Household income from work for poor families in Singapore fell 69% last year

(31-01-2022, 08:22 PM)Oyk Wrote:  I have given you solid numbers to illustrate.

As for you, you are simply repeating without thinking through the hard numbers...

Of course, if the guy who earns S$20K a month do away with the maid, the branded stuff, manicure and pedicure for his wife, and lives like the guy who earns $1600 a month, then he will consider paying $40 a month more to be peanuts.  You are talking about a miser....someone who earns a lot but lives like a poor man...

I'm not asking the rich person to live like a poor man, nor to be a miser. But will his wife who has to make do with one less pedicure session suffer as much as a poor man who is thinking of adding one more meat to his dish?
[+] 2 users Like Blasterlord2's post

(31-01-2022, 08:31 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  I'm not asking the rich person to live like a poor man, nor to be a miser. But will his wife who has to make do with one less pedicure session suffer as much as a poor man who is thinking of adding one more meat to his dish?

Please read carefully what the thread title says.

Lower income group.

I gave a realistic example of someone earning $1600 a month which would put him as "lower income"

What you are doing is to change the subject from "lower income" to "POOR".  

That's twisting and turning.

If you want to bring in someone who is in DRC, while his wife works as a part time cleaner to support six chewren, and say...ha! she cannot afford to add a piece of meat wor...

OK lor, if you argue like that, you win liao lor.

(31-01-2022, 08:51 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Please read carefully what the thread title says.

Lower income group.

I gave a realistic example of someone earning $1600 a month which would put him as "lower income"

What you are doing is to change the subject from "lower income" to "POOR".  

That's twisting and turning.

If you want to bring in someone who is in DRC, while his wife works as a part time cleaner to support six chewren, and say...ha! she cannot afford to add a piece of meat wor...

OK lor, if you argue like that, you win liao lor.

Pls lah, you're the one who twist and turn. The lower income will be considered poor, isn't it? I'm just giving an illustration of 'adding a piece of meat', not that it may be the case. But being low-income or poor the consideration may be such, whether to add one more dish of meat or not. Even if it is a small family size the consideration is still the same.
[+] 2 users Like Blasterlord2's post

(31-01-2022, 11:43 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  The lowest income groups are definitely more affected by the rising prices than the rich. This spin by the govt and media is stupid.

Now, they are being judged that they'll be less impacted because they spend less on big ticket items. What stupid reasoning is this?

The poor not being able to buy a good meal for themselves compared to the rich having to fork out more for a house or car???!! Of course the poor will suffer more. At most the rich will buy less of those big ticket items but their quality of life will not be affected.
Thumbs_up Thumbs_up Thumbs_up

(31-01-2022, 09:05 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Pls lah, you're the one who twist and turn. The lower income will be considered poor, isn't it? I'm just giving an illustration of 'adding a piece of meat', not that it may be the case. But being low-income or poor the consideration may be such, whether to add one more dish of meat or not. Even if it is a small family size the consideration is still the same.

Poor is a subset of lower income, but not all lower income need to be poor by definition.  Chew on that before replying to me....I hate people who twist and turn and then turn around and accuse others of twisting and turning. If you keep doing that, I will report you to debono. (I understand that he's one of the mods, in case you didn't know this...just letting you know)

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/h...9-study-by

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commenta...ike-804881

https://www.jeraldinephneah.com/singapor...tion-poor/

BS because more influx of FT into sg the number of poor is growing at lower rate

https://www.ricemedia.co/culture-people-...singapore/

There will be many poor elderly in Singapore 50 years from now too.

Those young punks speeding on their pmds, now electric bicycles, those buggers getting into fights, all sorts of nonsense, who are wasting their life away....

$14 can buy three meals....not Din Tai Fung or HDL but at least a simple cai png....and if they invest it well, it will pay for three meals 50 years from now, but you know what? They spend it on a pack of cigarettes daily. Three meals a day are not saved, but blown on a pack of ciggies.

And 50 years on, those buggers who are in their 20s now would be the ah pek in their 70s..........and poor.

PAP might not be the government. It might not even exist anymore. Who knows?

The government might be a new party we have not even heard of now....and one that is formed by new citizens from China.

Elderly can get gov money every quarter and lots of subsidies ...many organisations denoting food and money to them lah...Gov take good care of them even stay in forest !

Song Boh!
Our median age is already 41.8 yrs old.
You will see more and more LKK doing cardboard exercise.

[Image: A25-C55-C1-6-A1-D-476-D-81-E8-E5-B706-E6-F676.png]

The poor in each story bear a big part of the responsibility for their current predicament.

(01-02-2022, 10:33 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Poor is a subset of lower income, but not all lower income need to be poor by definition.  Chew on that before replying to me....I hate people who twist and turn and then turn around and accuse others of twisting and turning.  If you keep doing that, I will report you to debono.  (I understand that he's one of the mods, in case you didn't know this...just letting you know)

Today is New Year I dunwan to argue with you. But you're just playing with words.

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commenta...ent-709346
[+] 1 user Likes forum456's post

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/cna-insi...or-1014426

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/cnainsid...rty-777806

WAIT , situated at the intersection of Clark Q , Chinatown and Outram ,

Is a Prime location area leh , HDB Worth a lot even those block is dam old, left only 30 years still got DUMB People willing to pay a lot buy the resale.

This place is a outcast area.

(01-02-2022, 11:07 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Today is New Year I dunwan to argue with you. But you're just playing with words.

You are the one who is playing with words.

(01-02-2022, 11:07 AM)forum456 Wrote:  https://www.channelnewsasia.com/commenta...ent-709346
When you can import so many 20 yr old and 30yr old workers...what happens to Singaporeans in their 40s and 50s?

(01-02-2022, 11:07 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  Today is New Year I dunwan to argue with you. But you're just playing with words.

You are the one who is playing with words.  No need to give me that new year nonsense.  I am not superstitious unlike you.

(01-02-2022, 11:05 AM)Blasterlord2 Wrote:  The poor in each story bear a big part of the responsibility for their current predicament.

You are in the wrong forum.

In this forum, the safest thing to say is "PAP starting with PINKIE is responsible for all of this."

Not to forget when you mass intake FT to be PR and new citizens ofcos your number of poor decrease

(01-02-2022, 11:30 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  Not to forget when you mass intake FT to be PR and new citizens ofcos your number of poor decrease

When we take in FT to be PR and new citizens, the number of poor would decrease, cos they are the ones who makes lots of money, as they come in as PMETs among us.....

(01-02-2022, 05:00 PM)debono Wrote:  When we take in FT to be PR and new citizens, the number of poor would decrease, cos they are the ones who makes lots of money, as they come in as PMETs among us.....

Yup lor.. don't get cheated by such new from media160

(01-02-2022, 11:05 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Song Boh!
Our median age is already 41.8 yrs old.
You will see more and more LKK doing cardboard exercise.

[Image: A25-C55-C1-6-A1-D-476-D-81-E8-E5-B706-E6-F676.png]

Median age not included foreign workers but may included foreign PR EP?
[+] 1 user Likes watchfirst9's post

Household income dropped but everything else increased. How to survive minimally in this kind of situation?