50cents / $3.5 = 14% increment

Hawker aunty said something like this in Chinese:
你们这群人没人性。

部长薪水几百万 你们就说很好
COE 几百千 你们也说很好
GST 上很多你们也说没办法

现在auntie 压力很大才加 五毛 你们就吵死人

So hawkers are one of the pushing hands?

2 meat 1 vege for $4 is considered very cheap nowadays.

My place here, chwee keuh up 25% recently.

(13-01-2024, 11:46 AM)Bigbluedot Wrote:  So hawkers are one of the pushing hands?

i stay in rural hawker area le, not prestigious raffles place

Try $6 hor fun, $7 sung mee

A lot of greedy hawkers now seizing the chance to up prices vis a vis the GST hike and "free" CDC vouchers. 

It's a  matter of wanting to earn more by jacking up prices, or status quo by maintaining prices. 

Sadly for consumers, majority of the  hawks are greedy bastards 😕.

(13-01-2024, 11:44 AM)ROFLMAO Wrote:  Hawker aunty said something like this in Chinese:
你们这群人没人性。部长薪水几百万 你们就说很好 COE 几百千 你们也说很好 GST 上很多你们也说没办法
现在auntie 压力很大才加 五毛 你们就吵死人

When the COE and GST rise, so will the hawker's costs in operating her stall.  However, most of them want to also increase their profit margin rather than raise prices in tandem.

What consumers can do is to boycott those hawkers who up their prices exorbitantly. Let them feel the pain.

Just need to endure for another 10-20 years.
Most hawkers will be redundant (their food isn't that great anyway) once cheap but agile housekeeper robots are mass-produced then.
Best is home-cooked food are much healthier as better ingredients can be used and properly washed before cooking.

(13-01-2024, 12:20 PM)winbig Wrote:  What consumers can do is to boycott those hawkers who up their prices exorbitantly. Let them feel the pain.
True, look at the ABC HC lately with the TB scare. 
Not  much customers, hawks have to go  a begging. LanLan.

Best to let them be forever hungry and not cocky !
[+] 1 user Likes hansamu's post

(13-01-2024, 12:20 PM)winbig Wrote:  What consumers can do is to boycott those hawkers who up their prices exorbitantly. Let them feel the pain.

I have already blacklisted those hawkers who raised their prices unreasonably and those who shrank their food portions to resemble kids' meals. One farking vegetarian stallholder in Ghim Moh dared to scold me when I remarked that her $4 fried bee hoon could be consumed in 4 mouthfuls. 

(13-01-2024, 11:50 AM)Clyde Wrote:  My place here, chwee keuh up 25% recently.

I have already blacklisted those hawkers who raised their prices unreasonably and those who shrank their food portions to resemble kids' meals. One farking vegetarian stallholder in Ghim Moh dared to scold me when I remarked that her $4 fried bee hoon could be consumed in 4 mouthfuls. 

My side kopi siew dai $1.50.
Noodle $5 .

Terrible.

Free for all price increase liao...suka suka all businesses at their own time carry on.

Coming CNY all the hawks, sharks and thieves will be having a field day.

Profiteering Committee where are you?
Waiting for CNY..?