Melbourne got so much good food to eat meh?

https://www.instagram.com/

Yes, got good Italian, Greek, Russian, Hungarian, Turkish, Lebanese, Thai, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese and Somali cuisines.

However Chinese food not so nice, Yum Cha at Dragon Boat is nice, but Char Siew are all chopped in bigger trunks, dry and tasteless, not nice. Laksa must try good ones.

Vietnamese beef Pho tastes better than that in Ho Chi Minh City.

(13-08-2022, 08:23 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Yes, got good Italian, Greek, Russian, Hungarian, Turkish, Lebanese, Thai, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Vietnamese and Somali cuisines.

However Chinese food not so nice, Yum Cha at Dragon Boat is nice, but Char Siew are all chopped in bigger trunks, dry and tasteless, not nice. Laksa must try good ones.

Vietnamese beef Pho tastes better than that in Ho Chi Minh City.

You been there before?

(13-08-2022, 09:45 PM)sgbuffett Wrote:  You been there before?

Yes, many years

got Chap Chai Png ?

(13-08-2022, 11:11 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  got Chap Chai Png ?

There is no hawker centre food stall there. It is only unique in Sg. 

I might sell there if there is demand.

(13-08-2022, 10:25 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Yes, many years

Why you never become PR?  I like Melbourne best.  Next is Brisbane.

(14-08-2022, 11:03 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Why you never become PR?  I like Melbourne best.  Next is Brisbane.

The Aussies in Melbourne are really nice people, not like those in Perth who are more racialistic. Just came back after spending 2 months there for a change in weather (winter over there).

[+] 1 user Likes surfer's post

(14-08-2022, 10:58 AM)Stoki Wrote:  There is no hawker centre food stall there. It is only unique in Sg. 

You can always be the first to try out.  My friend's neighbour sells home based nasi lemak . Every weekend can see cars coming to pick up their orders.

(14-08-2022, 12:48 PM)surfer Wrote:  The Aussies in Melbourne are really nice people, not like those in Perth who are more racialistic. Just came back after spending 2 months there for a change in weather (winter over there).

Adelaide is very racist too.

(13-08-2022, 11:11 PM)Sharexchange Wrote:  got Chap Chai Png ?

Dunt have lah Huh

(14-08-2022, 10:58 AM)Stoki Wrote:  There is no hawker centre food stall there. It is only unique in Sg. 

Got foodcourt lah

(14-08-2022, 11:03 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  Why you never become PR?  I like Melbourne best.  Next is Brisbane.

Who said I’m not? Unlike Brisbane or Adelaide or Perth, Melbourne is a melting pot of all types of international cuisines you can’t find in other parts of Australia, not even in Sydney.

You can easily find Greek food in the city as there’s a street near Chinatown with a number of Greek cafes.

I tried authentic Hungarian food at a restaurant in Swan St in Richmond, which is not bad…all the waitresses are big sized Hungarian Aussies…you can’t find in Spore.

(14-08-2022, 12:48 PM)surfer Wrote:  The Aussies in Melbourne are really nice people, not like those in Perth who are more racialistic. Just came back after spending 2 months there for a change in weather (winter over there).

Those living in wealthy eastern suburbs are nice but those from western and northern suburbs are rude and racist. You are right that people from Perth are very racist.

In VietnameseTown in Melbourne, the  beef Pho is the best in the world. I can never find one in Sg that is even half as good as that in Melbourne,.

(14-08-2022, 05:43 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Who said I’m not? Unlike Brisbane or Adelaide or Perth, Melbourne is a melting pot of all types of international cuisines you can’t find in other parts of Australia, not even in Sydney.

You can easily find Greek food in the city as there’s a street near Chinatown with a number of Greek cafes.

I tried authentic Hungarian food at a restaurant in Swan St in Richmond, which is not bad…all the waitresses are big sized Hungarian Aussies…you can’t find in Spore.

Got sell indian rojak? Big Grin

(14-08-2022, 08:56 PM)klat Wrote:  In VietnameseTown in Melbourne, the  beef Pho is the best in the world. I can never find one in Sg that is even half as good as that in Melbourne,.

the vietcong cuisine Big Grin

They put 1 or 2 thin slices of raw beef. It slowly turned cooked when in the hot soup.

(14-08-2022, 08:56 PM)klat Wrote:  In VietnameseTown in Melbourne, the  beef Pho is the best in the world. I can never find one in Sg that is even half as good as that in Melbourne,.

Correct, I always go Footscray or Victoria St in Richmond eat Beef Pho, you can’t find the same in Ho Chi Minh City because Aussie beef is more tasty than that in Vietnam. Used to be $6-8 per bowl now price go up to $18-20.

(14-08-2022, 09:18 PM)p1acebo Wrote:  Got sell indian rojak? Big Grin

No, only Roti Prata used to cost $8..now could be more than $10….Rojak also dunt have.

(14-08-2022, 09:19 PM)theold Wrote:  They put 1 or 2 thin slices of raw beef. It slowly turned cooked when in the hot soup.

Not 1 or 2 slices, they put 15-20 slices.

(14-08-2022, 09:29 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Correct, I always go Footscray or Victoria St in Richmond eat Beef Pho, you can’t find the same in Ho Chi Minh City because Aussie beef is more tasty than that in Vietnam. Used to be $6-8 per bowl now price go up to $18-20.

Just kidding. Their cattle got bath a not ah?

(14-08-2022, 09:33 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  Not 1 or 2 slices, they put 15-20 slices.

So many slices? How to finish? Unless very small slice.

(14-08-2022, 09:35 PM)theold Wrote:  So many slices? How to finish? Unless very small slice.

Big portion unlike Spore very small portion for noodle….the cars in Spore are also 30% smaller than that in Australia.

(14-08-2022, 09:30 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  No, only Roti Prata used to cost $8..now could be more than $10….Rojak also dunt have.

Roti prata cost $8 per piece? Siow ah

Here it cost $1.20 and I already cry father cry mother

When I was in Sydney for work...a fking bottle of coke cost me 7 Aud...shocked the life off me.

And my gd friend whom migrated there actually brought his lunch box...

Plenty of great food in Aus but will cost you an arm and a leg
[+] 1 user Likes keys's post

(15-08-2022, 09:58 AM)Stoki Wrote:  Roti prata cost $8 per piece? Siow ah

Here it cost $1.20 and I already cry father cry mother

Yup, that was the price in 2008, inflation is getting worse there over the years driven by property boom.

(15-08-2022, 10:50 AM)keys Wrote:  When I was in Sydney for work...a fking bottle of coke cost me 7 Aud...shocked the life off me.

And my gd friend whom migrated there actually brought his lunch box...

Plenty of great food in Aus but will cost you an arm and a leg

A bottle of water costs you $3.5, McDonald’s value meal costs you $9.6 to 12

(14-08-2022, 09:30 PM)lvlrsSTI Wrote:  No, only Roti Prata used to cost $8..now could be more than $10….Rojak also dunt have.

But Prata is mostly flour and don't think it has high nutritional value.

I would think it is more worthwhile to buy meals that are made with fresh local ingredients.

E.g. fish n chips. Don't think you can find one Spore fast food or cafe that fillets their own fishes freshly bought from the fisherman market.

Even the "fresh" fishes in the Spore wet markets are likely 2-3 days old, unlike major Australian cities that are located beside oceans.

Eg. 1
http://www.billsfishandchips.com/
Sourcing fresh fishes - http://www.billsfishandchips.com/gallery/

Eg. 2

This YT video is quite old and not sure if the shop is still operating, but there should be many such fish n chips outlets that use fresh ingredients instead of frozen ones. Even the fries are from fresh potatoes!

(15-08-2022, 01:15 PM)sgxin Wrote:  But Prata is mostly flour and don't think it has high nutritional value.

I would think it is more worthwhile to buy meals that are made with fresh local ingredients.

E.g. fish n chips. Don't think you can find one Spore fast food or cafe that fillets their own fishes freshly bought from the fisherman market.

Even the "fresh" fishes in the Spore wet markets are likely 2-3 days old, unlike major Australian cities that located beside oceans.

Eg. 1
http://www.billsfishandchips.com/
Sourcing fresh fishes - http://www.billsfishandchips.com/gallery/

Eg. 2

This YT video is quite old and not sure if the shop is still operating, but there should be many such fish n chips outlets that uses fresh ingredients instead of frozen ones. Even the fries are from fresh potatoes!

https://www.timeout.com/melbourne/restau...-melbourne