Man asks, “why SG employers only want degree holders for managerial positions?

Man asks, “why SG employers only want degree holders for managerial positions? What about our work experience?” 

https://theindependent.sg/man-asks-why-s...e_vignette

(07-02-2024, 12:44 PM)Bigiron Wrote:  Man asks, “why SG employers only want degree holders for managerial positions? What about our work experience?” 

A university degree is now a prerequisite because it has become so common in SG.  If the candidate isn't a graduate, he does not even get his foot in the door.  That's the reality of working life here these days. 

Your experience is as good as your last job. 

Your degree is needed to initiate a conversation/ opportunity with the company.

(07-02-2024, 01:15 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Your experience is as good as your last job. Your degree is needed to initiate a conversation/ opportunity with the company.

Even in professional football these days, a coach is only as good as his last game in charge. His employers don't really care how many trophies he has won in the past.

(07-02-2024, 01:20 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Even in professional football these days, a coach is only as good as his last game in charge. His employers don't really care how many trophies he has won in the past.

Hard truth, if those who cannot understand, just paint him/her this scenario. 

The company you invested, loses money with no dividend & share price plunge. CEO tells you the last record earnings year with a record dividend ... would you be happy

They cannot accept the fact that without qualification you still can be very smart person

Once a person is with high qualification, he can’t think out of box.

Ah Mao was a librarian.
Dont laugh!
His 30k troop won the battle against 400k KMT troop.

[Image: IMG-3807.jpg]

because all our local ministers are military generals

Citizens still wanna questions about having a degree .... 
White Pirates say .... no problem ... go ahead do without a degree .... they already start looking for your replacement liow  Rotfl

https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/nt...ts-2356451

Managerial positions are about communication skills.

Those BTC how to write like government scholar? Go back to school and get degree also no use. Go back and ask your mum and dad why your ang moh bo ho.

(07-02-2024, 01:25 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  They cannot accept the fact that without qualification you still can be very smart person. Once a person is with high qualification, he can’t think out of box.

If an employer sets the prerequisite for the job is a university degree, then applicants who don't meet the minimum requirement must go out and obtain that qualification.  What is so difficult to comprehend? 

(07-02-2024, 01:44 PM)Tangsen Wrote:  Citizens still wanna questions about having a degree .... White Pirates say .... no problem ... go ahead do without a degree .... they already start looking for your replacement liow 
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/nt...ts-2356451

The MIW want more of our young people to become hawkers.  What ever happened to that stupid Hawkerpreneur Programme proposed by Dr Amy Khor?

(07-02-2024, 12:50 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  A university degree is now a prerequisite because it has become so common in SG.  If the candidate isn't a graduate, he does not even get his foot in the door.  That's the reality of working life here these days. 

你太夸张了吧?

He would not be shortlisted for a managerial role if he's not a university graduate, but it's not as if he shan't get his foot in the door for every job.

There are jobs in the Org Chart for poly, A level and even O level holders lar.

(07-02-2024, 02:07 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The MIW want more of our young people to become hawkers.  What ever happened to that stupid Hawkerpreneur Programme proposed by Dr Amy Khor?

One has to be damn goondu to need to attend a hawkerpreneur course to be taught how to run a hawker stall. 

Our forefathers did not attend such a course. They just went into the business, did it.

What you'd need is the recipe, not how to buy your hum, pork fat, noodles, kway teow, wok...and collect money.

The biggest obstacle is the recipe...can your char kway teow make peepur come back? Do you have peepur queuing?

Some food business offer franchise but charge an arm, a leg and a night with KillChoy 的老母。 

cc: KillChoy, take note of when you should be using 的, 得, 地。 Mai luan luan lai ah! Big Grin

(07-02-2024, 02:07 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The MIW want more of our young people to become hawkers.  What ever happened to that stupid Hawkerpreneur Programme proposed by Dr Amy Khor?

They can become what they want, white pirates now are importing young.

(07-02-2024, 02:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:  One has to be damn goondu to need to attend a hawkerpreneur course be taught how to run a hawker stall. 
What you'd need is the recipe, not how to buy your hum, pork fat, noodles, kway teow, wok...and collect money.
The biggest obstacle is the recipe...can your char kway teow make peepur come back? Do you have peepur queuing?
Some food business offer franchise but charge an arm, a leg 

The worse thing is that after charging an arm and a leg, the "mentors" may withhold 1 or 2 ingredients that go into his "secret sauce" so that franchisees are never as successful as them. 

Dunt complain, it is already 2024, if you dunt have a basic degree you are disadvantaged, go get one please…very soon they will hire master degree holders instead of bachelor degree like what China and Taiwan have been doing…if you dunt have a masters degree you won’t get a job, and even if you have masters even Phds you will be doing low end jobs.

If u are a top sales person with proven records, u think company will care if u have a degree?

The fact is if u dun have one, what can u offer? Dun tell me yr backside.

(07-02-2024, 05:20 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote:  Dunt complain, it is already 2024, if you dunt have a basic degree you are disadvantaged, go get one please…very soon they will hire master degree holders instead of bachelor degree like what China and Taiwan have been doing…if you dunt have a masters degree you won’t get a job, and even if you have masters even Phds you will be doing low end jobs.
Taiwan uni grad came SG do security guard. Earning lesser than those Abang from MY. How?

[Image: WMx5DgR.gif]

foreign uptron uni teach local uni singkie

(07-02-2024, 08:27 PM)ArielCasper Wrote:  If u are a top sales person with proven records, u think company will care if u have a degree?

The fact is if u dun have one, what can u offer? Dun tell me yr backside.

But every quarter, you boss will says, you are as good as the last quarter …. next Q, how?

(07-02-2024, 02:02 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  If an employer sets the prerequisite for the job is a university degree, then applicants who don't meet the minimum requirement must go out and obtain that qualification.  What is so difficult to comprehend? 

High qualification does not equate high wisdom.
You have a lot of knowledge but it doesn’t mean you know how to apply your knowledge.
A person with high qualification will tend to hide in their comfort zone and will not willing to take risk.
A person who dare to take risk is the person who dare to make changes in their life.

(07-02-2024, 02:14 PM)Oyk Wrote:  你太夸张了吧?
He would not be shortlisted for a managerial role if he's not a university graduate, but it's not as if he shan't get his foot in the door for every job.
There are jobs in the Org Chart for poly, A level and even O level holders lar.

The applicant cannot get his foot in the door for the managerial vacancy.  Isn't this what the thread is all about?

If McD founder was not a salesman, McD would not be so popular.
If Ah Mao was not a librarian, he would not be chairman of China.

(07-02-2024, 10:17 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  High qualification does not equate high wisdom. You have a lot of knowledge but it doesn’t mean you know how to apply your knowledge.
A person with high qualification will tend to hide in their comfort zone and will not willing to take risk. A person who dare to take risk is the person who dare to make changes in their life.

The hiring company has set its baseline criteria as a degree holder for their managerial vacancy. If an applicant wants to be considered for that vacancy, he/she needs to meet the minimum criteria. Why debate about whether the employer needs a university grad for that position? I am sure there are diploma as well as A and O level certificate holders who are capable.  It is what the hiring company wants that matters.   

(07-02-2024, 05:20 PM)LittleBirdStreet Wrote:  Dunt complain, it is already 2024, if you dunt have a basic degree you are disadvantaged, go get one please…very soon they will hire master degree holders instead of bachelor degree like what China and Taiwan have been doing…if you dunt have a masters degree you won’t get a job, and even if you have masters even Phds you will be doing low end jobs.

AI is going to replace human jobs. You study so hard also no meaning. Rotfl
This AI wave is unstoppable.

(07-02-2024, 02:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:  One has to be damn goondu to need to attend a hawkerpreneur course to be taught how to run a hawker stall. 
Our forefathers did not attend such a course. They just went into the business, did it.
Some food business offer franchise but charge an arm, a leg and a night with KillChoy 的老母。 
cc: KillChoy, take note of when you should be using 的, 得, 地。 Mai luan luan lai ah! Big Grin
sgtalk.net/User-Oyk MAMA BLOWJOB QUEEN

(07-02-2024, 02:31 PM)Oyk Wrote:  One has to be damn goondu to need to attend a hawkerpreneur course to be taught how to run a hawker stall. 
sgtalk.net/User-Oyk MAMA A BĪTCH WIFE A WHÔRE

Song BOH! Very soon, many ppl will shake leg at home. By that time, I think $$$ is no longer important. Ppl won’t work for $$$ anymore. Food will be FOC, it is all prepared by AI robots.

[Image: IMG-3810.jpg]

[Image: IMG-3811.jpg]

(07-02-2024, 12:50 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  A university degree is now a prerequisite because it has become so common in SG.  If the candidate isn't a graduate, he does not even get his foot in the door.  That's the reality of working life here these days. 

Last time Spore only got NUS NTU so if graduated from there means make it. Now Spore so many Uni throw one stone will get one it has become cheap