Hokkien Dialect is Actually Luoyang Dialect Brought to Fujian from Central China

The earliest Han Chinese settlement in southern Fujian was along the Jin River basin which became the earliest linguistic and cultural center for Southern Min people.

These migrants brought along the Luoyang (洛陽) dialect of Old Chinese language spoken during the Jin dynasty which then formed proto-Quanzhou.

Southern Min people are also called He-Luo/Ho-Lok (河洛) people. 'He' and 'Luo' are the short-forms for 'Yellow River' and 'Luoyang' respectively.

During the Three Kingdoms period of ancient China, there was constant warfare occurring in the Central Plain of China. Northerners began to enter into Fujianregion, causing the region to incorporate parts of northern Chinese dialects. However, the massive migration of northern Han Chinese into Fujian region mainly occurred after the Disaster of Yongjia. The Jìncourt fled from the north to the south, causing large numbers of northern Han Chinese to move into Fujian region. They brought the Old Chinese spoken in the Central Plain of China from the prehistoric era to the 3rd century into Fujian.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hokkien

http://eastasiaorigin.blogspot.com/2017/...kkien.html

Then term 閩南Ren and 閩南 Hua was only coined in 1930s

different clan of Hokkien cum SG/MY/Indo long before 1930s and to better united against the teochew joined force together to use the common term "hokkien" to differentiate themselves against the teochew. 

which explained which SG/MY used the term "I am Hokkien ppl" for century while Taiwanese dun, as Taiwanese Hokkien need NO unity against  teochew,  and Taiwanese's 泉漳 even fight among themselves

My new fav singer...

(18-12-2022, 01:20 AM)limpeh394 Wrote:  Then term 閩南Ren and 閩南 Hua was only coined in 1930s

different clan of Hokkien cum SG/MY/Indo long before 1930s and to better united against the teochew joined force together to use the common term "hokkien" to differentiate themselves against the teochew. 

which explained which SG/MY used the term "I am Hokkien ppl" for century while Taiwanese dun, as Taiwanese Hokkien need NO unity against  teochew,  and Taiwanese's 泉漳 even fight among themselves

You are talking about past 100 years in Spore but I am talking about the history of Fujian dialects and where the ancestors came from 2000 years ago. Laughing

(18-12-2022, 10:18 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  You are talking about past 100 years in Spore but I am talking about the history of Fujian dialects and where the ancestors came from 2000 years ago. Laughing

Does the peony flower have any significance among these present day descendants.

https://baike.baidu.com/item/%E9%97%BD%E...4%E3%80%82

Did you know hokkien was Official language during ancient China? Rotfl 

Some of the old transcripts if you are not a hokkien now, you will know what does it mean.

(18-12-2022, 12:43 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  The earliest Han Chinese settlement in southern Fujian was along the Jin River basin which became the earliest linguistic and cultural center for Southern Min people.

These migrants brought along the Luoyang (洛陽) dialect of Old Chinese language spoken during the Jin dynasty which then formed proto-Quanzhou.

Southern Min people are also called He-Luo/Ho-Lok (河洛) people. 'He' and 'Luo' are the short-forms for 'Yellow River' and 'Luoyang' respectively.

What about canto?

(18-12-2022, 11:03 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Did you know hokkien was Official language during ancient China? Rotfl 

Some of the old transcripts if you are not a hokkien now, you will know what does it mean.

You are right, Luoyang dialect used to be old Chinese spoken during that era. The point is Han Chinese now live in Fujian province are not locals but the descendants of Henan migrants who migrated there over the past 2000 years, that is why their dialects are so similar to old Chinese aka Luoyang dialect in Henan in central China.

(18-12-2022, 11:23 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  You are right, Luoyang dialect used to be old Chinese spoken during that era. The point is Han Chinese now live in Fujian province are not locals but the descendants of Henan migrants who migrated there over the past 2000 years, that is why their dialects are so similar to old Chinese aka Luoyang dialect in Henan in central China.

So the s ancestors of Hokkien people in Spore were also originally from Henan.

(18-12-2022, 11:19 AM)dynamite Wrote:  What about canto?

Cantonese is believed to have originated after the fall of the Han Dynasty in 220AD, when long periods of war caused northern Chinese to flee south, taking their ancient language with them. Mandarin was documented much later in the Yuan Dynasty in 14th century China.

(18-12-2022, 11:29 AM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Cantonese is believed to have originated after the fall of the Han Dynasty in 220AD, when long periods of war caused northern Chinese to flee south, taking their ancient language with them. Mandarin was documented much later in the Yuan Dynasty in 14th century China.

You are so good in history

(18-12-2022, 11:36 AM)dynamite Wrote:  You are so good in history

Just Google lah Laughing

Practically, all from the common stock from China to South Korea (Han Country), Taiwan and Japan. It is natural. Hong Kong consists of runaways from China, Vietnam, etc.

Over the years, they find their own edge.

Seems like a few waves of migration down south.