Overpaying politicians does not make them honest

Paying politicians obscene wages with the notion that it discourages them from stealing is a simplistic and flawed approach to ensuring honesty in governance. While adequate compensation can help discourage some forms of corruption driven by monetary needs, it does not guarantee honesty or ethical behaviour.
[+] 2 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

Honesty and integrity are primarily driven by personal ethics and values, not just financial incentives. A politician who lacks moral integrity will still engage in corrupt practices regardless of his humongous salary. Look no further than a certain S. Iswaran.
[+] 2 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

(18-07-2024, 01:03 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Paying politicians obscene wages with the notion that it discourages them from stealing is a simplistic and flawed approach to ensuring honesty in governance. While adequate compensation can help discourage some forms of corruption driven by monetary needs, it does not guarantee honesty or ethical behaviour.

Are implying ex transport MP?

Money cannot change one’s habit lah

[+] 4 users Like Lukongsimi's post

(18-07-2024, 01:24 PM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Money cannot change one’s habit lah

No Minister in his right mind would be corrupt if $1 - 2 million is deposited into his bank account annually. Why do it the hard way like politicians in Malaysia, Indonesia, Thailand, Vietnam etc.by stealing when the average S'porean's monthly salary can be drawn in 2-3 hours by our Ministers? 

(18-07-2024, 01:24 PM)Scythian Wrote:  Are implying ex transport MP?

Honesty is primarily about ethics and integrity. Financial stability might lower the tendency to be corrupt, but it does not guarantee ethical behaviour.  Iswaran is a prime example that paying politicians more might help in attracting candidates who are financially stable and less susceptible to bribery, it is not a solution to ensure honesty. Addressing and fostering a culture of integrity and accountability are more important in promoting honesty among our overpaid Ministers.

Of course, not. And the pathetic Govt fail to know that greed is insatiable. Now pay them $2 million salary but 5 years later, the Govt must use tax payers money to pay them additional $1 million allowance.

(18-07-2024, 03:42 PM)Wy:Nox Wrote:  Of course, not. And the pathetic Govt fail to know that greed is insatiable. Now pay them $2 million salary but 5 years later, the Govt must use tax payers money to pay them additional $1 million allowance.

There is no turning back now after the SG Govt decided to go down the road of "money politics" attracting all the wrong kind of greedy people into the Govt. 
[+] 3 users Like EvertonDiehard's post

need honest parents to instill honesty.

(18-07-2024, 01:03 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Paying politicians obscene wages with the notion that it discourages them from stealing is a simplistic and flawed approach to ensuring honesty in governance. While adequate compensation can help discourage some forms of corruption driven by monetary needs, it does not guarantee honesty or ethical behaviour.

Under paid sure leads to mass corruption. We seen it in Mudkies. No?

(18-07-2024, 04:09 PM)moonrab Wrote:  Under paid sure leads to mass corruption. We seen it in Mudkies. No?

Corrupt politicians in Malaysia have to face the music when they are convicted. By legalising the obscene amounts of money paid to SG's Ministers, the law protects them from prosecution.  

(18-07-2024, 03:57 PM)whylah Wrote:  need honest parents to instill honesty.

The annual salary of a Minister in SG is enough to feed the average S'porean family for a lifetime. These politicians are obviously attracted to "serve" for all the wrong reasons. 

[Image: IMG-7095.png]

(18-07-2024, 04:21 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  Corrupt politicians in Malaysia have to face the music when they are convicted. By legalising the obscene amounts of money paid to SG's Ministers, the law protects them from prosecution.  

Only punish the few political enemies. 
Many lower levels all makan daily

A leader only knows how to use money to lead is not a True Leader.

And hire greedy people so we end up with painful policies!

[Image: dis-Grace-Decision-to-join.png]

The more u have the more greedy u are,,like as in stock market,

wow,, profit liao, greedy dont want to take profit, see very shiok.,, till the profit become lossses.

Good ppl won’t corrupt, only bad ppl will corrupt.
Good ppl won’t work for money, but work for ppl lah.

(18-07-2024, 06:53 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Good ppl won’t corrupt, only bad ppl will corrupt.
Good ppl won’t work for money, but work for ppl lah.

Good ppl die young, bad ppl live forever or die last. Look around you to verify the statement. Same as what drama serials show.

Conclusion be bad ppl live longer like Msia Dr M going to hit 100 !

(18-07-2024, 06:53 PM)RiseofAsia Wrote:  Good ppl won’t corrupt, only bad ppl will corrupt. Good ppl won’t work for money, but work for ppl lah.

S'pore needs a Govt by the people, from the people and for the people. We only have greedy elites who are for themselves. 

(18-07-2024, 06:57 PM)sgh Wrote:  Good ppl die young, bad ppl live forever or die last. Look around you to verify the statement. Same as what drama serials show.

Yes, fully agree.

(18-07-2024, 06:57 PM)sgh Wrote:  Good ppl die young, bad ppl live forever or die last. Look around you to verify the statement. Same as what drama serials show.

Not only good ppl die younger but they seem to lose out to bad ppl in achievements. But if u believe in karma then you'd be consoled that you have paid off some of your bad karma.

(18-07-2024, 04:23 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  The annual salary of a Minister in SG is enough to feed the average S'porean family for a lifetime. These politicians are obviously attracted to "serve" for all the wrong reasons. 

1 p@p mp already said -  low pay is a loss dignity.
while a minister threaten to resign if there is a further cut on her huge salary.

Got one nose big big ugly old hack think and expressed that PAP MPs salary is still low.       Rolleyes

(18-07-2024, 08:02 PM)whylah Wrote:  1 p@p mp already said -  low pay is a loss dignity.
while a minister threaten to resign if there is a further cut on her huge salary.
I welcome their resignations.

All these are just excuses only la. Who don't want to be millionaire enrich themselves first la

[+] 1 user Likes Rainforest's post

PAP just want to enrich themselves , and we need to foot their high salary and produce no result

(18-07-2024, 08:14 PM)Gemstar Wrote:  I welcome their resignations.

me too, but she is still hanging on to her job.
quit and join the private sector, or setup a business to show the people, you are the can, and not just blowing hot air rah.

Characters hard to change even with high salary I see my friend before promotion complain no promotion but after that complain again cannot satisfy

(18-07-2024, 08:11 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Got one nose big big ugly old hack think and expressed that PAP MPs salary is still low.       Rolleyes

Maybe they believe they can get much higher pay in other public service and private sector.

If overpaying ministers is to prevent corruption, that in itself is already a dishonest intention.

We pay them to serve the country and the people. Not pay them to stop their corrupted practice.
[+] 2 users Like Alice Alicia's post