story.
is only right spore property prices n rental come down at this time as these prices hv increse >30% last few yrs.
a resale  4 rm flat is >500k
5 rm>1m
 these prices never happened b4 2020

really in recession. singapore as well. don't believe the publish numbers.
justa mild one. but to those no jobs it is serious trouble.
at least those in big country can return to country side to hide for a while.
singapore no place to run. got to take up odd jobs or those that ceca no want.

how cum jobless ermaos dun feel like it's n recession?

1. stay at parent's house everything free
2. every meal eat ccp very cheap
3. stay home play games dun go out

jobless ermaos going downstairs for ccpng now?

(19-11-2024, 11:20 AM)Purikura Wrote:  

Third world china economy already ran to the ground by the ccp cult. Tongue Tongue Tongue 

You can already see ah tiongs are getting alot poorer and many are jobless with no future. Why do you think so many ah tiongs are fleeing illegally to USA and europe? lololololol Tongue Tongue Tongue 

Third world china is in trillions of debt and cult leader xi have to get on his knees to beg ang moh companies not to leave his shithole country. Ah tiong have to resort to scamming, robbing and stabbing due to the jobless crisis. Tongue Tongue Tongue

https://x.com/WallStreetMav/status/18586...TE4QSKUgcA&s=19

Jobless ermaos finished eating ccpng, hurriedly go home to hide?

China economy will remain weak ..
Worse still it's being targeted by Trump tariffs

(05-12-2024, 04:47 AM)sgbuffett Wrote:  China economy will remain weak ..
Worse still it's being targeted by Trump tariffs

Weak your LC lah.

Third world china economy already ran to the ground by the ccp cult. Tongue Tongue Tongue 

You can already see ah tiongs are getting alot poorer and many are jobless with no future. Why do you think so many ah tiongs are fleeing illegally to USA and europe? lololololol Tongue Tongue Tongue 

Third world china is in trillions of debt and cult leader xi have to get on his knees to beg ang moh companies not to leave his shithole country. Ah tiong have to resort to scamming, robbing and stabbing due to the jobless crisis. Tongue Tongue Tongue

https://youtu.be/r1f4Z2k2PUA?si=60z1yacRqCphf7jF

Mental retard Pundek Pukimak and brokeback gangs the ultimate amdk arse lickers stooge’s singing and dancing keep barking woof woof and sucking your daddies beloved dogs lmao mental stupid hor correct or not arse lickers stooge’s 
https://media.tenor.com/NfLOr7gAFDwAAAAM...illies.gif https://media.tenor.com/ToauSjqAMFgAAAAM...-coney.gif https://media.tenor.com/HhMNTjd_zgcAAAAM...n-dork.gif https://media.tenor.com/KvAFOstGa_YAAAAM...pement.gif https://media.tenor.com/sttF8xY21_QAAAAM...y-hill.gif Upz

(18-01-2024, 09:19 AM)way Wrote:  htt

Stop wasting time!

Your beloved Assmerica's US$ 90 billion FAILED liao! 

$90 billion spent on disinformation about China, what did the US people get?

https://www.helsinkitimes.fi/china-news/...ganda.html

A 500-million-dollar business! America's state-sponsored anti-China propaganda

Huat ah, Assmerica!  Clapping Clapping 

http://eng.chinamil.com.cn/OPINIONS_2091...30514.html

US goes further to spend $300 million annually smearing China

Huat ah, Assmerica!!!!  Clapping Laughing 

Huat ah, Shitexchange!!!  Clapping  nudie

Huat ah, Jericok75!!!!  Laughter-68 

Huat ah, greenthaiger!!! Laughing

Huat ah, Koyokte! Fundance
More money on the way!

Huat ah!!!!  Gesti-109

Let's Talk About The USA's 1.6 Billion Dollar Countering China Bill - H.R. 1157 | Lee Barrett

【每日必看】台獨網軍"匿名者64"慘了?! 蔡正元預言中共下一步|陸控遭台「資通電軍」網攻 郭正亮發現一件怪事:很可怕 20240924