The 2 men caught on video fighting at Great World shopping mall have been arrested

(08-06-2022, 01:54 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Words convey meaning. The way you framed your sentence gave me the impression you are someone trained in the martial art, perhaps in tae kwon do or something. For many trainee martial artists, moving up the ranks - indicated by the colour of their belts worn around their waists - is a natural progression of their passion and fighting ability.

For me I received early training in some forms of fighting and self-defence - first in judo while I was in school and later on in Chinese karate, both of which were widely practiced as sports. I didn't progress very far, however, and had attained only elementary rankings in both sports as fighting was and still is just not my bag. Contact sports like football is the perfect outlet for my aggression, not delivering a blow or karate kick to another with the aim of flooring him.

In the event of a potentially explosive situation, I'll talk to my interlocutor about an issue bothering us in a non-confrontational way so as to try and defuse the tension. If need be, "turn the other cheek," as taught by my faith. That doesn't mean being a doormat for people to trample all over. There are certain things in the teachings that allow room for differences of opinion, and not everyone is going to see eye-to-eye on everything. We can disagree on certain issues and we can disagree agreeably.

Humour often helps a tense situation; jokes can likewise defuse tension-filled moments. And of course having a mild, nonconfrontational nature helps enormously. Rolleyes

People who can't fight write a lot.

Anyway, I stop reading at "in school"  Rolleyes

Both are Smlj fighters? In my prime, I will floor both of them in 6 seconds

(08-06-2022, 05:59 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Well said. I also got Black Belt for TaeKwonDo lah! But now no more training all slacked liao lah! I'd rather run away than show off lah!

A black belt holder signifies a martial art expert, an exponent few would want to mess with. Even if you have been slacking off for quite some time, you can probably still be able to beat the living daylights out of your would-be assailant. Your advanced martial art training plus greater experience in the art of fighting place you in an advantageous position to do just that.

While exchanging blows with your attacker, you should be more adept at punching and kicking your opponent, and cushioning his blows well while adopting a firm stance which will keep your balance.

Obviously, you are not a combative person, preferring instead to walk off and not to have a confrontation with a stranger spoiling for a fight. It may be the best course of action under the circumstances, considering that fighting will consign both fighters to a jail cell while a person getting bashed up without hitting back can result in the attacker going unpunished.

There's such a case as "non-arrestable" or "non-criminal" under section 323 penal code 1871 whereby the police will not be taking further action against the assailant who has voluntarily caused hurt to another person who did not retaliate.
[+] 1 user Likes S I M T A N's post

(08-06-2022, 09:36 PM)Oyk Wrote:  People who can't fight write a lot.

Anyway, I stop reading at "in school"  Rolleyes

Different people are good at different things. Fighting is just one sport among a whole host of activities such as golf, football, basketball, tennis, snooker, computer games and any sport or activity involving chasing something or aiming at a target, each requiring different strengths and abilities, and esp spatial ability. Those who are better in hand-eye co-ordination are more proficient at ball sports.

(09-06-2022, 02:08 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  A black belt holder signifies a martial art expert, an exponent few would want to mess with. Even if you have been slacking off for quite some time, you can probably still be able to beat the living daylights out of your would-be assailant. Your advanced martial art training plus greater experience in the art of fighting place you in an advantageous position to do just that.

While exchanging blows with your attacker, you should be more adept at punching and kicking your opponent, and cushioning his blows well while adopting a firm stance which will keep your balance.

Obviously, you are not a combative person, preferring instead to walk off and not to have a confrontation with a stranger spoiling for a fight. It may be the best course of action under the circumstances, considering that fighting will consign both fighters to a jail cell while a person getting bashed up without hitting back can result in the attacker going unpunished.

There's such a case as "non-arrestable" or "non-criminal" under section 323 penal code 1871 whereby the police will not be taking further action against the assailant who has voluntarily caused hurt to another person who did not retaliate.

Thank you for your understanding. I still remember knocking out some opponents during sparring sessions but that's for training purposes lah! I also got hit many times lah!

(09-06-2022, 06:08 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Thank you for your understanding. I still remember knocking out some opponents during sparring sessions but that's for training purposes lah! I also got hit many times lah!

At least you managed to hit your matron, walaneh Big Grin

Too much time n no work

Thats why i prefer to stand aside and happily watch show..

(09-06-2022, 06:16 AM)p1acebo Wrote:  At least you managed to hit your matron, walaneh Big Grin

What matron leh? I don't understand you leh! Why you scold vulgar word leh?

(09-06-2022, 09:53 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  What matron leh? I don't understand you leh! Why you scold vulgar word leh?

Walaneh acting blur Big Grin

(09-06-2022, 02:17 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Different people are good at different things. Fighting is just one sport among a whole host of activities such as golf, football, basketball, tennis, snooker, computer games and any sport or activity involving chasing something or aiming at a target, each requiring different strengths and abilities, and esp spatial ability. Those who are better in hand-eye co-ordination are more proficient at ball sports.

Stopped reading at "one sport".

Some people just never do street fights in back lanes before... Rolleyes

Cool 

(09-06-2022, 11:43 AM)Oyk Wrote:  Stopped reading at "one sport".

Some people just never do street fights in back lanes before... Rolleyes

Street fights in the dark alleys conjure up images of gangland clashes, drunken brawls, commoner fights ... the backstreets where many dark deeds had been committed, where the action and real fighting is.

I know you have seen it all, incl the different elements of society, and you might have gotten a piece of the action in the backstreet. With your Muay Thai prowess and towering physique, you sure make a formidable martial art exponent. As you mentioned earlier, yours is hot stuff; others are kid's stuff.

No, I've never been to the seedy-looking areas, let alone fight there. The fights I'd gotten into in my quiet neighborhood are child's play for you. And they were no more than small fights with my little childhood friends. But the fights were very few because, as I said, fighting is down my alley. Since you are into fighting - I mean the fierce street fights - Muay Thai would be right up your alley. Smile

That ang moh is not only huge and powerful but he is also very fast.

Now you know why our SG girls like ang moh right?

(10-06-2022, 04:50 AM)toothpick Wrote:  That ang moh is not only huge and powerful but he is also very fast.

Now you know why our SG girls like ang moh right?

The standing joke these days is, ang mohs are huge down there. Other qualities cited by the female admirers of ang mohs include “fair complexion," "class," "cultured," "humour," "personality," "brains," "sociable," "good body." All that but fighting ability is scarcely on the list.

Apparently, the ability to out-punch another man isn't very high on women's list of qualities for their ideal mate. As far as they are concerned, fighting skill doesn't increase a guy's attractiveness rating and, in some cases, it even decreases his rating. In the macho world of prize fighting, however, fight is a way for many men to prove their manhood.

The fact of the matter is, women want a man who ia sensitive and caring, has a pleasant personality as well. And if he passed a certain rating level of acceptability for being a potential father, they'll feel assured and nature takes control.

(11-06-2022, 01:57 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  The standing joke these days is, ang mohs are huge down there. Other qualities cited by the female admirers of ang mohs include “fair complexion," "class," "cultured," "humour," "personality," "brains," "sociable," "good body." All that but fighting ability is scarcely on the list.

Apparently, the ability to out-punch another man isn't very high on women's list of qualities for their ideal mate. As far as they are concerned, fighting skill doesn't increase a guy's attractiveness rating and, in some cases, it even decreases his rating. In the macho world of prize fighting, however, fight is a way for many men to prove their manhood.

The fact of the matter is, women want a man who ia sensitive and caring, has a pleasant personality as well. And if he passed a certain rating level of acceptability for being a potential father, they'll feel assured and nature takes control.

I like the way Bruce Lee taught 1 AngMoh a lesson, "a fight without a fight". It was on a boat, a Chinese junk, that AngMoh challenged Bruce Lee to fight but Bruce Lee said they needed more space as the boat was very narrow full of things and people. So Bruce Lee suggested to go to an island using a smaller boat. The moment that AngMoh got into that smaller boat, Bruce Lee loosened the rope and let some boys hold it. So that AngMoh was inside that smaller boat drifting along the water with a rope attached. Sometimes, there's no need to fight at all.

(11-06-2022, 06:09 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I like the way Bruce Lee taught 1 AngMoh a lesson, "a fight without a fight". It was on a boat, a Chinese junk, that AngMoh challenged Bruce Lee to fight but Bruce Lee said they needed more space as the boat was very narrow full of things and people. So Bruce Lee suggested to go to an island using a smaller boat. The moment that AngMoh got into that smaller boat, Bruce Lee loosened the rope and let some boys hold it. So that AngMoh was inside that smaller boat drifting along the water with a rope attached. Sometimes, there's no need to fight at all.
Bro, that's cheating the angmo wat?...... Thinking

Play in front of doors is wrong,, obstruction to ppl traffic.

(11-06-2022, 01:57 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  The standing joke these days is, ang mohs are huge down there. Other qualities cited by the female admirers of ang mohs include “fair complexion," "class," "cultured," "humour," "personality," "brains," "sociable," "good body." All that but fighting ability is scarcely on the list.

If one has a lack of outer beauty such as built, looks and fight, I agree better to look towards inner beauty!  Big Grin

(11-06-2022, 08:16 AM)Huliwang Wrote:  Bro, that's cheating the angmo wat?...... Thinking

Chinese said 兵不厌诈 lah! OK to trick AngMoh mah!

(11-06-2022, 04:57 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Chinese said 兵不厌诈 lah! OK to trick AngMoh mah!

No wonder angmo never trust Chinese looking faces...... Big Grin

(11-06-2022, 05:06 PM)Huliwang Wrote:  No wonder angmo never trust Chinese looking faces...... Big Grin

You trust AngMoh meh?

(11-06-2022, 05:11 PM)cheekopekman Wrote:  You trust AngMoh meh?

I never trust anyone....... Big Grin

[+] 2 users Like Huliwang's post

(11-06-2022, 06:09 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  I like the way Bruce Lee taught 1 AngMoh a lesson, "a fight without a fight". It was on a boat, a Chinese junk, that AngMoh challenged Bruce Lee to fight but Bruce Lee said they needed more space as the boat was very narrow full of things and people. So Bruce Lee suggested to go to an island using a smaller boat. The moment that AngMoh got into that smaller boat, Bruce Lee loosened the rope and let some boys hold it. So that AngMoh was inside that smaller boat drifting along the water with a rope attached. Sometimes, there's no need to fight at all.

The most thrilling part of Bruce Lee's movies is watching the skillful execution of his trademark Chinese way of fighting. Bruce is poetry in motion when he kicks and punches the villains at lightning speed and invariably brings them to their knees. His battle cries are also all too familiar. It's no exaggeration to say that he was the most legendary Chinese kung fu exponent of his time.

It would be anticlimactic to see him "fight" his foes without lifting a finger. It's sad that an action-packed movie should turn out to be a non-event and end in such anticlimax. But I don't think that was in the script. The "fight without a fight" ploy could be Bruce's delaying tactic to face off with the ang moh on a later occasion since the boat they're both in is crammed full of people and may cause injuries to some of them should they fight on board it. Just like a woman is incomplete without a man, an action movie is incomplete without the good guy thrumping the baddies physically and decisively.

Wow, all the fighters here. Can take photos of your clenched fists? I love to see people clenched fists for assessment.

I was sad when i don't have a pair of new shoes, until i saw someone with no feet...

(12-06-2022, 02:06 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  The most thrilling part of Bruce Lee's movies is watching the skillful execution of his trademark Chinese way of fighting. Bruce is poetry in motion when he kicks and punches the villains at lightning speed and invariably brings them to their knees. His battle cries are also all too familiar. It's no exaggeration to say that he was the most legendary Chinese kung fu exponent of his time.

It would be anticlimactic to see him "fight" his foes without lifting a finger. It's sad that an action-packed movie should turn out to be a non-event and end in such anticlimax. But I don't think that was in the script. The "fight without a fight" ploy could be Bruce's delaying tactic to face off with the ang moh on a later occasion since the boat they're both in is crammed full of people and may cause injuries to some of them should they fight on board it. Just like a woman is incomplete without a man, an action movie is incomplete without the good guy thrumping the baddies physically and decisively.

If you watch his movies you will see that he actually really punched and kicked those people so hard that they actually bled. Not like other fighters who only staged their fights. If he is still alive I may go and learn from him lah hehe...

(12-06-2022, 02:12 AM)roguetrader Wrote:  Wow, all the fighters here. Can take photos of your clenched fists? I love to see people clenched fists for assessment.

Some of us here - incl Cheekopekman & myself - had been trained in some forms of fighting, but we would rather not put what we learned to use by getting into a fight or scuffle. For one thing, we do not wish to fall afoul of the law by fighting in public. For another, we do not want to get bashed up by an assailant who may get away scot-free under a weird "non-arrestable" penal code. I'll expand on that later on. Either way - fight or not fighting but still get beaten up - we lose out.

Sensible people when confronted with a badass will avoid a confrontation with him as far as possible. Clenched fists are an invitation to a fight. A display of one's martial art skills and aggression would be better showcased in a ring and not out there in the street.

(13-06-2022, 01:53 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Some of us here - incl Cheekopekman & myself - had been trained in some forms of fighting, but we would rather not put what we learned to use by getting into a fight or scuffle. For one thing, we do not wish to fall afoul of the law by fighting in public. For another, we do not want to get bashed up by an assailant who may get away scot-free under a weird "non-arrestable" penal code. I'll expand on that later on. Either way - fight or not fighting but still get beaten up - we lose out.

Sensible people when confronted with a badass will avoid a confrontation with him as far as possible. Clenched fists are an invitation to a fight. A display of one's martial art skills and aggression would be better showcased in a ring and not out there in the street.

Well said lah! Clenched fist means can fight meh? Those who like to show off will be given a round of applause lah!

(13-06-2022, 01:53 AM)S I M T A N Wrote:  Some of us here - incl Cheekopekman & myself - had been trained in some forms of fighting, but we would rather not put what we learned to use by getting into a fight or scuffle. For one thing, we do not wish to fall afoul of the law by fighting in public. For another, we do not want to get bashed up by an assailant who may get away scot-free under a weird "non-arrestable" penal code. I'll expand on that later on. Either way - fight or not fighting but still get beaten up - we lose out.

No need clenched fists also can la, i just need to see open palms front and back. I not fighter la, but i saw many fighters got this type of special palms. Hard to explain. And when I said those fighters, they really can fight.. Lol

I was sad when i don't have a pair of new shoes, until i saw someone with no feet...

(13-06-2022, 06:02 AM)cheekopekman Wrote:  Well said lah! Clenched fist means can fight meh? Those who like to show off will be given a round of applause lah!

I like to think the vast majority of people are sensible enough not to pick a fight in the street and to strut their stuff. There are uncertainties, such as facing off against an unknown quantity and apprehension about getting nicked for fighting in public, and this puts the mockers on that idea.

In any case, there's no necessity for getting into a fistfight in the street when there are legal fighting competitions giving trained fighters a chance to show their stuff and prove their manhood.

Illegal fights do occur at times, however, breaking out at the bars, on the streets, in places where punks go looking for trouble but this is an infrequent occurrence. People fight for a variety of reasons. The silliest thing is to have a big blow-up about something trivial.

(13-06-2022, 05:08 PM)roguetrader Wrote:  No need clenched fists also can la, i just need to see open palms front and back. I not fighter la, but i saw many fighters got this type of special palms. Hard to explain. And when I said those fighters, they really can fight.. Lol

Don't waste time clenching your fists or teeth, opening or closing your palms and whatnot just to tell people you're an awesome fighter. Let your fists do the talking and finish off your opponent without delay. Let me recount an incident that happened some time back to give you an inkling of what "actions speak louder than threatening gestures" means.

My team, consisting of local players, took on a British team, comprising largely expatriates living here, in a friendly game of soccer. Although it was only a friendly, the game was hotly contested and ill-tempered, with numerous fouls committed by both sides. Midway through the match, our sweeper, a strong muscular dude of average build, and one of the English squad's midfielders tussled for the ball. Within moments, both fell on the ground and got entangled with each other.

One would expect them to disentangle and get up. But no! Horror of horrors, without uttering a word, without clenching their fists in anger, without gesticulating threateningly, they came to blows. While lying entangled on the pitch, they punched at each other's face for what seemed like an eternity. For some strange reason, no one came to separate the warring duo. It was only much later that some players from both sides stepped in to pull the two men apart.

Our last man was hurt worse than the Englishman who was slightly bigger in size. His face was bloodied and badly bruised while the ang moh seemed to be none the worse for it as he sustained only some bruises and scratches. Toothpick remarked in this thread that " that ang moh is not only huge and powerful but he's also very fast." Yeah, both ang mohs really packed a punch. The match was abandoned by the referee as both teams were in no mood to resume play.