[Image: https://i.gifer.com/7ZqO.gif]
Has Anyone Experienced Earthquakes Before?
08-04-2023, 03:17 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:13 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: It is scary!😫😩😢
There were sometimes that earth quake with the centre in Indonesia that affected us, but it is a rather minor earthquake and that Singapore is affected, but the tremor is very slight, only a few seconds of shaking. But some tall buildings have their foundation cracked...........

08-04-2023, 03:20 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:17 PM)debono Wrote: There were sometimes that earth quake with the centre in Indonesia that affected us, but it is a rather minor earthquake and that Singapore is affected, but the tremor is very slight, only a few seconds of shaking. But some tall buildings have their foundation cracked...........
I never saw or felt before lah!

08-04-2023, 03:20 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:17 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: Have you ever leh?
Yes, when I was in Taipei many years ago, the earthquake suddenly started at 4pm when I was in the hotel room on 17th floor.
08-04-2023, 03:21 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:20 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: Yes, when I was in Taipei many years ago, the earthquake suddenly started at 4pm when I was in the hotel room on 17th floor.
The wall shook so violently in one metre range as if they were going to fall down, the bed shook left right like a small boat in the ocean.
All the wine glasses fell on the floor, the TV also fell down
Luckily it only lasted for 30 seconds and I quickly fled downstairs with my passport.
08-04-2023, 03:25 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:17 PM)debono Wrote: There were sometimes that earth quake with the centre in Indonesia that affected us, but it is a rather minor earthquake and that Singapore is affected, but the tremor is very slight, only a few seconds of shaking. But some tall buildings have their foundation cracked...........
The impact in Spore is nothing comparing to what happened in Taiwan, Japan, Nepal and Indonesia.
08-04-2023, 03:26 PM
Went to a local bank branch office at Ny wtc before they're attacked. It's so sudden, violent and scary
08-04-2023, 03:29 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:26 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: Went to a local bank branch office at Ny wtc before they're attacked. It's so sudden, violent and scary
So you one of the survivors of WTC attack?

08-04-2023, 03:31 PM
08-04-2023, 03:33 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:31 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote: That's 2 yrs before the attack.
So you survived bank robbery
08-04-2023, 03:42 PM
08-04-2023, 03:47 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:42 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: I was also in Taiwan for round island 7 days tour leh!We only missed a rock that dropped at 太魯閣 Terror Gorge lah!
Wah, you have been to 太魯阁,very beautiful, got mountain and small river under the cliff. Must wear helmets!
08-04-2023, 03:53 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:47 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: Wah, you have been to 太魯阁,very beautiful, got mountain and small river under the cliff. Must wear helmets!
The tour guide said just a few minutes ago that area was cordoned off due to that huge rock that dropped lah!

08-04-2023, 03:53 PM
08-04-2023, 03:58 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:13 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote: Has Anyone Experienced Earthquakes Before?
A very mild one. Right in Singapore. I was sitting on a chair and I thought I was fainting. Then I saw the clothes hanger and other stuff swinging and I realised that it is not me that was fainting but the building was shaking. Found out later that there was an earthquake then in Indonesia.
08-04-2023, 04:06 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:53 PM)cheekopekman Wrote: The tour guide said just a few minutes ago that area was cordoned off due to that huge rock that dropped lah!We actually saw that rock but cordoned off liao lah!
Heng ah, you were so lucky.

08-04-2023, 04:07 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:58 PM)Levin Wrote: A very mild one. Right in Singapore. I was sitting on a chair and I thought I was fainting. Then I saw the clothes hanger and other stuff swinging and I realised that it is not me that was fainting but the building was shaking. Found out later that there was an earthquake then in Indonesia.
You must be at Harbour Front
08-04-2023, 04:11 PM
(08-04-2023, 03:58 PM)Levin Wrote: A very mild one. Right in Singapore. I was sitting on a chair and I thought I was fainting. Then I saw the clothes hanger and other stuff swinging and I realised that it is not me that was fainting but the building was shaking. Found out later that there was an earthquake then in Indonesia.
It was in the 1970s that this earthquake occurred, and I was at Toa Payoh at that time......the adjacent block was shaken and it's foundations had cracked.............

08-04-2023, 05:30 PM
08-04-2023, 06:28 PM
(08-04-2023, 05:30 PM)Levin Wrote: My encounter was more recent, in the 2000s. I was in the southeastern part of Singapore.
You meant Tampines? Got earthquake meh?
08-04-2023, 06:32 PM
(08-04-2023, 05:28 PM)Clyde Wrote: 1991, in California.
When I was at a client’s office in Silicon Valley in California I felt floor is shaking slightly.
08-04-2023, 06:32 PM