Threads: 53

Likes Given: 1
(19-05-2023, 01:01 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: The problem here is Isn't so call " conflict of interest " ?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Singapore_Land_Authority
Parent agency is Ministry of Law which currently Sham is Minister for Law.
Private folks, common folks go or able to rent is their problem since they are NOT Politicians so call " serve for the people the country " which is Their job or else why people vote them come Election.
I remember last time people also question our PM salary , etc in return " Pro PAP side claim , is " ok " they take USA president as an example. USA president they also got other side investment , earnings on top with President wages from Public funds blah blah.
There is no conflict of interest if this is done based on highest bid received.
But does it reflect bad on the 2 of them. Maybe..

Threads: 90

Likes Given: 301
(18-05-2023, 05:50 PM)Blasterlord2 Wrote: I'd rather psp do it. I notice that wp is always very half-hearted in their questioning and will always guai guai retreat back to their seats without dogged pursuit of the issues once ministers give their replies.
PAP raped you when you are sober
WP raped you when you are drunk

Threads: 662

Likes Given: 1,699
(19-05-2023, 06:19 PM)grotesqueness Wrote: PAP raped you when you are sober
WP raped you when you are drunk
lol. Should be WP watched PAP rape country while asking qns and taking notes.

Likes Given: 0

Threads: 65

Likes Given: 32
Such a big palace , rental at least $40,000/mth?
How much does a Senior Minister earn per month in Singapore?
Maybe can easily afford with the high pay monthly salary.
(This post was last modified: 19-05-2023, 07:20 PM by
Sline.)

Threads: 10,908

Likes Given: 12
(19-05-2023, 06:17 PM)ArielCasper Wrote: There is no conflict of interest if this is done based on highest bid received.
But does it reflect bad on the 2 of them. Maybe..
But as mention problem is Who the minister? Is Sham who is current in charge Ministry of Law and SLA parent agency is Ministry of Law.
of course all the paper work done etc never break law etc but problem You are Minister of Law and SLA Parent agency is Ministry of law is already a " question mark "

Threads: 53

Likes Given: 1
(19-05-2023, 07:25 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: But as mention problem is Who the minister? Is Sham who is current in charge Ministry of Law and SLA parent agency is Ministry of Law.
of course all the paper work done etc never break law etc but problem You are Minister of Law and SLA Parent agency is Ministry of law is already a " question mark "
Yup. Which is why I say does it reflect bad on them? Maybe

Likes Given: 769
(19-05-2023, 09:17 AM)Oyk Wrote: An old house is certainly more costly to upkeep and maintain. Some peepur can afford to pay for those.
If you are the sole winner of the CNY $12 million TOTO lucky draw, would you continue to live in your old HDB 3 room NG flat in Jurong East which is easier to maintain in terms of you alone mopping the floor, or move into a big house where you would need to hire two maids from Myanmar to do the housekeeping and a gardener to keep the grass and lallang from looking like the hair around your kkj? 
So I don't know what you are lamenting about above...
"Lamenting" is a somewhat inapt word to describe what I only briefly mentioned that old houses often require more frequent maintenance and repairs than newer homes. I only scratched the surface, but I shall now flesh out the old-home issues with more details for those who think that living in a good class bungalow is their idea of paradise. For some GCB residents, it is no fun having to grapple with a long list of issues that include:
Plumbing - blocked drainage and toilets caused by long, strong roots beneath the home that grow in toward the drainage system, choking it. A special truck has had to be called periodically to flush out the drains. A plumber also has to be summoned often to repair leaky basins, pipes and replace faulty storage water heaters.
Electrical - cables buried deep underground are damaged, disrupting the electricity supply to the outdoor lighting and auto gate. A major repair or replacement is needed but is put on hold. The auto gate kept breaking down, and the repairman had to be called often. Electricians are summoned to deal with surges and outages, and other electrical issues.
Malfunctioning applinances - such as cooker, oven, dryer, storage water heater, etc. have to be replaced every so often. The numerous air conditioners have to be serviced or repaired often. Two compressors located outdoors were short-circuited by a rodent and lizard stuck inside them.
Insect infestations - with termite damage the most problematic. Pest control has to be deployed periodically.
There are other nitty-gritty of the problem of living in an ageing mansion. As for high maintenance fees, money is not an sisue for these loaded GCB residents. It's the hassle of having to deal with these defects and breakdowns that have been occurring with annoying regularity. So much so that some have even contemplated moving to condominiums which are less problematic and easier to maintain as you said. Those who think living in a large landed property is sheer bliss are living in a fool's paradise

Threads: 25

Likes Given: 970
Hehehe
一党坐大,
一手遮天
(This post was last modified: 20-05-2023, 10:32 AM by
Rainforest.)

Threads: 33

Likes Given: 2,556
(20-05-2023, 04:14 AM)S I M T A N Wrote: "Lamenting" is a somewhat inapt word to describe what I only briefly mentioned that old houses often require more frequent maintenance and repairs than newer homes. I only scratched the surface, but I shall now flesh out the old-home issues with more details for those who think that living in a good class bungalow is their idea of paradise. For some GCB residents, it is no fun having to grapple with a long list of issues that include:
Plumbing - blocked drainage and toilets caused by long, strong roots beneath the home that grow in toward the drainage system, choking it. A special truck has had to be called periodically to flush out the drains. A plumber also has to be summoned often to repair leaky basins, pipes and replace faulty storage water heaters.
Electrical - cables buried deep underground are damaged, disrupting the electricity supply to the outdoor lighting and auto gate. A major repair or replacement is needed but is put on hold. The auto gate kept breaking down, and the repairman had to be called often. Electricians are summoned to deal with surges and outages, and other electrical issues.
Malfunctioning applinances - such as cooker, oven, dryer, storage water heater, etc. have to be replaced every so often. The numerous air conditioners have to be serviced or repaired often. Two compressors located outdoors were short-circuited by a rodent and lizard stuck inside them.
Insect infestations - with termite damage the most problematic. Pest control has to be deployed periodically.
There are other nitty-gritty of the problem of living in an ageing mansion. As for high maintenance fees, money is not an sisue for these loaded GCB residents. It's the hassle of having to deal with these defects and breakdowns that have been occurring with annoying regularity. So much so that some have even contemplated moving to condominiums which are less problematic and easier to maintain as you said. Those who think living in a large landed property is sheer bliss are living in a fool's paradise
Fool's paradise? So those who actually live in one are fools?
Anyway it's pretty clear that you were writing about the attap house that had a corroded and hence leaking corrugated zinc roof which you grew up in. It WAS situated at where BLOCK 444 Choa Chu Kang is, don't we all know?
Just for your information, rich peepur do not live in a house you painfully "fleshed out". Let me remind you that there is such a thing called "renovation". Electric cables should be replaced once every 20 years even in condos. Water and sewage pipes can be replaced before moving in
Conservation
Keeping an old house means keeping its walls which define its shape and structure. You don't need to be faithful to the point of keeping the old sewage pipes that were used by those living in the house a hundred and fifty years ago.
Your example of having to replace cooker, oven, water heater is pretty retarded. It's not as if you don't need to replace these periodically if you live in a four room HDB flat right. I thought only Sentinel was capable of posting things without a human brain but I was wrong..

Threads: 23

Likes Given: 1,567
(18-05-2023, 06:47 PM)Sline Wrote: SLA must transparent on the " above market rental " paid for the public to judge.
If PAP can made Meghan Ho's pay so opaque what do you think will make "above market rate" transparent?
The following 1 user Likes Dan's post:1 user Likes Dan's post
• Sentinel

Threads: 14

Likes Given: 344
(20-05-2023, 11:29 AM)Dan Wrote: If PAP can made Meghan Ho's pay so opaque what do you think will make "above market rate" transparent?
"market rate" is one thing for ministars. Is another thing for HDB buyers who have to pay prime rates to SLA for the land or will be accused of robbing the reserves!

Threads: 9

Likes Given: 1,322

Threads: 186

Likes Given: 26

Likes Given: 2
SLA is the landlord.. so repairs and upkeep etc are their responsibility. these includes grass cutting, gardening, pest control etcetc Tenants need not pay for any of these.
Of course, the 2 big guns have 24 hour security by Gurkas provided by the state.
-------------------------
While the gorgeous Stone Age houses have stood the ravages of time, they have a lot of defects which require constant upkeep and maintenance, and occasional repair. Think of a spanking new house versus a crappy old house as analogous to a brand-new car vs a vintage car in terms of operational performance. No prizes for guessing which of them is in tip-top condition.

(20-05-2023, 11:22 AM)Oyk Wrote: Fool's paradise? So those who actually live in one are fools?
Anyway it's pretty clear that you were writing about the attap house that had a corroded and hence leaking corrugated zinc roof which you grew up in. It WAS situated at where BLOCK 444 Choa Chu Kang is, don't we all know? 
Just for your information, rich peepur do not live in a house you painfully "fleshed out". Let me remind you that there is such a thing called "renovation". Electric cables should be replaced once every 20 years even in condos. Water and sewage pipes can be replaced before moving in
Conservation
Keeping an old house means keeping its walls which define its shape and structure. You don't need to be faithful to the point of keeping the old sewage pipes that were used by those living in the house a hundred and fifty years ago.
Your example of having to replace cooker, oven, water heater is pretty retarded. It's not as if you don't need to replace these periodically if you live in a four room HDB flat right. I thought only Sentinel was capable of posting things without a human brain but I was wrong.. 
No, bungalow dwellers are no fool. They did their homework before acquiring their homes and knew about the necessary expenses beforehand - the amount of money that's needed to pay for landscaping service, swimming pool maintenance, pest control management, periodical testing of the burglar alarm system, etc. Much like car buyers knowing there are operational costs such as road tax, insurance, petrol, parking, maintenance. They knew too that revamping an old house by replacing all the wiring and piping is a good start while patching the cracks in the walls and giving the building a fresh coat of paint and a few other cosmetic changes will give the house a new look.
Bungalow buyers are quite loaded and most don't stint on such expenditures which will give them peace of mind for years to come. It's those salivating over good class bungalows but have never lived in one and are blissfully ignorant of the potential pitfalls of buying one that are living in a fool's paradise.
Unforeseen problems, however, may surface years later, and if a major, complicated issue does crop up, it can be every owner's worst nightmare. In my friend's case, there are a few old trees with long, strong roots in the yard of his good class bungalow. These roots had damaged some of the wires that run underground, blocking the drainage channels sometimes. Every time it happened, a high-pressure hose from a truck would flush the drains in the sewage area, but it provided only a temporary respite. A long-lasting solution is to hack the tiles off and dig the ground to lay new cables with rigid casings, but that would entail a major, messy renovation.
His family had over a year ago endured an untidy renovation in the construction of an elevator in their home that went on for several months. Shortly after being installed, the lift broke down, suddenly stopping dead and trapping two frightened occupants for 45 minutes before rescuers from the lift firm came. A faulty cable was suspected of causing the breakdown.
Another big headache: large portions of the wooden fencing on concrete base, which mark the boundary of their property, are tilting precariously from their original upright position, and look like falling apart. A change of fence is in order. It's a huge undertaking.
The whole damn place is in desperate need of repairs and a complete makeover, seeing the cracks in the walls, discolored and flaking paints and strips of metal oxidzing. The renovation process may be too cumbersome and costly to undertake. Might as well tear down the house and build a new one.
When my friend griped about all these beefs, including having to replace the malfunctioning appliances often, I did not think of him as retarded because I knew he made those off-the-cuff remarks in frustration. Needless to say, household appliances are not really that important in the overall scheme of things. As someone who has the means to live in a GCB in the prime district 10 location, he can't possibly be a retard, can he?
(This post was last modified: 25-05-2023, 02:22 AM by
S I M T A N.)

(20-05-2023, 04:21 PM)AG2988 Wrote: SLA is the landlord.. so repairs and upkeep etc are their responsibility. these includes grass cutting, gardening, pest control etcetc Tenants need not pay for any of these.
Of course, the 2 big guns have 24 hour security by Gurkas provided by the state.
-------------------------
While the gorgeous Stone Age houses have stood the ravages of time, they have a lot of defects which require constant upkeep and maintenance, and occasional repair. Think of a spanking new house versus a crappy old house as analogous to a brand-new car vs a vintage car in terms of operational performance. No prizes for guessing which of them is in tip-top condition.
Must-have services like landscaping and gardening, and keeping the building in good repair are part of the rental package under the terms of the tenancy agreement. The fee for landscaping a normal-sized yard - paid for by SLA - ranges from about $500 to over a grand, depending on the lushness of the garden and estimate of the amount of work needed to prune trees, plants and unwanted branches, mow the grass and clear leaf litter.
I think the govt is obligated by law to place sentry at high-ranking officials' abodes, wherever they are. President Halimah Yacob's humble abode comes to mind. Unlike the ministers' plush houses, the President's HDB 5-rm flat in Yishun was the talk of the town, and her public apartment is a first in the history of a sitting president's residence.
A sentry was posted at her apartment block in the intial stages of her presidency, and that place was a hive of security checks and measures which reportedly greatly inconvenienced the residents staying there. Due to security concerns, security officials tried to talk her into taking up residence in Istana - her rightful abode. She was at first adamant about staying put, but relented in the end and moved to the presidential palace.

Likes Given: 11,338
(18-05-2023, 05:44 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: WP urges SLA to give more info in advance
https://www.todayonline.com/singapore/wp...on-2174096
Good lah!

Whack them jialat jialat lah!

Likes Given: 496
(23-05-2023, 06:26 AM)cheekopekman Wrote: Good lah!
Whack them jialat jialat lah!
SLA reply will be "bla bla bla.........................no wrong doing"

(23-05-2023, 03:58 AM)S I M T A N Wrote: The whole damn place is in desperate need of repairs and a complete makeover, seeing the cracks in the walls, discolored and flaking paints and strips of metal oxidzing. The renovation process may be too cumbersome and costly to undertake. Might as well tear down the house and build a new one.
Here's a rough estimate of the cost of building a mansion. Several years ago, an old colonial bungalow situated just opposite my friend's GCB was sold to a wealthy managing director for a sum in excess of $20 M. Sitting on a site of over 15 K square feet and on a 999-year leasehold, the dilapidated house was bulldozed and construction of a new 3-storey building took over 3 years to complete.
A swimming pool takes pride of place in the back yard, and a private lift serves four floors, including the basement where a 13-car parking garage lies. Constructing the underground garage was technically feasible as the land site is on elevated ground. Construction costs, excluding furnishings, amounted to $12 M. The final bill that included the land price, furniture, tons of domestic appliances and miscellaneous items could have set the new homeowner back a cool $40 M.
40 million bucks for a slice of paradise is clearly beyond the reach of the working class. But for high-net worth individuals like my pal, the $12 M construction cost of a new home - the land is already his - is very affordable, and costs may go lower if he opts for a less grand home. That's if he decides to call in the bulldozer. But I doubt he will, given his disenchantment with living in a bungalow. And besides, he can't face the upheaval of moving house again and again.

Likes Given: 11,338
(23-05-2023, 06:58 AM)K88 shu shu Wrote: SLA reply will be "bla bla bla.........................no wrong doing"
Ownself cover Ownself backside lah!
(This post was last modified: 25-05-2023, 06:27 AM by
cheekopekman.)

ask and being tabled is 2 different thing.

Threads: 17

Likes Given: 4
Don't give out the spoler first leh, i want to watch the show with pop corn

(25-05-2023, 07:06 AM)jameslee58@hotmail.com Wrote: Don't give out the spoler first leh, i want to watch the show with pop corn
think there will be no show since all questions must submit before hand for them to prepare the answer.