China may not need Western technology very much longer 

https://www.japantimes.co.jp/opinion/202...-spending/

Western technology is not real science lah…. Rotfl

The Chinese has interpreted the word 科学 wrongly. It shd be 学科。
Example。
Social Science(社会科学?)
It shd be 社会学科

This mistake has confused the Chinese for a long time. We need to correct it.

不懂易经真糟糕!

China steals almost everything liao from West...except their color

(02-05-2023, 07:51 AM)Sharexchange Wrote:  China steals almost everything liao from West...except their color

Your ex-China wife stole everything from you ah?
[+] 2 users Like cityhantam's post
Exclamation 

Report says China leads 37 of 44 strategic technologies - Westerners consider this as bad news... Big Grin

The Australian Strategic Policy Institute (ASPI) report claims China lead in these technologies as “high-risk,” meaning it is a long way ahead of its closest competitor and that it is home to most of the world’s leading research bodies in that field.

[Image: https%3A%2F%2Fsubstack-post-media.s3.ama...14x991.png]
https://techblog.comsoc.org/2023/03/03/a...evaluated/

(02-05-2023, 07:17 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  China may not need Western technology very much longer 

You admitted a countless number of Chinese into Harvard, MIT, Yale, Berkeley...and hired them in your MNCs...and now they know all your secrets.

Anyway, never say never.

We live in an interdependent world.  China gave the world paper, the wheel barrow, and mala.  The world gave China IT.  When China drew a Red Curtain around itself, it isolated itself from the world thinking that it could exist by and on its own, and it did not need to work with those "barbarians".  The result was that it went into decline.

(02-05-2023, 07:51 AM)Sharexchange Wrote:  China steals almost everything liao from West...except their color

Oh!  you can buy a Chinese phone in China which is 100% Android, but packed into an Apple case.

Or you can buy an European mechanical movement (not Rolex) which is packed into a Rolex-like casing, and being sold as a Daytona. All for RMB 500 kuai.

Many fake products.

Not all are faked.  Some are genuine as hell...their Windows OS, MS Office...all from Microsoft, genuine, but installed into thousands of computers.  They did not give a batshit to intellectual property rights.  The CCP didn't know?  My fooot man!  Of course, they knew!

But now that they invented erm "37 out of 44" simi ranjiao (see post above), they sure as Mao will sue if anybody infringed on their trademark or copyright lorrrr. Suddenly, from being lawless, they became lawful wor.... Rolleyes

(02-05-2023, 11:06 AM)Oyk Wrote:  You admitted a countless number of Chinese into Harvard, MIT, Yale, Berkeley...and hired them in your MNCs...and now they know all your secrets.
Anyway, never say never.We live in an interdepend world.  China gave the world paper, the wheel barrow, and mala.  The world gave China IT.  When China drew a Red Curtain around itself, it isolated itself from the world thinking that it could exist by and on its own, and it did not need to work with those "barbarians".  The result was that it went into decline.

There is nothing to admit in what we already knew - Long before quantum computing and AI became a household name, "countless number of Chinese" have traveled the World to learn and be educated by the best and brightest mind Humanity can offer...

What is noteworthy is you admit the Chinese had contributed to technology advances long before USA existed..and the Chinese inventions  had also shaped history on civilisational scale. Today, this remains true and the Chinese will certainly continue to innovate beyond what the West had to offer since the age of enlightenment and industry revolution in past 300 years..

[Image: Chinese-inventions-1-480x480.jpg]

(02-05-2023, 07:17 AM)Bigiron Wrote:  China may not need Western technology very much longer 

The main problem facing US in setting up a technological blockade is that it doesn’t really have any technology that is completely in a different frontier of its own.

From what I can tell the blockade items are simply areas where US companies are more advanced then their Chinese counterparts by a couple of generations, i.e. these are not advancements where US has gotten a breakthrough in a certain core technology while the Chinese have nothing on hand.

Mathematically speaking all this really means is that China simply needs the money, talent and market and you can almost project their technological learning curve into the future with great accuracy. Inevitably catching up is always much easier than breaking new areas and everyone in the industry can forecast when such gaps will simply close eventually.

Meanwhile the areas where US has fallen behind it shows no signs of catching up and it is likely that the leading gap between China and US will widen even further. It is not inconceivable that within a decade or so, China would expanded its lead over US in a considerable number of technological areas while US can barely hang on to its teeth even in areas which it leads China.

The worst thing is almost all the prominent US allies are players in the mid to mid-high end industries and once these lucrative areas are taken over or at least lose a huge chunk to the Chinese, these allies will either abandon US for greener pastures or worse still, hang on to the US as parasites without any value add.

(02-05-2023, 11:28 AM)maxsanic Wrote:  The main problem facing US in setting up a technological blockade is that it doesn’t really have any technology that is completely in a different frontier of its own.

From what I can tell the blockade items are simply areas where US companies are more advanced then their Chinese counterparts by a couple of generations, i.e. these are not advancements where US has gotten a breakthrough in a certain core technology while the Chinese have nothing on hand.

Mathematically speaking all this really means is that China simply needs the money, talent and market and you can almost project their technological learning curve into the future with great accuracy. Inevitably catching up is always much easier than breaking new areas and everyone in the industry can forecast when such gaps will simply close eventually.

Meanwhile the areas where US has fallen behind it shows no signs of catching up and it is likely that the leading gap between China and US will widen even further. It is not inconceivable that within a decade or so, China would expanded its lead over US in a considerable number of technological areas while US can barely hang on to its teeth even in areas which it leads China.

The worst thing is almost all the prominent US allies are players in the mid to mid-high end industries and once these lucrative areas are taken over or at least lose a huge chunk to the Chinese, these allies will either abandon US for greener pastures or worse still, hang on to the US as parasites without any value add.

IMO, no country nor gov nor private org can "decouple" themselves from innovations and advances in technologies and services.
So it is hard to argue that "allies will either abandon US" when America lost its tech race against China.
in fact, I would be sadden when we see such competition replaced by unipolar tech domination like  in last 80 years when America led the world in R&D..

We saw how such unbalance can lead Americans to become self-centred and a control freak whenever there are competitors coming up.

(02-05-2023, 11:19 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Oh!  you can buy a Chinese phone in China which is 100% Android, but packed into an Apple case. Or you can buy an European mechanical movement (not Rolex) which is packed into a Rolex-like casing, and being sold as a Daytona. All for RMB 500 kuai. Many fake products.  Not all are faked.  Some are genuine as hell...their Windows OS, MS Office...all from Microsoft, genuine, but installed into thousands of computers.  They did not give a batshit to intellectual property rights.  The CCP didn't know?  My fooot man!  Of course, they knew! But now that they invented erm "37 out of 44" simi ranjiao (see post above), they sure as Mao will sue if anybody infringed on their trademark or copyright lorrrr. Suddenly, from being lawless, they became lawful wor.... Rolleyes

Imitation is a best forms of flattery - many folks like you seems to forget many of US "inventions" aren't even made by Americans nor originate from US.
BTW, if Chinese phones are "100% Android", which itself is an Open-source license, why then non-Chinese tech giants Apple and Samsung have to pay copyright license to Huawei' for every 5G iPhone or Galaxy phones they sell  ?

HUAWEI Technologies will begin charging mobile giants like Apple a "reasonable" fee for access to its trove of wireless 5G patents, potentially creating a lucrative revenue source by showcasing its global lead in next-generation networking. The owner of the world's largest portfolio of 5G patents will negotiate rates and potential cross-licensing with the iPhone maker and Samsung Electronics, Huawei's chief legal officer Song Liuping said.

Huawei to start demanding 5G royalties from Apple, Samsung
https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/startup...le-samsung

U help all Chinese apologize to Angmo Leh.

U garang satu

Time to invade them like in the 18/1900s

(03-05-2023, 02:01 PM)XiXiPee Wrote:  Time to invade them like in the 18/1900s

well, at least somebody had been reading history books.. Big Grin

https://www.politico.com/magazine/story/...co-214738/

(03-05-2023, 01:21 PM)Manthink Wrote:  IMO, no country nor gov nor private org can "decouple" themselves from innovations and advances in technologies and services.
So it is hard to argue that "allies will either abandon US" when America lost its tech race against China.
in fact, I would be sadden when we see such competition replaced by unipolar tech domination like  in last 80 years when America led the world in R&D..

We saw how such unbalance can lead Americans to become self-centred and a control freak whenever there are competitors coming up.

Hi Manthink, thanks for your contributions. To clarify when I say the allies might be forced to abandon US, I do not mean these companies decouple themselves from US / China or abandon their own R&D.

My take is once Chinese companies become leaders or at least fierce competitors with their Japanese, Korean and Western European counterparts, these countries will likely undergo an internal restructuring and power struggle. For countries that eventually choose to abandon the US led tech containment, their industries will have a natural advantage due to favorable relations with China and by default better access to a most important market. These companies (including Chinese ones) will continue their race into the future.

On the other hand, countries that choose to continue to stay in the tech embargo camp will face increasingly difficult conditions as China starts to offer favorable market access to local and companies from China friendly countries. As with all commercial activities, better present outcomes begets better future growth conditions, i.e. these companies have better scale to keep their costs low, enjoy better margins, have more free cash to further finance R&D into the future, have a more compelling growth story to raise capital etc. The converse holds true for companies in countries that get shut out of the system. 

No matter what I believe on a macro level mankind will continue its march towards progress with ever better products and services offered, powered by new technologies. However, on a micro level which companies from which countries stand to lead this change will change significantly once the global order is reshuffled.