Property agent gets jail for deceiving buyer and seller of HDB flat
10-06-2022, 08:09 AM
10-06-2022, 08:18 AM
Toh admitted he had kept the S$4,000, but claimed that "he deserved it as he had worked hard and met the expectations of the parties in closing the transaction at the agreed price", court documents stated.
Toh made full restitution of S$15,000 to the buyer and S$4,000 to the seller, via PropNex. The agency also waived the agent's commission payable on the transaction.
After the transaction has been completed, the commission should be paid to the property agency and not the agent, it added.
Property agencies and agents are also not allowed to handle transaction money, including the option fee, which should be handled by consumers themselves.
Toh made full restitution of S$15,000 to the buyer and S$4,000 to the seller, via PropNex. The agency also waived the agent's commission payable on the transaction.
After the transaction has been completed, the commission should be paid to the property agency and not the agent, it added.
Property agencies and agents are also not allowed to handle transaction money, including the option fee, which should be handled by consumers themselves.
10-06-2022, 08:21 AM
https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property...an+membina&market=residential&unselected=STREET%7C1377
10-06-2022, 08:24 AM
(10-06-2022, 08:18 AM)theold Wrote: Toh admitted he had kept the S$4,000, but claimed that "he deserved it as he had worked hard and met the expectations of the parties in closing the transaction at the agreed price", court documents stated.
the 4k is to exercise the OTP need and must to pay to the seller
Selling to buyer
marketing your unit->arrange buyer to for viewing->OTP(buyer pay seller 1k to buy the OTP)->exercise OTP(buyer pay seller 4k)->ask for valuation->getting loan (if any)-> submitting to HDB for resales application-> HDB accept->HDB inspection->endorsement of document->paying admin & legal fee-> HDB approved( received sms)->schedule meeting at HDB( full payment or initial payment from HDB)
10-06-2022, 08:28 AM
(10-06-2022, 08:24 AM)Bigiron Wrote: the 4k is to exercise the OTP need and must to pay to the sellerIf the loan is from HDB, it will be easier.
Selling to buyer
marketing your unit->arrange buyer to for viewing->OTP(buyer pay seller 1k to buy the OTP)->exercise OTP(buyer pay seller 4k)->ask for valuation->getting loan (if any)-> submitting to HDB for resales application-> HDB accept->HDB inspection->endorsement of document->paying admin & legal fee-> HDB approved( received sms)->schedule meeting at HDB( full payment or initial payment from HDB)
10-06-2022, 08:36 AM
10-06-2022, 08:39 AM
(10-06-2022, 08:21 AM)Bigiron Wrote: https://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property...an+membina&market=residential&unselected=STREET%7C1377
a reminder for those who want to sell:
before marketing hor you need to screen shot of your register intent to sell
10-06-2022, 09:05 AM
10-06-2022, 09:17 AM
(10-06-2022, 08:09 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Just selling your HDB flat without an agent people find so daunting, difficult and challenging. It is mot rocket science. There is a set of instructions just follow it.Look simple but on the submission of document to hdb not simple especially for seller but not for buyer
Compare this to something like starting your own business. The things you need to find out is a lot more. And thing you only find out after you start.
Over time I come to realise there are different types of people. Those who can find out how to do things and those who follow instructions given by someone.
It is okay. If you find selling your own home so difficult pay an agent and your life is much easier. Get a job where boss give you specific tasks to do and just follow...its easier. That is why most people end up as salary men.
https://blog.carousell.com/property/sell...singapore/
10-06-2022, 10:20 AM
I read until confused
We have such a lousy CEA of Singapore
that did not mandate a system where 4 parties
Seller, seller agents, buyer and buyer agents
all use NexOne which flow completed DocuSign in the process?
Under SO MANY PAP Ministers in MND who are overpaid
still cock- up

10-06-2022, 10:28 AM
(10-06-2022, 08:18 AM)theold Wrote: Toh admitted he had kept the S$4,000, but claimed that "he deserved it as he had worked hard and met the expectations of the parties in closing .
I thought SG is a Developed Country
like many other developed countries like Australia or UK?
All transaction money under the law should sit in a TRUST FUND under CEA
If the buyer cannot get bank loan, the seller did not pay for all property taxes or agent run road
this TRUST FUND is activated
Triple Confirmed PAP Ministers are STEWPIG.
10-06-2022, 10:54 AM
(10-06-2022, 10:20 AM)Ola Wrote: I read until confused
still cock- up
Most important is the OTP once buyer pay for it (1k) must act within the limited period 14 days where buyer need to get valuation from HDB So seller must be aware of it.
10-06-2022, 11:00 AM
(10-06-2022, 10:28 AM)Ola Wrote: I thought SG is a Developed Country
like many other developed countries like Australia or UK?
All transaction money under the law should sit in a TRUST FUND under CEA
If the buyer cannot get bank loan, the seller did not pay for all property taxes or agent run road
this TRUST FUND is activated
Triple Confirmed PAP Ministers are STEWPIG.
Also depends whether the agent is honest boh. Before engage need to do homework plus need to have knowledge on the process then go interview afew . At the same take note of their body language which is come in useful.like what I did in selection only for marketing and submission of document and negotiate without any commission at all just for the service cost.
10-06-2022, 11:01 AM
(10-06-2022, 10:54 AM)Bigiron Wrote: Most important is the OTP once buyer pay for it (1k) must act within the limited period 14 days where buyer need to get valuation from HDB So seller must be aware of it.
It is better to have the expiry of OTP with 2 months. Getting a good loan outside may not be easy within 1 month. Sometimes, somewhere may go wrong from seller or buyer side and you are left with days.
10-06-2022, 11:02 AM
(10-06-2022, 06:19 AM)Bigiron Wrote: I think I had post athread on this before this years
WTA : property agent in sg get commission from buyer or seller?
https://sgtalk.net/Thread-WTA-property-a...-or-seller
From this you know will how to select plus need to ask relevant question.
10-06-2022, 11:02 AM
And PAP still do not want Ombudsman
I am sure this is common just that property agents are never caught
This lucky agent happened to be late
and the Seller and Buyer have chance to chit- chat
Sack Desmond Lee, lah!
https://goodyfeed.com/shanmugam-make-sense-ombudsman/
I am sure this is common just that property agents are never caught
This lucky agent happened to be late
and the Seller and Buyer have chance to chit- chat
Sack Desmond Lee, lah!
https://goodyfeed.com/shanmugam-make-sense-ombudsman/
10-06-2022, 11:03 AM
For buyer
Years left for flat
Cpf enough
Race
Whether bankrupt
Years left for flat
Cpf enough
Race
Whether bankrupt
10-06-2022, 11:17 AM
(10-06-2022, 11:03 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: For buyer
Years left for flat
Cpf enough
Race
Whether bankrupt
apply to seller also whether got divorce boh.
And the EIP of your unit as stated in HDB resale portal.
For seller:
1. Age
2. Race
3. Divorce
4. Bankruptcy
For buyer:.
1. Grant what sort of grant available
2. Cpf sufficient
3. Race
4. Age
5. Working and salary
10-06-2022, 11:19 AM
(10-06-2022, 11:17 AM)Bigiron Wrote: apply to seller also whether got divorce boh.Divorce or bankrupt cannot sell flat,sure?
And the EIP of your unit as stated in HDB resale portal.
For seller:
1. Age
2. Race
3. Divorce
4. Bankruptcy
For buyer:.
1. Grant what sort of grant available
2. Cpf sufficient
3. Race
4. Age
5. Working and salary
10-06-2022, 11:19 AM
If buyer and seller using
Enhanced Contra Facility then very problematic
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/reside...a-facility
Enhanced Contra Facility then very problematic
https://www.hdb.gov.sg/cs/infoweb/reside...a-facility
10-06-2022, 11:22 AM
(10-06-2022, 11:19 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote: Divorce or bankrupt cannot sell flat,sure?
Still can but more problematic lor the wait for HDB acceptance will be longer. Plus after selling need put back to CPF hor.( Will it be a positive sales or negative sales.)
And the final sales proceed ( in cashier order check put who name)
10-06-2022, 11:26 AM
Oh forgot to mention extension of stay also. You need to provide your next address unless you stay in pte house and you are selling HDB then no problem.
For those only got HDB flat then you need to have an address of your next stay whether under renting or buying.
10-06-2022, 11:32 AM
Once accepted HDB will sms & email you:
(Fr HDB_RESALE) Case Reference: xxxxxxxxx. Your application has been accepted. Completion will be on xx/xx/xxxx. In about 3 weeks' time when the documents are ready for your endorsement, we will send you an SMS. Meanwhile, you can view the details by visiting HDB InfoWEB > e-Services > "HDB Resale Portal".
10-06-2022, 11:37 AM
(10-06-2022, 06:03 AM)sgbuffett Wrote: Until now I don't understand why people hire agents to sell their flats when they can do so quite easily themselves. Unless you cannot read and write or just too lazy to learn a few simple steps.
The trouble of finding a good agent and negotiating through middle man back forth you might as well talk to buyer directly. It is much easier and it takes only a short time to learn how to do it. See article below.
https://singaporelegaladvice.com/law-art...out-agent/
Got one time I told this to one of my friend who is a property agent , now also Boss for cleaning company which is his one. Maybe is true property agents earn a lot commission way back early days so he got the ample money to run cleaning company.
I told him now no need agent also can buy resale HDB flat blah blah
he just told me , Oh but I tell u you go ownself find lor
What he mean is agent help you save time to find around etc do all the paper works
if you do yourself have to spare time from your daily routine which might be hard as Day time you working you can't go view a flat while at work Unless lunch hour you rush to see?
But there are cases a lot yup DIY come sell and buy HDB flat and SAVE A LOT FROM AGENT fee/commission.
10-06-2022, 11:38 AM
(10-06-2022, 11:01 AM)theold Wrote: It is better to have the expiry of OTP with 2 months. Getting a good loan outside may not be easy within 1 month. Sometimes, somewhere may go wrong from seller or buyer side and you are left with days.
Yes that why need to keep in touch with buyer or buyer agent . Also depends on Heng suay. Like my buyer didn't even come down at all. Only 2 days after exercise OTP then appear with 风水師傅 . Once exercise mean can submit into the resale portal for application. Where else before that my agent have done completely check whether they can buy my unit.
10-06-2022, 11:41 AM
(10-06-2022, 11:37 AM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: Got one time I told this to one of my friend who is a property agent , now also Boss for cleaning company which is his one. Maybe is true property agents earn a lot commission way back early days so he got the ample money to run cleaning company.
I told him now no need agent also can buy resale HDB flat blah blah
he just told me , Oh but I tell u you go ownself find lor
What he mean is agent help you save time to find around etc do all the paper works
if you do yourself have to spare time from your daily routine which might be hard as Day time you working you can't go view a flat while at work Unless lunch hour you rush to see?
But there are cases a lot yup DIY come sell and buy HDB flat and SAVE A LOT FROM AGENT fee/commission.
For buyer yes save money but for seller wise is best to engage some form of service that no commission at all. For me I don't even pay commission only the service package of less than $2k. Else I will be paying 2% commission meaning about $18k .
Compare less than $2k to $18k which is more worth
10-06-2022, 12:14 PM
(10-06-2022, 11:41 AM)Bigiron Wrote: For buyer yes save money but for seller wise is best to engage some form of service that no commission at all. For me I don't even pay commission only the service package of less than $2k. Else I will be paying 2% commission meaning about $18k .
Compare less than $2k to $18k which is more worth
I do have a friend DIY buy his HDB Resale flat , ownself go scout around and yes he got a full time job. Never get agent.
For seller , I think my relative who sold his HDB flat at 900k++ never get agent. Is Buyer ownself come ask him want to sell or not.
Last time there is one buyer also knock his door and ask want to buy at 1million but my relative never accept partly he just move in not less than 10 years yet.
10-06-2022, 12:16 PM
(10-06-2022, 12:14 PM)[[ForeverAlone]] Wrote: I do have a friend DIY buy his HDB Resale flat , ownself go scout around and yes he got a full time job. Never get agent.
For seller , I think my relative who sold his HDB flat at 900k++ never get agent. Is Buyer ownself come ask him want to sell or not.
Last time there is one buyer also knock his door and ask want to buy at 1million but my relative never accept partly he just move in not less than 10 years yet.
Last time . Also got people ask me also about 12 years ago. But have not decided it yet.
10-06-2022, 12:17 PM
If the agent is paid by 1 party, the agent will work very hard for that 1 party. They will neglect on the other party.
10-06-2022, 12:21 PM
(10-06-2022, 12:16 PM)Bigiron Wrote: Last time . Also got people ask me also about 12 years ago. But have not decided it yet.
haha is nature. The buyers why know because they ownself scout around.
For an example this buyer be it Locals or PR or New citizen walking around the neighbourhood personally go to the area wanna see view it after google around. If he feel not bad since on the spot viewing the location around etc , they do will knock your door in person ask you interested to sell your unit or not.
got one time My block, i open letter box , got what entertainment company asking any resident in this block willing to lend their unit for filming. Than I noticed above me that unit seem willing to lend. Got one thing I saw many crews walk upstair to above unit do their production. I wonder how much they will pay for the home owner who lend his/her unit.