No decent human being should ever work as an insurance agent
27-06-2022, 11:58 PM
28-06-2022, 12:59 AM
damn straight!
28-06-2022, 05:47 AM
When come to claim most of the things cannot claim ,only you don't know than can claim.
28-06-2022, 09:37 AM
(28-06-2022, 05:47 AM)ysh02 Wrote: When come to claim most of the things cannot claim ,only you don't know than can claim.
And when those can claim, they make it so difficult to claim until you give up

28-06-2022, 10:05 AM
Totally agree. Don't be conned.
28-06-2022, 10:21 AM
there're gd and bad ones. bad ones wud misguide you to maximise his income
28-06-2022, 10:21 AM
Good ppl shd not be an insurance or property agent.

28-06-2022, 10:50 AM
(27-06-2022, 11:58 PM)Reddishday Wrote: https://www.bannedsite.com/post/2018/12/...ance-agent
This lengthy write up at the end of the day is a just a long regurgitation of the ongoing debate on medical inflation's correlation with insurance coverage and escalating premiums. While there is some merit to the claims, the overall pompous tone adopted by the author is not backed up by any evidence that he/she has any real expertise on insurance and understands its complexities in general.
For a start, he/she demonstrates no awareness that the topic he's talking about, i.e. medical insurance, is only a subset of a branch of insurance known as general insurance which includes other things like fire, motor, marine, travel etc. Besides general insurance, other major branches of insurance include life, specialty, reinsurance etc. All the writer did was to take his own narrow personal experience with medical insurance combined with a mish mash of insurance history and launched a whole tirade against the entire insurance industry.
Also to take note is even amongst medical insurance, the relationship between premiums, claims and medical inflation is far more complicated than the way he is putting across. All the writer did was to blame every cost increase on collusion between insurers and hospitals. Other factors besides medical fraud between insurer and hospitals driving rapid medical inflation include expansion of therapeutic options, constitution of R&D between private and academic institutions, pharmaceutical / med device procurement inefficiencies in many countries, labour challenges / wage inflation in healthcare sector, rise of medical tourism, adoption of sedentary lifestyle on increased urbanization etc.
While it is convenient to simply blame insurance underwriters for healthcare increase, we must note this is a global issue that has plagued national governments, academics, healthcare sector and employers (increase in healthcare cost of workers). If it were such a simple problem of insurance underwriters and agents being bad eggs, the problem would have been resolved decades ago.
It's OK to not know much about insurance, but one should at least be humble and seek to understand the basics or consult real experts who understand before pontificating in a belligerent manner.
28-06-2022, 10:50 AM
aiya if no good ppl working as insurance and property agents, then how to solve many of human and social problems? not everybody can buy flats direct from hdb leh
28-06-2022, 11:03 AM
Some of them very chiobu
29-06-2022, 02:13 PM
(28-06-2022, 10:50 AM)maxsanic Wrote: This lengthy write up at the end of the day is a just a long regurgitation of the ongoing debate on medical inflation's correlation with insurance coverage and escalating premiums. While there is some merit to the claims, the overall pompous tone adopted by the author is not backed up by any evidence that he/she has any real expertise on insurance and understands its complexities in general.
For a start, he/she demonstrates no awareness that the topic he's talking about, i.e. medical insurance, is only a subset of a branch of insurance known as general insurance which includes other things like fire, motor, marine, travel etc. Besides general insurance, other major branches of insurance include life, specialty, reinsurance etc. All the writer did was to take his own narrow personal experience with medical insurance combined with a mish mash of insurance history and launched a whole tirade against the entire insurance industry.
Also to take note is even amongst medical insurance, the relationship between premiums, claims and medical inflation is far more complicated than the way he is putting across. All the writer did was to blame every cost increase on collusion between insurers and hospitals. Other factors besides medical fraud between insurer and hospitals driving rapid medical inflation include expansion of therapeutic options, constitution of R&D between private and academic institutions, pharmaceutical / med device procurement inefficiencies in many countries, labour challenges / wage inflation in healthcare sector, rise of medical tourism, adoption of sedentary lifestyle on increased urbanization etc.
While it is convenient to simply blame insurance underwriters for healthcare increase, we must note this is a global issue that has plagued national governments, academics, healthcare sector and employers (increase in healthcare cost of workers). If it were such a simple problem of insurance underwriters and agents being bad eggs, the problem would have been resolved decades ago.
It's OK to not know much about insurance, but one should at least be humble and seek to understand the basics or consult real experts who understand before pontificating in a belligerent manner.
Oh the irony of your post. TLDR!
29-06-2022, 05:15 PM
The worst is AIA, lah
Their MLM out to kill consumers
Why do we need 5 Mayors and 87 PAP Ministers?
29-06-2022, 06:01 PM
(29-06-2022, 05:15 PM)Ola Wrote: The worst is AIA, lah
I bought my AIA life policy from an agent many years ago.
Although my pay was very low I wanted to make sure if something happens to me my mom will have some money.
The agent is a nice guy. He never tried to sell me any thing I don't need. He recently retired and send me a farewell message.
Despite people's misgivings with insurance. My policy did okay. It had annualised return of 3.48% better than CPF OA and bank fixed deposit and also gave me insurance coverage.
In fact later on I found out that AIA funds return is comparable highest in the industry.
Below is par funds return. That us why Life insurance policy has both coverage and gives you a decent returns kn your savings.
![[Image: lEzg7n0.jpg]](https://i.imgur.com/lEzg7n0.jpg)
For insurance just buy what you need life, hospitalisation, critical illness.
29-06-2022, 08:40 PM
(29-06-2022, 06:01 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: I bought my AIA life policy from an agent many years ago.
Although my pay was very low I wanted to make sure if something happens to me my mom will have some money.
The agent is a nice guy. He never tried to sell me any thing I don't need. He recently retired and send me a farewell message.
Despite people's misgivings with insurance. My policy did okay. It had annualised return of 3.48% better than CPF OA and bank fixed deposit and also gave me insurance coverage.
In fact later on I found out that AIA funds return is comparable highest in the industry.
Below is par funds return. That us why Life insurance policy has both coverage and gives you a decent returns kn your savings.
For insurance just buy what you need life, hospitalisation, critical illness.
Yes, actually for people who don't really understand investments or insurance, purchasing a participatory life policy is an ok option. It won't generate fabulous riches, but should be decent enough.
However, one thing to take note when using geometric averages for the last 10 years is bond prices have generally appreciated in tandem with worldwide quantitative easing. Now that most major economies are tightening monetary policies, I suspect most insurance participatory funds might experience a dip for the next few years due to easing of bond prices.
After a while when the backlog clears and if interest continue to rise then perhaps we might even see numbers higher than the past 10 years, but if the world experiences prolong elevated inflation whether this is enough is another story.