Johor looking to raise levy on property purchases by foreigners

https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asi...foreigners

Typical Malaysian style. They attract you by selling cheap. Once you bite  they started to sharpen their knives. The more you bite, the deeper the cut.    Big Grin

[+] 2 users Like Huliwang's post

The new levy is for future buyers, and 1% isnt much. For every rm 1m, only sgd 3k

And without the levy, the prices would increase more than 1%

Heard the new launch next to ciq were sold out on the first day
[+] 2 users Like WhatDoYouThink!'s post

(Yesterday, 09:22 AM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  The new levy is for future buyers, and 1% isnt much. For every rm 1m, only sgd 3k

And without the levy, the prices would increase more than 1%

Heard the new launch next to ciq were sold out on the first day

too early to conclude
remember anwar introduced a law when he was the finance minister during dr m time 
the taxes were implemented n took effect retrospectively

Expected..🤣

Purchase of MY property got to tie with a long term pass of 5 years or more if not Sporeans who want to sell  HDB and cash out would rather stay put unless u talking about 2nd property or rent in Johor. 

Proper legal papers not stamped in and out monthly.

Handbag Loo crying now. Laughing

[Image: maxresdefault.jpg]

(Yesterday, 09:30 AM)talky Wrote:  too early to conclude
remember anwar introduced a law when he was the finance minister during dr m time 
the taxes were implemented n took effect retrospectively

Anwar is now 77 just 2 years junior of Trump. How long can he last as PM ? 

I don't recall any Malaysian federal policy relating to $ can last > 10 years that don't result in SGreans losing $. 

Not everyone is like Ah Loo building his own little castle on somebody's land.  Big Grin
[Image: 93385e8cf2e7efa2323b2e3146e88f1039f9402c...520&f=webp]

Those who bought earlier are very happy to escape paying the levy

(Yesterday, 03:06 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Those who bought earlier are very happy to escape paying the levy

I am curious how many of those "very happy" have think of exit plan or they intend to be "permanent" residence of JB Land with increasing service $..  Big Grin

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asia/mal...nt-5192161

(Yesterday, 09:12 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Typical Malaysian style. They attract you by selling cheap. Once you bite  they started to sharpen their knives. The more you bite, the deeper the cut.    Big Grin

There is no free lunch in JB or M'sia.

Why? Be'coz M'sia is Truly Asia.   Big Grin

(Yesterday, 03:03 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Anwar is now 77 just 2 years junior of Trump. How long can he last as PM ? 

I don't recall any Malaysian federal policy relating to $ can last > 10 years that don't result in SGreans losing $. 

Not everyone is like Ah Loo building his own little castle on somebody's land.  Big Grin
[Image: 93385e8cf2e7efa2323b2e3146e88f1039f9402c...520&f=webp]
Clob issue is surrounded by propaganda and misinformation.
This is one of the things i researched before i became an investors. The fault lies with Singapore govt.

1. Malaysia and Singapore used to jointly list securities on both exchanges.

2. Malausia decided to stop this practice and have malaysia securities traded only kn KLSE.

3. This means that Singaporeans will have to trade through KLSE for Malaysia stocks just like they trade today in HKEx for HK stocks. This is no big deal as we do so even today for US stocks.

4. The Singapore govt against wishes of Malaysian authorities created CLOB to help Singapore brokerages make money despite risk to Singapore investors. ClOB is a secondary market not recognised by Malaysia 

5. During Asian crisis, Dr M tk defuse the crisis and beat the foreign speculators implemented currency controls which made ringgit transactions outside malaysia illegal.

6. The currency controls prevented the flow of ringgit out of malaysia causing CLOB to freeze.

CLOB was created by Singapore govt to help brokers make money. Malaysia was not responsible for the creation.

Malaysia did not target CLOB specifically. CLOB itself was questionable structure that is used by singapore brokers to encourage Singaporeans to purchase Malaysia stock improperly.  ...when the proper way was to buy on KLSE.

When CLOB collapsed the Singapore govt blamed Malaysia... but  it was all along the Singapore govt that set up this secondary exchange to help brokers make money.

My feeling about this whole CLOB saga is this. The people responsible will leave you holding the bag and not take the blame. 

The lesson for me was never to trust our regulators and authroities when it comes to investing.

In  2012-2015 period to make .money they allowed many fraudulent China companies to list on SGX with thoroughly checkjng them causing Singaporeans to lose mkney invested.

In 2009 the regulators allows Lehman minibonds to be sold in Sjngapore when it was banned in most countries again resulting in losses for Singaooreans.

Once i learnt the truth surrounding the CLOB saga and how Singapore financial authorities work, i avoided all the subsequent failings of the system.

(Yesterday, 03:36 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  Clob issue is surrounded by propaganda and misinformation.
This is one of the things i researched before i became an investors. The fault lies with Singapore govt.
....In 2009 the regulators allows Lehman minibonds to be sold in Sjngapore when it was banned in most countries again resulting in losses for Singaooreans.
Once i learnt the truth surrounding the CLOB saga and how Singapore financial authorities work, i avoided all the subsequent failings of the system.

Obviously folks with GREED never bothered to read the T&C before signing on the dotted lines.

CLOB was already known to be not encourage nor underwrite by the SG gov.

Why blame SG gov then investors are blind the RISK that is part and parcel of any high-return deal ?

You want easy $ without RISK? Be my guess...but please don't point finger at SG gov.

Moral of Story is the same and applies to those who love "investing" in Johor properties.  Big Grin

(Yesterday, 02:55 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Laughing

[Image: maxresdefault.jpg]

Even if he'd to pay that additional 1% of his 1.9m rm house, it's only sgd 6000 only. It's unlikely to happen, and his house shd worth more than 1.9m rm now

Investment means taking risk, bobian

(Yesterday, 03:49 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  Even if he'd to pay that additional 1% of his 1.9m rm house, it's only sgd 6000 only. It's unlikely to happen, and his house shd worth more than 1.9m rm now

Investment means taking risk, bobian

Ah yes....value in MYR. I can understand why native M'sian Mrs Loo has different perspective from SGreans, many of whom are paying some expensive lesson in MYR also. Laughing

https://theindependent.sg/over-100-singa...roperties/

Now rm vs sgd is around 2.9x to 3.0, so loo has made some profits on paper

If JB properties out of reach for locals, Anwar will lose the next election. Next PM will implement Malaysian First, and start taxing foreigners heavily. Just triple property tax will do.

(Yesterday, 04:07 PM)mikotan Wrote:  If JB properties out of reach for locals, Anwar will lose the next election. Next PM will implement Malaysian First, and start taxing foreigners heavily. Just triple property tax will do.

Fact is there will always be problem of have's and have not's, and growing income gaps in society.

This problem is not unique to M'sian - what is dangerous is this is a slippery slope towards bigger danger - The basis of Pro-bumiputra and existence of UMNO, a political ideology where Anwar once part of and help drove SG out of the Federation in 1965.

when one no.1 in everything country
increases tariffs bills taxes recurring
and all

all like as if got their testicles stucked
down their throat; speechless

now other country increases one time levy
onto foreigners

these exact people as expected unhappy

why so leh?

or is it they wanna buy the entire block
unhappy to pay extra....

(Yesterday, 10:17 PM)KILLjoy Wrote:  when one no.1 in everything country
increases tariffs bills taxes recurring
and all all like as if got their testicles stucked
down their throat; speechless
now other country increases one time levy
onto foreigners these exact people as expected unhappy
why so leh?

or is it they wanna buy the entire block
unhappy to pay extra....

Handbag Loo seems "happy" leh...according to some pple here.  Big Grin

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

This time round, the property prices really rose. Their government also want a bigger portion. It is logical.

At the same time, it is expected to move further north with the train networks going up. You can even stay in Malaysia and work in Singapore.

It is like people staying in Suzhou and Hangzhou and commuting daily to Shanghai to work. One within 30 mins and the other within one hour. The rides are as smooth as silk. Maybe here, the ride is a bit rough like our MRT.

(Yesterday, 12:55 PM)Alice Alicia Wrote:  Handbag Loo crying now. Laughing

He is a useless clown whose real intent is in making more money for himself by creating FOMO.

He also doesn’t walk the talk.  Says he holds stocks for a every long time.  Yet paper hand sell in panic and FOMO buy the last few months.

Keep selling health supplements and yet eat so unhealthy as shown in all his beedios  Big Grin

(Yesterday, 10:22 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Handbag Loo seems "happy" leh...according to some pple here.  Big Grin

Sgbuffet worships several idols  Big Grin

In all of handbag Loo’s snake oil videos, he demands that you give him likes as an entitlement, so that he can reach out and “benefit” more viewers. More like benefitting and enriching himself. He also says he deletes his live streams due to crybabies.

What he doesn’t say is that the more likes he gets the more viewers and hence the more ad revenue for him.  Also why he deletes his livestreams?

Cos he makes ludicrous claims and doesn’t want to be held accountable due to evidence.  And also to create the FOMO effect.

One of the more enterprising snake oil salesmen in recent times Big Grin