https://www.facebook.com/174518359238296...9083006072
S'pore man banned from all football activities not even football with grandson..
17-08-2021, 02:26 PM
Remarkable...form of ban FAS imposed on a player 26yrs ago.
17-08-2021, 02:29 PM
17-08-2021, 02:30 PM
17-08-2021, 02:41 PM
if he play soccer with frens/grandchild.. wat can fas do to him?
17-08-2021, 02:53 PM
Yalor. How will FAS enforce this ban? Do they control all the grass fields in Singapore or the sale of all footballs or even the resale of second-hand footballs? What if Kannan kicks a volleyball on a basketball court? Can?
17-08-2021, 03:35 PM
This message directed at potential match fixers lah, nonetheless ridiculous.
17-08-2021, 03:42 PM
17-08-2021, 03:47 PM
(17-08-2021, 03:42 PM)OLT Wrote: and we wonder why sg soccer kns... because we got a kns FAS lor.
What is happening to K. Kannada absurd.
FAS does not have power over all soccer playing just its own leagues and players.
What is it doing wasting its time monitoring an old man who played national soccer 26yrs ago ...when it can't even get our soccer up to some decent standard.
17-08-2021, 03:49 PM
Can play fifa or football manager EA games or not
One only has to bear the consequences that one makes
17-08-2021, 03:50 PM
Match fixing and gambling have nothing to do with the sport of football.
FAS barking up the wrong tree.
18-08-2021, 01:51 AM
For years K. Kannan was a familiar face on the Indian Association football ground in Balestier Road. A clinical goal poacher with power-packed shots, he would join his fellow IA members, who are predominately Indians with a few Chinese, in kick-abouts. At times, he would play for his Indian club against outside teams in friendlies.
Many were under the impression that Kannan could continue playing social soccer as long as the match wasn't FAS-sanctioned and the clubs involved in the match weren't affiliated to the regulatory body. With most in the dark about the stringency of his ban which includes even a kick-about in the park, Kannan has had his fill of football over the past years.
All that changed when someone blew the whistle on his continued association with football. The FAS's prohibition of Kannan kicking a football is absolutely preposterous! It can't resist kicking a man when he's down - thanks to its zero tolerance corruption policy.
Many were under the impression that Kannan could continue playing social soccer as long as the match wasn't FAS-sanctioned and the clubs involved in the match weren't affiliated to the regulatory body. With most in the dark about the stringency of his ban which includes even a kick-about in the park, Kannan has had his fill of football over the past years.
All that changed when someone blew the whistle on his continued association with football. The FAS's prohibition of Kannan kicking a football is absolutely preposterous! It can't resist kicking a man when he's down - thanks to its zero tolerance corruption policy.
19-08-2021, 02:34 AM
(17-08-2021, 03:47 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: What is happening to K. Kannada absurd.
FAS does not have power over all soccer playing just its own leagues and players.
What is it doing wasting its time monitoring an old man who played national soccer 26yrs ago ...when it can't even get our soccer up to some decent standard.
Raising the standards of local football and upholding the rules and regulations are entirely different matters. While the FAS is duty-bound to lift SG soccer sagging standards in order to compete with other footballing nations and qualify for the 2034 World Cup finals, it also has a responsibility to uphold the rule of law. The rule book says a person slapped with a lifetime ban cannot partake in any football related activities either directly (as a player) or indirectly. (as a coach or administrator)
As I see it, the regulatory authorities have not been monitoring Kannan these years, during which he had been kicking around the I A soccer field. It was only when someone alerted the FAS in August last year after seeing him play soccer on the said pitch that the football authorities decided to act on the information they had received and take action to stop him from engaging in whatever football activities he was doing. Subsequently, the football regulators sent a letter to Kannan to inform him that he had violated the rules, and stipulated a long list of don'ts in the rule book.
In spite of what has been meticulously spelt out, I don't think the FAS top brass will strictly stick to the letter of the law and nick Kannan should he be found kicking a football around a park with his grandchildren or kakis. They've got better things to do than breathe down an oldie's neck.To deny him this simple pleasure in his life is most cruel.
19-08-2021, 09:08 AM
Can he still bet soccer with sgpools?
19-08-2021, 11:07 PM
The life ban is too harsh. It has already been 26 yrs. Time to lift the ban. K.Kanan is a great player in his heyday partnering well with Malek Awab. It is absurd that the ban still in force at his age.
20-08-2021, 01:35 AM
(19-08-2021, 09:08 AM)pinkpanther Wrote: Can he still bet soccer with sgpools?
I guess there's no law barring convicted criminals or ex-offenders from placing wagers on soccer matches with SG Pools. Any sane person is at liberty to dabble in legalised gambling. What is less certain is whether K Kannan is able to continue playing social football and assist in foofball-related events at IA of which he is a long-standing member. Pending the outcome of Kannan legal team's appeal to the FAS board, many near and dear to him are keeping their fingers crossed and hope he will be allowed to resume his football activities at his club.
His team of lawyers contends that Article 75.8 of the FAS constitution "limits the suspension to football management, membership, or the activities of the FAS." Since IA isn't affiliated with the FAS, Kannan oughtn't be prevented from engaging in those football activities in IA. On top of that, they're submitting a request for his life ban to be lifted, backed by glowing testimonials from a number of prominent ex-national squad players. This is his 5th attempt at getting his lifetime ban overturned after previous appeals were unsuccessful.
Many recreational footballers on the wrong side of 50 have already hung up their boots due to waning physical fitness, injury issues or were fearful of getting injured. Kannan, 57, is made of sterner stuff. His never-say-die attitude in the face of seemingly insurmountable obstacles is a manifestation of his persistence and love for the beautiful game.
20-08-2021, 01:54 AM
(19-08-2021, 11:07 PM)Goldmine Wrote: The life ban is too harsh. It has already been 26 yrs. Time to lift the ban. K.Kanan is a great player in his heyday partnering well with Malek Awab. It is absurd that the ban still in force at his age.
Altogether, there are 16 footballers and officials serving life bans currently. None but one had his permanent suspension lifted in 2009 after a successful appeal. He's none other than Abbas Saad, many fans' favourite ex-Lion. He's an ex-Ozzie national player who also played a featured role for our Lions in the M'sia Cup tourney and other regional competitions.
Abbas found a job here recently with Gelang International, one of overseeing its youth development programme. Alas, his employment pass application and subsequent appeal were rejected by MOM. The lifting of his suspension from football is cold comfort for Abbas without a job here. This just goes to show that our authorities, exercising a policy of zero tolerance against ex-criminals, don't give second chances to people with "adverse record."
20-08-2021, 05:55 AM
(20-08-2021, 01:54 AM)S I M T A N Wrote: Altogether, there are 16 footballers and officials serving life bans currently. None but one had his permanent suspension lifted in 2009 after a successful appeal. He's none other than Abbas Saad, many fans' favourite ex-Lion. He's an ex-Ozzie national player who also played a featured role for our Lions in the M'sia Cup tourney and other regional competitions.
Abbas found a job here recently with Gelang International, one of overseeing its youth development programme. Alas, his employment pass application and subsequent appeal were rejected by MOM. The lifting of his suspension from football is cold comfort for Abbas without a job here. This just goes to show that our authorities, exercising a policy of zero tolerance against ex-criminals, don't give second chances to people with "adverse record."
Say no to Yellow Ribbons...no second chances in Singapore.
20-08-2021, 07:31 AM
Ridiculous!
A convicted rapist is not barred from having sex!
20-08-2021, 10:52 PM
(20-08-2021, 01:54 AM)S I M T A N Wrote: Altogether, there are 16 footballers and officials serving life bans currently. None but one had his permanent suspension lifted in 2009 after a successful appeal. He's none other than Abbas Saad, many fans' favourite ex-Lion. He's an ex-Ozzie national player who also played a featured role for our Lions in the M'sia Cup tourney and other regional competitions.
Very heartless and cruel to impose life ban. 25 yrs is a very long time. Should be lifted. He has paid his due.
I din know that Abbas & Kannan were banned for life. Who else was banned for life?
What abt Alista? Is he involved? He also came from Australia at abt the same time as Abbas. He married a Singaporean and resettled elsewhere.
22-08-2021, 11:39 PM
(20-08-2021, 10:52 PM)Goldmine Wrote: Very heartless and cruel to impose life ban. 25 yrs is a very long time. Should be lifted. He has paid his due.
I din know that Abbas & Kannan were banned for life. Who else was banned for life?
What abt Alista? Is he involved? He also came from Australia at abt the same time as Abbas. He married a Singaporean and resettled elsewhere.
To date, none of the 16 players and officials under lifelong suspension from all football activities have their bans lifted. Kannan, the central figure in the whole episode, made multiple appeals - 5 in all - in dogged bids to get "unbanned." I believe the FAS does not want to set a precedent by unbanning him, nor does it want to be accused of applying a double standard in freeing him from the shackle of suspension but not free the other suspended persons.
Furthermore, the seriousness of football-related corruption and the severity of the penalty was clear to all from the very beginning. If you get caught throwing a match, they will throw the book at you! And it carries a mandatory lifetime suspension under the FAS rule book and a jail term under the state's criminal code. Reversing a part of the punishment that has already been meted out by unbanning a person who's already been permanently banned can be seen as a mockery of real justice - something the FAS apparently doesn't want.
My bosom buddy, a familiar footballer and referee in the soccer fraternity and who knows Kannan personally threw a couple of remarks about this Kannan controversy: "I hv nothing against K Kannan. But if u throw games like that, then you just hv to be ready for whatever comes your way. I had been offered to throw games too but no thanks. If we REALLY love football then how can u give in to people running the "kelong"? It's just like, u love your wife so much, then how can you "kelong" her? How? This is what I don't understand. If u don't love her, then it's another matter. Money is the root of all evils."
22-08-2021, 11:53 PM
(22-08-2021, 11:39 PM)S I M T A N Wrote: To date, none of the 16 players and officials under lifelong suspension from all football activities have their bans lifted. Kannan, the central figure in the whole episode, made multiple appeals - 5 in all - in dogged bids to get "unbanned." I believe the FAS does not want to set a precedent by unbanning him, nor does it want to be accused of applying a double standard in freeing him from the shackle of suspension but not free the other suspended persons.
Furthermore, the seriousness of football-related corruption and the severity of the penalty was clear to all from the very beginning. If you get caught throwing a match, they will throw the book at you! And it carries a mandatory lifetime suspension under the FAS rule book and a jail term under the state's criminal code. Reversing a part of the punishment that has already been meted out by unbanning a person who's already been permanently banned can be seen as a mockery of real justice - something the FAS apparently doesn't want.
My bosom buddy, a familiar footballer and referee in the soccer fraternity and who knows Kannan personally threw a couple of remarks about this Kannan controversy: "I hv nothing against K Kannan. But if u throw games like that, then you just hv to be ready for whatever comes your way. I had been offered to throw games too but no thanks. If we REALLY love football then how can u give in to people running the "kelong"? It's just like, u love your wife so much, then how can you "kelong" her? How? This is what I don't understand. If u don't love her, then it's another matter. Money is the root of all evils."
Anyone every day that we should pay our soccer players high enough so that they don't become corrupted?....same logic why they pay our ministers so high.
Shouldn't the ban be just for official tornament games not recreational games ...now it is absolute ban .
(20-08-2021, 07:31 AM)Fit Wrote: Ridiculous!
They say sex is as natural as breathing. To stop a person from breathing is to kill him by not letting him breathe air. Similarly, sex is essential for life, which is why no lawmaker has introduced legislation for not letting a convicted rapist have sex anymore. Sex offenders have been fined, imprisoned or flogged but rarely have they been deprived of their basic right to have sex. Short of castration, there's nothing anyone can do to stop another from having a little nookie
23-08-2021, 02:24 AM
(22-08-2021, 11:53 PM)sgbuffett Wrote: Anyone every day that we should pay our soccer players high enough so that they don't become corrupted?....same logic why they pay our ministers so high.
Shouldn't the ban be just for official tornament games not recreational games ...now it is absolute ban .
I'm afraid you're politicizing the topic under discussion with your reference to ministerial fat cheques. Put the issue aside pls. First off, most clubs' financial resources are too severely limited to pay their players huge salaries, what with a lack of sponsorship and gate money among other things. Besides, paying high remunerations must commensurate with high standards of playing abilities. Paying top dollar to mediocrities just doesn't add up. And to pay them handsomely just so they won't get corrupted is preposterous.
You're suggesting something that's almost unheard-of. As far as I know, no club in the world has dished out large payouts to its players just to make sure they won't succumb to temptation. Ordinarily, clubs pay good money to players for their prowess (great ability or skill) on the football field and for their ability to help win silverware and bring glory to the clubs.
23-08-2021, 06:51 AM
What about michael vana?
23-08-2021, 06:51 AM
(20-08-2021, 07:31 AM)Fit Wrote: Ridiculous!
Like kena gang raped in prison
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine
23-08-2021, 06:52 AM
Seriously all our local institutions cmi. FAS, SGX, MAS.
And nobody is doing anything about it
Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine
24-08-2021, 01:21 AM
(20-08-2021, 05:55 AM)BigBossX Wrote: Say no to Yellow Ribbons...no second chances in Singapore.
Most people will give the 17-year-old Yellow Ribbon project the thumbs up for supporting the rehabilitation and reintegration of ex-offenders back into society. If not for the national public engagement campaign that constantly seeks to change society's mindset in giving erstwhile offenders a 2nd chance in life with lots of encouragement and job offers, many of them would have a hard time adjusting to life in the larger community and landing a job.
Feeling stigmatized with no job and support, they may relapse into their old ways and become repeat offenders. Mercifully, many have been given a job, but obviously not one that involves the handling of cash or one which presents a chance for monetary gain.
Actually, Abbas Saad was given a 2nd chance when the FAS council, with the then President Ho Peng Kee at the helm, made the decision to overturn his life ban The council must have felt that he only played a minimal role in a criminal scheme. Apparently, Abbas chickened out and pulled out of the scheme after 3 games.
The lifting of his suspension would enable him to seek employment related to football. It's global which means that even if he's unsuccessful in getting a job here, he's at liberty to seek one outside of SG. Many a footballer has landed a football-related job after his playing days were over. As it happened, Abbas became a pundit for ESPN Star Sports and Singtel, and subsequently went on to coach Sydney Olympic in the Australian Premier League. With the 2nd chance, he's been given a new lease of life.
24-08-2021, 10:36 AM
(24-08-2021, 01:21 AM)S I M T A N Wrote: Most people will give the 17-year-old Yellow Ribbon project the thumbs up for supporting the rehabilitation and reintegration of ex-offenders back into society. If not for the national public engagement campaign that constantly seeks to change society's mindset in giving erstwhile offenders a 2nd chance in life with lots of encouragement and job offers, many of them would have a hard time adjusting to life in the larger community and landing a job.
Feeling stigmatized with no job and support, they may relapse into their old ways and become repeat offenders. Mercifully, many have been given a job, but obviously not one that involves the handling of cash or one which presents a chance for monetary gain.
Actually, Abbas Saad was given a 2nd chance when the FAS council, with the then President Ho Peng Kee at the helm, made the decision to overturn his life ban The council must have felt that he only played a minimal role in a criminal scheme. Apparently, Abbas chickened out and pulled out of the scheme after 3 games.
The lifting of his suspension would enable him to seek employment related to football. It's global which means that even if he's unsuccessful in getting a job here, he's at liberty to seek one outside of SG. Many a footballer has landed a football-related job after his playing days were over. As it happened, Abbas became a pundit for ESPN Star Sports and Singtel, and subsequently went on to coach Sydney Olympic in the Australian Premier League. With the 2nd chance, he's been given a new lease of life.
I din know the corruptions was so serious that it involves 16 men in this criminal scheme.
"The council must have felt that he only played a minimal role in a criminal scheme. Apparently, Abbas chickened out and pulled out of the scheme after 3 games."
What Football competition matches were involved and how did it came to light?
25-08-2021, 02:47 AM
(24-08-2021, 10:36 AM)Goldmine Wrote: I din know the corruptions was so serious that it involves 16 men in this criminal scheme.
"The council must have felt that he only played a minimal role in a criminal scheme. Apparently, Abbas chickened out and pulled out of the scheme after 3 games."
What Football competition matches were involved and how did it came to light?
It is not one particular case involving 16 players but a myriad of unconnected cases involving 16 players who were given life bans for various corruption convictions over the past 2 decades or so, from 1995 onwards.
Football corruption continues to be a scourge in the footballing world, much like drug abuse is the cancer of society. It is a monstrous crime which poses a major threat to the fabric of the football community. As far as the FAS is concerned, there'll be no mercy shown to offenders, no matter how talented they are.
You asked me how did the case come to light. Well, I have no idea. No details about that have been forthcoming. I guess corrupt footballers aren't so easily caught unless someone let on. But then who would want to do that unless a plan to "kelong" a match has gone dreadfully awry, with a disgruntled collaborator spilling the beans.
I think for a "kelong match" to come to fruition, a corrupt player needs to work in collaboration with other like-minded players, but for a referee who has the power to influence the result of a game through his decisions, it's easier to skew the outcome of a game in his favour.
A word to the wise: the crime-busters are super-efficient at sniffing out kelong players and officials!
25-08-2021, 07:36 AM
Tbh, our football is doomed.
To be ban from ban for life is a big joke.
Unless we are talking about fifa ban for life.
To be ban from ban for life is a big joke.
Unless we are talking about fifa ban for life.