Foreign-owned firms employ more high incomes Singaporean
17-09-2024, 12:44 PM
Foreign-owned firms employ an outsized share of high-earning Singapore residents: MOM data https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/j...s-mom-data
17-09-2024, 12:49 PM
Notice that the actual report says residents, not Singaporeans.
17-09-2024, 01:06 PM
17-09-2024, 01:23 PM
17-09-2024, 01:29 PM
An EP holder can also be a resident. So essentially 90% of these firms hiring foreigners is correct and the 6/10 Sinkie high earners are highly paid tea ladies and receptionists. After all, arent they highly paid compared to the tea ladies working at local companies? LOL!
17-09-2024, 01:34 PM
My niece from local bank was offered a post, doing same at a 30%more than her present salary by a US bank.
But only one month bonus.
Final outcome, not much difference.
17-09-2024, 01:39 PM
(17-09-2024, 01:23 PM)forum456 Wrote: you are right.
it can be that 90% are PRs and only 10% are singaporeans.
changi business park is a good example that 90% employees are PRs/ceca/foreigners.
as long as PAP does not break down the residents into PR and singaporeans means they have something to hide.
no matter how good is the number for residents, we know that 90% are PR foreigners and 10% are singaporeans.
changi business park is a good example as all ceca PRs happen to work there.
17-09-2024, 01:56 PM
(17-09-2024, 12:44 PM)moonrab Wrote: Foreign-owned firms employ more high incomes Singaporean
your title is 100% wrong .
It should be "Foreign-owned firms employ more high incomes residents".
unless PAP provides breakdown of foreign PRs and singaporeans, we will never know PRs or singaporeans are the majority.
based on changi business park example, 90% are PRs/foreigners and 10% are singaporeans.
17-09-2024, 02:03 PM
There is a difference between higher income via MNCs and higher percentage of staff in MNCs are Singaporeans earning higher income...
Twist and turn.
Anyways it's not Singaporeans but residence that includes PRs. Can govt show what's the percentage over the years where employment passes converted to PRs?
Twist and turn.
Anyways it's not Singaporeans but residence that includes PRs. Can govt show what's the percentage over the years where employment passes converted to PRs?
17-09-2024, 02:08 PM
That is why our salary is ALWAYS 25%- 30% Lower than FTs
Because we work in STat Boards, GLCS, SMEs and Ministries
where the salary is often 30% lower the Foreign MNCs
This is based on my past 6 mths job search data
PAP has Divided Singapore into 1 Country with 2 Sytems, 4 Classes and 2 Groups.
Born Citizens VS Foreigners
Because we work in STat Boards, GLCS, SMEs and Ministries
where the salary is often 30% lower the Foreign MNCs
This is based on my past 6 mths job search data
PAP has Divided Singapore into 1 Country with 2 Sytems, 4 Classes and 2 Groups.
Born Citizens VS Foreigners
17-09-2024, 04:58 PM
(17-09-2024, 01:56 PM)forum456 Wrote: your title is 100% wrong .
unless PAP provides breakdown of foreign PRs and singaporeans, we will never know PRs or singaporeans are the majority.
based on changi business park example, 90% are PRs/foreigners and 10% are singaporeans.
Nay, Singapore MNC is not all about Changi business park la..🤣
17-09-2024, 05:19 PM
Where's that CECA pundek Oyk to defend his MIW masters' pro CECA/FT policies?
17-09-2024, 05:22 PM
(17-09-2024, 01:34 PM)Migrant Wrote: My niece from local bank was offered a post, doing same at a 30%more than her present salary by a US bank.
Local firm hold u back by bonus.
Foreign firm has spread out those on the monthly package. So you can move on without thinking of taking the bonuses. Good deal too

17-09-2024, 05:44 PM
My cousin has been in the banking industry
Foreign MNCs has much better work culture in the 7 AREAS
Even if the pay is lower, local banks/ local companies all cannot match up
ie CECA can report late for work everyday.
He do that in local IT company, issue him 3 warning letters and gets sacked.
Foreign MNCs has much better work culture in the 7 AREAS
Even if the pay is lower, local banks/ local companies all cannot match up
ie CECA can report late for work everyday.
He do that in local IT company, issue him 3 warning letters and gets sacked.
17-09-2024, 06:20 PM
17-09-2024, 06:37 PM
if man power minister job is open to foreign competition . maybe his talk talk will be different.
from top look down it is always logical. until one own job is at risk.
think about it. no point to have big gdp if good jobs (those that local want) are replaced by foreigners.
foreigners are needed. there need to have a balance.
the current building of foreigners worker dorm will be a problem later when it is over build. foreign pr are looking at it and think good invest with so many $hundred per worker. also hdb high price are partly due to increase number of fw allow in each units. reduce it back to remove speculation. best no rent out of entire unit.
from top look down it is always logical. until one own job is at risk.
think about it. no point to have big gdp if good jobs (those that local want) are replaced by foreigners.
foreigners are needed. there need to have a balance.
the current building of foreigners worker dorm will be a problem later when it is over build. foreign pr are looking at it and think good invest with so many $hundred per worker. also hdb high price are partly due to increase number of fw allow in each units. reduce it back to remove speculation. best no rent out of entire unit.
17-09-2024, 08:19 PM
(17-09-2024, 01:56 PM)forum456 Wrote: your title is 100% wrong .
"The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) released the figures on Sept 17 showing foreign-owned firms employ an outsized share of those who earned a gross monthly income of above $12,500 and fall into the top 10 per cent of the income distribution."
Moonrab thought the above is welcome news, without understanding the numbers.
reality is PRs earn more than Sporean through Sg history as Govt data show
![[Image: prwage_zps8588cdb6.jpg]](https://i252.photobucket.com/albums/hh29/singaporenewsalternative/prwage_zps8588cdb6.jpg)
and minister reply.
SINGAPORE — Across the financial sector, the median monthly wage band for Singaporeans is S$6,000 to S$8,000, while that of permanent residents (PRs) and foreigners is S$8,000 to S$10,000, said Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung in Parliament on Friday (Sept 4).4 Sept 2020
17-09-2024, 08:42 PM
(17-09-2024, 08:19 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: "The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) released the figures on Sept 17 showing foreign-owned firms employ an outsized share of those who earned a gross monthly income of above $12,500 and fall into the top 10 per cent of the income distribution."
Moonrab thought the above is welcome news, without understanding the numbers.
reality is PRs earn more than Sporean through Sg history as Govt data show
and minister reply.
SINGAPORE — Across the financial sector, the median monthly wage band for Singaporeans is S$6,000 to S$8,000, while that of permanent residents (PRs) and foreigners is S$8,000 to S$10,000, said Transport Minister Ong Ye Kung in Parliament on Friday (Sept 4).4 Sept 2020
This tread discussion highlights the impact of multinational corporations (MNCs) hiring Singaporeans at higher salaries compared to local small and medium enterprises (SMEs).
It suggests that without the presence of foreign direct investment (FDI) and MNC investments, Singaporean salaries would be significantly lower, and unemployment rates could potentially increase.
That's is the message of my tread...get it?
In the current context, there is a growing trend among people over here to compare permanent residency (PR) holders hired by multinational corporations (MNCs).
It is essential to acknowledge the fact that MNCs often require foreign personnel, particularly for their management expertise from their headquarters in their home countries.
These highly skilled foreign individuals apply for PR in Singapore with the intention of working and residing in the country for an extended period.
By doing so, they contribute to the local economy by paying taxes and attracting more foreign direct investment (FDI) over time. What's is wrong with it?
With Singapore near negative birthrate, depending on local Singaporean, will never make it in the competition to attract FDI MNC.
After all, it is those successful PR whom will become our citizens, Singaporean, stated in the survey you shown over years....
Without them, our workforce and population will probably shrink in years to come.....😊
17-09-2024, 09:35 PM
I presume from what were posted here, most if not all, agree Singapore needs MNC to earn higher salary. 7k and above range.
How many over here are working or once worked in MNC? There should be more than less imo.
Singapore is in direct competition with nations having populations ranging from 25 million to 250 million.
These nations possess substantial land, water, and energy resources, making them attractive destinations for Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) and Multinational Corporation (MNC) investments.
FDI constitutes a significant portion of our annual Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and contributes to the increase in our workforce's salaries. Consequently, FDI MNC is highly sought after by numerous neighboring and larger countries.
Eg
Singapore estimated 2023 GDP $501,428,000
Malaysia estimated 2023 GDP $399,649,000
With a tiny population of approximately 3 million citizens and a land area of 700 square kilometers, Singapore will faces a unique challenge in achieving its 2023 GDP target without the presence of multinational corporations (MNCs).
To overcome this challenge, Singapore must focus on fostering developing its human capital. Without attracting more PR, how can we compete with our neighbour's 34 millions population?
Lastly, do you still want to have a $7k above job in Singapore?
Or can you accept lower salary with lesser MNC presence in Singapore?.
The choice is yours actually..Cheers!😊
I am OK with it, because my time is over.
Just living for the sake of enjoying my remaining times in this world 🌎.
How many over here are working or once worked in MNC? There should be more than less imo.
Singapore is in direct competition with nations having populations ranging from 25 million to 250 million.
These nations possess substantial land, water, and energy resources, making them attractive destinations for Foreign Direct Investment (FDI) and Multinational Corporation (MNC) investments.
FDI constitutes a significant portion of our annual Gross Domestic Product (GDP) and contributes to the increase in our workforce's salaries. Consequently, FDI MNC is highly sought after by numerous neighboring and larger countries.
Eg
Singapore estimated 2023 GDP $501,428,000
Malaysia estimated 2023 GDP $399,649,000
With a tiny population of approximately 3 million citizens and a land area of 700 square kilometers, Singapore will faces a unique challenge in achieving its 2023 GDP target without the presence of multinational corporations (MNCs).
To overcome this challenge, Singapore must focus on fostering developing its human capital. Without attracting more PR, how can we compete with our neighbour's 34 millions population?
17-09-2024, 10:14 PM
(17-09-2024, 09:35 PM)moonrab Wrote: To overcome this challenge, Singapore must focus on fostering developing its human capital. Without attracting more PR, how can we compete with our neighbour's 34 millions population?
what is the point of doing all these when 90% of the staff in these companies are foreign PRs/foreigners ?
it means more foreign PRs are coming and more singaporeans are becoming unemployed.
17-09-2024, 10:40 PM
(17-09-2024, 08:42 PM)moonrab Wrote: This tread discussion highlights the impact of multinational corporations (MNCs) hiring Singaporeans at higher salaries compared to local small and medium enterprises (SMEs).
It suggests that without the presence of foreign direct investment (FDI) and MNC investments, Singaporean salaries would be significantly lower, and unemployment rates could potentially increase.
That's is the message of my tread...get it?
In the current context, there is a growing trend among people over here to compare permanent residency (PR) holders hired by multinational corporations (MNCs).
It is essential to acknowledge the fact that MNCs often require foreign personnel, particularly for their management expertise from their headquarters in their home countries.
These highly skilled foreign individuals apply for PR in Singapore with the intention of working and residing in the country for an extended period.
By doing so, they contribute to the local economy by paying taxes and attracting more foreign direct investment (FDI) over time. What's is wrong with it?
With Singapore near negative birthrate, depending on local Singaporean, will never make it in the competition to attract FDI MNC.
After all, it is those successful PR whom will become our citizens, Singaporean, stated in the survey you shown over years....
Without them, our workforce and population will probably shrink in years to come.....😊
They become Sporeans, local born Sporean became their subordinates in general.
because another data show PRs are above Sporean in percentile.
Is the strategy to develop Spore core?
The more you say the more ugly it become.
17-09-2024, 11:21 PM
(17-09-2024, 10:14 PM)forum456 Wrote: what is the point of doing all these when 90% of the staff in these companies are foreign PRs/foreigners ?
it means more foreign PRs are coming and more singaporeans are becoming unemployed.
The PRs, some will become Singaporean, to sustain our 3 millions citizen population.
There is no other ways to prevent our population from shrinking.
You have a better solution?
17-09-2024, 11:29 PM
(17-09-2024, 10:40 PM)watchfirst9 Wrote: They become Sporeans, local born Sporean became their subordinates in general.
because another data show PRs are above Sporean in percentile.
Is the strategy to develop Spore core?
The more you say the more ugly it become.
How can you prevent a shrinking citizens population in Singapore?
Any better solution besides your so call "ugly" PRs attaining citizenship scheme?
Do you want more MNCs to shift their companies to our neighboring countries with more manpower resources?
And our core local born citizen salary dropping below our neighbouring countries level?
Is that a beautiful senario?..🤣
What is your solution to build our core local born citizens population? We are more than happy to learn from you. Cheers!!!
17-09-2024, 11:36 PM
So far I never see the Gov promote local as the great ppl to be recruited to the foreign investor.😅
18-09-2024, 09:16 AM
(17-09-2024, 11:36 PM)Ernesto Wrote: So far I never see the Gov promote local as the great ppl to be recruited to the foreign investor.😅
Yes in some aspect, I agree to you statement.
We hear more about Foreign Talent and not Local Talent...😆🤣
It appears that there has been an oversight in the public relations marketing strategy of our government, which has resulted in negative sentiments among the public. Rather stupid imo.🤭
Our Govt did make a stance on local employment for all companies in Singapore.
Everyone knows there is a ratio between citizens and foreign workers for companies hiring.
Some companies were already penalised for breaking the rules.
Nevertheless, Citizen and Permanent Resident fall under the same category in most employment opportunities, with the possible exception of certain civil service departments.
PR scheme priority is to sustain or boost up our citizens population in our long-term sustainability strategy.
Singapore's total fertility rate has reached a historic negative low of 0.97 in 2023. Cannot even reproduce to replace ourselves, not to mention increase our local born core citizens for economical competition.
This poses a significant challenge to the sustainability of our local population and workforce.
It is crucial to address this issue in order to ensure the long-term growth and compete with our neighbouring countries for more better and higher salary jobs..
How can Singapore compete with Malaysia's 34 millions population in attracting more MNC investments?
How can Singaporean keep on drawing $7k and above salary? Now and in the future.
I am sure no political parties including WP and SDP have any better solution, other than using current PR scheme to fulfil MNC's requirements in human capital.
Eventhough many people in Singapore hated to see more PRs in our nation.
What choice do we have?
18-09-2024, 12:40 PM
PR should be used as a compliment to local . Not a permanent solution. Is like if u uses and rely too much salt on anything it damage the luscious diet.
18-09-2024, 01:06 PM
(18-09-2024, 12:40 PM)Ernesto Wrote: PR should be used as a compliment to local . Not a permanent solution. Is like if u uses and rely too much salt on anything it damage the luscious diet.
Many PR are not permanent, need renewal in every 5 years.
Normally will be rejected once out of job or business for a period of times. Most left after living here for decade. Only some will become Naturalised Citizen.
Singapore PR application approval has a annual qouta and base on a set of criteria. But no clear path to qualify.
At present, it is difficult to acquire. It is possible that our population has reached its maximum capacity.
18-09-2024, 01:10 PM
(17-09-2024, 12:49 PM)starbugs Wrote: Notice that the actual report says residents, not Singaporeans.
Now then you know.

Song Boh! They dare not tell the hard truth.
How many are true blue sinkies?
A good garment will not treat its ppl like i.d.i.o.t
18-09-2024, 01:11 PM
(18-09-2024, 01:06 PM)moonrab Wrote: Many PR are not permanent, need renewal in every 5 years.
Normally will be rejected once out of job or business for a period of times..
Singapore PR application approval has a annual qouta and base on a set of criteria. But no clear path to qualify.
At present, it is difficult to acquire. It is possible that our population has reached its maximum capacity.
Well PR is a recurring application. So some come replacing those gone but their rental price and asset investment speculation damage the heartbeat or soul of the country is permanently.