Promoted, Recommended, now broken: The Integrated Shield Plan is broken
Heart 

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/opinion...lan-broken

(26-06-2025, 12:05 PM)theold Wrote:  https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/opinion...lan-broken

I've noticed the premium increases for IPs across most underwriters is very uneven in recent years. The increment for Public Class A and B wards is slowing down, but those for Private Wards are accelerating. 

Insurers also appear to be allocating more of the increases to riders which take on the bulk of the inflation, it also doesn't help that riders need to be paid fully in cash without subsidy. So if you are getting only IPs for public wards without riders, the inflation should generally be more manageable, but anything on top of that will be taxing.

(26-06-2025, 12:42 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  I've noticed the premium increases for IPs across most underwriters is very uneven in recent years. The increment for Public Class A and B wards is slowing down, but those for Private Wards are accelerating. 

Insurers also appear to be allocating more of the increases to riders which take on the bulk of the inflation, it also doesn't help that riders need to be paid fully in cash without subsidy. So if you are getting only IPs for public wards without riders, the inflation should generally be more manageable, but anything on top of that will be taxing.

Riders increase or not?       Thinking

Integrated sheild should ve expelled and left unintegrated to basic mediaheild for public hospital.

Why should private hospital integrated to a scheme meant for public hospitals? It pushing up premiums for rest of us who don't use private hospital.

The insurers are losing money for private integrated shield plans and have to recoup from those who enhance their basic plans for public hospital through additional insurance.

Lets end this.

(26-06-2025, 12:48 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  Riders increase or not?       Thinking

Riders are unfortunately increasing very rapidly, there was a slight slowing down after the government mandated co-payments, but the pace is picking up once again. 

CDL implementation was supposed to help arrest the inflation, but I'm not seeing any real slowing down especially for Private Ward IP policyholders who are the chief miscreants for abusing the system.
[+] 1 user Likes maxsanic's post

(26-06-2025, 01:20 PM)maxsanic Wrote:  Riders are unfortunately increasing very rapidly, there was a slight slowing down after the government mandated co-payments, but the pace is picking up once again. 

CDL implementation was supposed to help arrest the inflation, but I'm not seeing any real slowing down especially for Private Ward IP policyholders who are the chief miscreants for abusing the system.

Thanks, if increases too much I will terminate it.

Control the medical fee, and everything will be solved.

I just saw a letter from LW on medishield premium subsidy for pioneers. I glanced through very quickly and it seems very generous. 
For pioneers 90 and above, their premiums are fully subsidize and those younger pioneers are also very well subsidize up to two third of their premiums. 
So i think pioneers shud be okay lah.   Those non pioneers I think they sibeh jialat.     Rolleyes

(26-06-2025, 03:58 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  I just saw a letter from LW on medishield premium subsidy for pioneers. I glanced through very quickly and it seems very generous. 
For pioneers 90 and above, their premiums are fully subsidize and those younger pioneers are also very well subsidize up to two third of their premiums. 
So i think pioneers shud be okay lah.   Those non pioneers I think they sibeh jialat.     Rolleyes

I believe subsidies are only for Medishield Life portion, private IP portion is not subsidized. If you anticipate only hanging around public hospitals and the premiums for riders go too high, then you can consider letting go of the rider.

However, if you think there's a decent chance of you admitting into private hospitals then I would urge you to think through carefully. Even a minor surgery in a private hospital can go to $50 - $100k all in. Without a rider, you need to pay ~$4,000 deductible + $14,200 co-insurance = $18,200 for a $75k bill. 

Just general 2c observations, of course think through and opt for something that makes most sense for you.
[+] 1 user Likes maxsanic's post