Threads: 2,435

Likes Given: 756
(23-05-2023, 12:20 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: they claim SG nothing much , just like that a small country . Sentosa, Orchard Rd, Marina just these places..
Whereas China, a lot things since country big. Any entertainment you want also got. also got 4 seasons.
the next fav country is Thailand but problem is come weather can be very hot.
If you retire in Haina, can eat durian everyday.

Threads: 221

Likes Given: 800
When old body not the same.
In some countries, health care is not easy for non citizens.

Threads: 2,435

Likes Given: 756
(23-05-2023, 07:44 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: For Singaporean Malaysia is top place to retire with 50,000 Singaporeans in JB alone.
As for Malaysians they have many options different states, many of their children migrate to Australia NZ etc.
Provided you are still healthy.
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 08:04 AM by
RiseofAsia.)

Threads: 22,789

Likes Given: 24

Threads: 46

Likes Given: 853
(23-05-2023, 07:44 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: For Singaporean Malaysia is top place to retire with 50,000 Singaporeans in JB alone.
As for Malaysians they have many options different states, many of their children migrate to Australia NZ etc.
I have known many rich Singaporeans, Hongkies and Chinese also emigrate to Australia thus pushing up the property price up in down under.

Threads: 9

Likes Given: 1,232
And Malaysia Indians want to retire in India.
That's why Malay called them pendatang.

Threads: 2

Likes Given: 76
(23-05-2023, 08:01 AM)RiseofAsia Wrote: If you retire in Haina, can eat durian everyday. 
I don't mind retiring in Hainan too if I can get a green card for long term stay.
Hainan will be improving rapidly in the coming 2 decades as the central gov develops it into a major free trade port, tourism, aviation and medical hub.
For the latter, lots of hospitals are springing up in Boao where PM Lee went recently for the Boao conference.
Some of the medical facilities will be better than Spore like a forthcoming BNCT facility with a neutron accelerator that will offer a new cancer treatment that only kills cancer cells without affecting healthy cells.
Hainan pilot zone sees big increases of medical imports
https://govt.chinadaily.com.cn/s/202203/...ses-of-medical-imports.html
And Hainan is also building a new mega airport in the sea off Sanya.
Will have an annual passenger capacity of 56mln when completed.
Airport Group accelerates moves to make Hainan a regional aviation hub
http://epaper.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202304...7df0d.html
Spillover effect of Hainan expo continues to grow
Quote:More global investors are swarming to Hainan, seeking to deepen their cooperation with Hainan Free Trade Port, including Singaporean Wilmar International, Capitaland and Changi Airport Group, according the Hainan Provincial Bureau of International Economic Development.
https://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202304/1...b9b5c.html
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 11:55 AM by
sgxin.)

Threads: 90

Likes Given: 291
Jho low also retired there
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 11:46 AM by
grotesqueness.)

Threads: 559

Likes Given: 49
(23-05-2023, 12:20 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: they claim SG nothing much , just like that a small country . Sentosa, Orchard Rd, Marina just these places..
Whereas China, a lot things since country big. Any entertainment you want also got. also got 4 seasons.
Muddysian cant afford SG as retirement and they also feel lau kui to come to SG .... all because .... HEY its SGD1=3.38RM now lah
KTV妹妹说,香港人无义,台湾人无情,新加坂人无智

Threads: 4

Likes Given: 300
(23-05-2023, 08:10 AM)theold Wrote: http://img2.chinadaily.com.cn/images/202...10e55.jpeg
http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202110/03...6cefa.html
Wah..Ningbo also surpassing Singapore soon....
Regardless, Singapore Port's success is impressive, given that almost all its volume is international transshipment, rather than its own import and export, compared to SHA which is half-half and mostly domestic cargo like upstream river etc.

Threads: 98

Likes Given: 286
Nowadays, living in China is no longer cheap unless you choose 3rd tier cities or below.

Threads: 4

Likes Given: 300
(23-05-2023, 11:43 AM)sgxin Wrote: I don't mind retiring in Hainan too if I can get a green card for long term stay.
Hainan will be improving rapidly in the coming 2 decades as the central gov develops it into a major free trade port, tourism, aviation and medical hub.
For the latter, lots of hospitals are springing up in Boao where PM Lee went recently for the Boao conference.
Some of the medical facilities will be better than Spore like a forthcoming BNCT facility with a neutron accelerator that will offer a new cancer treatment that only kills cancer cells without affecting healthy cells.
Hainan pilot zone sees big increases of medical imports
https://govt.chinadaily.com.cn/s/202203/...ses-of-medical-imports.html
And Hainan is also building a new mega airport in the sea off Sanya.
Will have an annual passenger capacity of 56mln when completed.
Airport Group accelerates moves to make Hainan a regional aviation hub
http://epaper.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202304...7df0d.html
Spillover effect of Hainan expo continues to grow
https://www.chinadaily.com.cn/a/202304/1...b9b5c.html
Please if you would share how Hainan compares with Penang.......

Threads: 1,807

Likes Given: 10,527
I also cant tahan more and more Islamize and CECAmize Singapore, nowadays we majority are even not allow to make any noise or you risking yourself to go to jail
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 12:20 PM by
CHAOS.)

(23-05-2023, 12:08 PM)lylcnn Wrote: Please if you would share how Hainan compares with Penang.......
Sorry, I am not familiar with Penang nor Malaysia. My last entry into JB was 10 years ago and for KL, more than 20 years ago.
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 12:33 PM by
sgxin.)

(23-05-2023, 12:11 PM)CHAOS Wrote: I also cant tahan more and more Islamize and CECAmize Singapore, nowadays we majority are even not allow to make any noise or you risking yourself to go to jail
I happen to pop by Funan area on Sun a month ago and was shocked to see the huge crowd of Myanmese workers.
Most packed was the pedestrain walkway around Penisular Plaza, totally unlike what I see 20-30 years ago.
With such high density now in Spore, one can easily contract viruses and TB. Just heard my aunty's helper was diagnosed with TB recently.
Even Sanya during winter period won't see such crowd.
A 3rd to 5th tier city or town in China will definitely be less dense.
E.g. Hainan Boao, Lingshui and Dongfang are such cities.
Also saw another advert video recommending a good n cheap retirement hostel in Yunan Kunming for short-term stay of 1-3 months.
Less than S$600 per person per month with 3 meals provided:
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 12:37 PM by
sgxin.)

Threads: 22,789

Likes Given: 24
If you have money and like to travel, Hainan is a better choice. 2 airports, 4-5 stars hotels, etc. I think they don't accept foreigners to be residents now.
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 12:52 PM by
theold.)

Threads: 10,452

Likes Given: 12
(23-05-2023, 12:23 AM)hansamu Wrote: Summer also very hot...
Winter freaking cold...
Got pros and cons...endless.
(23-05-2023, 11:48 AM)Tangsen Wrote: Muddysian cant afford SG as retirement and they also feel lau kui to come to SG .... all because .... HEY its SGD1=3.38RM now lah
FYI , you think every Malaysia is Poor? Mind you don't play play quite A lot is Rich origin back in Malaysia got plantation etc land renting out and own it.
I used to have this Malaysian classmate back in secondary school. Dam rich , later than I know his parents owned quite a lot plantation back in Malaysia.

Threads: 10,452

Likes Given: 12
(23-05-2023, 12:49 PM)theold Wrote: If you have money and like to travel, Hainan is a better choice. 2 airports, 4-5 stars hotels, etc.

I feel so Proud of Hainan ancestor , since I'm a Pure Hainanese here.
Yea Hainan is amazing just go youtube search , see their place wow lau develop SO FAST Than in SG
whereas in SG ??? Govt always only concern BTO flats seriously ever since SG under LHL is sleeping unlike LKY days.

Threads: 33

Likes Given: 2,561
If you are rich, any country is a good place to retire in.
Yang did not choose China right.

(23-05-2023, 12:53 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote:
I feel so Proud of Hainan ancestor , since I'm a Pure Hainanese here.
Yea Hainan is amazing just go youtube search , see their place wow lau develop SO FAST Than in SG
whereas in SG ??? Govt always only concern BTO flats seriously ever since SG under LHL is sleeping unlike LKY days.
I'd bet you wouldn't dare to cross the road in Hainana, unless you hide behind a crowd of peepur there and cross when they cross.

Threads: 559

Likes Given: 49
If you retire oversea ... your S$70K medisave how to use?
KTV妹妹说,香港人无义,台湾人无情,新加坂人无智

(23-05-2023, 08:02 AM)Migrant Wrote: When old body not the same.
In some countries, health care is not easy for non citizens.
This is something a lot of sinkies failed to take into consideration when they said they want to retire in Malaysia, China....

(23-05-2023, 12:23 AM)hansamu Wrote: Summer also very hot...
Winter freaking cold...
Got pros and cons...endless.
Well, you just dress appropriately according to the seasons. Indoors, you have air con.
Some peepur like the four seasons.
(This post was last modified: 23-05-2023, 01:01 PM by
Oyk.)

Threads: 840

Likes Given: 575
I will also retire in China.

Threads: 221

Likes Given: 800
(23-05-2023, 01:33 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: I will also retire in China.
Its a lovely dream, but not practical.
We need to adapt to their weather, their culture, food... the whole environment.
Going there for long holidays is ideal.
After a while, you will get homesick.
There is no place like home.