Malaysia minister rescue a Chinese national at KLIA

(03-07-2023, 11:15 AM)moonrab Wrote:  In my own personal views.
The Malays are more united in SEA over the Chinese race.
Go You tube, Facebook and forums. You can witness Chinese amongst the SEA regions attacked each other in peacetime. 
But some runs to SG when faced racist rioting back home.

IMO, "Malays" are not a  racial group and the perceived colletiveness is more on the tribal nature with close like to families and local-bloodlines and later the introduction of Islam. The closest they have in terms of cultural affinity in Chinese civilistion scale is the sultanate for e.g  Riau region.

Unlike them, the Chinese for a long time does not regard SEA as a "Chinese" proper and consider SEA locals here as traders and merchants in the South as part of maritime Silk Route...hence it was because of this connection that lead  our forefathers migrate when China was in chaos, - Thus the title "Overseas Chinese" when they migrate to Nanyang (southern seas) aka 华人跨海到南洋 as a major wave in last 200 years.

So it is hard to equate Chinese "unity" with local SEA since it had never been part of Chinese civilisation nor has close cultural affinity. This difference was further increased with colonisation of SEA by Western powers during the same time.

(03-07-2023, 11:46 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Unlike boomers, zoomers cannot speak Chinese dialects fluently.

We already have one ginna member here... Aiptasia is his forum handle.... he calls the woman's abalone "smelly shoes" (chao hai) Rotfl

Zoomers fly further for holidays.

(03-07-2023, 12:24 PM)Manthink Wrote:  IMO, "Malays" are not a  racial group and the perceived colletiveness is more on the tribal nature with close like to families and local-bloodlines and later the introduction of Islam. The closest they have in terms of cultural affinity in Chinese civilistion scale is the sultanate for e.g  Riau region.

Unlike them, the Chinese for a long time does not regard SEA as a "Chinese" proper and consider SEA locals here as traders and merchants in the South as part of maritime Silk Route...hence it was because of this connection that lead  our forefathers migrate when China was in chaos, - Thus the title "Overseas Chinese" when they migrate to Nanyang (southern seas) aka 华人跨海到南洋 as a major wave in last 200 years.

So it is hard to equate Chinese "unity" with local SEA since it had never been part of Chinese civilisation nor has close cultural affinity. This difference was further increased with colonisation of SEA by Western powers during the same time.

If you go overseas. You feel safer when everyone is the same color and looks like you. It is a human thing. 
Example when I travelled to HK, China, Taiwan, I felt at ease. Easier to blend in.

But when I was in US, Australia, the feel was different. Even when I can communicate with the locals easily. 

Being same race always has the connection among strangers. Especially when we can speak the same dialects. 

Can relate this in most foreign countries. Except in Malaysia, don't know what is the reason. Especially when they detected you are a Singaporean. Better run..😄

(03-07-2023, 02:53 PM)moonrab Wrote:  If you go overseas. You feel safer when everyone is the same color and looks like you. It is a human thing. 
Example when I travelled to HK, China, Taiwan, I felt at ease. Easier to blend in. But when I was in US, Australia, the feel was different. Even when I can communicate with the locals easily. Being same race always has the connection among strangers. Especially when we can speak the same dialects. 
Can relate this in most foreign countries. Except in Malaysia, don't know what is the reason. Especially when they detected you are a Singaporean. Better run..😄

Well, it is no accident that it took a Chinese Malaysian minister to step in and resolve the alleged "misunderstanding" at KLIA as folks there don't understand Mandarin.

Perhaps Bolehland should remove the word "International" from KLIA.. Rolleyes

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2...in-to-help

(03-07-2023, 05:23 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Well, it is no accident that it took a Chinese Malaysian minister to step in and resolve the alleged "misunderstanding" at KLIA as folks there don't understand Mandarin.

Perhaps Bolehland should remove the word "International" from KLIA.. Rolleyes

https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2...in-to-help

Chinese is the money tree for them.
Since day 1. Period.. Smile
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

(03-07-2023, 05:39 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Chinese is the money tree for them.
Since day 1. Period.. Smile

Others had been treating the Chinese that way for ages....not just in M'sia.
End of the day it is the Bolehlander who paid with their reputation.

The Chinese national whom was remanded by the custom happend to work for China's state media - they have recording of the conversation with M'sians and intend to share their experience in their future broadcast.

[+] 1 user Likes Manthink's post

(03-07-2023, 05:53 PM)Manthink Wrote:  Others had been treating the Chinese that way for ages....not just in M'sia.
End of the day it is the Bolehlander who paid with their reputation.

The Chinese national whom was remanded by the custom happend to work for China's state media - they have recording of the conversation with M'sians and intend to share their experience in their future broadcast.

PRC social media is bigger by 433 times.. Laughing

(03-07-2023, 11:50 AM)Sentinel Wrote:  You dun talk so much rots ok YangHua

So much HuaYang..wait I yen u then u know

You can speak dialects meh?

Lei sei hum gar chan. Li jiak ba kak eng si bo? Diu lei lo mo chao fa hei. 

Two Chinese dialects demonstred. Want some more?  Rolleyes

Now you know why 1=3.45 …..  Rotfl

(03-07-2023, 10:16 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Lei sei hum gar chan. Li jiak ba kak eng si bo? Diu lei lo mo chao fa hei. 

Two Chinese dialects demonstred. Want some more?  Rolleyes

Wah a hardcore ceca speaking chinese dialects, how abt saying mother in kl cantonese and penang hokkien?

Just saw this video. Same trick at KLIA as the one used at causeway.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5E2lXV3aZk4

Malaysian immigration officers face always black black very haotai..knnpcb

angmo has no problem in Malaysia, they still scare of their colonials master
[+] 1 user Likes TopSage's post

(03-07-2023, 10:43 PM)Sentinel Wrote:  Wah a hardcore ceca speaking chinese dialects, how abt saying mother in kl cantonese and penang hokkien?

For those, you should be the one telling this forum since you are a jhk.   Rolleyes

(04-07-2023, 10:50 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Singapore is right next door to Malaysia while China and its various cities/province like Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan are far away. 距离产生美。 There is an English proverb which says the corollary...........familiarity breeds contempt.

When you say you come from Singapore, you are like a pop star to those who had never been here before.  You are a novelty, an alien which happens to look like them.  Back in the 1980s, I was stared at because unlike Sadtinel, I was fluent in both putonghua and English!

These days millions of Chinese have been to Singapore, many even having worked here for years.  If you had been to China for a week, they had been working here for two years, day in day out, or longer.  They know Singapore better than you know China.  

I still felt like a pop star when I was in various parts of China when I spoke to the peasants who had never been here before.  来自新加坡 are powerful words to say there.  But if you bump into someone who had worked here before, she knows all about the backyards of your HDB flats, and can tell her 同志 stories which would make you tucked your head under the disposable (plastic) table cloth that many Chinese eateries use.

The same should apply to Hong Kongers and Taiwanese who have worked here.

And so what kind of a "wow" can we work on a jhk who works here, and had been working here for generations, even their fathers had worked here back in the 1960s, 1970s....when they have seen it, done it, all here?

Familiarity breeds contempt.   We ain't no popstar in JB...and even all the way to KL.  It does not help that we are not needing their help financially but only their manpower, the talents, to keep us prosperous. It does not help to see PAP upkeeping the country's landscape, be ir roads, HDB blocks' external walls, gardens, parks, community centres, public libraries, all so well, while in Malaysia...you just look at their condos, the walls, the compounds.....and see if you can find a public library or community centre..

So, firstly, we are no longer de facto tourists who are considered rarely seen, and secondly, we are seen to be proud and arrogant which puts them off.  Behind our back, they probably ptui at us.

Of course, they know why their country is in such a mess, and that they are second class citizens there.  Nevertheless, they are still jealous, and pretty glass hearted.  Do not ever talk to them about the state of the country, it hurts.

Probably you are right. 
They ostracised Singaporean as a group. Eventhough it is a xenophobic behaviour. 
Never judge a person by nationality. Imagine if Singaporean ostracised the Malaysian working or living in SG. And believe it is righteous. 

Anyway there is nothing we can do except avoiding Malaysia all together. Many other countries to travel or migrate.

(03-07-2023, 02:53 PM)moonrab Wrote:  If you go overseas. You feel safer when everyone is the same color and looks like you. It is a human thing. 
Example when I travelled to HK, China, Taiwan, I felt at ease. Easier to blend in.

But when I was in US, Australia, the feel was different. Even when I can communicate with the locals easily. 

Being same race always has the connection among strangers. Especially when we can speak the same dialects. 

Singapore is right next door to Malaysia while China and its various cities/province like Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan are far away. 距离产生美。 There is an English proverb which says the corollary...........familiarity breeds contempt.

When you say you come from Singapore, you are like a pop star to those who had never been here before.  You are a novelty, an alien who happens to look like them.  Back in the 1980s, I was stared at because, unlike Sadtinel, I was fluent in both putonghua and English!

These days millions of Chinese have been to Singapore, many even having worked here for years.  If you have been to China for a week, they have been working here for two years, day in day out, or longer.  They know Singapore better than you know China.  

I still felt like a pop star when I was in various parts of China when I spoke to the peasants who had never been here before.  来自新加坡 are powerful words to say there.  But if you bump into someone who have worked here before, she knows all about the backyards of your HDB flats, and can tell her 同志 stories which would make you tuck your head under the table faster than she can say "urine on the staircase of HDB flats"

The same should apply to Hong Kongers and Taiwanese who have worked here.

And so what kind of a "wow" can we work on jhks who work here, and have been working here for generations, even their fathers had worked here back in the 1960s, 1970s....when they have seen it, done it, been there, all here?

Familiarity breeds contempt.   We ain't no popstar in JB...and even all the way to KL.  It does not help that we are not needing their help financially but only their manpower, the talents, to keep us prosperous. It does not help to see PAP upkeeping the country's landscape, be it roads, HDB blocks' external walls, gardens, parks, community centres, or public libraries, all so well, while in Malaysia...you just look at their condos, the walls, the compounds.....and see if you can find a public library or community centre..

So, firstly, we are no longer de facto tourists who are considered rarely seen, and secondly, we are seen to be proud and arrogant which puts them off.  Behind our back, they probably ptui at us. sun kar por yarn yao deem?  ho lung lek ah?  (So what if you are a Singaporean?  Very ranjiao smart is it?) (Sadtinel:  this is for you.)

Of course, they know why their country is in such a mess, and that they are second class citizens there.  Nevertheless, they are still jealous, and pretty glass hearted.  Do not ever talk to them about the state of their country, they'd think you are being patronising and arrogant.

(03-07-2023, 06:16 PM)moonrab Wrote:  PRC social media is bigger by 433 times.. Laughing

China's social media can be very unforgiving...and there were already awareness the M'sians gov officials are opportunist and tend to demand $.

E.g. back in Apr
https://youtu.be/_smrRoE6hvw
https://www.8world.com/southeast-asia/ch...00-2095756

(03-07-2023, 10:40 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Now you know why 1=3.45 …..  Rotfl

SGreans better don't laugh - we may end up like Bolehland if we allow our integrity slip...

(04-07-2023, 10:56 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Probably you are right. 
They ostracised Singaporean as a group. Eventhough it is a xenophobic behaviour. 
Never judge a person by nationality. Imagine if Singaporean ostracised the Malaysian working or living in SG. And believe it is righteous. 

Anyway there is nothing we can do except avoiding Malaysia all together. Many other countries to travel or migrate.

I would not boycott Malaysia.  I went there frequently except during these past few years.

I can blend in and pass off for a jhk there, and would speak whichever language/dialect they speak (English, Chinese, Malay only).  Nobody is perfect, not even us, Singaporeans.  There are good Malaysians and bad ones.  If you are robbed by a mat rempit or cheated by a stall selling clothes or bags, yup! you met a bad one.  But there are good ones too.  If you can NOT let the "xenophobia" as you call it play up, and interact with them for who they are, you can truly say you know how to get along with people.   Big Grin

(04-07-2023, 11:04 AM)Manthink Wrote:  China's social media can be very unforgiving...and there were already awareness the M'sians gov officials are opportunist and tend to demand $.

E.g. back in Apr
https://youtu.be/_smrRoE6hvw
https://www.8world.com/southeast-asia/ch...00-2095756

Malaysia social media is not kind too. They will fight back!!

(04-07-2023, 11:12 AM)Manthink Wrote:  SGreans better don't laugh - we may end up like Bolehland if we allow our integrity slip...

Pretty obvious that you have a soft spot for your country of birth.  You hate being a second class citizen there, but even though you became a new citizen of Singapore, you never forgot your ROOTS.   Big Grin

(04-07-2023, 11:13 AM)Oyk Wrote:  I would not boycott Malaysia.  I went there frequently except during these past few years.

I can blend in and pass off for a jhk there, and would speak whichever language/dialect they speak (English, Chinese, Malay only).  Nobody is perfect, not even us, Singaporeans.  There are good Malaysians and bad ones.  If you are robbed by a mat rempit or cheated by a stall selling clothes or bags, yup! you met a bad one.  But there are good ones too.  If you can NOT let the "xenophobia" as you call it play up, and interact with them for who they are, you can truly say you know how to get along with people.   Big Grin

I just don't want the trouble when travelling. Kind of like your kind is being targeted once exposed. Not a great feeling. 
I have many Malaysian friends living in SG. And we never talk about such topic.

(04-07-2023, 11:24 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Malaysia social media is not kind too. They will fight back!!

Fight back simi ranjiao.

Corrupt immigration extorting money from travellers, still want to fight?  Anwar has personally come out to do damage control because it's international news now.   He wants to show the world that Malaysia is not like this, his government does not condone this and he will take actions on corruption.

(04-07-2023, 11:26 AM)moonrab Wrote:  I just don't want the trouble when travelling. Kind of like your kind is being targeted once exposed. Not a great feeling. 
I have many Malaysian friends living in SG. And we never talk about such topic.

But I never had any trouble before.  None at all.  Not at the customs, not at the shops or eating places.  Not on their public buses etc.

When I bought something from a pasar malam, the Malay man suspected I was not from KL.  So how?  Confess that I came from Singapore?  No man.  I told him I came from Melaka....and made sure I said Melaka the way it is said in Malay and not Malacca.

I got the discount I wanted.  No chop head for me.

(02-07-2023, 08:48 PM)moonrab Wrote:  https://www.nst.com.my/news/nation/2023/...icers-klia

(02-07-2023, 08:51 PM)moonrab Wrote:  [
Tiong later confirmed that he was the minister involved but denied that he was there to demand that the authorities release the female Chinese traveler.

He claimed that there was a "culture of corruption" within the Immigration Department's handling of arrivals of foreign visitors at the KLIA.]

Here also got many PRC supporters lah! Big Grin I don't lah!

(04-07-2023, 11:26 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Pretty obvious that you have a soft spot for your country of birth.  You hate being a second class citizen there, but even though you became a new citizen of Singapore, you never forgot your ROOTS. 

Pretty obvious to many that I am True Blue SGrean while you are a fake.[Image: biggrin.png]

(04-07-2023, 11:36 AM)Manthink Wrote:  Pretty obvious to many that I am True Blue SGrean while you are a fake.[Image: biggrin.png]

Just because you raised your right hand with fingers pointing at the heavens, and unlike us who recited the PLEDGE by heart in school every morning, you recited it from a piece of paper, in front of the MINISTER, it does not make you true blue.  Go and do your NS first before you come back here to talk to me.   Rolleyes

(04-07-2023, 11:34 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Here also got many PRC supporters lah! Big Grin I don't lah!

Supporting PRC is good for your repu points count.  

Support LMW is even better.  Your repu point count will hit the high 3 digits.   Tongue

(04-07-2023, 11:50 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Supporting PRC is good for your repu points count.  

Support LMW is even better.  Your repu point count will hit the high 3 digits.   Tongue

You can have it lah! Big Grin I don't need any lah!

(04-07-2023, 12:18 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You can have it lah! Big Grin I don't need any lah!

May I remind you that your repu points are higher than mine?   Rolleyes