Singaporean couple sells nasi lemak after failed restaurant venture in Europe

https://cnalifestyle.channelnewsasia.com...ive-387786

How far would you go to chase your dream? For Felicia Lim and her husband Ng Tiong How, both 51, their pursuit of opening a restaurant overseas involved relocating to Edinburgh, Scotland – with two young children in tow – and incurring “hundreds of thousands” in losses. All in vain, sadly, as their goal of becoming restaurateurs was never realised.

Despite the setback, the couple remains passionate about F&B. In February, they launched hawker stall Madam Lim’s Nasi Lemak – named after the lady boss – at Holland Drive Market & Food Centre. The joint serves nasi lemak with ayam berempah (spiced fried chicken), beef rendang and fried ikan kuning (yellowstripe scad).

WHY THEY WANTED TO OPEN A RESTAURANT OVERSEAS

Lim was a flight attendant for over 20 years before opening her own stall. The bubbly hawker recalled: “During my travels, I’ve eaten at many places that serve Singaporean food, but they were always a disappointment. It felt like a shame because Singaporean food is much nicer (than what I’ve tried). I wanted to open our own place overseas to change that.”

When she was laid off from British Airways in 2016, her hubby, an IT professional, felt it was the right time to pursue the couple's dream of opening an eatery. That same year, the couple and their two children relocated to Edinburgh after their application for an entrepreneurship visa was approved.

Never belittle our Singapore hawker center...🤣🤣🤣

Beaten Scotland restaurant, British Airways 🤭
The grass is not always greener on the other side...
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

Just selling nasi lemak is like walking in the park compare to running a restaurant..
[+] 2 users Like Blin's post

Asian food in European country difficult to survive
NL too common in SG
We don’t eat it everyday like chap Chye png

(18-04-2024, 08:34 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Never belittle our Singapore hawker center...🤣🤣🤣

Beaten Scotland restaurant, British Airways 🤭
The grass is not always greener on the other side...

It's good to try.  With hindsight, a Post Morten can be done to find out what they did wrong and what they didn't do which they should have...

Those who succeeded will be worshipped by those who didn't dare to do and only work for peepur...employees.  Those who failed will be jeered by those who didn't dare to do...employees.

(18-04-2024, 08:42 AM)Lukongsimi Wrote:  Asian food in European country difficult to survive
NL too common in SG
We don’t eat it everyday like chap Chye png

The AMDK turned us into a Western food-eating peeppur from the food that even they themselves would call junk like McD, KFC to their everyday staples like sandwiches, pasta, pizza, to their fine dining.

This couple might have thought, if they could penetrate our market, they could give it a try to penetrate their market and turn them into Malay food eaters, except that this couple ain't Malays. 

For a few centuries, the West lived in relative prosperity while even today, many Asian countries are still mired in poverty.  The exchange rate and relative wage levels mean that Western food are sold more expensively than Asian food.  This created the perception that Western food is atas.  The logic is very simpur.  If you take Chinese food for eg, you pay more if it is an sexpensive dish and less for a cheap one.  Then, when you pay more for Western food, the conclusion must be that it is an atas food when it is just very ordinary.  This is why pizzas and pastas are overpriced, even at food courts.

Nao, if you sell Asian food in the West, it is hard to justify selling it at a high price because they are perceived to be Asian junk food.  You can do well if you are selling Cantonese food cooked by Hong Kong chefs riding on Hong Kong's reputation.  But Malay or Indonesian nasi lemak which are sold in warungs?

(18-04-2024, 08:49 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Those who succeeded will be worshipped by those who didn't dare to do and only work for peepur...employees.  Those who failed will be jeered by those who didn't dare to do...employees.

In S'pore, others will look down on you if you are poor, and envy or even hate you when you are rich.

Edinburgh. So many tourists and not enough delicacies. Where they put themselves down to catch the human volumes .... Chinese food is so thriving there you cannot believe the kind of prices to pay for chicken rice, duck rice, egg fried rice ....

Some sinkies think the grass overseas are greener and learn a hard lesson.

(18-04-2024, 09:06 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  In S'pore, others will look down on you if you are poor, and envy or even hate you when you are rich.

40% of our population are foreigners, while 20% are new citizens.  So 60% of the peepur here are raised in another country. They look out for one another in their respective communities.

As for Singaporeans who were born here, I think I understand the older generation better than I do the zoomers, the WOKE generation.  Whatever they are like, the PGs and MGs are ceasing to be the face of "Singapore".  Yes, we the old farts are pretty status-conscious, and if you didn't make it, others will look down on you.  Generally speaking....because there are still some kind-hearted peepur who won't do that, and if they can help you in any way, they would. You are talking to one.

But as I said, we are fading away. many are in nursing homes. If a tourist says she is not coming back because "Singaporeans" are rude, I think she made a mistake. The person serving here is unlikely to be an old Singaporean or even a Singaporean.

As for the zoomers, I only know them on the level of eating Mixue ice cream, lining up for A&W, no longer as motivated and self-driving because the spurs are missing and that's because their parents can afford to let them lie flat.  Do they despise one another?  I have no idea.

It's not so easy to get the ingredients, and food prices would turn many ppl away. Aso it's a very taxing task to do the preparations

(18-04-2024, 09:52 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Yes, we the old farts are pretty status-conscious, and if you didn't make it, others will look down on you.  Generally speaking....because there are still some kind-hearted peepur who won't do that, and if they can help you in any way, they would. You are talking to one.As for the zoomers, I only know them on the level of eating Mixue ice cream, lining up for A&W, no longer as motivated and self-driving because the spurs are missing and that's because their parents can afford to let them lie flat.  Do they despise one another?  I have no idea.

As an old fart in my early 50s in senior management, I do receive envious looks whenever I arrive at work in my new luxury car. However, I received snide remarks when I used to drive a used Japanese sedan in my late 20s at a previous workplace; it was all I could afford at that time. 

(18-04-2024, 10:20 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  As an old fart in my early 50s in senior management, I do receive envious looks whenever I arrive at work in my new luxury car. However, I received snide remarks when I used to drive a used Japanese sedan in my late 20s at a previous workplace; it was all I could afford at that time. 

You are Gen X.

Some people may have this thinking - you are human, I am human.  You drive to work, I have to stand in the MRT cabin all the way and walk another 8 minutes in.  You eat buffet, while I eat cai png and ask for more curry zhup, hoping to get some chicken bits. Not fair! Not fair!

That's the respective hand of cards dealt to you, to them.  How does one sexplain it? KARMA from your respective previous lifetime(s)?

I once said to an Indian Singaporean friend of mine, a Hindu, that those who are maimed, without legs, are very pitiful.  He told me "No need to pity someone without legs." and that was according to his belief.

Buddhism also teaches KARMA and it's a ceca religion. 

While on the face of it, religion teaches us to be good, the moment you sexplain things using KARMA, you know you are, deep inside of you, saying

"Serves you right man!  活该! 报应啊!你终于有今天的下场咯! Clapping

Will they say it's your KARMA earned from a previous lifetime(s) if you drive a luxury car?  Some may become jealous and think it is unfair because everyone is human, why must you get more and better?  These peepur support Mao Tse Tung.  If I don't have it, then you should not have it.  If you have it, then I must also have it.  Socialism and Communism.

One kind of rice feeds a hundred kinds of peepur ah!

(18-04-2024, 10:38 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Some people may have this thinking - you are human, I am human. You drive to work, I have to stand in the MRT cabin all the way and walk another 8 minutes in.  You eat buffet, while I eat cai png and ask for more curry zhup, hoping to get some chicken bits.  Not fair! Some may become jealous and think it is unfair because everyone is human, why must you get more and better?  These peepur support Mao Tse Tung.  If I don't have, then you should not have.  If you have, then I must also have.  Socialism.

I have experienced both sides of the coin as a former HDB dweller who used to rely on public transport and later, a modest used car to a condo resident who drives a luxury sedan today. Others used to look down on me, while many now envy/dislike me for being able to upgrade. It's human nature I guess.

Their nasi lemak quite nice, better than ponggol nasi lemak. But price abit ex in this food centre.

To do f&b overseas, locations very important. Friends' chinese restaurants at Vancouver/Richmond and Toronto are faring very well, mainly due to the Chinese immigrant populations (some called them Hans, but they preferred to be called Tongs). Another good locations are university campuses and their surrounding areas. University profs seem to like westernized chinese foods very much, like chapsui, gong bao ji ting, yang zhou fried lice, even xing zhou fried bee hoon aka 星洲炒米

(18-04-2024, 09:52 AM)Oyk Wrote:  40% of our population are foreigners, while 20% are new citizens.  So 60% of the peepur here are raised in another country.  They look out for one another in their respective communities.

As for Singaporeans who were born here, I think I understand the older generation better than I do the zoomers, the WOKE generation.  Whatever they are like, the PGs and MGs are ceasing to be the face of "Singapore".  Yes, we the old farts are pretty status-conscious, and if you didn't make it, others will look down on you.  Generally speaking....because there are still some kind-hearted peepur who won't do that, and if they can help you in any way, they would. You are talking to one.

But as I said, we are fading away. many are in nursing homes.  If a tourist says she is not coming back because "Singaporeans" are rude, I think she made a mistake.  The person serving here is unlikely to be an old Singaporean or even a Singaporean.

As for the zoomers, I only know them on the level of eating Mixue ice cream, lining up for A&W, no longer as motivated and self-driving because the spurs are missing and that's because their parents can afford to let them lie flat.  Do they despise one another?  I have no idea.

Today's Singaporean, young and old are financially better educated in general. 
No longer smitten by car or condo owners easily.
Because we know many taking huge loans to see and to be seen. 

Unless you are the Wee Cho Yaw family calibre alike, few will be moved by such assets. 
Once I drove a Toyota to buy accessories, the young salesman told me Toyota are used as taxi in Thailand commonly...🤣
My friends asked me which district is my Condo location, 9, 10, 11?..🤭 Or HDB Town?

Most of the people burrowing money from me owned a car. Because their expenses are too high to maintain once faced cash flow problems. And they cannot downgrade to HDB and MRT, because wife will be very stressed...
Usually they will approach me as unbearable and shameful to ask for financial help, but out of no choice situation. 

Singapore with so many different classes and types of foreigners, the situation changed unparalleled. No longer holds the past 4 C's perception in our society. 
Cash is not commonly use in market, you can pay $100k through paynow...🤣
[+] 1 user Likes moonrab's post

1) coconut milk is an unhealthy food
2) Angmo don't like spicy food.
3) Many Asian restaurants sprout out there, unlike last time.
4) Chinese restaurants have much varieties, unlike chicken nasi lemak
[+] 1 user Likes Clyde's post

(18-04-2024, 10:46 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have experienced both sides of the coin as a former HDB dweller who used to rely on public transport and later, a modest used car to a condo resident who drives a luxury sedan today. Others used to look down on me, while many now envy/dislike me for being able to upgrade. It's human nature I guess.

I see, no wonder ppl always look up on me Laughing

(18-04-2024, 11:47 AM)Clyde Wrote:  1) coconut milk is an unhealthy food
2) Angmo don't like spicy food.
3) Many Asian restaurants sprout out there, unlike last time.
4) Chinese restaurants have much varieties, unlike chicken nasi lemak

Depends on what ang moh, which country.

McD's chilli is just sweet but they call it spicy?

South Italians eat hot chilli.  I have been to Italy a couple of taim, free and easy.  The first taim was a 14 day trip all over Italy that started from Rome where the plane landed.

But if you do food business in England, I am not convinced that nasi lemak can sell.  I like sambal chilli but the AMDK will say it looks like a lump of shit from someone who had diarrhoea.  Same as me not daring to eat dongbei food, all brown brown...but the Chinese seem to love eating that.

(18-04-2024, 11:38 AM)moonrab Wrote:  Today's Singaporean, young and old are financially better educated in general. 
No longer smitten by car or condo owners easily.
Because we know many taking huge loans to see and to be seen. 

Unless you are the Wee Cho Yaw family calibre alike, few will be moved by such assets. 
Once I drove a Toyota to buy accessories, the young salesman told me Toyota are used as taxi in Thailand commonly...🤣
My friends asked me which district is my Condo location, 9, 10, 11?..🤭 Or HDB Town?

Most of the people burrowing money from me owned a car. Because their expenses are too high to maintain once faced cash flow problems. And they cannot downgrade to HDB and MRT, because wife will be very stressed...
Usually they will approach me as unbearable and shameful to ask for financial help, but out of no choice situation. 

Singapore with so many different classes and types of foreigners, the situation changed unparalleled. No longer holds the past 4 C's perception in our society. 
Cash is not commonly use in market, you can pay $100k through paynow...🤣

Taking a big loan to buy a car and condo could be:

1.  Want to haolian
2.  Simply wanting to enjoy
3.  Investing in the case of the condo.

(18-04-2024, 12:15 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Taking a big loan to buy a car and condo could be:

1.  Want to haolian

This is the worse, because it is no longer a big deal in today's Singapore society. Come HDB, you see Mercedes, BMW commonly. The people buy a $1 million HDB will tell you financial independence is the quality of our lives. 

It is possible if one can pay off the mortgage loans within 10 years.

3.  Investing in the case of the condo
In Singapore, ROI has a higher opportunity in central area.

Actually it's ok to howlian a bit lah. It doesn't cost anything, doesn't hurt anyone. In fact do you notice those who do not howlian or scold ppl for howlianing are quite negative ppl? And if one got nothing to howlian at all could mean they're not quite successful in life

(18-04-2024, 10:46 AM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have experienced both sides of the coin as a former HDB dweller who used to rely on public transport and later, a modest used car to a condo resident who drives a luxury sedan today. Others used to look down on me, while many now envy/dislike me for being able to upgrade. It's human nature I guess.

I dun think ppl looked down on you, but you felt bad because of low self esteem lah. So is yr condo big new freehold with an atas address? Shd be very proud of it?!

(18-04-2024, 03:54 PM)WhatDoYouThink! Wrote:  I dun think ppl looked down on you, but you felt bad because of low self esteem lah. So is yr condo big new freehold with an atas address? Shd be very proud of it?!

I own nothing in this world because everything I have is from God.

[Image: Cash.jpg]

(18-04-2024, 10:50 AM)KPO Wrote:  Their nasi lemak quite nice, better than ponggol nasi lemak. But price abit ex in this food centre.

I live fairly nearby and have gone to the wet market several times on weekend mornings at around 7 am, but found that this nasi lemak stall only opens at 8 a.m.  

(18-04-2024, 12:15 PM)Oyk Wrote:  Taking a big loan to buy a car and condo could be:

1.  Want to haolian

I have a former classmate who is not boastful, but he does know how to enjoy life and is able to afford to with his lucrative salary. For people like him, owning a landed home, luxury car and enjoying fine dining are simply pleasures of life.

(18-04-2024, 04:38 PM)EvertonDiehard Wrote:  I have a former classmate who is not boastful, but he does know how to enjoy life and is able to afford to with his lucrative salary. For people like him, owning a landed home, luxury car and enjoying fine dining are simply pleasures of life.

If his income can pay for these things, he's living within his means. It's those who stretch their credit and loan limits till they practically have nothing left for saving who might be doing one or more of what I listed.

“hundreds of thousands” sub sub water,
their pay were high.

Obigood think angmok country ppl kumgong will buy his inflated price nasi lemak.

自作自受.